Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,923 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Jul 182016

Tucson

  • 3,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just purchased this vehicle a month ago and on numerous occasions the engines revs but it wont drive. Always happens when I'm at a stop or in stop and go traffic. I was almost rear ended because an approaching car didn't see me stopped at the light but I could not go. I tried turning off and on, putting into reverse and nothing. Again the engine revs, sounds like its not in gear. This is a major safety issue that needs addressed. Someone is going to get killed. The problem resolves itself usually after a few minutes but it leaves you stuck in traffic. The drive train, transmission, etc must be defective! I have 3600 miles on the car. I took it to the dealer and they could replicate the problem (of course!). very little power and lets you get to about 20 miles per hour - very dangerous! I've read online about numerous other people that have the same issue - please help!

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #81

Jul 142016

Tucson

  • 22,100 miles
When you are either stopped or in motion the car hesitates on acceleration. For example when pulling in traffic your RPM's are going up and your wheels are not moving. This new type of transmission (duel clutch) does not feel right when you hit gas it either hesitates and jerks ahead. Also getting message of the transmission getting hot. This is not normal. This happens when sitting in traffic. I think this is a issue not only with Hyundai, but other car makers

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #80

Apr 012016

Tucson

  • 10 miles
When accelerating from a stop, engine/transmission lags and engine bogs down. After about 1-2 seconds, car will then accelerate too quickly. Unable to safely pull out into traffic fearing car will inch into street too slowly and cause an accident. This is a constant issue from the day I bought it new from dealer. The car now has 5100 miles and there is no difference in the hesitation.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #79

Jul 112016

Tucson

  • 5,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After coming to a complete stop at traffic light started to proceed when light changed. Car would not move and actually rolled backward a bit after releasing brake. RPM's increased with depression of gas pedal but car would not move. It took a more than 10 seconds for the transmission to engage but even then it was barely engaging (car would barely move). Terribly scary moment on a busy highway during rush hour. My wife and I do not feel safe driving this car.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #78

Jul 142016

Tucson

  • 496 miles
While at a red light waiting to make a left turn pressed the gas and engine just reved to about 5000 RPM with no movement. Car was in drive tried again car reved again and suddenly started moving. This vehicle is dangerous and I only purchased it a week ago.

- Nyack, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #77

Jun 242016

Tucson

  • 425 miles
Was sitting still and attempted to move forward and the engine showed RPM's moving but vehicle did not move. Have had several instances when car was very slow to respond when attempting to drive from a stopped position and turning with oncoming traffic.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #76

Jun 292016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While sitting at traffic lights/stop signs, upon acceleration the car did not move. Rpms increased however the car would not move. Usually putting the car in park then back to drive would work. I took the car into the shop on July 6,2016 the dealership was able to duplicate the issue on the computer, as well as the tech driving did experience the same issue. The dealership has been very good with keeping us up to date. We waiting to hear from Hyundai on how they intend on fixing this issue. I am being told they could possibly have the car for 3 weeks or longer. The car has been deemed unsafe to drive.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #75

Feb 242016

Tucson

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle decelerated and the transmission overheat warning light illuminated. The contact noticed smoke coming from the rear of the vehicle through the rearview mirror. The contact coasted to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle, and was able to resume driving. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the technician could not find a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- South Gate, CA, USA

problem #74

Jul 012016

Tucson

  • 2,500 miles
Transmission fails to engage. It happened the first time right in the morning from my driveway. Put the car in drive and car was inching forward while giving it plenty of gas/rpms. Car finally went into gear and started to move and was driving normal for the rest of the day. Thought nothing of it since it only happened once. Then about 3 weeks later, stopped at red light, once it turned green I stepped on the gas and the same thing, inching forward, high rpms, finally took gear after about 30 seconds and many upset people behind me. This bring me to yesterday, stopped at a stop sign to cross a busy non-stopping cross traffic, waiting to cross the street, found an opening and stepped on the gas expecting the car to make it through the intersection. I had plenty of time to move through, but suddenly my car just decided to not move while stuck right in the middle of the street. Oncoming car had to swerve and nearly hit my hood. Finally car started to move to barely make it out of the way for the 2nd oncoming car, scary stuff. Took it to the dealership for service and told them about my 2 incidents and was told this was "normal for the turbo". also, I noticed that when I drive up an incline (say a parking garage) when I get to the top and level out, my car gets a huge rush of rpms and im not even stepping on the gas. Not sure if this is at all related, but just assuming that it is part of the bigger problem with the transmission. Car is 2016 Tucson, limited, ultimate package, AWD I don't feel safe in this car at all. I hope there is a fix for this soon.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #73

Jun 242016

Tucson

  • 4,000 miles
I am experiencing an unsafe issue with 2016 Hyundai not shifting properly. Bought on 02/22/16 at williamsburg Hyundai, va. In may, early June, there where 3 occasions after stopping the car would not move at all. Early June stopped at an intersection, depressed accelerator and nothing, happened. The engine RPM's increased but no forward movement. Started to roll backwards almost hitting the car behind me. Had to shift to park and then back to drive to move forward. Mid-June stopped at a traffic light attempting to make a left hand turn, hit the gas, the car sat still. The RPM's increased but no forward movement. My wife had to place in park and back into drive before she could move forward causing her to sit through the entire cycle on the light. Late June entering meg auto spa (car wash), stopped to enter the washing tunnel and could not move forward until shifted the car to park and the back to drive. Scheduled an appointment at the dealership on 06/27/2016. Told that lag in shifting was normal for this vehicle. Asked them to take a look at the vehicle anyway. Day 1 was contacted by dealership and told that they could not find issue but wanted to keep the car for a week to test. At the end of each day they contacted us to keep us informed as the status of the testing. On Friday, July 1st, I was informed they were able to replicate the issue and they will send the data to Hyundai engineers to be studied. The dealership indicated that they are aware that other dealers having similar issues and that they are not sure of what the next steps would be. We returned to return to the dealership on Tuesday July 5th where we will be provided with a loaner car while this issue is investigated. So far the dealer ship has been very cooperative and attentive to our situation. However, as of today, June 14, 2016 they still have our car and there is no solution to this issue.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #72

Jul 072016

Tucson

  • 3,121 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On two occasions, car was stopped at a stop light. When the light turned green and foot was let off the brake and applied to the accelerator; car did not move! rpms went up; however, car did not move.

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #71

Jul 112016

Tucson

  • 6,500 miles
The vehicle was stationary in the left turn lane of an intersection. When the turn arrow went green the vehicle would not move even though it was in drive. After shifting in and out of park to drive the vehicle finally started moving. Once I was underway the engine started revving but the vehicle would barely go. I was almost struck by oncoming traffic trying to get out of harms way. Then the vehicle started responding normally. I took it to the dealer immediately and was informed that there had been numerous issues reported similar to this. They plan to reset the dct to factory settings but I now have no confidence in this vehicle while in traffic.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #70

Jul 132016

Tucson

  • 6,300 miles
Problem with dct transmission. On multiple occasions the car has difficulties accelerating from a complete stop. The issue is intermittent. When the problem occurs and you push the gas pedal after a complete stop the vehicle vibrates and jerks back and forth but does not fully accelerate. Also, sometimes it fails to move at all even though the rpms go up to 4000-5000 range. This is a big safety concern if you are trying to cross through traffic and the car does not move.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #69

Jun 222016

Tucson

  • 6,000 miles
2016 tuscon limited..same issue as indicated here with disengaged dct transmission after being stopped, or very slow speeds. At 3500 miles mine started with a vibration at 1-2 mph, dealer noted the issue but had no fix. Engineer was sent to review. Now at 6000 miles my transmission started to disengage at random times. I contacted Hyundai Consumer Affairs and a case was open. My business partner also purchased one on the same weekend as I did, and some friends did also a few months later. All 3 of the cars are at the dealership. Unsafe to drive. This is my wife's car and I will not let her drive it. I have requested a buyback. If I do not get this to happen soon, I will seek lemon law or open up a class action. Very unsafe and only a matter of time someone is killed or seriously injured on a left turn intersection

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #68

Jul 112016

Tucson

  • 8,700 miles
About mid-may of this year my husband experienced loss of acceleration (as if in stuck in neutral) at a red light. The car was in drive, the car revved to 3500-4000, but the car rolled backwards. The car was without power for about 10 seconds then terrifyingly lurched forward as though slipping in and out of gear. We took the car to the dealership on 06/21/2016 and were told that our car needed a software update and all the adaptive values were reset. We took our Tucson back. On 07/07/16 in rush hour traffic, our Tucson lost acceleration/power again when pulling away from a busy red light. The engine just revved up to 4000+ rmp, rolled backwards and had no power or forward acceleration. The car was in drive and the loss of power was about 20 seconds. We immediately called our dealership service advisor and were instructed to bring our Tucson in immediately. Our car was kept for several days and on Monday morning, July 11th I received a call stating that the technician was unable to replicate the loss of power and no error messages were identified and "that was just how the dual transmission (dct) functions". I picked up my car, drove about two blocks away from the dealership and lost all acceleration/power again when attempting to turn right onto a busy street from a stopped position. This time the loss of power was a full 45 seconds or more. The engine revved to over 6000 RPM and sputtered, slipping in and out of what felt like neutral, it was terrifying and I was almost hit! I immediately returned to the dealership and demanded that someone test drive with me but unfortunately it did not replicate the issue. I was told that the service supervisor would be looking at my car. The loss of acceleration/power is a very dangerous problem and we do not feel safe driving our Tucson. The dealership seemed completely at a loss as to what could be the problem.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #67

Jul 102016

Tucson

  • 1,052 miles
The vehicle is a limited with dual clutch transmission (dct). Vehicle has 1,052 miles on it, and I purchased new one month ago. Stopped at a traffic signal at head of line. When light turned green, I removed my foot from the brake and began to apply gas pedal. Car is in drive, standard mode. Engine would rev, but vehicle would not move. Switched to manual shift and still no movement. Put the vehicle in park and then back to drive, but vehicle would not move, though engine would rev. Once traffic cleared from behind me, I was able to engage reverse and back the vehicle into a parking lot. I restarted the vehicle and it still would not engage any of the forward gears, but would engage reverse gear. I waited an hour with the vehicle running and in park for the tow truck to arrive. Even the tow truck operator could not make the vehicle engage a forward gear. The vehicle was towed to the Hyundai dealer where it was purchased. After one whole day at the service repair, they cannot tell me what is wrong.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #66

Jun 102016

Tucson

  • 16,700 miles
Originally posted to this website on or about 6/13/16. Stopped at red light on a city street, the car would not move forward when accelerator depressed. Engine rev'ed to 4-5K but car failed to move. Put car in neutral and then tried again. Sat thru 3 red lights before car would go forward. It was very jerky and hesitant then car picked up speed. This was second time this has happened. First time I thought maybe I had hit the brake and not gas pedal. Drove immediatel to dealer and told them of issue. They have had my car since June 10, 2016. Service tech was able to actually capture on video (while test driving) my gear shift in drive and car moving in reverse. Hyundai usa, the dearlership and myself have been in frequent contact. Hyundai has no idea why this is happening. The car is not safe to drive. They say the Korean engineers are investigating. When I orginally posted on this website there I could only find this type of issue for a 2015 tuscon. I note today there are multiple complaints identical to mine. This car is less than one year old (owned ) with less than 17K miles. Inability to control directional motion or speed when it does move is not safe to myself or others. Majority of my driving is at highway speeds.

- Blanchard, OK, USA

problem #65

Jun 282016

Tucson

  • 2,100 miles
Sometime when up pull off from a stop the car will stop pulling forward and the RPM's will run up to 4000-5000 and the car will not move. You have to put in back into park then back to drive to get it moving again. Very dangerous situation when you are making a turn with oncoming traffic coming at you.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #64

Jul 072016

Tucson

  • 10,000 miles
Last night, I was in a traffic jam due to another cars accident. I was going less than 5 miles per hour in stop and go traffic for 20 minutes. After the two lanes were moving, I pressed on the gas and the engine revved up, but there was no forward motion. I put the car in park, tried again and still no motion. I turned the car off to reset and sat for a couple of minutes no motion. I put my hazard lights on because now I was making traffic be backed up. A police officer bump pushed my car with his police vehicle, so I could get out of the two lane road, since it was not safe to push the car into a safer area for towing. He scratched up my bumper do these actions, which should not have happened in the first place, and I would like Hyundai to fix my bumper. I do not feel safe driving this car because no warning lights came on, and it is a 2016 limited Tucson, which came with all the perks, and yet nothing showed up when I took it to a Hyundai service center. The mechanic witnessed the same problem after I had it towed there, the following morning. They worked on it and said it couldn't be fixed because there were no warnings lights or computer errors. They said it was a dual clutch system problem and they couldn't fix it. This is unacceptable, and I would like to know what's being done about this problem that is happening nationally, as I have seen many reports with the same problem. It is a safety concern and something that needs to be addressed. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle even though the mechanic said it's working now, due to the fact that he said there was nothing they could fix.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #63

Jun 192016

Tucson

  • 7,500 miles
On 2 separate occasions the car would not accelerate from a stop. The first time I had backed on to the road, put the car in drive and tried to accelerate. The engine revs but no forward motion. I tried putting it in park then drive, neutral then drive. Still no acceleration. Car finally started to creap forward. After a mile it was driving fine. The second occasion I was stopped at a stoplight. When the light turned green and I depressed the accelerator there was no forward motion. Again I tried putting it into park then drive and neutral then drive. No forward motion. Finally it slowly started moving forward. This is a dangerous problem that needs to be addressed immediately. I feel unsafe driving this car because I don't know when/if this will happen.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?