CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2016 Tucson comes with a dual-clutch, 7-speed transmission. But Hyundai forgot to tell you about one key phrase – zero-move. That's right, an alarming number of owners have said their SUV wouldn't accelerate after a stop.

Turns out that's because the transmission's application logic has been stumbling all over itself. Hyundai recalled the issue in September 2016, but it's difficult to say if owners are out-of-the-woods, or if this is just a sign of things to come.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,088 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2016 Hyundai Tucson drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 1 of 11)

problem #208

Dec 262016

Tucson

  • 33,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission shudders and sometimes fails to engage when stopping and acclerating. On highway when moving to pass the RPM's went to redline and vehicle did not want to move forward. Overheating warnings in city traffic. Vehicle loses power sometimes when transmission is confused when in stop and go traffic. Dct in this vehicle is horrible even with 3rd update from Hyundai. Hyundai says "no problem" with vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #207

Aug 312015

Tucson

  • 100 miles
I have a 2016 tuscon turbo limited which I purchased in August of 2015. I have had these issues since I owned the vehicle. The SUV dual transmission does not go in gear when you do a rolling stop (under 4-0 mpr) or full stop. Two things happen when you accelerate, not pumping the gas pedal as Hyundai states, either the SUV RPM shoot up to over 3K RPM's and it does not go into gear or you hear a loud metal grinding sound while the SUV coast forwards. Since this happen intermittently it is a serious safety problem. This happen is a city environment. I have had these issues since I purchased the SUV in August 2015. My Hyundai has the 2 software and 1 recall updates upto December 2016

- Oakland Park, FL, USA

problem #206

Dec 262016

Tucson

  • miles
The car jerks when starting from a stop. It feels like someone is tapping and releasing the brake. The problem is worse when starting from a stop going uphill.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #205

Nov 232016

Tucson

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Weeks following service at Hyundai dealer to have NHTSA campaign number 16V-628 requiring reprogramming of transmission control module, we have had 2 (two) near miss collisions due to car hesitating during turn from a stop and straight from stop sign. One; during legal left turn across 2 oncoming lanes, car started to roll than lose power while broadside to traffic. Oncoming traffic forced to stop until several complete cycles of the accelerator did get the vehicle moving again. Engine did not stop. Second at intersection from complete stop. Standard acceleration applied, vehicle started to roll (from release of brake) then stalled. Accelerator was repeatedly cycled several times before vehicle started to move. Car behind forced to stop suddenly missing rear bumper. Vehicle also had instance of a power train loss for about 1 second then sudden and powerful jolt during acceleration (estimate speed range about 40 mph) onto a highway from an on ramp. Despite service to address recall notice, vehicle shudders more during rolling starts and stops. Difficult in slow moving areas including car ferries typical to regional commute. Have taken to dealer (documented) following incident 1 and on ramp jolt. They observe the continuing shudder. They have taken vehicle for test rides but do not see the stall that is sporadic. Note, incident 2 as described above occurred approximately 1 week following service to observe this defect. Hyundai service aware of shudder and unable to resolve and conclude "they are in the hands of the engineers." They hand out a document explaining the dual clutch system in an attempt to normalize these occurrences.

- Snohomish, WA, USA

problem #204

Dec 082016

Tucson

  • 16,816 miles
I took my son to school on Thursday morning 12/8/2016. I was at a stop sign to pull out onto a main highway. There was a line of cars coming but they were far enough away I thought I could go. I started to go but changed my mind and let off the accelerator. I decided to go ahead and go but this time the engine revved way up and the car pulled out onto the highway very slowly. Now in a panic, I let off the accelerator again and immediately pushed it down again. Thankfully, the car lurched forward and took off. There was then a strange smell in the car which I believe to be from the clutches slipping.

- Pinson, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #203

Oct 272016

Tucson

  • miles
Intermittent acceleration issues. Upon trying to accelerate from a stop, the car starts to go but will not accelerate even with the gas pedell to the floor. This is a dangerous situation if you are trying to merge into traffic. As was the case the last time the vehicle did it, almost causing a crash.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #202

Sep 152016

Tucson

  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle contnues under in motion city streeet driving conditions cause the vehicle to not move if the accelerator pedal is pressed and released repeatedly.exactly as recalled for other 2016 tuscon but this does not match VIN database. Dealer denies there is a problem and states the vehicle is being driven wrong quoting the drivers hand book which basically says the vehicle not usable in stop and go conditions.there are hundreds of simular complaints of 2016 tuscon that did not fit in VIN NHTSA or Hyundai database, or continued to have same problem after recall repair performed or dealers denying there was any recall.

- Incline Vill, NV, USA

problem #201

Nov 072016

Tucson

  • 8,500 miles
The vehicle is Hyundai's new fuel cell model. On 3 separate occasions over 7 months the vehicle lost power while on a highway. The last occasion, November 7, 2016, I was in the left lane near the fast lane on the glendale freeway at about 9:30 am. The vehicle suddenly lost power and, since there is no left hand shoulder, I had to coast across several lanes of fast moving traffic to try to reach an exit ramp. After several minutes of not knowing what was happening to the vehicle, I gave the gear shift lever a nudge to the right. I heard a slight mechanical sound and the transmission re-engaged and I regained full power. The vehicle had nearly a full tank of fuel at the time. This same thing happened to me in the April/may time frame when driving on a highway in san diego county (about 1/2 tank of fuel) and then again in early July, 2016. When I was driving on the golden state freeway near griffith park (not sure of the fuel this time). Both times, without warning, the vehicle suddenly lost power. It coasted for several seconds but these two times -- after less than a minute -- the power reengaged, or self corrected, on its own. The November 7th incident lasted several minutes, and the engine did not self correct. On November 8th, I drove the vehicle to keyes Hyundai in van nuys. Since it had been over 4 months and several thousand miles since the second incident, I was not surprised that they could not duplicate the transmission failure. I do not believe the vehicle is safe to drive, however, and, since they have not been able to identify and correct the defect, have asked Hyundai to cancel the lease on the vehicle rather than continue to risk myself and my family in this vehicle.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #200

Nov 152016

Tucson

  • 450 miles
I just purchased a Hyundai Tucson and it's not accelerating properly. It doesn't respond when you press the gas. I've had this vehicle for 1 week and it's getting worse. I'm scared this vehicle is not safe and may cause me to be in an accident.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #199

Aug 212016

Tucson

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While driving various speeds, the vehicle jerked without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the technician could not find a failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V628000 (electrical system, power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,000. Updated 01/10/2017

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #198

Oct 192016

Tucson 4-cyl

  • 3,680 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

7 speed duel clutch transmission is failing again after recall has been performed. Vehicle has started to go into neutral when pulling out into traffic leaving you in the middle of the road without being able to move for a short time. While driving the vehicle will now also lose power and shift into low gear on its own causing sudden deceleration. Vehicle will also chug forward when stopped at a red light. This is after all of the recalls and reprogramming of the vehicle has been done. We have now had three times that we have almost been hit, where other cars have had to slam on their brakes to avoid a bad accident and three other time I almost got rear ended because my vehicle started to go from after the traffic light would change and then stop moving. These vehicles with this transmission is a death trap and somebody is going to get killed! these problems are not consistent but they are real and dangerous! we are afraid to drive our new vehicle! it has been to the dealer 5 times for the transmission issues.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #197

Aug 152016

Tucson

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle jerked and hesitated before moving forward. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate as the rpms increased. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed to be repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V628000 (electrical system, power train). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20.

- Manassas Park, VA, USA

problem #196

Oct 182016

Tucson

  • 1,290 miles
While in traffic slowly going up a hill on a city street, the car signaled "transmission temp. Is high! stop safely." I was unable to pull over for a few minutes because of the stopped traffic, then suddenly the car turned off! I was stuck uphill with those around me honking to move the car. After some time, I was able to turn the car back on and move forward. This continued to happen several times until I was finally able to park the car and turn it off. After a few hours, I turned the car back on and it was fine. I was notified by Hyundai that this is normal because of the dual clutch transmission and the information is in my manual. However, it does not say the car will turn off on its own! why didn't the dealer tell me this?! it is very dangerous!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #195

Oct 182016

Tucson

  • 18,904 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While at a red light with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle hesitated as if it would stall. After approximately thirty seconds, the vehicle drove normally. The failure occurred daily. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and recommended using a different type of fuel. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,904.

- Lecompte, LA, USA

problem #194

Apr 012016

Tucson

  • 8,000 miles
My Tucson slows down when I press down on the accelerator to speed up. It did this multiple times on my trip from Indiana to Colorado. This is extremely dangerous! I saw an upcoming recall which Hyundai does not have any fix for yet, but it appears to only be on specific ones with dual clutch. I don't think mine has that, but it definitely has safety issues and Hyundai will not assist me with it. There are multiple other issues with my new vehicle also which I cannot get assistance with and have filed multiple complaints, multiple places.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #193

Sep 152016

Tucson

  • 7,100 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. After the accelerator pedal was depressed from a stop, the vehicle failed to respond without warning. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 16V628000 (power train), but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 7,100.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #192

Apr 012016

Tucson

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle failed to immediately accelerate before suddenly surging forward, hesitating, and bucking. Also, while operating the vehicle, the transmission overheated and the "stop safely transmission temperature high" message displayed. The cause of the failure was not determined. No further information was available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #191

Sep 022016

Tucson

  • 8,291 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced hesitation and unintended acceleration. The failures occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be replicated. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was remedied per NHTSA campaign number: 16V628000 (electrical system, power train). The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 8,291.

- Blue Ridge, GA, USA

problem #190

Jul 302016

Tucson

  • 2,659 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Hyundai Tucson. While driving various speeds, the vehicle vibrated abnormally and the transmission failed to function properly. On several occasions, the accelerator pedal was depressed; however, there was a hesitation before the transmission engaged and the vehicle lunged forward. The dealer diagnosed that the double clutch in the transmission failed and the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,659.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #189

Oct 122016

Tucson

  • 6,100 miles
I took my 2016 Tucson into the dealership on 9/23/2016 to address the dual clutch transmission recall. Prior to that, my Tucson would randomly jerk, not accelerate when pressing on the accelerator, and the rpms would go haywire. Now, 10/12/2016, after I took it in for a recall, I am still experiencing the same issue. It's happened once in slow traffic, and just this morning on the highway on my way to work. This time however, the Tucson's rpms went from the 2X area to the 4X area without provocation, causing the Tucson to drastically accelerate, almost causing me to rear end someone. This was without me manually accelerating. At this point, I feel like I'm driving a deathtrap and am utterly disappointed that Hyundai has done nothing to truly correct this issue.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?