Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: There's no way around it, the Cherokee's transmission is junk. There's no other explanation for why a vehicle, usually with under 40,000 miles, would have so many complaints

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,520 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Cherokee lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 152016

Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamp and headlight went out. I took it to a dealer, and they concluded there was a problem with the module and it would cost over $1000 to repair. I opted to just change the headlight which cost about $130 just for the bulb. A few months later the other headlight went out. Again I paid about $130 just for another bulb. A month later the other headlight went out again. It will cost about $130 just for the bulb. I have been told with the most recent call that the bulbs might continue to break as a side effect of the module problem. That is not known to be a fact. Either way, I'm looking at either $500+ just to have working bulbs at this point, or over $1500 to replace the entire module. Nobody should have to spend that kind of money simply to have working headlights so that they can legally drive the car that they purchased! this is one of the most basic elements of a car, and I feel like I am being taken advantage of by having continuous defective bulbs that cost $130. Nothing out of the ordinary has every occurred with this car that might have caused the lights to have continuous problems. However, it is worth noting that the 2014 Jeep Cherokee seems to have the highest number of problems in the Jeep line. I'm very unhappy about this and hope that there will be a satisfying resolution.

- Galva, IL, USA

problem #19

Feb 062016

Cherokee

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 50 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but failed to respond. The service transmission warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and the valve body and parking brake needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred two additional times. On another occasion, the headlights became inoperable and the "head lamp out" warning message illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the body control module and head lamps needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. While driving 15 mph, the automatic power locks failed to operate without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repair; however, the specifics of the repair were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,000...updated 10/13/16

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #18

Nov 012014

Cherokee

  • 100 miles
The transmission on this vehicle makes it very dangerous!! surging, hesitation, speeding up, hard shifts continually. The transmission was replaced and it was serviced many times with no improvements. When you try to pull out onto a road, it will hard shift into gear after hesitation, it does the same when backing up. It causes a very dangerous situation and I have almost been hit by another vehicle many times due to the transmission issues. The headlights on this vehicle are dangerous, they follow a severe straight line and when going up and down hills it causes you to lose vision of the road in front of you.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #17

Aug 272016

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the past 2 weeks, my dashboard lights flicker on and off. There is an audible click and then they turn off and back on. I do not have automatic headlamps but the action and sound is similar to a vehicle which is equipped with this feature except that instead of the dashboard lights changing brightness, they go off completely. I do not know if this affects my running lights or headlamps as I have not yet been driving in conditions that would let me easily determine whether they turn off when this occurs. This always happens while I am driving most notably upon a slow down or acceleration at a light or stopsign. This has happened multiple times, almost daily during my brief commutes.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 292016

Cherokee

  • 39,878 miles
While driving engine shut off without warning, speed goes to 0mph, low battery warning pop up and want me to shift to P and desired gear. Turned it off and on nothing happens. Try it few times and nothing. Waited for 3-5 min turned it on, and it runs normal with engine light on. After about 100ft it stall again. Try the process before and it goes normal again. Car stalled twice a day. First stall happened few days ago. Vehicle was in motion on a city street.

- Carolina, PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 262014

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the low beam and the high beam headlights failed to illuminate properly to view the road. As a result, the contact's visibility was diminished. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000. Updated 2/4/16 the consumer stated the head lights did not project enough light to illuminate the road effectively. The consumer believed the head lights were set too low and set back in the housing. The lens in front of the bulb, collected moisture on the inside and outside. Updated 10/26/16.

- Great Barrington, MA, USA

problem #14

Dec 012014

Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • 15,611 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While in park, all the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel cap fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel cap needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,611. Updated 2/18/16 ln the consumer has since traded the vehicle. Updated 03/09/16.

- Winnemucca, NV, USA

problem #13

Aug 042015

Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
I bought this car brand new, and have had problems with it starting randomly, locking, and unlocking randomly, alarm going off in the middle of night, (yes, my neighbors hate me) and now my stereo goes in and out..

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #12

Aug 272015

Cherokee

  • 24,903 miles
Several times while I was driving the digital dash display went blank, red "battery" indicator came on, "no bus" fault message appeared, the headlights went off, the turn signal did not work, radio did not work, door locks would not work (lock/unlock). The safety issue is to lose function of headlights and turn signal while driving. Also if a crash were to occur, I may not be able to exit my vehicle in an emergency, due to not being able to unlock my doors. Between August 27, 2015 and September 14, 2015 this occurred four (4) separate times. The vehicle was turned in for service each time this occurred. The problem is intermittent, during driving it can come and go. Service department at authorized Jeep dealer stated that they do not have any instrumentation to troubleshoot can bus and they can not duplicate the issue. I would pull over into a safe area and take photos of the dash showing the faults. Service department can only reset faults as displayed on a tablet when plugged into the vehicle. Again dealer has no tools to look up bus problems, electrical contact issue, etc.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #11

Aug 082015

Cherokee

  • 8,800 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. While driving at 60 mph, the high and low beam headlights failed to illuminate properly in order for the contact to view the road. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician adjusted the lights however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,800. The VIN was not available.

- Pequot Lake, MN, USA

problem #10

Aug 012014

Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated while driving 5 mph, making a right or left turn, the headlights failed to illuminated bright to view the road. The vehicle was taking to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. MA 09/25

- Centerville , MA, USA

problem #9

Feb 092015

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased 2014 Cherokee in Aug 2014 - my 4th Jeep and other family members drive Jeep. Few days later drove at night- immediately evident headlights pose serious safety concern & design flaw. Contacted the dealership to have the lights inspected. Cannot see objects until you are upon them. Live in a rural area with no street lights/beam does not project sufficient light/brightness. Add rain, snow, or city lights &the glare makes safely operating the vehicle even more challenging.vehicle serviced multiple times for this serious safety concern. Multiple techs stated headlights "are dim" & other owners have complained. After numerous complaints, my frustration & concern mounted. Technician sympathized & suggested I contact Jeep, "maybe they will listen to the customer". Dec 2014, contacted Jeep & was instructed a "research project" was established. After weeks, (another service appointment and more time off work) Jeep acknowledged "complaint about dim headlights is pretty prevalent" &you have been "fair and reasonable". Jan 17, Cherokee serviced again & copy of a tech assistance ticket was left on the seat. Report states: "customer concern: Customer cannot see at night and headlights are dim. Concern duplicated: Yes, drove vehicle at night head lamps are not very bright need fog lamps on also to see. Tests: Drove two other vehicles same operation have had a lot of complaints about lamps not bright". this is taken from the report admitting the headlights do not illuminate. Jan 21 no resolution, told Jeep they can take the SUV back, I'm not willing to compromise safety. Complaint moved to Jeep returns after multiple calls, asked to take the vehicle to another dealership scheduled for this week. This vehicle was purchased because of customer loyalty to Jeep-still waiting on resolution.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #8

Dec 202013

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 250 miles
This is what I mailed to: Chrysler group llc customer center December 6, 2014 P.O. Box 21-8004 auburn hills, mi 48321-8004 phone 877-426-5337 re: Headlights authorized dealer:darlings auto mall 16 kingsland xing ellsworth, me 04605 phone 207-667-2571 vehicle identification number:[xxx] vehicle delivery date:11-21-2013 current mileage:7420 from the first time that I drove this vehicle at night (which was a few days after the delivery date), I have been unhappy with how poorly the headlights illuminate the road ahead. In my opinion this is a safety issue and because of that, I try to avoid driving this vehicle at night. After numerous complaints to darlings auto mall and their attempts to remedy this issue, darlings has suggested to me that I forward my complaint directly to you (Chrysler). I sincerely hope that Chrysler has a satisfactory remedy for how poorly the headlights in my vehicle illuminate the road at night. I look forward to your expedient and satisfactory remedy. Cc: darlings auto mall 16 kingsland xing ellsworth, me 04605 since I have not received a response from Chrysler, I am submitting this complaint. The problem has been on going from the day of purchase and I notice that other Jeep Cherokee 2014 owners have made the same complaint. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jonesport, ME, USA

problem #7

Dec 012014

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
My 2014 Jeep Cherokee has substandard headlight illumination as compared to other vehicles in terms of distance (projection) and overall brightness. It's very difficult to drive the vehicle after dark in areas with little or no street lighting. The headlights are especially poor on dark wet road surfaces that offer little or no reflection. The illumination at the left and right front sides of the vehicle make it difficult if not impossible to spot animals, pedestrians, or other objects at normal highway speeds until you are right upon them. I feel that the substandard headlight illumination is an accident waiting to happen and may well measure below NHTSA standards if tested.

- Porterfield, WI, USA

problem #6

Nov 202014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
The owner of a 2014 Jeep Cherokee latitude purchased this vehicle in may of 2014. Within 3 months I noticed having problems with the dash board with lights or instrument cluster not coming on when vehicle is started. I figured it was a fuse and did not immediately have a concern, but this has occurred at least three times. I take the car to the dealer and reported grinding noise when I turn steering wheel, dash lights going out, and concern of not receiving the gas mileage that I should be receiving. The dealer at Jeep Chrysler at local state diagnosed as the rack and pinion and needed to be replaced. I travel out of state and during my visit the dash board lights are out again and disables me not to see how fast I am going or how much gas is in the car. I take the car to the dealer and the dealer reports it's the instrument cluster.

- Redfield , AR, USA

problem #5

Jul 012014

Cherokee

  • 200 miles
Sorry I'm not sure why it does this... when I'm driving sometimes and I take my foot off the gas to slow down.. for some reason my car on it own.. speeds up.. I watch the RPM and there is a big jump in rev.. I'm not sure what that is.. I actually lurch forward. I'm scared that one day it's going to hit a person or go through the wall of my garage! the second thing is my light switch I am not sure why but twice it's pushed into my dash board...the first time it happened I was stuck at dusk.. couldn't drive.. my normal dealership in North seattle called the dwayne lane in everett and they told my dealership that they won't do warranty work.. so my dealership had to send out a guy from service and drive all the way to everett to do a temporary fix... the third complaint.. now at 9500 miles there's a leak in my engine coolant.. and it left me stranded in everett and had to be towed.. by the way tried to go to the everett dealership dwayne lane and again they wouldn't help me this time.. I had no ride home and they wouldn't provide a rental car.. even though I paid for a very expensive extended warranty. I had the car towed the next day to marysville Jeep dealership and they are wonderful! don't buy from dwayne lane in everett!!!! the service department is the worst in the country. I've heard many horror stories from clients.. to tow truck drivers.. to other dealers.

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #4

Sep 292014

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
The transmission continues to accelerate while the brakes are being applied. These problems are the worst between going from 3rd to 2nd and 2nd to 1st gears. The Jeep accelerates while slowing down when ample pressure is applied to the brakes. Had to swerve off the road onto the shoulder to avoid an accident due to the brakes not acting timely and the vehicle still accelerating due to the transmission. The brand new vehicle has been taken to Chrysler two times for this problem and they can┐┐T ┐┐duplicate┐Ł the problem. Was informed ┐┐the transmission is a learning transmission and will adjust to the driver and to wait until first oil change at 3000 miles to see if the problem persist". the problem is still very present and even worsening. Now, with only 1800 miles on vehicle the turn signals are not working properly. The right turn signal sticks, stays on or randomly turns on. While the left turn signal is not working at all. While driving my brand new vehicle (not even two months old) having to use hand signals to communicate when turning left. Furthermore constantly turn right blinker off. Less then two months old the vehicle will now go in for it's third repair. This vehicle is very unsafe!!

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 042014

Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
I keep my headlights on the automatic setting at all times. Approximately 4-5X's since owning this vehicle I have gotten in and there would be no lights. The 1st time I thought it was a blown fuse and realized that the headlight knob was turned to the off position. I thought someone must have switched it, but after the 3rd time it happened over a number of months I called the dealer who said there was no way that could occur without someone switching it because the knob has to be physically turned.I would tend to agree with him but the knob is located in a place where it would be almost impossible to hit it with your knee or otherwise change it without knowing. My husband is the only other driver, and neither of us change the lights from the auto setting. I am only looking to get this on record at this point, but it is a safety hazard since the dash lights up inside even if the lights are off outside, so it's not readily apparent that the headlights aren't on.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #2

May 012014

Cherokee

  • miles
2014 Jeep Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle headlights problem. The consumer stated while driving at night, the headlights did not properly illuminate the road. The consumer believed it was a design flaw, because the headlights bulbs were located toward the rear of the lens. Updated 01/06/15.

- Greentown, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 012014

Cherokee

  • 2,950 miles
When turning on the car the windshield wipers turned. The wipers were not in the on position. The indicator lights were not working and the high beams could not be turned on. This persisted for over 2 hours.

- Woodside, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?