Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: How many transmission complaints can a new vehicle really receive? You'd be surprised. Unless you're a 2015 Cherokee owner, then I bet you're not surprised at all.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Nov 212015


  • 400 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle began to violently shake. The dealer diagnosed that the brakes and rotors failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, on another occasion, the vehicle failed to shift properly and shifted roughly without warning. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. After coming to a stop, the vehicle independently shut off. The contact mentioned that the push to start failed to restart the vehicle and the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the fuel saving feature was enabled and the push to start feature needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 400.

- Fairmont, WV, USA

problem #31

Sep 212016


  • 17,100 miles
While driving less than 10 mph, emergency brake came on thus making the car unable to steer or move.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #30

Aug 292016


  • 13,000 miles
I previously filed a complaint in December, 2015 regarding the automatic braking system applying the brakes for no reason. In January, 2016, the dealership replaced the braking system; however, the car has braked automatically on two separate occasions since they were replaced. Third time April 1st, 2016 while backing into my driveway, no vehicles or objects around. Took into dealership, dealership stated no problem found and that was normal braking (this is not normal braking). Fourth time on August 29th, 2016, again, while backing into driveway with no vehicle or objects around. Taking the vehicle back into the dealership on 8/30/16, this is the 4th visit to the dealership for this issue.

- Charlestown, IN, USA

problem #29

Aug 022016


  • miles


Transmission shifting and reliability. We have the trailhawk version of the Cherokee. We are having issues of a clank/bang occasionally about 40-42mph; it can be felt in the floorboard. Sometimes we will get this in reverse when we start to move. The biggest complaint is when trying to leave a light or intersection and step on the gas nothing happens or it slowing starts to speed up or it takes off like a jackrabbit. It is not consistent. When leaving an intersection we are not confident in what type of reaction we are going to get. Will it move or maybe decide to move eventually. Also, normal acceleration seems spongy or bouncy. It is like pressing gas pedal down (slightly) then letting off; on off, on off, on off. It happens quickly until we reach 20 plus mph. If we select the sport mode, I have not noticed the spongy feeling on acceleration. I think that knowing how your car is going/supposed to respond when applying the brake or pressing the accelerator pedal is important the safety and confidence in driving one's vehicle. My wife has also experienced the parking brake reapplying when she is backing out of a parking spot at her work. The parking lot is on a slope. She backs up and when she tries to go forward it doesn't want to move. Then she looks and the parking brake is back on. She has to turn it off again to move. We also have been having issues with the rear hatch. The dealership has done the recall for the electric lift mechanism. We have issues when it won't open electrically and issues with it not latching. There was nothing in the cargo area to interfere with the hatch operation. We have addressed these issues especially with the transmission several times with the Jeep dealership and have left messages with no response to the messages. We currently have 20600 miles on the 2015 Cherokee.

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 202016


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the check engine and battery warning lights illuminated. In addition, the ┐place the vehicle in park position┐ warning message displayed. The vehicle was placed into the park position and another error message illuminated stating ┐place the vehicle in the desired gear┐. the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts and the brake pedal was difficult to depress. The failure was intermittent. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #27

Mar 092016


  • 1,070 miles
Engine shuts down stalls out while driving no warning on roadways freeways no power steering or brakes serious injury or death could be a result.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #26

Dec 232015


  • 6,000 miles


Purchased vehicle new, July 2015. On three separate occasions, while driving between 35 mph to 45 mph, vehicles automatic braking system engaged for no reason causing the vehicle to slow dramatically in traffic. First instance was driving on country road, second instance on major interstate, third instance driving on city road. In addition, on numerous occasions, automatic braking system engaged for no reason when vehicle is in backing mode. This has occurred while backing into parking spaces and into my garage. In all instances, the braking warning system engaged automatically. Has been at dealership twice for these two problems, most recent visit, dealership was able to duplicate the automatic braking engaging when it should not have while in backing mode. No resolution from dealership at this point.

- Charlestown, IN, USA

problem #25

Sep 252015


  • 5,004 miles
I have owned this vehicle for 4 months and every 3 weeks I have to return it for service due to the transmission, 4X4 and traction control not working. Starts off in 3rd - 4th gear at any given time (almost been hit several times), will accelerate and surge forward during down shifting while stopping (almost hit several different vehicles) and now surges to 7000rpm when turning right and parking break has locked up 3 different times while in gear. 2 different dealerships don't know what to fix because it doesn't register any codes, they also tell me that this is a huge problem on all 9 speed transmissions they make, not just the one's in Jeep. But since they don't know what to fix and therefore its not an issue and I have to take my unpredictable and unsafe vehicle home and not the loaner because Jeep will not pay for it. I have contacted Jeep who assigned me a "resolution case manager" who will no longer return my phone calls for buy back or trading for a different vehicle. Is that their resolution, blow everyone off and hope we all go away"? why is nothing being done for everyone's safety? why are they still knowingly selling these vehicles with no know fix? how long before someone gets seriously injured? there is more than enough information that I have read on this page yet there is no action? isn't that what this site is for? action"

- Davison, MI, USA

problem #24

Sep 242015


  • 10,000 miles
Purchased the 2015 Jeep Cherokee in March. Have had issues with the transmission due to the recalls. The vehicle would slow and not shift properly, it would also lurch and stall and shift very clunky. 9/21 - had the recalls taken care of and was told it would solve the issues. 9/22 - driving on the freeway in stop and go traffic and the car suddenly lurches and then stops. The service transmission, check engine and emergency brake were all flashing. I almost got rear-ended and was in a serious accident. I had to turn the car off on the freeway to "reboot" it as it was stuck in a parked position but not powered off. 9/24 - en route to get the car serviced, I was on the freeway in traffic, it lurches and stopped again, this time causing me to rear-end the vehicle in front of me.

- South St Paul, MN, USA

problem #23

Sep 292015


  • 3,800 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled and the brakes failed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 3,800.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #22

Aug 252015


  • 4,693 miles


The transmission sifts erratically, from first to second & second to third gears. Its sluggish grinding has caused near rear end collisions from drivers following the vehicle, as it speeds up & slows unpredictably. I have taken this vehicle to the dealership 5 times during the first 11 months of ownership. The 1st time was July 2015. 3 times technicians have installed updates (or "fixes") to the transmission; 2 times the technicians have claimed an inability to identify the problem. When the vehicle shifts into park the brakes do not hold, causing it to lunge forward. When driving in "stop and go" traffic conditions, upon applying brakes the vehicle lunges forward. This problem has resulted in near accidents due to the inability for the driver to control brake activity. The vehicle was seen in 8/15; he was unable to identify the problem. The vehicle continues to exhibit these problems.. the vehicle continues to exhibit these problems after multiple attempts to address them. The vehicle has 5,100 miles on it. It continues to exhibit these problems after multiple attempts to address them. I have been to the dealership 7 times to address repeated problems, causing a loss of time to employment. Repeated flawed attempts to address problems have diminished its trade in value. Attempts to negotiate trade in or replacement actions with the dealership have not been successful, as remedies such as trade in reflects its diminished value. The vehicle consistently causes safety concerns to the driver as well as potential occupants. I am a senior citizen, and disabled; these two attributes make automobile safety a particular concern to me. Please let me know if you need additional information about these reports.

- Auburn, IL, USA

problem #21

Sep 202015


  • 5,000 miles
Driving on the highway and as I approached the exit I tried to tap the break, nothing happened and they were locked... the peddle had no give at all and the vehicle had no breaking ability. Shifted the automatic gear box into manual and down shifted into 1st gear to come to slow speed/stop.....ran a few red light due to this and luckily the roads were empty.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #20

Aug 212015


  • 1,843 miles
Transmission stalls alot and is very sluggish, really afraid to let my son ride in the Jeep because im scared we will get hit because you have no power to get out of the way. My Jeep always would not start today and when I tried cranking it the brakes felt like a rock and could not be depressed, ,, that could really cause a problem and get myself and others hurt if the brakes did that while driving, thank god I was not on the road this accured in my driveway. Scared to really drive this Jeep but I pay $940 a month and you would think this thing would run and drive and be safe but im now wondering about this and I have only had this Jeep since July 20 15 and it only has 1977 miles on it.hope this info may help others.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #19

Feb 212015


  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. When the ignition was turned to the on position, the vehicle would not shift out of park. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the diagnosis was unknown. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer as made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 2,500.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 022015


  • 1,890 miles
I have owned this 2015 Jeep Cherokee since December 2014. The transmission had to be replaced @ 1890 miles, car stopped dead trying to pass a truck on steep grade, overheated transmission. The power brake master booster had to be replaced twice, @ 2490 miles and 4920 miles, no brakes just crash into nearest curb or car, part and system failure. The transmission mounts had to be replaced @ 2560 miles, car howling like a banchee, parts failure. The software had to be changed 3 times, "trying to solve factory problem". warning lights for check engine and battery came on and car shuttered and came to abrupt stop, in the middle of a dangerous curve, with all system shut down completely @ 4970 miles, currently investigating cause. The car has been with the dealer, in total, more than 45 days, currently at dealer again. This car has left me in life threatening situations 4 times. It appears that when any preprogramed limits are reached, all systems shut down, brakes, steering, everything. You are left totally defenseless and not able to control the vehicle. The Jeep has no emergency brake! this is the most unreliable and dangerous vehicle I have ever driven. I have been totally stranded away from home twice, and have yet to recover over $1000 in out of pocket expense, transportation, hotel, food, and cabs. The dealer closed at 2pm on a Saturday, 280 miles from home, said good by and told me to contact Chrysler for assistance, " it wasn't his responsibility". all 2014 and 2015 Jeep Cherokee should be recalled and taken off the road. This poorly conceived and engineered vehicle is dangerous and will kill many people, if it already has not. The Chrysler corporation and its dealers are knowingly selling a faulty and dangerous vehicle to the public.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 292015

Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 400 miles
I leased the vehicle on 6/17/15. Within a week the service park brake light came on briefly. Dealership said it was a fluke. A few days later. Back sensor beep would not turn off while driving. Dealership said it was a fluke. A day later power lift gate wouldn't work for a day. Dealership said it was a fluke. When I called the dealership the first time they proceeded to tell me car was sold to me with a reprogramming airbag recall so I took in to get fix & have other items looked at. They never looked at other issues. A week later service brake light came back on I took in immediately. After 3 days sitting in the shop they said 25 codes came up & not sure how to fix. After a week of them having the car they said it was fixed. After 10 hrs of having back the transmission light came on. I took back to service & the mgr said car is unsafe and would request a new vehicle for me that would take 6 wks to get. He also told me the dealership they got my vehicle from had issues w/car and never said anything. In the week I haven't had the vehicle I've been given 6 loaner cars. 1 of which broke down with service park brake & transmission lights on and could not shift. I have demanded Chrysler to cancel my lease and return my funds owed...updated 09/22/15 the consumer stated the ncds arbitrator and Chrysler agreed to release the consumer from the lease. The consumer would also be reimbursed. Updated 12/9/2015 updated 12/21/15

- Parma Heights, OH, USA

problem #16

Jul 192015


  • 939 miles
As I was driving the car notified me that my 4WD was temporary suspended and after sometime it showed service transmission and the service light came on and my steering was stuck, it was difficult to control the car but I managed to stop the car in a remote place. After I tried to restart the Jeep I could not restart it and there was not cranking noise and I got 3 messages on my dash. "service transmission" "service park brake" and svc 4WD. I have had the Jeep for less than a month. It just had 939 miles on it.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #15

Jun 062015


  • 480 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Cherokee. While driving approximately 65 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle began to vibrate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was discovered that all four brakes and rotors were excessively overheated. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 480.

- Westhampton, MA, USA

problem #14

Jun 262015


  • 3,466 miles
Less than 90 days after buying a new Jeep Cherokee I watched it towed away B/C it was un-driveable. It began in the morning when the gears were not shifting appropriately. Then a few hours later, the engine would rev, and car would speed up, even though I wasn't pushing gas pedal. Then reverse failed. Then the parking brake light came on. Finally, it stopped shifting up -- I had to floor it to go 5 miles an hour. I ultimately had to coast home.....updated 11/02/15

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #13

Oct 042014


  • 506 miles
The vehicle stop/start feature activates on the highway when in traffic congestion when I come to a complete stop, at a stop sign, or at a red light; periodically, the emergency brake is also activated and does not allow me to turn it off and proceed unless I remove the ignition key, insert it, and then restart the car. Only then, will it allow me to turn off the electric emergency brake and move into traffic. My family and I have been in danger from other vehicles on the highway, at red lights and stop signs, because of my car stalling, in this manner. The stop/start feature places me and my occupants in danger of collision from other motorist. I have reported it to whitten brothers, local Jeep dealer, several times, however, they discredit the complaint and I believe they do not document it.

- Midlothian, VA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?