Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,060 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Commander drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Commander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Commander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #96

Mar 012016

Commander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that the ignition key failed to start the vehicle intermittently. In addition, the vehicle was able to shift gears without the key. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #95

Dec 012008

Commander

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving various speeds, the vehicle lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. All the gear selections illuminated on the instrument cluster. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine, radiator, spark plugs, and multiple parts needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The VIN was later included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #94

Aug 192016

Commander

  • 159,000 miles
My 2007 Jeep Commander is stalling and shutting off while in park and while driving regardless of speed. It has been diagnosed at a Jeep dealership and they say the fuel pump is bad though are unsure if that will fix the problem.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #93

May 012016

Commander

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle lost power and all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was able to restart after the first attempt, but the failure recurred several times. The contact stated that the transmission warning light was still illumniated after the vehicle restarted. The manufacturer was not notified and no repairs were made. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #92

Jan 172016

Commander

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 40 mph, the contact heard a clicking sound. The transmission overheated, check gauges, and battery warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and then to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the PCM was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. After the failures, the vehicle was remedied under NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system:ignition:switch); however, the vehicle would not start. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 08V203000 (power train), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 111,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #91

Nov 192015

Commander

  • 112,000 miles
While in motion on an interstate, going about 70 mph the vehicle began to decelerate. The electrical warning panel flickered. When the accelerator pedal was depressed the vehicle failed to respond. The vehicle would only go 30 mph with accelerator pedal depressed completely. Needing to get off of interstate, the vehicle continued to only go 30 mph on a city street. Occasionally, the vehicle would shake, jerk, and the electrical warning panel would flicker. Transmission over temp warning light then came on. Took vehicle to a transmission repair shop. Unable to put vehicle in reverse, vehicle will not respond. Waiting to be inspected to determine the problem.

- Sissonville, WV, USA

problem #90

Nov 162015

Commander

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Jeep same engine and trans, it is doing same think as the 2006 recall is expressing. All I get from dealer is they can find nothing wrong. I can't get them to help me with anything. If you search the web you will see this is a big issue on the 2007 Jeep also. I was very close to getting into a crash today. This is the 4th time it has happened. Recall number: 08V203000recall date: 05/06/2008 component: Power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM) problem summary: Chrysler is recalling 24,461 my 2006 Jeep Commander vehicles equipped with 4.7L V8 engines. The powertrain control module (PCM) was programmed with software that may allow the engine to stall under certain operating conditions. Consequence: This could cause a crash without warning. What owners should do: Dealers will reprogram the PCM software in all 4.7L engine equipped my 2006 Jeep Commanders built prior to January 11, 2006. The recall began on May 19, 2008. Owners may contact Chrysler at 1-800-853-1403.

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #89

Oct 022013

Commander

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the converter and the transmission were replaced; however, the failure recurred. The contact also stated that smoke was entering the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the details of the diagnosis were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #88

May 202013

Commander

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while attempting to turn the vehicle, the ignition was turned to the on position and the power train failed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure was persistent. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #87

Oct 092015

Commander

  • 140,005 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the vehicle stalled without warning and the gages failed to function. The contact also stated that while driving at 45 mph, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V175000 (electrical system, power train) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,005.

- Dearborn Hights, MI, USA

problem #86

Oct 112015

Commander

  • 3 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls while driving on highway at speeds of 70 mph. Reporting problem PCM system software programming

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #85

Sep 012011

Commander

  • 65,000 miles
This loud clunking noise and vibration on downshifting has been going on for a long time. Happens when the vehicle is slowing down and the transmission is downshifting. A pronounced clunk two times as I slow down. I have taken the Jeep to the dealer and various repair facilities and it can't be fixed. The Jeep people claim they can't replicate the issue. I feel they are stonewalling me. I have spent a lot of money on this and it's unnerving especially when I have other people in the Jeep. "why don't you get it fixed they ask"

- Mint Hill , NC, USA

problem #84

Jun 152015

Commander

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While coming to a stop at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle shook violently and stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train), but the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000. The VIN was not available.

- Roscoe, IL, USA

problem #83

Aug 032015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Commander. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to complete drive control module and ignition switch recall notices. Updated 09/18/15

- Thornville, OH, USA

problem #82

Jul 012012

Commander

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. The contact stated that while parked, the vehicle intermittently shifted into drive without the brake pedal being depressed and all the gear shift indicators illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #81

Jul 012014

Commander

  • 90,000 miles
Vehicle loses power while driving dash lights all flash ABS trips on and off

- North Webster, IN, USA

problem #80

Sep 092014

Commander 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Commander. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle lost power and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to multiple dealers and the mechanics diagnosed that the PCM needed to be replaced. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 08V203000 (power train), but the VIN was not included. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 98,000. Updated 7/14/15

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #79

Apr 272015

Commander 4WD 8-cyl

  • 84,440 miles
Bought the car 5 months ago. I started my car to go to work, everything started on except the car. Took out the key and try to turn it back on, nothing. Later on the day, my husband turn the car on and it came back on. The next day, the car wouldn't start, but again the radio, the lights, windshield wipers are on, except the car.

- Manitowoc, WI, USA

problem #78

Oct 012011

Commander 6-cyl

  • 51,968 miles
Right after purchasing this car in 10/2011 the Jeep would randomly cut off or lose power, not sure if this an electrical issue. Due to the randomness of the issue, they could not duplicate the problem when I brought in the car. After going back to the dealership the manger at the time wrote/promised that his establishment (reliable auto) would repair/fix the issue if it occurred again (within a year or 12,000 miles). After a years time the issue still continued, but now I cannot bring it in to be fixed w/out being charged. Whenever I pushed down on the pedal to accelerate, the car could not accelerate past 25- 30 mph! this would occur while I was already in motion, or at a light. Felt like the car was, "stalling" and the service park assist message would appear. I would try to shift the gear but nothing changed, the car still would not accelerate. This happened on multiple occasions. Sometimes the next day the car would drive just fine, other times the problem, "fixed itself" within a few days. Every time I took the car in they had a difficult time duplicating the problem. My check engine light would also illuminate but when checked no codes could be found. Super frustrating and scary to deal w/ this. In July/Aug 2013 the problem got worse when I was involved in an automobile accident. Took the Commander to Chrysler/Jeep and they were able to identify an electrical/shiftmodule problem. One of the reps. At Jeep told me this been common w/ Jeep Commanders. Before I had the Commander, I owned a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee, purchased brand new in 2005. Great car but had some electrical issues, when on, my headlights would randomly start flashing. In my experience, Jeep look good but come w/ too many issues. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #77

Apr 242015

Commander

  • 115,000 miles
After 6 hours of car resting (overnight) it would not start. The engine will not crank and will give the transmission over temp indication. The battery dcv is $12.30 plenty for an start. Where I live there is no snow nor the outside temp was hot ( the incident happened early morning with a cool outside temp of 76 degree F). After couple attempts it crank and start where the alternator charge the battery maintaining a dcv 14 plus. After one minute of idling I turn it off and try again, where it give the same error. Making the vehicle unreliable on the street.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?