Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,669 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #65

Jun 302008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1-I bought the Jeep 4/2008. A couple of months after, a window stopped working. I got the regulator fixed. Soon after that, another window stopped. I got that one fixed. Every time I get one fixed another breaks. Now I have 2 windows not working. 2-whenever I turn a corner, it sounds like the wheels are scraping against something. 3-soon after I bought the Jeep, whenever it gets wet and I turn corners, there is a sound coming the front like its the axle or something. I have taken it to several people/dealers and no one can find out why. They test drive it and hear it, look underneath and still cant find out why or where the sound is coming from.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #64

Jul 062011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that three of his four window regulators were damaged, causing the windows to fall down into the door. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who repaired each window regulator at the owners expense for $400. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,000. Updated 9/13/11 updated 09/28/11

- Marshallville, OH, USA

problem #63

Jan 202010

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
Several window motors on my 2001 Jeep have broke in the past two years. When this happens, the window falls down by itself and will not go back up without getting out of the car to manually push it back up. I had to pull over on the side of the highway to push my window back up for fear of it going all the way down and not being able to get it back up in the freezing cold weather. I am also concerned about the possibility of hitting a bump in the road and the window falling down hard and shattering. Please also take into consideration the fact that this has happened to three of my windows so far and that I am not the only one with this problem and Chrysler is refusing to do anything about it. Since it is so expensive to repair, I as well as many others are forced to live with it until I can save up enough money to get it fixed.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #62

Nov 242009

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All four windows gears and tracks have broken within the last year. Motors have had to be replaced on all four windows.

- Southside, AL, USA

problem #61

Jul 172009

Grand Cherokee

  • 107,000 miles
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee, window regulator failed and window will not close. My son's car with my grand kids. My son has identified numerous similar failures on other Cherokee. The failure occurs suddenly and had it been inclement weather, could affect drivers ability to control vehicle.

- Homewood, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #60

Oct 102008

Grand Cherokee

  • 91,000 miles
My 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee has now had all four window regulators fail with no apparent reason with an accumulated repair cost topping $1300. Most recently, the regulator on the window next to my infant son failed while traveling on the interstate during an intense thunderstorm, causing the window to fall into the door and soaking my child-quite a distraction at 70mph.

- Jackson, MS, USA

problem #59

Jun 252008

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Window regulators in this car have broken twice in less than a year and cost $550 to have repaired. I had one repaired in Sept 07. I can't afford this and am driving with plastic on my second window this happened too. The windows just drop as I'm driving at 60mph.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #58

Jun 092008

Grand Cherokee

  • 101,320 miles
The first incident occurred while driving, I noticed that the front passenger window began to lower itself without me activating the switch. I attempted to push the switch to make it go up which didn't work. The window then proceeded to lower itself into the door and would not return to the up position. I took the car to my mechanic who informed me that the window regulator had failed and that this is a common problem with this model vehicle. The regulator was replaced at a cost of nearly $500. The second incident occurred while the vehicle was parked. I returned to my car after parking it over night only to find the drivers side window was open about 3 inches. I attempted to close the window and had no response from pushing the button up. The window would however operate in the downward position but would not go up. I returned to my mechanic who advised me that the same condition as the passenger side window had occurred. $500 later I was back on the road. It is my understanding after reading countless "blogs" on the internet that this is a chronic issue and that daimler Chrysler is fully aware of it yet continues to ignore it.

- Posen, IL, USA

problem #57

Jun 152007

Grand Cherokee

  • 117,948 miles
On June 15, 2007, as I prepared to go to the airport. I rolled down the driver side window which then just fell completely down into the door. I had to borrow a friends car. This is the second time I had to replace the driver side window regulator.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #56

Apr 282008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
Rear driver side window regulator assembly broke in 06, front driver window regulator assembly broke in 07 and now front passenger window regulator assembly broke in 08. I had to replace the window regulator assembly, found that plastic block that holds the cables to the slide track broke. This seems to be a major design flaw on the assemblies, the plastic block gets old, worn and just cracks or breaks without warning. When this happens the window will just drop inside the door, again without warning. I feel that there should be a safety recall on these window regulators as someone could get hurt. I have the broken oem one that I just replaced if you would like to inspect it. Best regards christifer radley

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #55

Mar 112008

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver side window went down by itself, and will not go back up. It sounds like the window motor broke. After research on the internet (type in 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee power window defect), I found many others that shared similar defects in their power windows.

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #54

Aug 102007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,795 miles
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee power window failure. This is the second power window that has failed. The driver's side door failed in early 2007 and the passenger side failed in August of 2007.

- Helena, AL, USA

problem #53

Dec 202007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee= my vehicle should have been covered under the lemon laws of the us. Equipment failures: - window regulators- replaced 2 - heated seats- both seats have the wires burnt in two in them; possible fire hazard...not covered in recall of a later year - blend doors broke- had to replace all three motors and doors - left turn signal does not function consistently - door lock system is failing: Driver's door has quit locking; has to be done manually; back door behind the driver makes a squawking noise when you lock the doors, tailgate is not locking; alarm will go off if you open the door, but it is not locked. _constant small coolant leak.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #52

Jul 012007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Both the driver and passenger side front windows went out within about 6 months of each. Broken plastic piece each time. Almost $400 to repair each.

- Haubstadt, IN, USA

problem #51

Dec 032007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Electric windows keep breaking- 4 times now in same vehicle- one window mechanism has been replaced twice now. First time it malfunctioned, the window automatically rolled all the way up, then made loud clunk sound and window dropped down into the door. This is a safety issue as someone's arm could get stuck with the window rolling up on its own as well as having back windows fall all the way down when my young daughter is in the rear seat.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #50

Nov 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the front driver side window rolled down without warning. She was unable to roll it up using the electronic control. The dealer stated that the electric motor failed. Approximately one year later, the same failure occurred on the front passenger side window. As of October 26, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 75,000 and current mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/12/07

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #49

Sep 092007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The regulator on the drivers side window failed and the window dropped. It would not stay up on it's own. I took it to my mechanic (not a Chrysler dealer). Who discovered it was the regulator and replaced it for $275. Less than a week later on sat. 9/15/07. The same exact thing happened to the passenger window. I contacted Chrysler feeling there must be a defect for both to go within a week of each other. I was told there is no recall and they would not assist me with the drivers window as I did not go to a Chrysler dealer. They told me, for the passenger window, to go to a dealer, get a diagnostic done (at my own expense). Submit that to them and they would make a determination if they would assist in my repairs. They also said if they did decide to assist, there would be a $100 deductible. So by the time I pay for the diagnostic, the deductible and have to arrange to get the car to the dealer twice, if they do decide to assist me. It's ridiculous. There are literally thousands of posts on line from people who have the same exact experience. One poor man's dog jumped out the window when it fell and was badly injured. I can't believe Chrysler is allowed to get away with this at the consumer's expense. This has been going on with these regulators for years. They need to be held accountable.

- Middlefield, CT, USA

problem #48

Aug 012007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles
Was driving in a down pour and there was a very loud bang on the passenger door and the window slid down, this is a common problem with Jeep I'm told and this is the second time for me...................help!!!!

- Deltona, FL, USA

problem #47

Aug 262007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,500 miles
1) events leading up to failure: I pushed a button to roll up the window. 2) failure: The window 'popped' then fell into the door. 3) what was done to correct the failure: I went to a 5-star certified Jeep dealer and was quoted $300 for repairs both times. This has happened on two occasions; once Sept. 2006 (driver door) and the other just two days ago - Aug. 2007 (passenger front right door). After thorough research on the internet and discussion with the dealer, this is a "common problem with that vehicle." Yet the dealer doesn't even keep the part in stock so shipping fees are incorporated. Having a window which will not roll up not only puts personal property at risk of theft, but also damage due to rain, wind, snow etc. The most recent occurrence happened during a rainstorm on the interstate. This needs to be addressed.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #46

Aug 242007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
The window regulator broke on the driver's side. The part that broke was on the regulator and a cable connects to it. The part was made from plastic and was not strong enough to handle the weight of the window and it broke. I am the original owner and always took great care of my Jeep. The dealer wants $270 for a new one (not including labor) and this is very disappointing as nothing out of the ordinary was done to cause this piece of plastic to break.

- Littleton, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?