Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 272016

Grand Cherokee

  • 141,000 miles


I was driving from my place of work to my other job about 2 miles away and lost all drive power but was able to drive in 2nd gear was told that there is a manufactured defect in the transmission casing that it cracks do to the metal that it is made with and there is no way for pressure to sustain the vehicle in drive

- Priest River, ID, USA

problem #17

Apr 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I started my car and put it in R car suddenly accelerated backwards I put my feet on the brake and car continued back I could not shut engine off and attempted to shift into neutral when car surged forward. Again with my feet on the brake pushing as hard as I could car went through 3 walls of my home before stopping. Car is total loss in possession of geico claim # [xxx] at geico TL lot in Florida. I will also be filing a complaint with Jeep for same, I would like to have the vehicle inspected due to a possible manufacturer malfunction. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wellington , FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 104,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle jerked without warning. The contact also mentioned that the interior lights of the vehicle would remain illumined when driving at various speeds. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,000.

- Carlton , GA, USA

problem #14

Mar 282014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 94,800 miles
I got in to drive my '02 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and before turning ignition it was lightly bumped and it will go into any position. Also, while going down the road, the shift selector (that changes from N D R 1 2) was lightly bumped by accident, and it moved into N. this is the safety hazard. If a Jeep was sitting on an incline, and shift selector was bumped, or something. It could roll downgrade and could crash into another vehicle or another person. I could not find a recall on this. But this is dangerous.

- Sylvania , AL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Mar 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 132,632 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would independently shift gears without warning. The contact secured the vehicle in park and when she exited, the vehicle began to roll away. The contact was able to re-enter the vehicle and secure the transmission in park but to no avail. The contact had to utilize the emergency brake with force before there was any response from the vehicle. The contact scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 132,632.

- Cutler Bay, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) over a year ago. The dealer was notified several times but the parts were not available which she considered to be a major safety issue especially since her air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000. The current mileage was 91,000. The transmission, windows, fan relay switch, and emergency brake. Also, the radiator was leaking and all of the shocks for the tail gate lift, failed. Updated 02/24/14 updated 3/12/14

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 072010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
This Jeep has failed me in every way possible. Its unsafe and unreliable. At 68K the transmission went out in the middle of a dangerous highway almost wrecked, Jeep said sorry warranty ran out at 65K. All 4 windows have fell out with a bang, multiple sensors have gone out, relay sensor, all shocks that hold up hood and lift gates have failed. Radiator sprung a leak on Monday and parking brake failed/broke/took it in for the airbag check on May 16 two months ago and its is one of the bad ones..was told parts were ordered. Now the light is on and wont go off..was told I have no airbag at all that will deploy... very unsafe and unfair. Now its inspection time with this mess and no fix from Jeep. They need to handle this and get sued...they have put my life in danger many times.

- Fairfax , VA, USA

problem #10

Sep 052006

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,548 miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to several expenses related to vehicle and requests reimbursement the consumer stated the front brakes which included the rotors master cylinder, left rear seal axle, bearing, snap ring had to be replaced more than once on different occasions. Also, the vehicle broke down on several occasions and smoke was emitting from the vehicle on one of those occasions. It was discovered the relay fan radiator fan needed to be replaced. The transduce pressure sensor, solenoid, transmission gov and gasket were replaced at a cost of $ $530.50. The consumer stated the horn began blaring for no apparent reason and then stopped working/ two days later, all the gauges in the vehicle went to zero and all the interior lights illuminated and the windows did not work. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and a diagnostics test revealed an electrical problem. Updated 11/10/11 updated 11/22/11.

- Slatington, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 102010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 45,700 miles
Quadro trac transmissions no longer works in 4 wheel drive. It just stopped working with no warning or noticeable equipment failure.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #8

Jan 102010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when she tried to accelerate from the stop light, the vehicle did not respond immediately. When the contact removed her foot from the gas pedal, the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle then began to accelerate very slowly and within a few minutes it started to drive normally. The current mileage was 162,500 and the failure mileage was 162,000. Updated 3/30/2010 updated 05/06/10

- New York, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,000 miles
I was approaching a stop sign traveling about 30mph in my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When I took my foot off the accelerator, the engine continued to accelerate. I applied the brake but could not stop the car. The harder I tried to stop the car, the engine ran harder. It was like the cruise control was on and trying to maintain the 30mph speed. The cruise was not on. I ended up inside an office building that thankfully was not occupied at the time. The car was totaled and I was injured.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #6

Sep 092006

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,719 miles
2002 Grand Cherokee overheated and had to be towed to mechanic. Fan blade separated from the fan, which put a hole in the radiator. The failure occurred on August 24, 2006. The consumer feels that the failure stems from a recall that was issued on August 30, 2006 by daimler Chrysler. The dealer that serviced the vehicle indicated that the vehicle would not be covered under the recall because the failure occurred prior to the recall being received. After repaired the vehicle overheated again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined that the fan relay switch had to be replaced as well as the thermostat. While repairing that problem the technician found out that the vehicle had a blown head gasket. The dealer didn't have the parts available to replace it. The head gasket was replaced under warranty. The transmission cable broke while the dealer was test driving the vehicle. The consumer request reimbursement for all repairs.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #5

May 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2002 Laredo engine light and service light illuminated. When the consumers vehicle was returned to him, the engine light was still on and other problems had surfaced. The consumer believed the dealership didn't do anything to the vehicle but create more problems. The vehicle used excessive amounts of antifreeze. The transmission malfunctioned. The four wheel drive could not be used. The check engine light and coolant light remained illuminated at all times. The head gasket blew. While the consumer's foot was on the brake pedal the vehicle would accelerate suddenly. The ses light has been illuminated since the vehicle was purchased.

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #4

Jan 192005

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee developed problems with the transmission.** answer required***. this problem occurred once while the vehicle was on and once while it was off. The second incident caused $6000 worth of damage to the vehicle.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #3

Nov 022002

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Concern regarding safety of brakes, shake very noticeably when brakes applied. Replaced front rotors and calipers. There was continuing unresolved brake problems. The steering would also shake when the brakes were applied, the shaking and pulsation problem worsened, the cd changer had an internal fault, there was a fault in the transmission governor pressure sensor, the transmission leaked from the T casse adapter seals, the front PCV valve leaked at the front grommet on the valve cover, the front body seal was loose, there was a whine when the vehicle was driven up hill and upon acceleration, and the front rotors were out of round.

- San Anselmo, CA, USA

problem #2

May 152002

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
My wife and I purchased our vehicle from el dorado Jeep in mckinney Texas, on 26 December 2001. The vehicle is still under warranty, and has not cost any out of pocket as of yet. The vehicle in question, a 2002 Jeep Cherokee Laredo was returned to the dealer with a little more than 8000 miles and my wife indicated that there seemed to be a problem with the transmission then, with the dealer unable to find a problem. The vehicle has been returned a total of 7 times for transmission problems, and the dealer unable to find a problem. On one occasion it was returned and the transmission was removed from the vehicle, and clutches that had been burnt, were removed, but they could still not find any problem. Seals have been replaced, cables have been adjusted, and specs have been reset, but still the dealer can find no problem with the transmission. The vehicle now has a total of over 40,000 miles, my wife is still experiencing rough shifting, jerking, and sometimes she states that it is trying to lock up as she is driving. This is not a figment of my wife's imagination, I have been in the vehicle when it has done some of these things, and happens without notice. It may operate normally on one occasion, and on another you experience a problem. When will it happen and be the wrong time! the dealership, el dorado Chevrolet Chrysler Jeep of mckinney is owned by stan graff of graff Chevrolet of grand prairie Texas. Upon beginning our last quest with the dealership, my wife was contacted and it was stated to her that they did not believe would be able to fix the vehicle to satisfy her and suggested putting her into a new Jeep. They claim they can find nothing wrong with the transmission. They have had several people drive our vehicle and are unable to duplicate the problem. We have talked to others that have experienced the same thing, not just with Jeep, but other Chrysler products.

- Westminster, TX, USA

problem #1

Apr 022003

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The vehicle spontaneously shifted from park to reverse which resulted in damages to the vehicle. Mr scc

- Dallas, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?