Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,389 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Jul 302014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 225,200 miles


I have contacted Jeep and was told that they would not correct or authorize repair for this, even when I had the F25 safety recall notice. They repaired this problem a few years back, but their 'fix' was to install the same type of fan as was previously recalled. It failed again recently while I was in a parking lot - this time, when it broke, it slung the broken blade into the cowling and left a huge hole in this cover piece. It was a recall, for heavens' sakes - it does not seem that I should bear the cost of repairing this, since it is obviously a problem in the design of the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. One inch to the left while looking at the fan, and it would have been propelled into my head with serious injuries.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #23

Jun 042013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V527000 (air bags) over a year ago. The dealer was notified several times but the parts were not available which she considered to be a major safety issue especially since her air bag warning lamp was illuminated. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000. The current mileage was 91,000. The transmission, windows, fan relay switch, and emergency brake. Also, the radiator was leaking and all of the shocks for the tail gate lift, failed. Updated 02/24/14 updated 3/12/14

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #22

Aug 032012

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
My ac system is faulty. Hot and cold air blows at the same time. Windows constantly fog up and I can't see. Getting blend door codes on the climate control reader.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #21

Aug 252012

Grand Cherokee

  • 180,000 miles


I was driving on university approaching the stop light on 66th St in lubbock tx, as slowing down from approximately 35 mph, I heard an overwhelming loud bang come from the front of the Jeep, it shook the entire vehicle it felt like I had hit someones car. I was getting leaving lubbock headed home to plainview. Me and my daughter stopped at walmart where I left my vehicle idling for no more than three to ten minutes max. I came out from walmart and smoke was coming from my car. Antifreeze was spilt out everywhere and the person parked next me that my car had overheated and to let it cool down before driving it again. I came back to lubbock yesterday with my daughter and I almost stalled on the highway but was able to make into the walmart parking lot. A friend pointed out the radiator fan was all busted up. The Jeep will not start and is in the parking lot at the walmart on ave. Q in lubbock. Trying to figure out why it will not start up I believe it could be the radiator relay.

- Plainview, TX, USA

problem #20

Mar 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 175,100 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall as soon as it was started. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised him that they were unable to diagnose the failure but replaced the fuel pump. The failure recurred on an intermittent basis. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 175,100. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #19

Oct 282011

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated the fan relay module failed on the vehicle. When the part failed it caused the fan for the radiator stop working and the vehicle would over heat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who confirmed the fan relay module failed and it was defective. The contact stated the failure was a manufacturers defect. The current mileage on the vehicle was 129,682.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #18

Aug 302011

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph or while idling, the check engine light would illuminate and the engine would overheat. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the engine cooling fan was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 06V199000 (engine and engine cooling:cooling system:fan). The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Clementon, NJ, USA

problem #17

May 182009

Grand Cherokee

  • 81,000 miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Cherokee 4X4 quad drive, I recently broke down had to be towed. The problem was cooling fan. Due to the relay switch. This is just one of many electrical problems I have with this Jeep the door lock motors failed the windows failed on both driver and passenger side doors the bk hatch failed. The cost for the relay pkg was $347.59 I have yet to replace passengerside window operator and driverside door locks as they are both well over $300 each. This seems to be a defect as I have heard the same complaints from people that own 2002 Jeep Cherokee.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 232008

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, part of the radiator fan fell off of the vehicle. On another occasion the remainder of the fan fell off of the vehicle. Both failures occurred approximately one week ago without warning. There was a very loud popping sound and she observed that a piece of the plastic fan was on the ground. The dealer also confirmed that the VIN is a part of a recall. The current and failure mileages were 95,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Salisbury , TN, USA

problem #15

Oct 312007

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Failure of heater to deliver warmed air to the passenger side (this model has a dual heat control). In investigating this problem, it became clear that this is a very frequent issue with this model, often occurring at 50-70000 miles, filling many chat room threads, and even leading to an independently manufactured fix. (the "heater treater"--easily found by google or ebay). The problem apparently is due to cheap plastic blend door mechanisms which often break and require total dashboard removal to fix (~$1100-1500). If you want to see just one thread to judge the frequency of this problem, go to:

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #14

Mar 132008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Intake manifold crack feeding cylinder #1.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

Jan 012003

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Since the day the vehicle was purchased, the contact feels a vibration when driving 30-45 mph. The failure occurs when the brakes are applied. The dealer stated that the brakes were 50% worn. The manufacturer stated that nothing could be done. The vehicle has yet to be repaired. The failure mileage was 2 and current mileage was 20,000. Updated 01-15-08. The dealer stated installed intake debre shield. Updated 01/15/08

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 092007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
When I tried to start my 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee, there was a loud bang and the smell of something that had burned. The next day I had the vehicle towed to the dealer. I was told that the intake manifold blew off and the parts are on backorder. It has now been over a month and I was told it will be another month before parts will be received. The dealer told me they had never seen an incident of the type I experienced. I have contacted Chrysler three times and have been told on each occasion that they will not financially participate in the repair.

- Coxsackie, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 202007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
1)unknown, purchased as pre-owned 2)vehicle won't start right away, turn key to start then wait approx 10 seconds and try again, typically will then start, all other electrical parts would come on. On two occasions vehicle was towed because it would not start at all. Entire electrical system went haywire, no gauges, power windows and locks did not work. Heat/ac blower randomly works. 3)computer was replaced, starter was replaced, ignition switch was replaced. Problem still exists, but much more infrequently. Was advised by phil long Jeep repair that there is no part available to repair blower on heat/ac unit. Windows fog and freeze, no visibility. This has been an ongoing problem for many months. Complete failure occurred sometime in March 2007.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #10

Dec 162006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
- the contact is not happy with the service that he received from the Chrysler corporation. The contact has received a recall notice on his 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The notice said that he had to contact the aaa to have the vehicle towed to dealership. The contacted stated that dealership will not reimburse him for the vehicle being towed. The recall is for the electrical radiator fan. The dealership gave tentative date of 12/19/06 by 5:00 pm.

- Old Forge, PA, USA

problem #9

Sep 092006

Grand Cherokee

  • 56,719 miles
2002 Grand Cherokee overheated and had to be towed to mechanic. Fan blade separated from the fan, which put a hole in the radiator. The failure occurred on August 24, 2006. The consumer feels that the failure stems from a recall that was issued on August 30, 2006 by daimler Chrysler. The dealer that serviced the vehicle indicated that the vehicle would not be covered under the recall because the failure occurred prior to the recall being received. After repaired the vehicle overheated again. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined that the fan relay switch had to be replaced as well as the thermostat. While repairing that problem the technician found out that the vehicle had a blown head gasket. The dealer didn't have the parts available to replace it. The head gasket was replaced under warranty. The transmission cable broke while the dealer was test driving the vehicle. The consumer request reimbursement for all repairs.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #8

May 012006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
2002 Laredo engine light and service light illuminated. When the consumers vehicle was returned to him, the engine light was still on and other problems had surfaced. The consumer believed the dealership didn't do anything to the vehicle but create more problems. The vehicle used excessive amounts of antifreeze. The transmission malfunctioned. The four wheel drive could not be used. The check engine light and coolant light remained illuminated at all times. The head gasket blew. While the consumer's foot was on the brake pedal the vehicle would accelerate suddenly. The ses light has been illuminated since the vehicle was purchased.

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #7

Oct 142005

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
This is my 4th Jeep. Here is a little background on this issue. I purchased a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee, the overland edition. The dealership pushed buying a used certified Jeep vehicle! they mentioned the extended warranty that would take care of any issues that the Jeep had during the last years of my ownership. I went in the dealership looking to purchase a new vehicle but they told me all the added benefits / value from buying from the used Jeep facility! the warranty: As mentioned I purchased the warranty sold by Jeep at the local dealership. The service agreement that was sold by the dealership went bankrupt! gary miller Chrysler Jeep Isuzu located in erie, pa sold this to me. My 1st issue was when I decided to take the vehicle in because of a vibration while driving. I was made aware that the company was bankrupt when tying to call and find out what information will be needed when I go to the local Jeep dealership in Kansas City. Furthermore I mentioned to the Jeep dealership that pushed the contract that I am wiling to purchase the best contract to make sure I do not have an issue with my new vehicle in the future. The constant issues: I have now taken in my Jeep for 6 visits! I have only included some of the payments (see the additional paperwork) but you can see a trend here. This Jeep had been nothing but a problem since I purchased the vehicle! I am now stuck replacing the steering pump for the 2nd time! I have to pay for the replacement and live without a vehicle. I am out several thousand dollars and still have to take this vehicle (that Jeep pushed on me) to the service shop about every 6 months. I just started driving my vehicle from the last service repair (I am getting very familiar to the local Jeep dealerships) and still the item is not fixed and my Jeep is leaking oil all over our company driveway. This vehicle is a lemon and the company that made the vehicle sold me a bankrupt contract.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #6

Sep 162005

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,400 miles
I was driving on interstate 68 in Maryland when engine failed. Douglas motors a member of the Chrysler group informs me the engine failed due to sludge. Engine oil has been changed every 3000 to 5000 miles with 5W 30. Chrysler offers no help except I should of taken the extends warranty.

- Coatesville, PA, USA

problem #5

Aug 182005

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,068 miles
Heard plastic breaking, thought I had run over something. Then loud breaking plastic noise, then coolant low light came on, then engine began smoking and over heating. Front fan came apart and broke through radiator. Had to replace fan module and radiator. Replaced thermostat and flushed cooling system.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?