Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,486 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #15

Feb 232015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/15/2015 the dealer informed the consumer she did not need the hitch installed and it was to protecting in case of an accident. Two days later, the consumer was rear ended. There was no fire or injury. Upadted

- Allegan, MI, USA

problem #14

Jan 122011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
I contact Chrysler Corp and they said they will not fix it. They were to put on a trailer hitch to cover it from impact to keep the tank from exploding. It was a recall now asking you, to see what I can do. Updated 12/22/14. Updated 12/31/14

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #13

Jul 312014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The 1999-2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat track has a weak point on the rear scissor assembly. When you start to notice a wobble or click it means one of the tiny connecting pieces has broken. Eventually the other side will also break allowing you to lift the entire seat up. The seat bracket that connects the seat to the floor of the Jeep cracked. I started to do research and found out that this a very common issue and have caused many accidents. I have looked into getting the issue fixed and found it to be very difficult. I have found two web sites that list complaints from other people that this has happened to. I really feel that this is a safety issue and something needs to be done. These are the links to the other websites: jeepseatbracketproblems.blogspot.com/ (there are over 450 other complaints from Jeep owners. www.jeepseatbracket.com/pages/my-story (this is another website that is directly related to these incidents.) I really hope that this is seriously considered before sever injuries result in these Jeep defect. Thank you for the consideration.

- Lansing, IL, USA

problem #12

Apr 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and was informed by the dealer and manufacturer that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 06/27/14 updated 07/2/2014

- Wakefield, RI, USA

problem #11

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I cannot believe they got out of the recall of the gas tanks for my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I bet you are all filling your pockets at our expense for the 2nd time. Did we not bail them out" are we not paying for that? Chrysler Jeep is a crappy product. Not only am I driving an unsafe vehicle transporting my sick mother to many doctor appointments for her cancer, but no one wants to acknowledge it. Who is asleep at the wheel" I also think they should be investigated regarding the design of my Jeep for building it so any repairs in front of the steering wheel requires a full dash removal. Just for that it is $1,000 not including parts.my estimate came to $1,400 just to replace a hinge and a flap for the heat on the passenger side.really!! even the service techs at Jeep dealers think it was built that way to make money in the service dept. They say they would never buy this product, and they work for Jeep. Crappy design, cheap product. Everything is made of plastic. Shut them down!! they can buy my Jeep back.

- Dillon, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 96,075 miles
I would just like to know about vehicle without a trailer hitch to protect people from being hit from behind and maybe afire. And what N.H.T.S.a. is going to do about this matter.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #9

Jan 202014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fuel pressure dampener on the fuel rail leaked, dripping gasoline on manifold. This is a non-mechanical part. There should be no reason for a fuel leak to develop except for poor engineering/construction of the part. Leaking fuel in engine compartment is a safety issue.

- Bow, NH, USA

problem #8

Jan 052014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I just want to know what is going on with the Jeep recall for fuel tank explosions in rear end crashes. Why has nothing happened" can't you enforce this recall" I contacted Jeep last month and they said they were still in the "early planning phases", which is a completely unacceptable answer considering the amount of time they have known about this problem! please enforce this, I am scared to drive my 3 children around in our Jeep until this is fixed!

- Longmeadow, MA, USA

problem #7

Jun 022008

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have on two occasions had my door locks and windows stop operating. The first time a wire was found to have cracked in half inside a protected area of the drivers door. This cost $300. I became such a headache to the Chrysler Corp. They refunded me $250. The second time we experienced this same problem the dealer found the same wire in a different location under the glove box had just broken in two. This cost me again and Chrysler would not help. I have seen this same complaint on this same vehicle on this site. There is a problem that must be studied because of the possible fire hazard. Another problem we have had is an intense gas odor towards the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle has been checked many times an no one can find the problem, the odor is very intense at times.

- Brookings, OR, USA

problem #6

Jan 012004

Grand Cherokee

  • 0 miles
2004 Jeep [grand] Cherokee Laredo gas tank is a safety hazard. It is visible from the rear and easily erupted by a rear-end crash. This would cause an explosion.

- Emsworth, PA, USA

problem #5

Dec 182009

Grand Cherokee

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Throttle sticks - Jeep Grand Cherokee accelerates on it's own. Need to floor brake and throw into neutral to prevent crash. So far "throttle position sensor" has been replaced twice. Same symptoms as current problem reported in media by Toyota. Reported to Chrysler/Jeep on 2/4/10.

- Porter Ranch, CA, USA

problem #4

Nov 152009

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Fuel tank is below the protection of the rear bumper, made of plastic, and not protected by any means from rear impact from another vehicle.

- Sheatown, PA, USA

problem #3

Feb 042009

Grand Cherokee

  • 88,030 miles
I got a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6cyl and having a few issues one is the #6 keeps saying bad injector car skips and stalls been in the shop 4 times in last month replaces #6 fuel injector and the throttle positions switch and all sparkplugs and now going back to shop check engine light on same code again getting costly then the wires on window has to be fixed 2 times and cost from my pocket again.

- Bradford, RI, USA

problem #2

Aug 192008

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,190 miles
On 12/23/06 (mileage 11,948) my vehicle was returned to the dealer because the engine malfunction indicator light (mil) had illuminated and remained on after several normal driving cycles. The diagnostic trouble code (dtc) was P0455 - large leak from the evaporative system. A leak was found at the fuel pump seal and was replaced under warranty by the dealer. On 8/19/08 (mileage 21,351) the vehicle was again returned to the dealer because the mil was on. This time the dtc was P0456 - small leak from the evaporative system. A leak from a vapor hose was the cause this time. Since this emission component was no longer under warranty the repair cost of $293.75. I believe the emission system components on these vehicles are weak. These evaporative leaks present a danger to the vehicle operators (escaping gas fumes) and the environment. In addition, the dealerships are profiting by repairing these weak components at the owners┐ expense. A co-worker has a 2002 Grand Cherokee and the mil comes on intermittently. The vehicle has been back to the dealer on numerous occasions and the cause has yet to be discovered. Unfortunately my co-worker's vehicle cannot pass inspection with the light on and the dealer cannot diagnose the problem.

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 012004

(reported on)

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Engine would stop running at idle. The dealer placed a co-Pilot on the computer, however it shorted out, consequently the dealer had no idea as how to fix the problem. The gas mileage on the vehicle was poor.

- Maryland Heights, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?