Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Dec 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced stalling and the traction control warning indicator illuminated. The technician diagnosed that water leaked into the transmission; however, a diagnosis could not be determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 160,000.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #40

Feb 182010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Door handles on all four door have cracked and broken with normal use, we are afraid we will need to exit vehicle in a hurry and now we have to roll down the windows to exit vehicle this is a severe safety issue that needs to be addressed by Chrysler before someone is injured.

- Dresden, TN, USA

problem #39

Mar 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
In March of 2013 the right door in the back seat handle cracked, at first you were still able to open it then one day it completely broke off and now you can no longer open it from the inside, at first I thought maybe my daughter had pulled a little to hard on it, then I started to look at the all 3 other door handles and they are all cracked and slowly starting to break like the right rear door. I called the dealer and they told me that I has to replace all the door panels for $250 each there was no way to just replace the actual handle.

- North Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #38

Jul 082013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


I was driving to work on a highway and proceeded to change lanes into the left lane, immediately lost control of the vehicle and could not get it under control. I ended up in crashing into the safety cables in the middle of the road. It really did some damage. I managed to not his other vehicles during this scary incident. This was reported to our insurance company and we still have the vehicle.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #37

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Albany , OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #36

Feb 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles
We purchased a second hand Jeep 2005 Grand Cherokee last May 2013. It was a one owner one driver vehicle. By the looks of the interior there were no other passengers ever in the car. Very clean and unused. By December 2013 we noticed cracking and breaking around the passenger and rear door handles. We utilize the rear doors for our grandchildren. By February 2014 the rear door behind the driver had broken and has apparently unattached the mechanism that opens the door, which now is unable to exit the vehicle through that door. When this incident occurred I went online and saw that it was a common defect with this make and model. I contacted Jeep and Jeep dealer. No one responded back from complaint from Jeep. The dealer told us it would cost $550 per door to repair. When I contacted Jeep I asked how many casualties does it take for a recall. My granddaughters sit back there and could never exit the vehicle in an emergency situation. The handles are made of plastic as is the piece it is connected too. They actually sell replacement repair kits for this on line and dealership where we purchased said it would replace them for a large fee if I purchased the repair kit. Since this is a known defect and safety issue I don't feel we should have to pay to repair something that should have been a manufacturing recall. If the vehicle would catch on fire there would be fatalities.. the strongest handle is the drivers door"? which means it would take a lot longer for this one to break, do you think they knew this when manufacturing?"

- Putnam, CT, USA

problem #35

Jul 062014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 116,900 miles


I purchased the Grand Cherokee just the day before the incident. When I purchased it I did notice on driver side door plastic was broken around handle but was still operational. The next day my daughter was getting out of front passenger door when plastic broke around handle and handle itself would not work. I did some research online and saw that thousands of Grand Cherokee owners have had the same exact problem. There was even a guy who started making and selling his own replacement kit. This could be a huge safety issue if something were to happen and driver or passengers needed to exit vehicle immediately and could not if windows didn't work to use exterior handle to exit. Why hasn't this been recalled?

- Norfolk, NE, USA

problem #34

Jan 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer was contacted and advised that the part was not available for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #33

Jan 032012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I now have 2 interior door on my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee that have broken door handles. The third one has a small crack that will probably grow and become like the others.

- Hamilton , TX, USA

problem #32

Dec 202012

Grand Cherokee

  • 77,000 miles
2005 Jeep Cherokee limited. There has been an issue for years regarding the plastic door panels interior of the car. With all 4 doors cracked and 1 ( drivers door) will not open from the inside. This is a life safety to all occupants in this car. With a crash or fire to happen and you cant get out of a door due to poor design of the door by the manufacture. Theses door panels start out with small hair cracks and one time of opening the door you have cracked all the plastic and not able to open up the door. I feel that Jeep needs to stand up and correct this issue on a recall. After this happening you can take it in and they will put the new design that doesn't have this poor design for just over 800 dollars a door. So with this manufacture making a change to the panel, says they knew it was a poor design. This is happening to my understanding Jeep of 2005- to around 2010. I have paid close attention to the same year that I own and 90% of the time you see the cracks at the handles inside. Please lets figure something out before people lose there kids life or there own life.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #31

Mar 192012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles


Broken interior door handles (driver and front passenger) and cannot open the doors from inside. I found many complaints online with similar problem. I am very concerned an accident can occur and we would be trapped because the doors cannot be opened from the inside.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #30

Apr 092012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
This is about my 4 door handles in my Jeep they have all cracked. One on the passenger front side is almost not usuable. My warranty does not cover it, I tried to call multiple Chrysler places, they can't help me. My dealership has quoated me over $2500. I just don't have that kind of money to fix doors that I have not damaged. There plastic which does not help. I've gone on several websites and I have found so many complaints with the same problem as myself. I find that this is obvisously a Jeep problem. I feel they should be fixed or that Jeep should issue a recall.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #29

Mar 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee... appx 2-3 yrs ago, driver side door handle separated from door panel. Finally got dealer to fix under warranty. Appx 3-6 mos ago, same thing happened to other 3 doors -- called Chrysler customer care and told because of mileage (appx 80K) and age of vehicle... no extended warranty was forthcoming... dealer estimates $600-$900 per door. Safety issue... doors can not be opened except from the outside. In event of accident, rear occupants would be unable to open doors and escape vehicle in timely manner.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #28

Jun 152010

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
All door handles are broken on the inside. These have not been used improperly. The plastic behind the handle is very weak and it breaks. Neither of my back doors can be opened from the inside. I am completely restricted from using the back seat of my car because if an accident were to occur, anyone in the back seat would be trapped inside the vehicle. Front doors are equally broken but can be opened after a few tries. The hazard is still there for myself and anyone in the front seat. Although this plastic is an independent piece, the dealer will only sell the whole indoor panel at $500 each door panel plus labor. I called to file a complaint with Chrysler and they responded "you are on your own. The are no recalls or warranty. You have to pay it on your own". then I try to find generic or aftermarket handles and realize that literally every shop I visited has dozens of customers with my same car and my same problem, some that Chrysler responded to and some that they did not. Anyways, it is a serious defect on the Jeep Grand Cherokee 2005 indoor handles that is putting people's lives at risk and Chrysler is not doing anything about it but bully their customers and avoiding their responsibility.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #27

Oct 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
I purchased this vehicle in 2011, I was the second owner. The left rear plastic behind the door handle was severely cracked, at the time of purchase the dealer replaced this one and stated that it cost $500 per door to replace. The two of the three remaining doors had hairline cracks and were barley noticeable. In October 2011 had a passenger in the right rear seat. When they tried to get out they could not. I opened the door from the outside. Thought I had the child proof locks on. There was a big chunk of plastic missing behind the door handle on this side. It did not occur to me that anything was wrong until 04/31/2012 when a large piece of plastic fell inside the door from behind the drivers door handle. Then I started reading about all the problems with these doors on the internet. The door handles will fall out, because there is nothing to hold them in place. Now I have 2 doors with big chunks of plastic missing and the third door is severely cracked. Called Chrysler, opened a case. They called offered to fix them for $500. They told me my vehicle was out of warranty. I told them that I had nothing to do with warranty, it was a safety issue if you could not get out of the car. They were not willing to fix it. This is a safety issue! if the vehicle caught on fire and you could not get out you would be burned alive.

- Ardmore, OK, USA

problem #26

Aug 032011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The interior door handles on my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee are all broken. Two of them are inoperable. The cheap material used by the manufacturer should be recalled as it cracks very easily. Once the inside handle is broken the door can not be opened from the inside. This is a safety concern in case of a fire or accident. The dealer says the whole door panel would have to be replaced and not just the handle, as they are attached together. The cost of each panel is approximately $700 each.

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #25

Aug 302011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The driver interior door handle plastic mount broke. No abuse, no excessive wear and tear.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #24

Sep 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Interior door panels are cracking & breaking apart around handles. Three of four doors already have damage, am waiting for rear passenger door to do the same. Purchased 2005 Jeep, used, w/ less than 21,000 miles on odometer, no visible damage at that time. Rear doors are rarely used as we usually only have the driver or driver and one passenger in the vehicle. Have been in contact w/ Jeep/Chrysler, however, they maintain that: The vehicle is out of 3 yr/36000 mile warranty; it was purchased used; therefore, they will not help to repair this, even though it is a safety issue, and obviously the door panels were defective initially. Customer service @ Chrysler even suggested that I go to a dealer & have them inspect this. I asked if the dealer would have a 'plastics professional' on hand to be able to say that the panels were defective, of course the answer is 'no'. dealers will only do what Chrysler tells them, and so far, we're not getting anywhere w/ them. Help!!!

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #23

Jul 232011

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,000 miles
Door panels are broken such that door cannot be opened from inside.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #22

Jun 272011

Grand Cherokee

  • 78,000 miles
Normal door use, door handles cracking then breaking. Worried about safety. Unable to exit door in an emergency. Would have to be let out. Nothing done to repair. Three out of the four are broken. Jeep will not recall or repair. Only way to exit vehicle is to be let out from exterior.

- Monroe, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?