Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,682 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 29 of 41)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #256

Jan 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saginaw, MI, USA

problem #255

Sep 262013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving my vehicle it just shut down without any warning and I had to guide it to the side of the road to restart it.thankfully I was driving in a neighborhood where I could do this, it did this a couple of times in one outing, now its every so often. So far it has not done it while I'm out on an interstate but I try to stay close to home til it can be fixed. Plus when I have on my lights my dashboard lights blink on and off. Then here recently the air bag light started flashing and a few days ago it stayed on and hasn't shut off. I've talked to the Jeep dealership about this and they said that they don't have the parts to fix the recall item P41/ NHTSA 14V-438 and I'm liable for the airbag issue. From what I have read online all of these issues are connected. I received a letter on the recall a few months back but have not heard anything back on when I can get it fixed at the dealership. Please advise on what steps I should take to get the parts for this recall so I can enjoy driving my vehicle again. Thanks again

- Normal, IL, USA

problem #254

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #253

Nov 032014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 89,854 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my car at 50 mph all the lights on the dash came on indicating that the engine had turned off. This has happened 2 more times but both those times the car was not in motion. I was sitting at a stop light. After a few seconds the car turns itself back on. I am very fearful that the car may take longer to turn itself back on and I will have loss of power steering and braking. I have notice of a P41/NHTSA 14V-438 recall but am told the fix is not yet available. Due to the length of time I am requesting another vehicle to be provided until my car can be fixed as I am very fearful of a crash.

- Hansville, WA, USA

problem #252

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 03/30/15 updated 6/23/2015

- Lovelock, NV, USA

problem #251

Dec 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. Also, the contact stated that the air bag warning light flashed off and on. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Klanath , OR, USA

problem #250

Jan 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time of the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #249

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- El Paseo , TX, USA

problem #248

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/31/15

- Foley , AL, USA

problem #247

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Hartford, CT, USA

problem #246

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for the recall repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/24/15 updated 03/31/15

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #245

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ridgefarm, IL, USA

problem #244

Sep 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/6/15 the consumer stated it is a daily issue, trying to get the vehicle to start. The ignition switch is visibly loose. Occasionally, the air bag light illuminates. Updated 04/09/15

- York Haven, PA, USA

problem #243

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #242

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

problem #241

Jan 132015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
The first incident 01/13/2015 occurred while driving at 15 mph, all lights flickered, HVAC system shut off, radio turned off, every light on dash flickered on and off. On 01/14/2015 when vehicle was started, the radio turned off and on continuously, each time the blower on heater stopped. Later in the day, vehicle was running while parked. All lights flickered off and on, radio turned off and on, and fuel monitor reading went to 7 miles left before needing fuel. Vehicle had a full tank of gas. I am terrified to drive this vehicle now. Losing electrical power while driving is a recipe for disaster.

- Oxford, MI, USA

problem #240

Jan 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #239

Sep 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #238

Sep 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times and the failure progressed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer was unable to specify a date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 128,000.

- Stafford, NY, USA

problem #237

Jan 062015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 132,000. Updated 3/12/15 updated 03/15/15.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?