Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,018 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Jul 012008

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,824 miles


When slowing down approaching a hard stop, my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee ltd shuts off. This happens about once every six weeks. The dealer cannot figure out why it does this. I've narrowly avoided going over a hill, drifting back into cars behind me while stopping up a hill, and almost causing an accident in rush hour traffic. The dealer said unless the computer registers a code, there is no way they can fix. They refuse to send this up to the district manager for referral to chyrsler hq. I see on the internet there are numerous models encountering this issue.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #25

May 202008

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
Our 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 5.7L has stalled out three times after purchasing used in 2007. This has happened twice while traveling 65 miles per hour on an interstate and once while backing out of the driveway. Each time the vehicle stalls out, the entire car shuts down, including electronics. Each time the vehicle has restarted without trouble.

- Hopkins, MN, USA

problem #24

Apr 092008

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving between 50-60 mph, the vehicle shut off and would not restart. The vehicle had to be towed to the dealer and they stated that the cam sensor needed to be replaced. The failure has occurred intermittently ever since the vehicle was purchased. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 53,000 and failure mileage was 100. Updated 7/3/08 updated 07/03/08

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #23

Feb 202008

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee caught fire in the engine area and was destroyed..I was traveling to nyc from Vermont on 2/20/ took place in newtown ct........

- Northfield, VT, USA

problem #22

Oct 072006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
The stalling problem was originally reported to the dealers technicians at 9,007 miles. It occurred intermittently while coasting or braking. They could not reproduce the problem, indicating "[no codes] stored; could not duplicate condition" on the repair form, and sent it home with me. Knowing there was nothing they would do until a stall could be deliberately demonstrated, I continued to drive it until September, when the stalling became more frequent than the normal every-2-month average and nearly caused an accident due to the unexpected loss of power steering and brakes. I again asked them to track down the problem and repair it. They finally decided to attach their co-Pilot computer which monitors the Jeep's systems and have me drive it for a while. If it stalled, I was to press a button to capture the previous and future 30 seconds of vehicle activity. On two occasions while the co-Pilot was attached, a stall occurred. I pressed the co-Pilot trigger to capture the data both times. When they got the Jeep back, they said there was something indicating the engine stopped running on two occasions. Chrysler recommended they replace the egr valve and the purge solenoid, which they did. This morning it stalled again. I updated Chrysler and the dealer about the incident. The service manager told me that Chrysler's engineers have instructed them to perform no service - no replacements and no troubleshooting - on my Jeep until a mechanic can demonstrate another engine stall. Please note the following thread on I submitted this thread's information to the dealer tech's, but I cannot tell how much good it did. My Jeep still stalls and Chrysler still has no fix for it. This thread calls out commanders and Grand Cherokee, from 2005 through 2008. This is an extremely serious and wide spread problem, and it has "recall" written all over it. This problem needs attention and it needs it now.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #21

Aug 062007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee(4.7) with 58,000 miles overheated and stalled as I was pulling a small cargo trailer. The Jeep is equipped with a transmission cooler and up until this incident I've had no overheating problems. When I popped the hood there was coolant every where. The Jeep was towed to service garage and was diagnosed with a failed water pump. The day I picked up my "fixed" Jeep I noticed a strange sound coming from the engine... I took the Jeep back to my service garage and they told me my A/C compressor was failing and upon checking with the local parts supplier, my mechanic told me he could not buy a replacement compressor... I must go to a Jeep dealer. I did and was told there was a national back order and I would have to wait at least 3 weeks for a replacement. Keep in mind the engine has one belt, so at any time the compressor could freeze up and I would not be able to drive the vehicle once the belt broke. I did a lot of phone calling and found a compressor in Illinois.. it was delivered and installed for $550. So, within a week I spent over $900 for repairs. The Jeep was a dealer demo, so I was out of warranty even though I bought the Jeep with less than 1,000 miles on it.

- North Liberty, IN, USA

problem #20

Oct 302007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles


This is the second complaint I have filed concerning this problem. This is a continual issue that, if left uncorrected, will eventually cause an accident. My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee (4.7L at) stalls or nearly stalls while coming to a stop, or accelerating from a stop. The last reported incident occurred while approaching a stoplight. Since that initial complaint, I have spent 19 hours over 3 visits to the dealer trying to identify the problem. After replacing a solenoid in the throttle assembly, the condition seemed to improve, but has since regressed to pre-repair status. I have received no feedback concerning my original complaint from NHTSA, nor have I been notified by daimler-Chrysler of any developments in correcting this problem. Relying on DC's initiative to determine the cause and necessary repair for this issue seems irresponsible since they haven't done so in the two years that my model has been on the street. Also, if it were not for the personal initiative of the mechanic that replaced the solenoid, I wouldn't have received any help with my problem. The dealer position was that there was no computer registered event, so therefore, the stalling had not occurred. When they could personally observe the event, and capture it in the vehicle computer, they would investigate further to see if any repair was warranted. The survey below asks about property damage, deaths, and fires. Do I need to actually have one of these events occur to my family to flag my complaint for appropriate action? knowing a vehicle stalls while braking and accelerating at highway speeds and not aggressively determining the cause until a fatal accident occurs seems irresponsible. Hopefully, I do not hear about this inevitable recall the same way my Firestone patron pal did. (from the tow truck operator, post-accident). Please contact me with the status of this problem as well as instructions of how to get my vehicle repaired correctly.

- Radcliff, KY, USA

problem #19

Oct 252007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Our 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee has started cutting out or stalling. Engine just stops. My son was almost in a major collision when he couldn't get the car out of the intersection. Thank god there was no accident. Maybe if more people complained - I hate to see lives lost- what will it take for a recall- Jeep repair states resetting the drive train should help.. does it"??"

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee has engine failure when there is a rapid decline in engine RPM. Most often when getting off of the freeway and coasting to an intersection, or when making a turn in an intersection and lifting off the gas pedal. Engine dies and the vehicle shuts down causing a loss in power steering and all power. This causes vehicle to not be under control and veer into undesired lanes, curbs, and various locations due to having sudden loss of power steering and engine power.

- Central Point, OR, USA

problem #17

Sep 032007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,495 miles
The Jeep Grand Cherokee ( 2005 ) with the 4.7 V8 will stall intermittantly. It is very dangerous to lose all power brakes etc when stopping. I have 2 small children and am scared to have them in the vehicle. Accident almost caused!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #16

Jul 242007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,100 miles


Turning left to enter major highway and the engine stalls with loss of power steering and power brakes.

- Sierra Madre, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 242007

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since 4/24/07, my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee will intermittently fail to start. This typically has happened after driving it throughout the day without incident. (only once did it happen early in the morning after sitting all night.) for the first two failures, jumping the battery was successful. The third incident, where the jump didn't work, led to the battery being replaced, although the old battery was never diagnosed as faulty. When the car failed to start with the new battery, the keys were re-coded by a Jeep dealer. It then failed to start with the newly coded keys. The ignition was eliminated as a problem, and the starter was replaced (with an after-market product). When the car failed to start again, the starter was replaced a second time (with a Chrysler part) and the ignition once again was diagnosed as working. After the next failure to start, a temperature sensor in the transmission was replaced. When the car again failed to start, I was told the newly replaced temperature sensor was faulty, it was being replaced, and the car would be ready the next day. Now, three days after being told the car would be ready, I'm told that no one knows what the problem is, although the diagnostics now indicate there is a problem. I was told by the current Jeep dealer servicing it that no one could be consulted at Chrysler until the problem could be replicated. (although it is a timely process, the problem has been replicated while in repair.) it is now August 3, 2007, and for the last 102 days my Grand Cherokee has been in and out of repair for weeks at a time. When I have had access to it, I have not been able to drive it with any confidence. The dealer (not a Jeep dealer) where I purchased this car has been loaning me vehicles and they have been exceptional in their concern, despite anyone's ability to resolve this. Their daily attention my faulty vehicle is the only reason, as a first-time Jeep Grand Cherokee owner, that I have been able to stay on the road today.

- Columbus, OR, USA

problem #14

Apr 242007

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,000 miles
Car accelerated rapidly on four separate occasions without touching accelerator. Despite pressing hard on brake pedal, car engine sped up and spun two wheels making black tire marks on pavement. Now at dealer for diagnosis.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #13

Dec 222006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60 miles
- the contact stated vehicle hasda rough idle condition. While at a drive-through, vehicle almost hit the vehicle in front while trying to compensate for the idle. The contact stated that he brought vehicle to the dealership about five times, and, they stated they could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. The contact has been experiencing this failure since he bought the vehicle.

- Sebestian, FL, USA

problem #12

Mar 282006

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,677 miles
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee purchased brand new. Vehicle stalls while making sharp left turn (1st occurrence). This left me with no control of the vehicle. In March of 2006, vehicle stalled while making same left turn. Took vehicle to dealer for diagnosis and repair. Dealer could not find a problem and was told to "bring it back if it happens again". on 11/14/06, vehicle stalled while driving straight. Again I had no control of vehicle. Returned to dealer, vehicle was inspected by mechanic and regional manager. Called by service manager and was told "vehicle will not duplicate problem, come and pick up vehicle, car rental will not be covered at this point". told him I will not pick it up until something is done to correct this problem. I am very uncomfortable putting my family in this car, it's too unpredictable. I was then told it's out of his hands, it's a manufacture problem. Contact Chrysler direct. I have contacted Chrysler and filed a formal complaint. I was given a reference number and was told I would be contacted in 3 business days. I realized this was right around thanksgiving holiday and a lot of people are on vacation. The following week I contacted Chrysler and was told my file is with the dealer and they should be contacting me to arrange an "exit strategy". my husband was present when the service manager called the regional manager via cell and overheard the regional manager state he knows nothing of the problem. He was then reminded that he inspected the vehicle in person on 11/17/06. The regional mangers comment was then "oh, that car, it's still there"? he then proceeded to say "this is just a case of buyers remorse, they are just trying to get out of the vehicle". I am still waiting on a response from someone.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 132006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,100 miles
: the contact stated while driving 60 mph on the interstate, there was a loss of all vehicle power, and the engine stalled without warning. Afterwards, the engine was easily restarted. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who determined the electrical wires along the engine were mounted incorrectly and had worn into. The electrical wires were replaced, but the engine stalling problem persisted. The manufacturer was alerted. Updated 12/28/2006 - whike driving at speeds of 5 - 60 mph all the dasj lights would flash on and off and the vehicle would loose power. So far the dealer has replaced the crank sensor due to wear, front control module.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #10

Oct 282006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,100 miles
: the contact stated while driving 45 mph, the vehicle hesitated without warning. It was driven to the dealer on several occasions, however the problem has not been determined.

- Redding, CT, USA

problem #9

Jul 032006

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,950 miles
My 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee, purchased May 12, has encountered numerous problems with power. The car shuts off while driving in any condition, and has done so at least 10 times. My concern is that somebody behind me will plow into me when my car shuts off on a highway, which almost happened last week. The dealership does not know how to correct this problem, and I would like to formally file a complaint.

- West Mifflin, PA, USA

problem #8

Jul 092006

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
While driving 2005 Jeep grand cheeroke Laredo there was a fire in the engine.

- Valleystream, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 032006

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have numerous problems with the engine light coming on. This has been going on for some months now. I have taken the vehicle to the dealership for this problem at least three different times. My engine comes on and stays on for days at a time. The dealership was unable to diagnose the problem. Than for last few months, while I am driving all the gears on my dashboard light up and wont allow me to give the car any gas, and makes a sound like the engine is reving up. This can happen two to five times a day. Now, when I put the car from park to reverse it is a making a long banging noise and jerking the car.

- Monessen, PA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?