Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 16 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #355

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was not available to schedule a recall repair within a reasonable time frame. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/19/15

- Mineral Ridge , OH, USA

problem #354

Jun 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles
While driving my vehicle, the A/C, dash, and power steering shut down. Additionally, this casuea the brakes to lock up. This is a direct issue with the ignition. When the key is in the "on" position, the vehicle acts as if it were in the "off" position. This issue has put me in multiple situations where I feared an accident was imminent. I called my local Jeep dealership which informed me that the replacement part was not yet available. I was encouraged to call Chrysler's main office to get an update. They advised me that it was not yet available and that their recommendation was to not drive my vehicle until the recall was available. This vehicle is my only means of transportation, so that is not an option for me. The recall for this part was issued 9/3/14, it is now 6/9/15 and the recalled part still cannot be replaced.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #353

Jun 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) in September of 2014. The contact was informed by the dealer that the parts to perform the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of this issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #352

Jun 082015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/10/2015

- Lake City , FL, USA

problem #351

Jun 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times where it was diagnosed that the starter needed to be replaced; however, the failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Croton On Hudson , NY, USA

problem #350

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to do the repair were still not available. The contact felt the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer stated that there was no time frame for when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/19/15

- Pheonix, AZ, USA

problem #349

Apr 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought the vehicle in Texas on April 15, 2015 with the purpose of exporting it into Canada, where I live. My son and I drove it back to Canada and got clearance to import it into Canada as per the vehicle import form - form 1 from Transport Canada ( registrar of imported vehicles case # T 075907). I paid the import fee of $204.75 and the excise tax $100 and goods and services tax of $ $408.56 - $508.56 total. When I got to saskatchewan, where live, I tried to get the vehicle licenced and insured only to find out that I could not do that because of an outstanding recall on the vehicle... I went to a Chrysler dealership to get the recall taken care of only to find there was no " fix" for the recall and no definite time frame when I could expect to have the recall done and get the vehicle licenced and insured where I live. This leaves me with a dilemma!! I have never heard of a recall where there was no "fix" available before the auto maker announced the recall. I'm stuck!!! fortunately, I still have the vehicle insured with my Texas insurer and am driving on the permit from the dealer. I'm not sure how long I can continue to do this legally. It's very unsettling !! as I understand it, any vehicle affected by this recall are still ok to drive if they were bought in usa or Canada until a "fix" becomes available but an imported vehicle is not ok! help!!

- Regina, Saskatchewan Canada, TX, USA

problem #348

Mar 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
I bought my 06 Jeep in March of 2015 and had problems with it ever since. First incident happend right after I bought car. Pulled in to mcdonalds drive through and steering wheel locked up on me and dashboard lights lite up all of them. Scared the crap out of me. Same things happened at least 6 other times where the steering wheel would lock up and truck would shut off. I was sitting at a stop light when the dashboard lights lit up and then truck died. Truck will appear to be racing at times when I barly hit gas.I had my 5 year old granddaught with me and the truck shut off while I was driving going about 45 miles. I never was so scared in my life. All I could image was me and my precious granddaughter dying. I was so scared, I could not drive for a day or two to settle my nerves. Please help !!!!!. I think that Chrysler needs to pay for rentals till issue is fixed or have trucks replaced before someone dies. !!!!!!!

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #347

Jul 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated the vehicle's warning lights and lights on the dashboard illuminate sporadically. The contact received notification of nhsta campaign number :14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle failure mileage was 40000.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #346

May 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 165,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact experienced a failure related to the recall, but the details were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 165,000. The VIN was not available.

- Gramlin, LA, USA

problem #345

May 192011

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled. While parked, the vehicle would sometimes move forward even with the brake pedal depressed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the failure could not be diagnosed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #344

Apr 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sugarland , TX, USA

problem #343

May 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 104,531 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at any speed, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 104,531.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #342

Sep 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/21/15

- Plantsville, CT, USA

problem #341

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Deer Born Heights, MI, USA

problem #340

Mar 252015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,000. Updated 7/16/15 updated 07/23/15

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #339

May 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly shut off. After restarting the engine, the vehicle would operate normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #338

Mar 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle lost power and jerked. In addition, all the lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000. MA 10/19/15 the consumer stated the airbag light illuminated for weeks at a time then went off. The cruise control would not engage. Updated 3/21/2016

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #337

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled. After restarting the engine, the vehicle operated as normal. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #336

May 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
On July 18 2014 recall # P41 was issued by Chrysler Corp. They have, as yet no solution for this issue. It has been almost a year and no solution in sight. Who in their right mind issues a recall without a solution? I need this recall completed so I can get it licensed. I need the nhtsb to insist that Chrysler live up to it's claim that safety is of paramount importance. Either abandon this recall or fix the problem.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?