Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 31 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Jan 282013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The latch on the back door makes a buzz or a duck like noise when locks. Seat belt does not retract all the way when unfastened.

- Raytown, MO, USA

problem #54

Nov 262012

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 70,320 miles
The Grand Cherokee stalled at a light on a hill. Restarted it and but it back in drive but vehicle continued to roll back almost rolling into car behind. Stalled 4 more times but in parking lots and non busy roads. Took it back to dealer where they updated software on computer and said it was fixed. Then stalled on a busy highway and was almost rear ended because vehicle stalled and wouldn't go into gear. Then parked it in parking lot and it stalled in park.

- Carbondale, PA, USA

problem #53

Nov 232012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I purchased vehicle 2 weeks ago, November 115, 2012. Over a period of several days, all lights on. Instrument cluster light-up, gauges go crazy, loose power and ability to operate vehicle. Very dangerous situation since I was on highway at highway speeds. Also, headlights begin to flicker off-on at a high rate causing a dangerous situation. I have researched online and found numerous similar complaints for Jeep. I went to my local Jeep dealer today...no help. Called Jeep hotline, 800-992-1997, no help, claim they havent had a problem. This is a safety issue and Jeep should stand behind their product.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #52

Oct 052012

Grand Cherokee

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Starting October 2nd, 2012, my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee has not been shifting gears correctly and all options on the dashboard (park, reverse, neutral, drive) will light up. The car slows at this point and I have to pull over, put it in park, and then put it in drive again; doing that seems to reset it. This issue has happened about 4 times since and it's only October 6th, 2012 now. After doing research online, this seems to be a huge problem with other Jeep Grand Cherokee and a very scary one at that. Godforbid this happened to me on the highway and wasn't able to pull over; its an accident waiting to happen.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #51

Jun 082012

Grand Cherokee

  • 73,788 miles
Since the day I purchased my certified used 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee, the interior instrument panel and dash lights have malfunctioned. The brightness flickers from low to very high, which is very distracting at night, some of the panel controls have since completely stopped working, and several times, all of the warning lights on the dash (seatbelt, airbag, check engine, etc) flash on and off while driving. This has happened at numerous speeds and times of the day. I video taped several incidents on my cell phone to prove it. Took it to the dealer and they said they can't duplicate the problem and the video means nothing. It happens more often, or is more noticeable, at night. They checked it in the daytime. Made no offer of any solution.

- Tamaqua, PA, USA

problem #50

Jul 272012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
While at highway speed, on the highway, vehicle stalled, lost power steering, acceleration ability, braking and lights. Had to coast to the side of the road while narrowly avoiding other motorists at highway speed. This has occurred on several different occasions at speeds anywhere from 5-60 mph. Very dangerous and frightening. This has been reported by thousands of other Jeep owners and is eventually going to get people killed.

- Bellevue, KY, USA

problem #49

May 082012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee continually has a problem with the entire control panel shutting down, gauges going to zero, A/C stopping, and headlights turning off when they are on. Recently the vehicle stabilization lights came on and a terrible grinding noise made. This has probably happened 30 times over the past year. It usually happens in about a 5-10 second time span. This past week it stayed that way for around 15 minutes.

- Duncanville, TX, USA

problem #48

Oct 202011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 42,318 miles
While entering on ramp for highway Jeep shuts off... no more control since no power. Hit the guard rail. This stalling happen on many occasions while driving or in park. With passengers in vehicle very scary. Have spent more than $4000 @ dealer @ & manufacturer involved. With no resolution...but the stress & the dissatisfaction in the american product I'd like to buy that can't be fixed. I'm convinced I'll probably never buy american again. Very disappointed on how Jeep corporate handled the issue & left me with vehicle with these problems & told me case closed... trade it in.

- E.Islip, NY, USA

problem #47

Dec 022011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
My vehicle started originally slowing down like it slipped out of gear. I was told I needed a new transmission but when I replaced it I still had the same exact problem with the vehicle staying in limp mode and check engine light on, RPM running high and not going into overdrive. The transmission is not shifting correctly after spending over $1500 on it. From my research I have arrived at the esm to be causing the problem with the vehicle not indicating what gear for the transmission to shift into. I have called the Jeep corporate office and even though they know that the transmission needed a repair when I first bought it with 17,000 miles on it they still did not feel they were responsible for my transmission problems. To me that are just avoiding the fact that this is a manufacture issue with either poor design, construction or quality of parts. I had a 1994 amigo that I put 280,000 miles on and I never once had any type of transmission issue. This is a 2006 vehicle this is the poorest experience I have ever had with a vehicle.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #46

Mar 092011

Grand Cherokee

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights would not illuminate and when trying to use the turn signals, the headlights would illuminate instead. The vehicle had not been inspected by a dealer nor repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Wilburton, PA, USA

problem #45

Jan 172012

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On multiple occasions, the instrument panel has stopped working completely. The lighting in both in the interior of the vehicle as well as the exterior flashes and sometimes goes out completely. Multiple dealers have not been able to find a problem. It has caused near crashes before with the distraction of driving at night. The cruise control also accelerates without any warning while this occurs and the cruise must be reset by turning the car off and back on. This too has caused some near crashes as the car accelerates due to the faulty cruise control.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #44

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled and the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact was able to restart the vehicle immediately after stalling. The failure recurred sporadically when driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 02/0812 the consumer stated when the vehicle stalled, he lost the ability to steer the vehicle. Updated 03/21/12

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #43

Dec 052011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,897 miles
I had my check engine light diagnosed and found to be the esm shifter, an electronic device that connects the gear shifter to the transmission. It was said to me that this helps regulate that the transmission stays in the correct gear while driving. I have found that the transmission sticks in a certain gear even though it is not the correct gear I am driving in. I have found that I have had to pull over, put the vehicle and park so that it clears before going back in gear. I have also found that that process does not always work, when that has not worked, I would have to turn the vehicle off and back on for it to shift properly. I also had an incident that while using cruise control I was going up a hill so the cruise control kicked in to give the extra boost but it did not shift back down. I was quickly accelerating (almost to 90 in about 5 seconds) and being close to reaching 5rpms I had to turn off cruise control and shift into neutral for it to stop accelerating. Due to the extended warranty I purchased it was not covered. I have talked to a few mechanics and they all have said they have replaced multiple recently. When talking to Jeep headquarters, they stated that it has not been reported as a defective item. I was advised to contact NHTSA to report this in hopes that other have done so so that Jeep is required to make this a recall item. From what I have heard, it has been a fairly common item that needs replacing.

- Randolph, ME, USA

problem #42

Oct 012010

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
Headlights and dash lights flicker when on. They will usually remain on for approximately 5 minutes before they start to flicker. At that point the headlights and dashlights will flash off and on rapidly causing oncoming traffic and the traffic in front of my vehicle to panic. The flicker occurs even when the vehicle is turned off an the light control switch is left in the on position. I have not noticed the flicker occurring while the vehicle is turned off and the light control switch is in the off position. This condition could potentially be very dangerous depending upon the timing of the occurrence. I have conducted internet research on this topic and found that many 2005-2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee owners have had this very same problem. Even more 2005 - 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee owners have had electronic problems in general. My particular headlight problem has been attributed to an electronical control module which would cost close to $1,000 to repair or replace. I believe this to be faulty workmanship or the use of a faulty product by Jeep. The failure of an electronic control model is not the result of wear and tear. Therefore, I believe this should either be admitted and replaced by Jeep or made a safety recall. I appreciate your time and consideration.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #41

Jul 262010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I have wrecked this Jeep two times due to the brakes not functioning as the should in both instances the dash board lights and gauges all shut down prior too the accidents I have had numerous mechanics find nothing, problem still persists done all I can and I am basically going broke on a vehicle I still owe on. Can you please help before people start dying from unroadworthy vehicles.

- Corydon, IN, USA

problem #40

Nov 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that all of the lights on the instrument panel would intermittently illuminate on and off. The failure occurred while driving 30 mph and above. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on several occasions and they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #39

Oct 132011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 76,420 miles
Was going down interstate 40 coming from little rock ark. Jeep started to slow down pressed on gas would not speed up. There are so many eighteen wheelers on that interstate. I managed to pull over. Started to shifted from park to drive and drive kicked in. I had two children in the Jeep with me.I can not even think about what might have happen if one of those trucks had hit me in the rear. This is a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. I have looked on line for recall there was a recall on the 2008 models. The transmission control module. I have been told that is the problem with my Jeep.when I made in home this happened again coming down my street in halls tn. Got to my drive stop pulling. Put in park back to drive made in driveway. I have seen on line this is a problem with lots of Jeep not only mine. Please fix this problem before someone get hurt or dies. What does it take!!!!!!! help!

- Halls , TN, USA

problem #38

Sep 192011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Driving approx 50 mph, the Jeep quit, no warning signs, no power steering. Momentum got me off the road. Dealership wasn't able to fix the problem. This happened in March 2011. Sept 2011 I was passing a transit bus on the way to work and as I started to pull back into my own lane the Jeep quit again. No warnings, it just quit. I had to coast into the front yard of someones house because I had no steering. I sat for a few minutes, started it up and drove back home. The onboard diagnostics light, esp, bas and traction control lights were on. From that point the Jeep was running very badly. Dealer had my Jeep for 6 days and said it was a map sensor on the manifold. Got the Jeep back and backing out of my driveway in the middle of the road, it quit. A couple tries and it restarted. I'm very upset that this vehicle has put me in harms way on 3 separate occasions. I couldn't imagine driving on a twisting steep road and having it quit. I'm lucky I wasn't killed the day I was passing the bus. I'm not convinced the map sensor is the problem and I don't trust this vehicle. I drive a lot and Transport my kids. We are all in danger in this vehicle. Mainly because, it gives you absolutely no warning that it's going to quit, it just shuts down as if I shut the key off. I have only the ignition key on the keyring so I know it has nothing to do with heavy keys pulling on the ignition switch. I am not the only complaint, they are all over the web, it is an issue and someone needs to address it. This vehicle has become dangerous.

- Interlaken, NY, USA

problem #37

Aug 212011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 68,548 miles
My dashboard light was flashing and clicking many time for about 2 minutes this is the 4 times this happen, I took my car 3 times before to the dealer and they do not fine anything in my car and this problem started at beginning these year and my card just have 68,564 miles. I left my car last Saturday 08/28/11 and they told me is not any thing in the computer, I saw online many complaints about this on the internet. I do not want somebody have a accident before Chrysler find the problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee 2006.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #36

Aug 172011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee continually has a problem with the entire control panel shutting down, gauges going to zero, A/C stopping, and headlights turning off when they are on. Recently the vehicle stabilization lights came on and a terrible grinding noise made. This has probably happened 30 times over the past year. It usually happens in about a 5-10 second time span. This past week it stayed that way for around 15 minutes. As sounds typical, the dealership says nothing is showing up. I've had it to an independent shop and the Chrysler dealership. This page is literally covered up with the same problem. Why is there not enough evidence on this one site (many others contain this same complaint) to do something about this" do I just have to take it to the shop forever and spend money only to never get anyone to fix it, or do I wait until I have a horrible accident? I don't really have the money to scrap an unsafe vehicle and start over with nothing. What am I supposed to do"

- Greenville, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?