Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,016 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 4 of 33)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #595

May 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #594

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000(electrical system) however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #593

Nov 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 107,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 25 mph, all of the warning indicators illuminated and the engine stalled. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was able to restart. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 107,500.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #592

Nov 122013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #591

Oct 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning indicators illuminated. The contact drove the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch was faulty and needed replacement. The contact was also advised to remove all the additional keys from the key ring. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- South Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #590

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received notice of recall for ignition switch over a year ago. I believe my car experienced this issue on numberous occassions, to which, prior to recall, Jeep "couldn't find problem" and would do nothing to reconcile my safety concerns. I could not apply lemon law. I contacted Jeep dealer, mystic, ct again after recall notice and they stated they didn't have parts and I would have to wait to be contacted by Jeep to repair. My Jeep was on highway multiple times when this happened; all of gauges would drop to off position, lights would flash on and off--somehow it would correct itself. Upon bringing it to dealership multiple times, it somehow stopped. Then incident approximately 2.5 years ago-parking car in lot-everything "locked" including steering and braking-rolled until car stopped on its own-took key out of ignition-waited, restarted and car was fine. Don't have exact dates but mystic ct Jeep has record of all times car brought in.

- Northford, CT, USA

problem #589

Nov 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 44,386 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 45 mph, the entire instrument panel began to flash. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 44,386. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #588

Jun 112013

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the warning lights on the instrument panel started to flash and the power shut off. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 39,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #587

Oct 282015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
Letter from congressman kinzinger on behalf of constituent re 2006 Jeep Cherokee recall. The consumer stated the recently installed, re-designed ignition, made it difficult for the consumer to turn the ignition. The consumer stated the battery was replaced. Updated 04/25/16.

- Peru, IL, USA

problem #586

Jul 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 89,500 miles
Driving car just shuts off and loss of steering and breaks was in a rear end account because of this Chrysler still not fixing I don't know what's going on with it unsafe to drive.

- Laporte, IN, USA

problem #585

Nov 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 162,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my vehical used in June. (2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited with 160,000 miles) I took it back to dealer where they told me the battery had issues and they "fixed" the problem. I'd be driving and if I came to a stop I would lose all power and my engine would turn off. At a drive through, it would die, at a stop light, die. In October my issues started up again. Now the same things are happening but every light on the dash lights up, flashes/flutter/flickers, headlights shut off, radio shuts off, HVAC system shuts off, but engine will run for about 20min then I lose all power where ever I am, I'll be driving down the highway going 55mph and the engine shuts off. Pulling into the store engine shuts off. On my way to work engine just shut off while going down the highway. Coasted as far as I could to get to a safe place to stop. Now it won't start again.

- Kendrick, ID, USA

problem #584

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships refusal to remedy ignition switch recall defect in a timely manner. The consumer received the recall notice, in September 2014. When the part finally arrived in October 2015, the consumer was informed by the dealer, they would need to keep the vehicle for a period of 3-5 days, despite the recall notice stating it would take approximately one hour.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #583

Nov 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle would be able to restart; however, the check engine warning indicator would illuminate on the instrument panel. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #582

Nov 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #581

Nov 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning more than once and the steering wheel was extremely tight and difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel when the failure occurred. The contact was able to coast the vehicle over to a parking lot. After several attempts, the vehicle restarted. In addition, the vehicle stalled again before the contact entered a major highway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). The dealer stated that the remedy did not prevent the failure. The contact was waiting on approval from the manufacturer to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was not available.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #580

Jan 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Charlestown, RI, USA

problem #579

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 2/4/16

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #578

Sep 032015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/23/16

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #577

Nov 022013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V4380000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Spring Lake, MI, USA

problem #576

Nov 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to complete ignition switch recall notice. The consumer stated when the key was turned in the ignition, it only made a clicking sound and the vehicle did not start. A mechanic informed the consumer, the started needed to be replaced.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?