Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,176 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #14

Aug 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 140,000 miles


Vehicle displays esp (electronic stability program), bas (brake assist system), ABS (antilock braking system) lights in cluster, as well as service 4WD system. While these lights are active, vehicle becomes unsafe and brakes while cornering under acceleration (without touching the brakes!) and has resulted in loss of control. Issue has been repeatedly reported to dealerships and manufacturer (10 visits for this issue spread across 2 dealerships, and 4 cases have been opened with Jeep directly). Issue continues to be diagnosed as a failed brake light switch, and switch is replaced. New switch works for 3-6 weeks before failing again, rendering vehicle unsafe. One example of this issue resulting in the vehicle loosing traction occured in November 2015 while going on a circular highway entrance ramp with the warning lights illuminated. Half way thru the turn, while gently accelerating, the rear brakes completely locked up causing the vehicle to skid onto the muddy shoulder. In January of 2016 a similar incident occured while going up a snowy hill (road curves while going uphill) resulting in the vehicle loosing traction and going into a snowbank.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #13

Dec 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 57,783 miles
Esp bas light came on & dealer informed me it is a faulty clockspring.

- Kuna, ID, USA

problem #12

Mar 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Drove from ca to AZ. Turned Jeep engine off !!! visit with son & leave trailer I had been towing. I turn ignition on put in drive never touched accelerator. Jeep speed out quickly (sudden acceleration) out of driveway towards home across street - two cars in driveway. Grabbed steering wheel veering Jeep away from home & two parked vehicles. Went down embankment and did 360. I flipped Jeep and it stopped ended up on passenger side. Neighbors & son saw entire crash. Could not breathe due to seat belt crushing chest & me being upside down. Son pulled seat belt from crushing me. Ambulance to er and no neuro on duty told could take me vegas 2 to 3 hours away. Finally went to neuro told post concussion syndrome. After little help, went to boulder co neuro center and told post concussion syndrome, ptsd and vestibular problems was in rehab therapy one month. Keep Jeep in garage to protect the evidence but no attorney firm would take case as stated the crash "did not impact the rest of my life" told by AZ attorney firm. I worked fed courts in los angeles, ca over 20 years and can say emphatically there was no driver error. I kept for 3 months looking for attorney firm but in the interim I found [xxx] with Consumer Affairs and realized other people who dealt with same "sudden acceleration" were given results "driver error". I made a report with Consumer Affairs and was told to bring my story to your Agency as well. Aaa insurance company totaled Jeep and picked it up June 30th and said " not driver error" but mechanical. Please investigate and inform others to protect themselves and their families. A recall needs to happen. Nothing can help me now but I can tell you I am telling everyone on social media and getting the word out as this never should have happened. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


Electrical power intermittently goes out due to faulty ignition switch. Chrysler has issued recall (P41/NHTSA 14V-438) and I immediately reported to dealer, newport Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, 310 w main rd, middletown, ri 02842, but continues to tell me that the part is on national back-order and cannot fix. I've called dealer for updates multiple times since July 2014 but dealer will not give me any information regarding part availability, has not fixed the issue or replaced ignition switch. Please assist or advise.

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #10

Jan 202015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
Started vehicle and backed out of garage. Drove down street approximately 100 yards when all lights (dome lights, instrument lights, headlights) flickered momentarily. This happened twice more in the course of 400-500 feet. Steering and control of vehicle seemed unchanged as I turned around and drove back home. The only warning lights that remained on were the esp bas and the electronic stability program (esp)/traction control system (tcs) indicator light. Service shop could not reproduce the fault, thought the problem was related to the ignition, and recommended taking the vehicle to the dealership. Dealership also could not reproduce the fault.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #9

Jul 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 122,000 miles
Numerous times I've been driving and my car has lost power and I've had to restart the engine. Sometimes it takes a while for my car to start on the first turn of the key. The start gets dragged on. Sometimes all my check engine lights come on with every other lights as well. Several times I have to wait then start the car and it will turn on. Besides the car completely turning off while I'm driving, now my car won't turn on at all. The battery is fine. Radio and everything turns on. But the ignition won't click over and start my car. So, now I am with no car for work. I called Chrysler headquarters for my calls recall back in September and was told they are out of the part they need. My car worked then, just very sketchy, so I was ok waiting, just extremely cautious. Now it won't even turn on, I called Jeep, they said they are still waitin for the part and all I can do is wait on the list. They won't even give me a loaner since it's a recall issue and not a "service" issue. I have no car, and not the money for a new one, so now I'm at a loss.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 96,400 miles


I was driving down squirrel at approximately 5:40pm and going around 45-50mph when suddenly my car jerked and completely stalled and shut off. I lost all control of my car and I could not steer to go onto the grass. I immediately put my hazards on and came to a stop and restarted my car. This issue has been happening since September 1st. It has been in and out of the shop for the same issue since September 1st. It's been in and out of the shop about 10-15 times for the same issue. I have spent over $2,100 in repairs, fixes, and replacements. This issue is clearly not fixed and this is a serious safety concern. They keep releasing me a car that is completely unsafe to drive. This not only happened once, but this has happened every single time they have released me my car.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #7

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Unintended change in ignition switch position while driving.

- Newport, ME, USA

problem #6

Nov 092013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Had my low mileage/ perfectly maintained Jeep in for service. They performed the N23 recall because of a faulty chip that causes the transfer case to go into neutral and roll away. A week or so after having this performed I went to lock my Jeep into 4WD low and my "service 4WD" message appears. Is reading the same code everyone else with this problem is having after having the N23 recall performed. 4WD low worked flawlessly when I used it the week before taking it into the dealer. Whats funny is the service writer said "there have been a few cases the 4WD low stops working, but those cars had high mileage" when I asked him what the recall was and if anything bad had come from it.

- Orion, MI, USA

problem #5

Aug 012007

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. While driving various speeds, the ESC and traction control indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Springfield , VA, USA

problem #4

Dec 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 116,091 miles


Jeep performed an N23 recall on 10/5/13 on my vehicle as a response to a former consumer complaint about Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles slipping into neutral while parked. After completing the recall, which reprogrammed the final drive controller module, I left the dealership and discovered that my vehicle could no longer enter 4 wheel drive low and receives a service 4WD system light. I have been notified by other owners that this recall had a similar effect on their Jeep. I contacted the dealer service department and they knew of no available fix. The service tech manager stated that 1 in 3 vehicles that have had the N23 recall result in the same problem. He says it is likely that 1 in 3 is the same proportion of people who actually attempt to use their 4 wheel drive low. On approximately Dec 6, 2013, during an ice storm, my vehicle became stuck on the side of the road. I needed to utilize my 4WD low to get back onto the roadway and was not able to.

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #3

Oct 102013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Started with traction control light flashing, then it slowed vehicle felt like brakes were on, gave it more gas and got no speed increase, pressed on the brake and then it seemed to surge and speed up on its own. This was unexpected acceleration &could have lost control. After this! it went back to normal driving. Next day took a 110 mile trip traveling 70 mph on highway no issues until I arrived at destination pulled into driveway and put in park and several warning lights came on ABS, esp, bas, &traction control light flashing & service 4 wheel drive... I had no problems until I stopped... when I started up to return home all the above lights stayed on backed up out of driveway, when I put it in drive and gave it gas it started to make a bad grinding sound like metal on metal a clunking sound and did no¿T respond to fuel peddle. I increased speed then I felt it release like park brake being released... it drove normal back home dash lights still on, ... 110 mile trip doing 70 most of the way... at home I used the built in vehicle scanner and got code U1417 which indicates front left wheel sensor... I replaced both sides same grinding sound, replaced the 2 back sensor...¦ now I have no lights on dash and no grinding clunking sounds no sounds at all. But when I drive I get the traction control light flashing giving it gas I can no¿T accelerate above 25 mph, seems to release at lower speeds below 25mph but it feels like the brakes are on and something it decreasing engine power... this is a dangerous problem! when I pulled unto traffic and I could no¿T get up to speed I almost got into a broadside accident... I thought I had fixed the problem tested it in my driveway no dash lights on, and no grinding or clunking sound¦ so what is it now?... is it some traction control problem seems to be a fathom problem a lot of Jeep owners are having!!

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #2

Feb 122007

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,186 miles
While driving, the prndl had lit boxes around all the letters, and dash indicators all lit up, and Jeep lost power as if stalling. It then "went" back into drive on its own. This happened over eleven times, with mileage starting at 1,186, and most recently at 52,536. Dates of repair incidents are : 2/12/07, 12/31/07, 1/10/08, 9/22/08, 1/5/09, 6/9/09, 6/18/12, 10/19/12, 12/26/12, 3/8/13, 3/22/13. My Jeep is a 2007, averaging 8,756 miles per year. I bought it new and I take very good care of all maintenance right away - oil changes, filters, tire rotation, etc.! each time it was brought to the dealer for "repair", they either couldn't find the problem, or replaced : shifter module (twice), transmission wiring harness (three times) and suggested a new battery (we replaced that also), and transmission plug and seal. There were also numerous "software and anti-theft updates. In addition to these, I replaced the driver's side window regulator twice. Now, they want to replace the "transmission temp circ." And esm module - for another $1,500. All this in 52,536 miles and 6 years !!! I firmly believe there are serious manufacturer defects with this vehicle. My biggest concern is the safety of this Jeep is unpredictable. I never know, even after all the "repairs and replacements", if it will suddenly lose power and I might be in danger (traffic, intersection, etc.). how in the world could Chrysler deny this problem" it needs to be resolved at the source, they are responsible for the safety of their vehicles !!!! there are many reports of this same issue from numerous 2007 Jeep owners - where is the recall ??"!!!!

- Freeland, PA, USA

problem #1

Dec 302009

Grand Cherokee

  • 33,999 miles
Today while driving on a highway at approximately 35-40mph my vehicle stalled. I had come to a complete stop and was awaiting a traffic light change. When the light changed and I stepped on the accelerator the vehicle began to hesitate and jerk and the esp/bas light, malfunction indicator light (check engine) and a message stating transmission over temp came on. I was in the left lane and immediately put on my flashers. The driver behind realized that I was in trouble and put on his as well. After I was able to roll to the shoulder, I immediately turned the vehicle off. After waiting approximately 5mins, I restarted the vehicle and continued to drive slowly and carefully to my office since I was just 2 blocks from work. This experience scared me because had this happened while I was driving at the 60-65 mph rate on this very busy highway, I could have been hurt. After reading several of the other complaints, I can also relate to the complaint about the tires having had to replace a broken stem after owning the vehicle only 2 days and I currently still have water leaking into my vehicle on raining days on the passenger side and now through the lights. I drive on the highway daily and after today's stall out, I am afraid to drive this vehicle. I called the dealership today and explained my issues and told the service manager about all of the lights and he told me the car was probably cold and if the lights don't go out I can bring it in on Saturday. Well today is Wednesday and I will not drive that car again. Since the dealership is quite a distance from my home, I will have the car towed so that it can be checked out. I am very uncomfortable with the idea of ever driving this vehicle again. I Transport children as part of my job from time to time and I could never forgive myself if something was to happen to them while we are riding in this vehicle.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?