Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,786 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 13 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #354

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clear Lake, IA, USA

problem #353

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice issues and lack of parts. Recall # 14V438000.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #352

Aug 172010

Grand Cherokee

  • 54,000 miles
Traded vehicle after owning for very short period of time due to stalling of engine

- Manchester , KY, USA

problem #351

Aug 012011

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice issues. The consumer stated for years he experienced a problem with the dashboard warning lights blinking, such as the ABS, seat belt, air bag, tcs, esp, etc. They would blink once a week and lasted for a few minutes. The even was followed by a steady malfunction indicator light. The light would go off by itself within 24-48 hours. The consumer received recall # 14V438000 months ago and never received a follow-up letter as the first letter stated. Updated 09/10/15

- Old Saybrook, CT, USA

problem #350

Jun 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles
Received a safety recall notice some time last year 2014. Called and no one was of much assistance. Said the parts were not available.they asked for my email and I never received any correspondence back. Took the Jeep to the dealer as the safety recall letter stated and they said they could not help me out. No accidents yet but I am very concerned for my safety. My tps light stays on constantly. I get my tires checked frequently to fix the issue and everytime I go, I am told my tires are fine. As I was driving, all ABS and traction lights go off, making it very difficult to brake safely. I was told my serpentine belt had to be replaced. I had this issue fixed last year, and it was not inexpensive. It has been less than a year and already the problem shows up again. I feel very unsafe driving and I feel this is a recall issue that needs to be addressed. I would appreciate it if someone would contact me regarding this problem and help me out so that I can feel safe while driving.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #349

Sep 052013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 111,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 111,800. MA 09/03/15 updated 12/9/2015

- Orient, OH, USA

problem #348

Aug 012009

Grand Cherokee

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the first event the vehicle has stalled at the most importuned time. Two years ago it stalled twice while entering the New Jersey garden state parkway on the same day. A year ago it stalled at 40 miles per hour traveling North on university blvd 100 ft from the dealer kelly Jeep dealership were the vehicle was purchased. I was made aware in July 2014 that there was an ignition key problem. By a local auto body repair shop owner. I remove everything from key except a small lightweight identification plastic tag a month ago it stalled again which turning onto high speed four lange expressway. I have contact a different dealer three months go and was told Chrysler is working on the problem. This is a very dangerous situation. I can't believe that in almost a year Chrysler still appears to have not inkling of owh to solve the problem prior to the public announcement in Sept 2014 I had it to the dealer and was required to have vehicle tested by the analyzer. No problem was found. Even though I am 90 years old I still have sufficient strength to get the vehicle to a stop and if possible to the side of the highway in order to restart it. But I am afraid that if this happens with my wife while driving she will not be have sufficient strength to steer of brake the vehicle when it losses complete power. How is this any different than the accidently operation of the ignition key event that has occurred with general motor products. Last we I received a recall notice from Chrysler regarding the need to re-program the final drive control module (fdcm), that may cause the service $wd light to be activated making it impossible to change gears. I do not see that listed as a recall and I have never received any other notice. His apparently has a higher priority at Chrysler than the ignition key issue. Regards,

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #347

Jul 242013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #346

Jun 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,000 miles
My daughter was just driving her 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee and the engine cut out while driving about 70 for about 10 seconds she lost head lights brakes ect. The car then turned back on automatically before she stopped and the esp, ABS, bac, traction control lights came on. This is so dangerous and seems to be S common problem. Is there a recall" if not shouldn't there be" my husband already replaced the ignition switch regulatorabout two months ago because the lights were going on and off. That repair seemed to have fixed the issue. The serpentine belt is also squeaking like crazy. It has been. Replaced twice. First with an inexpensive belt then with a certified belt.

- Westbrook, CT, USA

problem #345

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The vehicle was able to be restarted after being placed into neutral. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #344

Aug 302014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle lost power and all of the warning lights on the instrument panel illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Indiana, PA, USA

problem #343

Jun 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #342

Sep 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) was received in September of 2014. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Easton, MD, USA

problem #341

Apr 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 45 mph, all the electrical functions failed. The contact stated that the vehicle restarted almost immediately. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 57,000.

- Skokie, IL, USA

problem #340

Oct 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/11/15

- Pleasant Hill, MO, USA

problem #339

Oct 252014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, all the warning lights illuminated and all the electrical components failed. The contact stated that the vehicle was able to restart after three to five seconds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure was not able to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 07-16-15 updated 9/21/2015

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #338

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle failed to shift gear and seized. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 115,000.

- Fruitland, ID, USA

problem #337

Jun 102015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lake Grove, NY, USA

problem #336

Sep 202014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and airbag issues. The consumer stated eight months is too long to fix outstanding recalls. Recall # 14V438000.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #335

Sep 242014

Grand Cherokee

  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle shut off when attempting to start and the lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 153,000.

- Shelby, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?