Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,786 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 17 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #274

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice. The consumer stated she experienced loss of power, loss of power steering and loss of braking ability. The consumer stated the vehicle would loose power at random times. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available and they had no idea, when it would be available. Recall # 14V438000.

- Garden City, NY, USA

problem #273

Oct 062014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 73,800 miles
All of the vehicle dash lights and accessories lose power momentarily and intermittently. It's almost as if someone is turning the ignition switch off, but the engine seems to stay running. Vehicle loses acceleration if on an upward slope while this is happening. It is momentary and intermittently recurs at times. I have not noticed if it affects braking due to the very momentary nature of this problem.

- Feasterville, PA, USA

problem #272

Mar 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Consumer writes in regards to the defective ignition switch recall. The consumer stated it has been over a year, since she received the recall notice and the parts are still not available.

- Basalt, CO, USA

problem #271

Jan 012015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was unavailable for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the vehicle would crank excessively to start. The failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 5/29/15

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #270

Dec 082014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Niagra, WI, USA

problem #269

Mar 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #268

Mar 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We did not have an accident, however, we have received a recall notice from Chrysler two years ago regarding the ignition switch which could cause the vehicle to loose power if it is not replaced. We have been calling the dealership button motors in kokomo Indiana as well as the Chrysler toll free number to get this work done but they tell us they are waiting for the part. I am very concerned that something might happen before this work gets done. It's amazing that whenever we have work done on this vehicle that we have to pay for the parts are always available within a day or two but when it comes to recalls it takes two years"?" seriously. Can you please helps expedite this before a serious accident develops. The recall number is P41/NHTSA 14V-438.

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #267

Mar 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed and failed to operate without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Buckhannon, WV, USA

problem #266

Mar 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable. MA 10/16/15

- Sudbury, MA, USA

problem #265

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
Already the subject of a Chrysler recall # P41/NHTSA 14V-438 ignition switch received recall notice 9-18-14 but no part available to fix per letter. Visited local Jeep dealer today (3-19-2015), still no part. In fact "0" vehicles have been fixed by Chrysler. This is not good. Somebody is going to get killed. The car will suddenly light up every light on the instrument cluster, there will be a relay clicking on of on off sound behind the instrument cluster and the car will shut off while rolling. Has happened several unexpected times, low speed and highway speed. Very scary and unsafe. Suggest Chrysler, now that this is a verified defect, immediately requisition parts and get owners into the service departments now -if not sooner!!! six months is way too long for a simple part.

- Woodbridge, NJ, USA

problem #264

Sep 292014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Erie, MI, USA

problem #263

Mar 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #262

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ann Arbor , MI, USA

problem #261

Nov 152014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle lost power and the engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000. Updated 4/30/15

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #260

Aug 162014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 97,200 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph making a right turn, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the power steering line needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 97,200. Updated 4/29/15 the consumer stated the vehicle goes into delay mode upon starting vehicle. The vehicle intermittenly shuts off. Updated 11/10/2015

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #259

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) and stated that the parts were not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mc Kee, KY, USA

problem #258

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V438000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Yonkers , NY, USA

problem #257

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #256

Mar 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 78,136 miles
While I was driving Jeep and my Jeep shut down on its own, all lights shut down, my wheel locked up, I was not able to steer. Thank god my brakes worked. I was able to stop the Jeep but a few minutes later I tried to start up the Jeep again and all the lights were flickering and then finally it started again. I could leave the cat where I was at the time because I was at a very busy street and this is during traffic time. I did call a dealership to see if it was a recall and they said it was. They said it was the started switch. My question is how do I get that switch replaced?

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #255

Jan 152015

Grand Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle. The vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?