NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee (Page 8 of 30)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,329 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #458

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice from Chrysler (P41 / NHTSA 14V-438) in *July 2014 regarding my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I took my car into the dealer (stephen wade auto, saint george, Utah) and was told the part was not available and they would contact me when they had news. I called stephen wade one year later in *July 2015*. they said the part was still not available and they would call me. Today ( Oct. 13, 2015 ) I received another safety recall notice but this time it is from Fiat Chrysler for exactly the same recall as I received July 2014. I decided to contact you / NHTSA. I don't want the Utah highway patrol to be picking me up with a blotter on the interstate 15 when I go air born because someone can't supply a replacement ignition switch. This has definitely put a cramp on my ability to visit the grandson because he's 350 miles away and I'm really not pleased how this is being handled by "??? if you need copies / photos of my notices, please contact me and I'll gladly upload them to you. Should I contact a lawyer " thank you for your time.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #457

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dekalb, IL, USA

problem #456

Jul 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for the electrical system; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/19/16

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #455

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/14/16

- Taylor, AR, USA

problem #454

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #453

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 02/03/16

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #452

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #451

Oct 102012

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start numerous times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer on three separate occasions for the same failure. The vehicle was diagnosed; however, the dealer was unable to locate the failure. The battery was replaced and the failure persisted. The contact recently received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the contact no longer owned the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #450

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While making a turn, various electrical functions were lost and the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was shut off and restarted. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 89,500. Updated 1/12/2016 the consumer stated the ignition switch and lock cylinder were replaced. Updated 02/04/16.

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #449

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owned a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed. The vehicle stalled without warning and the steering seized causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #448

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available...updated 02/01/16

- Bernardfton, MA, USA

problem #447

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide recall repairs. The dealer was unable to provide a time frame for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/13/16 MA the consumer stated the part was finally replaced after waiting for 18 months. Updated 01/19/16.

- Hanover, MA, USA

problem #446

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #445

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harwich, MA, USA

problem #444

Jul 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after numerous attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the battery was replaced; however, the failure persisted continuously. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #443

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #442

Oct 052015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/03/15

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #441

Mar 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 55 mph, the contact hit an ice patch, lost control of the vehicle, and landed in a field. The air bags did not deploy. As a result, the contact sustained neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the key needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Britt, MN, USA

problem #440

Sep 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 108,000 miles
My wife was taking our grand daughter to the hospital at 10 pm and every dummy light came on the Jeep and it started idling funny the taillights went out so she had to drive that late at night with no brake/ taillights on 69 with our granddaughter in the back. With nothing working what would keep somebody hitting her in the rear end or even worse what if something had happened and the airbags didn't deploy because there was an electrical problem. My wife has called Chrysler Jeep and made a complaint and they say that there is nothing they can do about it. We have looked online and found quite a few complaints about this particular problem with Jeep. This is not the first time this has happened either.....it happens on a regular basis. I fear for the safety of my family whenever they are driving. We bought this vehicle about 6 months ago with 100,000 miles on it and purchased the extended warranty. We have taken it to the Jeep dealership 3 times and they keep saying nothing is wrong with it. My wife has several videos of everything going haywire in the Jeep while she was driving. Anything NHTSA can do to help us out on this matter would be greatly appreciated especially before one of my family members get hurt. Thank you kevin

- Hudson, IN, USA

problem #439

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (ignition switch) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled daily. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?