Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,786 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 30)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #454

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #453

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 02/03/16

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #452

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #451

Oct 102012

Grand Cherokee

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start numerous times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer on three separate occasions for the same failure. The vehicle was diagnosed; however, the dealer was unable to locate the failure. The battery was replaced and the failure persisted. The contact recently received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the contact no longer owned the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #450

Aug 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 89,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While making a turn, various electrical functions were lost and the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was shut off and restarted. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the recall part was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 89,500. Updated 1/12/2016 the consumer stated the ignition switch and lock cylinder were replaced. Updated 02/04/16.

- Painted Post, NY, USA

problem #449

Sep 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owned a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at an unknown speed. The vehicle stalled without warning and the steering seized causing the contact to crash into another vehicle. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #448

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available...updated 02/01/16

- Bernardfton, MA, USA

problem #447

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide recall repairs. The dealer was unable to provide a time frame for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/13/16 MA the consumer stated the part was finally replaced after waiting for 18 months. Updated 01/19/16.

- Hanover, MA, USA

problem #446

Sep 192014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #445

Sep 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harwich, MA, USA

problem #444

Jul 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start until after numerous attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the battery was replaced; however, the failure persisted continuously. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system), but the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000.

- Villa Rica, GA, USA

problem #443

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Burlington, NJ, USA

problem #442

Oct 052015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/03/15

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #441

Mar 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 55 mph, the contact hit an ice patch, lost control of the vehicle, and landed in a field. The air bags did not deploy. As a result, the contact sustained neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was then taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the key needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Britt, MN, USA

problem #440

Sep 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • 108,000 miles
My wife was taking our grand daughter to the hospital at 10 pm and every dummy light came on the Jeep and it started idling funny the taillights went out so she had to drive that late at night with no brake/ taillights on 69 with our granddaughter in the back. With nothing working what would keep somebody hitting her in the rear end or even worse what if something had happened and the airbags didn't deploy because there was an electrical problem. My wife has called Chrysler Jeep and made a complaint and they say that there is nothing they can do about it. We have looked online and found quite a few complaints about this particular problem with Jeep. This is not the first time this has happened either.....it happens on a regular basis. I fear for the safety of my family whenever they are driving. We bought this vehicle about 6 months ago with 100,000 miles on it and purchased the extended warranty. We have taken it to the Jeep dealership 3 times and they keep saying nothing is wrong with it. My wife has several videos of everything going haywire in the Jeep while she was driving. Anything NHTSA can do to help us out on this matter would be greatly appreciated especially before one of my family members get hurt. Thank you kevin

- Hudson, IN, USA

problem #439

Jul 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (ignition switch) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled daily. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cleveland Heights, OH, USA

problem #438

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the ignition became inoperable. The contact stated that after the ignition failed, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition needed to be replaced. The contact received notification campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system). However the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 200,000.

- North Augusta, SC, USA

problem #437

Jun 162015

Grand Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
With vehicle parked and the ignition off, I would try to start the car. When I would turn the key, nothing would happen, no sound as if the car was trying to start, not even a tic tic tic. I also noticed that the break pedal would not depress. The first few times I called aaa, but they couldn't start it and had to tow it to a garage. This has happened to me at least seven times leaving me stranded at night in the winter alone along a dark country road. It has happened at the grocery store in the summer when I already loaded all of my groceries into the car, and at my cabin which is over an hour from where I live. I am in my late 60's and walk with a cane so it truly has become a safety issue for me. I have been in touch with corporate office for Jeep and have had two cases opened with them. The problem is always something electrical. One time the dealer had my car for over a month trying to figure out the problem. They have put in a new starter several times. They have removed the remote starter installed by Jeep when I bought the car, so now I can't use the remote starter I paid to have installed and then paid again to have it uninstalled. The latest they told me is that they do not have the correct part for a permanent fix. They can only replace a part with a new part of the same that will eventually fail. This last time I was told that Jeep would pay the bill which they have not. I have now had to pay more to increase my aaa coverage for distance towing since I have been left stranded at my cabin two times. I have also had to pay to rent a car while Jeep worked on my vehicle. In addition, there is a safety recall on the ignition switch which the dealer has not repaired within a reasonable amount of time. The date below is just the most recent event. There have been at least 7 similar events.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #436

Jul 252014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle would also stall when making a complete stop. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #435

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V438000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?