Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,661 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 18 of 20)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Oct 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl Diesel

  • 61,000 miles


We are full time rvers and have towed our Jeep about 40,000 miles without any issues, until the recent recall. NHTSA #13V75000, Chrysler N23. The very innocuous recall notice spoke of the dot requiring the recall based on a number of cases where the transfer case shifted into neutral on it's own and the vehicle rolled away, causing damage. The recall went on to say that the fix was to take it to the dealer for a software reprogramming to take care of the issue. The recall notice was very carefully and cleverly written to leave one with the impression that a software issue was the cause of the problem, and Jeep was going to fix it with the reflash of the transmission computer. This is not true. The issue is caused by the failure of hardware in the transfer case, and the "fix" offered by Jeep is nothing more than a band aid to meet the strict letter of the demand by the NHTSA. As thousands of Jeep owners are now learning, after the recall they find themselves in a situation where the transfer case will no longer shift into neutral, or 4WD low, at all. I have personal knowledge of dozens of Jeep owners with these issues who never had a problem before the recall. This problem creates a great uncertainty among owners. We don't know if the 4WD system will work when needed, or end up stuck in neutral or 4WD low, making the vehicle unusable. While not being able to tow may not be a safety issue, I think that disabling a 4WD system that many people rely on in bad terrain or weather would be. I don't think that NHTSA has monitored this situation properly and has allowed Chrysler to commit what amounts to a fraud upon their customers. I think NHTSA needs to take another look at this issue.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #58

May 152012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
I am writing to describe 5 incidents within the past year when my vehicle completely shut off while driving. This happened first in May 2012, with a follow up instance in June 2012. After bringing this into the dealership, was told that this was the wireless control module malfunctioning and they replaced. 6 months later, vehicle shut off again while driving without cause. Vehicle shut off again October 2013 while driving at a speed of roughly 20 mph, followed by another shut down at 70 mph in late October 2013. I brought this vehicle into another dealership, who told me that they believed this was an issue with the front control module (after I told them the fix to the wireless control module did not work). Dealership also advised that a recall on the front control module for issues exactly as I described was in place for 2008 Grand Cherokee, but not my vehicle in particular. Upon further investigation with Chrysler, vehicles manufactured Dec 4 2007 - Dec 11 2007 were impacted by this recall. My vehicle was manufactured Dec 3rd. Chrysler refused to cover this under the recall but agreed to pick up the majority of the repair cost. My concern is that this issue is extremely dangerous - I could have gotten into an accident any of the five times that my car shut off without warning. It is very clear that my car should have been covered by this recall but was not. I am very concerned for other drivers of a 2008 Grand Cherokee that fit a similar description of mine - close to manufacturer date of recall but not quite there but having the same problem.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #57

Oct 292012

Grand Cherokee

  • 59,000 miles
Jeep stalls when traveling. Mostly has occurred when you are slowing down for a stop light but did stall once at speed on the West side highway in New York city. This has happened at least 10 times and has been to the dealership 3 times with no fix in sight. The dealership can not find what the problem is. I have called Jeep and they have not been any help. This problem is affecting a lot of Jeep Grand Cherokee as it is well written on the internet forums. A quick google search on Jeep stall or hemi stall reveals many people with the same exact issue.

- Paramus, NJ, USA

problem #56

Oct 242013

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles


The Jeep stalls on the freeway. While driving the Jeep on the interstate, it stalled and restarted suddenly. This was felt by a sudden loss of forward momentum. The Jeep at times stalls flat at freeway speeds and needs to be stopped to restart. This has been in for repairs since January 2013 and it still stalls.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #55

Jun 012013

Grand Cherokee

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure would recur sporadically however, after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) the failure had become permanent. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which did not generate a failure code. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000 and the current mileage was 81,000.

- Durham , CT, USA

problem #54

Aug 142013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Driving on the highway when my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee shifted into neutral by itself. I was not quick to react and was almost killed in a multiple car pile-up. A large 18 wheel truck and two other cars left the roadway to avoid hitting me. I was completely helpless and could not get out of the way. I pulled over to call my dad, but he didnżżT answer. After about 15 minutes, I restarted the vehicle and it shifted into drive on the side of the highway. I drove it home on the access road. This has happened to me twice now. My 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee should be part of this recall --recall number: 13V175000. I called Chrysler and they said they do not have any indication of why it is not. My case number with Chrysler is [xxx}. please help me before I and several other people behind me are killed. I drive 30 miles to and from work down I-35 and I-40 in Oklahoma city, these are two of the busiest roads which I drive this 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 60 miles, Monday through Friday. My vehicle is unsafe by an already known defect Chrysler has identified by recall number 13V175000, and yet they are stalling and failing to act. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #53

Aug 222013

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,500 miles


2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland hemi 5.7 stalled after a rapid sudden acceleration. Jeep started "bucking" (losing power and regaining it) then took off without anything touching gas pedal and no warning. The Jeep went from 30 mph to over 50 mph and kept accelerating. I had to throw in neutral to get it to stop. I then pulled over and it stalled out. This has been reported to Chrysler case #[xxx] and I spoke to [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #52

Apr 232013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 78,256 miles
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 5.7 hemi stalled on freeway. I had to immediately pull over as heavy traffic and vehicle would not restart and I lost all steering/brakes/engine control. I ended up hitting a road cone (no notable damage) as I was pulling into the somewhat small pullover zone (was in highway construction). Vehicle restarted only after being put in park and removing and reinserting the key.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #51

Aug 212013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 80,400 miles
I was driving the Jeep and it accelerated suddenly as if the throttle was stuck. The throttle pedal in fact was not stuck and I had to shift into neutral to get it to stop accelerating. After shifting to neutral, the Jeep stalled in the roadway and I ended up driving through my neighbor's yard to avoid pulling out into a busy intersection as I had no brakes or steering. I almost ran over a pedestrian I didn't see walking on the sidewalk. This vehicle has been to dealerships multiple times for stalling at freeway speeds and stalling when driving around town. This has been an ongoing safety concern, especially with the stalling and Chrysler is well aware of the problem. Most recent Chrysler case # is [xxx]. they have replaced multiple things so far and the problem still exists. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #50

Jun 102013

Grand Cherokee 4WD

  • miles
I received in late June a recall notice for my vehicle, titled "safety recall N23/NHTSA 13V-175 reprogram final drive controller module. When I took my vehicle to my local Chrysler Jeep dealer's auto repair shop, they notified me that the issue is software related and they had not yet received the software patch. I took my vehicle again to them in early July, mid July, late July and early August and still they have not yet received the software patch.

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #49

May 152013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle stalled. There was a voluntary recall performed where the key fob was replaced. After the repair the key would not disengage from the ignition. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated the win module would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the part was back ordered. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Midland , TX, USA

problem #48

Aug 122013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system) several months ago and stated that the dealer informed him that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Brunswick , NJ, USA

problem #47

Sep 302009

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 9,396 miles
2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo encountering several problems: The vehicle either won't start or starts then stalls. Experienced other problems with complete loss of power while driving on the highway at 60mph. Also had loss of blinkers, radio and wipers. The problems have been occurring intermittently since Nov, 2009 but becoming more common over last 3 months. Current mileage 43K. No codes found on computer for any of the problems. No dash lights when car stalls. It is very scary and certainly a safety issue that needs to be addressed. The earlier recall (H03/ 08V059) is the exact problems but our vehicle is not included in the recall.

- Saddle Brook, NJ, USA

problem #46

Jul 012013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system) and stated that the dealer informed her that the software for the recall was not available. The manufacturer was notified but could not provide a date for the parts to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mongaup Valley , NY, USA

problem #45

Jun 072013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
After starting the vehicle it was observed that some of the electrical system, including radio and turn signals were not functioning. Electrical eventually came back. This occurred several other times, generally after turning the vehicle off and then re-starting all of the electrical systems came back on. Approximately 1-2 weeks after the initial electrical issue the following occurred: While driving in a parking lot at approximately 20 miles per hour the engine suddenly cut out after a "clunk" type of sound. After trying several times to restart, the vehicle did start again and drove normally. Vehicle was taken to dealership where code P0688 asd was found. The dealership recommended replacing the asd relay switch. The dealership advised that this relay switch could be the cause of the vehicle dying while driving as well. Relay was not replaced as the dealership informed me the part of on national back order. The electrical cut out occurred again on 6/21/2013 but cleared up immediately upon a vehicle restart. On 6/23/2013 while driving on a highway at approximately 60 mph the engine cut out again. The electrical was also out, leaving me with a dead vehicle and no electronics to signal. After several attempts the vehicle was restarted. I believe that possibly the electronic fuel pump was cut out due to the electrical issue. Dealership informed me that this part is on national back order, which leads me to question whether there is a larger, unreported issue with this part. If there is not a demand for it, why is it on back order, and if there is a demand, perhaps there is an ongoing issue that Chrysler/Jeep is not reporting. Chrysler is claiming that this switch is not covered under warranty.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #44

May 162013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 106,815 miles
Wife traveling with son on fwy at legal speed of 70 mph w/cruise control on, car suddenly decelerated causing a violent maneuver forcing car into neighboring lane and almost crashing. She stated it was as if it suddenly downshifted into lowest gear and brakes applied forcefully. Regaining control she deactivated the cruise control and proceeded to destination at 50 mph. Took to dealership in davis where it was diagnosed as catastrophic failure of the transfer case which was then replaced at the cost of $2842.75. She retrieved car two days later and proceeded to drive back home (distance is @ 178 mi one way). Car repeated sudden deceleration upon entering the fwy and getting up to speed. Continued home due to medical appointments to keep. Kept cruise control off but called dealership to report that replacing the transfer case did not solve the problem. I pulled codes upon her arriving home and found only code 0430 (catalyst system efficiency below threshold [bank 2] indicating the converter not working to specs. Today she was returning to davis to visit with grandchildren and experienced the same situation. At 70 mph car suddenly decelerated rapidly (as if brakes were applied forcefully) and caused her to abruptly move into the lane to her left. She regained control and continued on at 50 mph. The dealership informed her no mechanics would be available until Monday but as she has a flight out of lax to catch early Monday a.M. she decided to continue on to L.a. without using the cruise control and proceeding at slower speed. The power steering pump was replaced on 4/15/2013 at dealerships recommendation due to a leak and the transmission was serviced in addition to having new valve cover and gasket put on. Spark plugs replaced, throttle body and combustion chambers cleaned and PCV valve replaced. Internet research indicates this is a repeated problem with the Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Westwood, CA, USA

problem #43

Mar 252013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle would intermittently fail to start. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and the dealer replaced the fuel pump, battery, starter and the alternator, but the repairs did not correct the problem. The contact stated that the manufacturer told them that they could not repair the vehicle because they were unable to determine the exact cause of the failure. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #42

Apr 302013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Car stalls intermittently at 60-70mph. Loss of power steering, along with control of the vehicle. Vehicle re-starts up immediately after turning "off" and turning back on in park position. This has occurred more than 15 times in 6 months - with 3 near crash incidents. Dealer cannot duplicate the issue. Currently there are no fault codes indicating a 'manufacturing defect'. no diagnosis after 8 service visits. The issue has been escalated to Chrysler executive group. Flight-recorder returned no data.

- Long Branch, NJ, USA

problem #41

Dec 072011

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact was driving approximately 25 mph, the engine stalled without warning. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure occurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The throttle body was cleaned; however, the failure recurred. There was a recall associated with the regular series Grand Cherokee under NHTSA campaign id number 08V059000 (electrical system, visibility). The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Sodus, MI, USA

problem #40

Oct 202012

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 50,187 miles
In Oct. 2012 the car would not start. No click no nothing. However, the lights, radio, etc. Still worked. If you waited about 15 to 60 minutes it would then start. I took it to the shop and they replaced the starter. It ran fine until April 2013. Then once again it is doing the exact same thing. Now the $638 plus the cost I am incurring for rental car. I purchased the wrap warranty and they tell me that because it is attached to the battery cable it is not covered. I have read all over the internet of hundreds of people having electrical problems all related to this wiring harness. I am not a mechanic but I would think that this could cause a fire. Regardless, Jeep needs to recall these vehicles.

- Bonner Springs, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?