Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,146 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 9 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #243

Jul 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee & was going about 15-20mph when suddenly my car turned off. No warning, no sputtering, no symbols flashing on the dash, nothing. It just simply died. I only realized my car was completely off when I happened to look at my dashboard and the gas gage was on E and the speedometer and mileage were not on. I tried my hardest to steer and luckily I was able to pull into a parking lot. I opened the hood and checked the battery cables and they were fine. The truck started up again but this incident scared me to death. I had just gotten off the highway when this happened and I am a mom of 3. I called my local Jeep dealer the next day. The service guy told me to remove some of my keys from my key holder and in his words "this is a band-aid fix for now, there is a recall for ignition problems but it won't be rolling out until September". what?? this is unacceptable. It should be fixed now.

- Waterbury, CT, USA

problem #242

Jan 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 55,097 miles
On December 24, 2013, my 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee stopped in a parking lot in buffalo and the ignition key was not working. I was stranded in the cold in the middle of night. The Jeep was towed to the Jeep dealer. The dealer ordered the part and fixed the car with a new part to fix the ignition problem. In January 2015, I received a safety recall notice about ignition key and mailed the claim for reimbursement with the paid receipt of repair performed on 1/6/2014. I have mailed two letters for request for reimbursement, but I have not received any response or payment from Jeep Chrysler. Thank you.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #241

Jul 012012

Grand Cherokee

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the key fob would not unlock the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The battery was replaced, but the failure persisted and the fob had to be replaced. The failure recurred on three other occasions where the fob had to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Blanch, NC, USA

problem #240

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ignition switch still has not been replaced

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #239

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elburn, IL, USA

problem #238

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
Beginning immediately upon purchase, the vehicle will shut down (apparently the ignition key /system fails) and the vehicle engine stoops with subsequent loss of power to brakes, steering, etc. This event happens regularly and has placed me in very dangerous circumstances when crossing intersections, merging into traffic and during interstate highway travel at respective speeds. The frequency is two or more times per week, some times per day. This vehicle is unsafe to drive, but I have to have transportation.

- Carbon Hill, AL, USA

problem #237

Sep 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carbon Hill, AL, USA

problem #236

Dec 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 98,448 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred numerous times. The dealer stated that the part to do the repair was not available. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V657000 (electrical system). The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,448.

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #235

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson , MI, USA

problem #234

Nov 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was notified multiple times. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/02/15 updated 9/02/2016

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #233

Jun 212015

Grand Cherokee

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that after the vehicle was parked, the ignition key failed to go into the off position without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the key fob needed to be replaced. The key fob was replaced however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wireless ignition node needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Courtland Manor, NY, USA

problem #232

Apr 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the key was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 87,000.

- Madison , NJ, USA

problem #231

Jun 252015

Grand Cherokee

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While attempting to start the vehicle, the ignition would not turn to the on position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #230

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While traveling approximately 65 mph, the key shifted from the on position to the acc position without warning. The contact was able to maneuver the key back to the on position while the vehicle was in motion. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system), but the part needed was not available. The contact was unable to determine when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- New Bern , NC, USA

problem #229

Dec 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts needed were not available for repair. The manufacturer did not have a remedy to deter the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start anymore. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Albany , NY, USA

problem #228

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the failure was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 08/17/15 the consumer stated the vehicle repeatedly refused to come out of park. Updated 09/03/15

- Sellersburg, IN, USA

problem #227

Jan 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. When starting the vehicle, the engine would run but the electrical components failed to operate. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to start intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 91,000.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #226

Aug 242011

Grand Cherokee

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle lost power. The contact shut the vehicle off and, after several attempts, the vehicle restarted. The failure recurred multiple times and at random speeds. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was unable to be diagnosed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. MA 07/30

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #225

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles
This shall serve to inform you that I owner of a Jeep Cherokee Laredo 2008 has filed numerous complaints with the department of motor vehicles concerning a recall with my ignition switch. It has been over two years and I am stilling for my ignition switch part to be ordered. The vehicle on numerous occasions has proved to be unsafe by stopping abruptly on the highway by losing power, parking lots by failing to start or on the road by losing speed where I could literally release the brake pedal and the car could not move. This is not only dangerous especially when I am in the car with my family on the highway and my ignition switch makes my car lose power, not only can I cause an accident and harm my family and I but other vehicles with their passengers too. I would like to know that matters are being taken to find parts to replace the faulty ignition switch. How long is it reasonable to wait for recall part to be order and fixed for my vehicle, until some tragic accident occurs? I am writing to inform you, if there is ever an incident, not only will I will file legal action against the department of motor vehicles.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #224

Nov 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/14/15

- Salem, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?