Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,748 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 092016

Grand Cherokee

  • 166,000 miles


Our 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee struck an older model car in the side as the other vehicle rolled through a red light. We were traveling between 40-45 mph. The damage to the front of the vehicle was enough to suffer a total loss, but the front airbags did not deploy. Both vehicles were in motion on a city street.

- Fort Payne, AL, USA

problem #16

Apr 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Within a month of owning the vehicle. The dealer replaced the heater motor, fuel pump, belts, and the air bag and check engine warning lights randomly flashed. The dealer replaced the driver side seat belt and indicated that the service engine light flashed because of the weather changes, which was not a diagnosis. The contact experienced the vehicle being difficult to start upon turning the key over. The dealer replaced and reprogrammed the keys, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Lake George, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 125,000 miles
During normal operation, the electronic stability program (esp) feature automatically activates itself even on a dry roadway and in optimal driving conditions where the risk of skidding or hydroplaning are minimal. Additionally, the airbag warning light illuminates for no apparent reason on the instrument panel.

- Good Hope, GA, USA

problem #14

Aug 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles


Vehicle had issue resolved by recall P57 where key fob would stick in ignition between off and on. The key first got stuck in the ignition on 8/14/14, a memorable day, because it happened on the day we were going to the title company to close on our first home. At the same time the ignition switch issue started the airbag light came on and all the steering wheel functions are disabled. The horn no longer works. It is unknown if the airbags work. This is clearly a safety issue but the dealership wants to charge $90 just to hook the vehicle up to their machines to diagnose what is going on and will not consider this as related to the recall P57. Not being able to honk in the interest of safety is a problem. It is unknown if the airbags are functional so I guess it will take getting in an accident to find out (an accident which cannot be prevented by honking my horn to warn another driver).

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #13

Oct 102013

Grand Cherokee

  • 112,988 miles
This vehicle was taken to Jeep on 10/10/2013 due to the airbag light coming on. There were 112,988 miles on the vehicle. The vehicle was serviced for this, $400, as well as brake pads, and diagnostics, $600.63. On 10/21/13, at 113,851 miles, the light came back on and had to be taken back to the dealer for service. There was no charge for this service as the vehicle was just seen for a similar issue. I received a notification in the mail the week of 8/17/2015 from fca on the status of the P57/NHTSA 14-567 recall for the wireless ignition module (win). Upon reading the recall notification sent out, fca recognizes that the "win position spring back may also cause the disabling of one or more of the vehicle's safety features including the frontal airbags." At approximately 120,000 miles, the airbag light went off again and was intermittently illuminated until 123,000 miles, where the light has stayed continuously on. I called the local dealer to inquire if they had parts, and they do not have the parts in stock for the recall, but I was added to a waiting list. Upon requesting information on the airbag, I was immediately told that the airbag was not covered under the recall, even thought he notification specifically mentioned the airbags. The clerk gave me a 1-800 number for Jeep. I called the Jeep 1-800 number and was connected to an agent whom I inquired about the airbag as well and was told that I would have to pay to diagnose the airbag. Why should I have to pay to diagnose the airbag if the recall notification mentions that the airbags could have been affected. I feel that Jeep should be diagnosing the airbags on the customer's behalf. This recall has been going on for almost a year with them just getting to a resolution. You would think they would want to go the extra mile for their customers.

- Marrero, LA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Aug 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
We contacted West brothers Chrysler dealership in sullivan, mo in Feb. 2015 due to multiple recalls on the Jeep. They were aware the Jeep was not running, we were told to tow it to dealership on Feb 26, 2015 and that all parts would be there in 2 to 3 weeks, I agreed to pay for a diagnostic test if the Jeep still would not start after recall was complete. I was told diagnostic test could not be done until after the P57 recall was complete. After several months of being told parts would be in I received a phone call from joe boulware on July 23, 2015 stating we had one day to move the Jeep or it would be towed. He said he had spoke with my son (the previous owner) on several occasions telling him to move Jeep. This was false as my son was incarcerated all the dates he gave. We met with general manager who said we were not welcome to do business there anymore due to my health issues and accusations made by joe boulware, they refused to do recalls on this Jeep or on another Chrysler truck I own that needs a safety recall done. In our presence, but not on speaker phone the general manager telephoned Chrysler to inquire when P57 part would be in, he identified himself using my sons name who is in the Missouri department of corrections instead of his own, he told us the help line informed him they had no estimated date for part to be released, when I spoke with Chrysler they found record of his call on 8-18-15 but information would have been false as part became available 8-14-15. I filed complaint with Chrysler and they issued the dealership a red letter complaint.

- Sullivan, MO, USA

problem #11

Jul 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when the ignition key was turned to the on position, the vehicle failed to start. The contact discovered that an unknown wire related to the ignition switch was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Romulus, MI, USA

problem #10

Jul 172015

Grand Cherokee

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently, went into a ditch, and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained an injury to the left shoulder, but did not require medical attention. A police report was not filed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- Lenexa , KS, USA

problem #9

Mar 242015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
I was driving the vehicle at 68mph on the freeway when the airbag light came on. Three minutes later the car indicated that the rear passenger door was open (which it was not). About 30 seconds later the passenger side-curtain airbag deployed which almost caused me to crash because it was so loud.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #8

May 282014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 109,852 miles
Air bag did not deploy in two separate front end collisions key locked in ignition and could not be removed.

- Arley, AL, USA

problem #7

May 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,852 miles


Key would be locked in ignition airbags do not deploy at collisions above 35 mph.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #6

May 282014

Grand Cherokee

  • 109,852 miles
Purchased the vehicle used with approximately 57,000-58,000 miles in 2011. Two separate front end collisons at above 35 mph with deer in rural area. No air bag ever deployed in May 2014 with mileage at approximately 109,852 the key would lock in the ignition and could not be removed. Car was still running, dash lights would stay on and shifter could be moved. Took to maloy Ford in jasper, Alabama. They "repaired" using a "win kit - transmitters and win" it has been working since that time. Question: Is the ignition repaired" is the electrical system still in need of the recall part that was not yet available at time of notification of recall"

- Arley, AL, USA

problem #5

Jan 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 73,179 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the passenger side seat belt pre-tensioner needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,179.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #4

Dec 032013

Grand Cherokee

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer and manufacturer stated that the parts needed for repair were not available. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was exhibiting symptoms related to the recall. The air bag light illuminated intermittently on the instrument panel and the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 102010

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
Owner of 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a regular basis hear a click and the power shuts off. You find yourself with no power steering, no power brakes, and no lights. This also occurs sometimes when you go over a bump or if your knee touches the key ring. The ignition key and mechanisms was replaced in 2010, and this above problem has been occurring off and on since then. In the past two years the occurrence has increased. The technicians can find nothing wrong in the car. Chrysler will not admit that the ignition fob and housing is defective, or that their is any problem. This problem is potentially life threatening if it occurs when there is no place to pull over and if hit, air bags will not deploy when the engine is off.

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #2

Oct 202012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
My son hit a tree and split it in half, then took out a 100ft lamp post and then crashed into a guard rail and not one airbag went off!

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #1

Feb 012011

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the air bag light intermittently illuminated on the instrument panel while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure because the air bag light would no longer be illuminated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 54,000. Updated 8/29/11 updated 09/21/11

- Muskego, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?