Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,700 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Mar 102016

Grand Cherokee

  • 86,100 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact attempted to make a left turn and the vehicle shut down and the steering wheel locked up. The failure recurred several times. The check engine oil light illuminated. In each case, the vehicle restarted after a while. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was diagnosed. The dealer replaced the solenoid and the harness, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall associated with the failure. The failure was not remedied. The failure mileage was 86,100.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #21

Sep 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 69,000 miles
9/1/15 at approximately 8:20 P.M. unintended change in ignition switch to the off position resulting in engine shutdown, electrical and power steering completely shutdown/lock. Collision averted by pulling resting 45 degree angle against the curb. Engine restarted thereafter. T/C to another dealership (this time downtown los angeles) and I am glad to report an appointment for this coming Friday, 9/4/15.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 022010

Grand Cherokee

  • 20,000 miles
Multiple incidents of unintended change in ignition switch position to the off position, resulting in engine shutdown, electrical and power steering completely shutdown/lock. First occurrence (approximately 2010) was during a left-hand turn, which nearly caused a multiple vehicle accident. Constant airbag light warning. Multiple other occurrences since then, resulting in multiple calls to dealer and contact to 1800 numbers provided. Fac P57/NHTSA 14V-567 important safety recall notice received and dealer again contacted. However, I was advised that the ignition is no longer in production and there is no way of knowing if/when the part will become available. Accordingly, no repair/remedy can be made. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 182015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles


We contacted West brothers Chrysler dealership in sullivan, mo in Feb. 2015 due to multiple recalls on the Jeep. They were aware the Jeep was not running, we were told to tow it to dealership on Feb 26, 2015 and that all parts would be there in 2 to 3 weeks, I agreed to pay for a diagnostic test if the Jeep still would not start after recall was complete. I was told diagnostic test could not be done until after the P57 recall was complete. After several months of being told parts would be in I received a phone call from joe boulware on July 23, 2015 stating we had one day to move the Jeep or it would be towed. He said he had spoke with my son (the previous owner) on several occasions telling him to move Jeep. This was false as my son was incarcerated all the dates he gave. We met with general manager who said we were not welcome to do business there anymore due to my health issues and accusations made by joe boulware, they refused to do recalls on this Jeep or on another Chrysler truck I own that needs a safety recall done. In our presence, but not on speaker phone the general manager telephoned Chrysler to inquire when P57 part would be in, he identified himself using my sons name who is in the Missouri department of corrections instead of his own, he told us the help line informed him they had no estimated date for part to be released, when I spoke with Chrysler they found record of his call on 8-18-15 but information would have been false as part became available 8-14-15. I filed complaint with Chrysler and they issued the dealership a red letter complaint.

- Sullivan, MO, USA

problem #18

Aug 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200,001 miles
I have been waiting for over a year for a part that doesn't exist. It has gotten a lot worse with the humidity changes and every time I start the Jeep it sticks. I was told to call at the beginning of every week to see if the part comes in. They also told me that they are limited to how many they get each week. I am beyond this bull crap on waiting for a part that's just so simple as they claim to replace.

- Old Fort, NC, USA

problem #17

Jan 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 60,000 miles
My 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee stalled out on the freeway when I was stopping for traffic. Since then it has stalled multiple times. Pulling away from a stop sign; pulling into my driveway; driving on the freeway with or without cruise on. Even while I was trailering my boat. I can re-start the Jeep by quickly putting trans into neutral:turning the ignition off than engaging the starter. It won't re-start unless you turn the ignition off first. I don't believe it to be a key/ignition switch problem. I believe it to be a computer control problem. When my Jeep stalls; the key is in its proper position every time.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #16

Jun 012015

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,000 miles


This shall serve to inform you that I owner of a Jeep Cherokee Laredo 2008 has filed numerous complaints with the department of motor vehicles concerning a recall with my ignition switch. It has been over two years and I am stilling for my ignition switch part to be ordered. The vehicle on numerous occasions has proved to be unsafe by stopping abruptly on the highway by losing power, parking lots by failing to start or on the road by losing speed where I could literally release the brake pedal and the car could not move. This is not only dangerous especially when I am in the car with my family on the highway and my ignition switch makes my car lose power, not only can I cause an accident and harm my family and I but other vehicles with their passengers too. I would like to know that matters are being taken to find parts to replace the faulty ignition switch. How long is it reasonable to wait for recall part to be order and fixed for my vehicle, until some tragic accident occurs? I am writing to inform you, if there is ever an incident, not only will I will file legal action against the department of motor vehicles.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #15

Jul 022014

Grand Cherokee

  • 101,000 miles
When going above 50 miles per hour, specifically on highways, as soon as I hit a large bump in the road, the key "bumps" out of the on position and into the off position. As a result, I loose power steering, brake assist, lights, turn signals, and all other power. I am able to put my 4 way flashers on and steer off the road, restart the car, and get back on the road. This has happened multiple times. The most recent was yesterday when going 70 on the highway while being tailgated by a tractor trailer. When the key slipped, I was almost completely taken out by the tractor trailer. This issue is a known recall; however, when reaching out to Jeep and other local dealerships, I am being told that the part is not available. They are not offering any solutions to remedy the issue in the meantime. I was told that if I wanted a rental, it would be out of pocket. It is not safe to drive my kids around or commute to my job an hour away from home. Jeep does not have an estimated time of when the part will be available.

- York, PA, USA

problem #14

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received a recall notice in November from Chrysler stating that there was a recall on my vehicle. Recall #P57, an issue with the ignition. This could cause lose of electrical features while driving, including lose of power, steering, brakes, and could increase the risk of crash. The catch is there is no part available to fix the problem. Luckily my car didn't crash, however it did fail to start. After having it towed (80 miles) to my local dealership they diagnosed the problem as the recall. I have spoken with both the dealership and Chrysler and there is nothing anyone can do to help me. My car, that I take very good care and keep on top of all maintenance, is now a sitting duck. No one can give me any information on when a part may be available and no one can help me to get a car so that I can get to and from my job and live my daily life. I have been informed repeatedly that Chrysler is "working diligently" to come up with a solution. To me it seems crazy that they can't come up with a part to fix an ignition! there are ignitions in every car! at this point I consider this situation gross negligence and Chrysler could be putting somewhere around 300,000 drivers at risk of death because they cannot and will not fix this problem. I don't live very close to my work and there is no public transportation. My car is a necessity in my life and Chrysler has taken that away from me and offers me no support. Corporate giants need to be help accountable for their product.

- Oak Creek, CO, USA

problem #13

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 163,000 miles
I received a recall letter back in the summer 2014 for faulty ignition switch. Called dealer, parts not available. Called several more times since, still no parts and told to wait for letter. Well, it is now Feb. 2015 and still no parts/letter. It states that ignition switch can turn from start to run, which will shut down engine or other electrical parts ( steering, engine, power brakes ) increasing the risk of crash. Do I have to wait till I crash before this is taken care of ?

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #12

Oct 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 90,900 miles


Purchased used vehicle from dealer. That evening while driving at speed (35 mph), my dash flashed, went dead and engine stalled, lost steering and brakes. The oil light lit and was only light on dash. Pulled over to side of road, after shifting to park, it restarted and drove normally. Next morning upon starting the check engine light came on. Drove to work, parked, called dealer. Upon entering vehicle again, used remote start, but when I inserted key, it died. Cycled key again and started. Returning to dealer, upon exiting freeway, it died again at roughly 30 mph. This time a loud clunk sound occurred and the same stalling issue, coupled with no brakes or steering occurred. After shifting to lark and cycling hey, it started immediately. Dealer diagnosed it as a "autostart relay switch" overheating and burning out. Replaced switch, check engine light disappeared, and vehicle drove normally all night. Third day of ownership, while at a stoplight, a loud clunk sound, coupled with jerking motion occurred. I actually looked at rear window because I thought I was rear ended, until I realized my dash was dead except for same oil light. Car was stalled. Placed in park, car started immediately. So far I've had car 3 days and it's happened everyday. Glad I just dropped close to 20K on a Jeep that may kill me.

- Oak Park, IL, USA

problem #11

Oct 082014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Had the N23 recall done on Oct 7/14. The next day while driving low speed, the vehicle completely shut down, without notice or warning. Radio stayed on. Dash lights completely blank. Power steering gone, power brakes gone. This happened twice in same day. In first incident, managed to slowly get vehicle over on shoulder, put in park and restart. Second incident, shut down on busy city road at low speed while driving, stopped, put in park and restarted immediately. Vehicle back at dealer today! wish I had never done the recall work! no problems at all before that.

- Guelph Ontario, OR, USA

problem #10

Sep 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
When driving my 2008 Jeep with only 40,000 miles my car stalled out. The car completely turned off disabling breaking, steering and making my gears unable to move. The car continued to drive leaving me helpless in stopping this moving vehicle. I finally had to with a my strength punch the gear into park where my car then finally stopped moving. I was only going 20 mph but imagine what could of occurred if I was on a highway, this letter which have a much different tone. I tried calling Jeep to explain what occurred not only because I felt their car failed and they should pay for my expenses on their failed part, but also to note it for a recall. I have researched and see that I am not the only one that has experienced this occurring with this Jeep. This is very dangerous and there should be immediate recalls so no one gets hurts as this is a very serious problem and I am lucky my outcome did not end in a worse way!

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 232014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Incident 1 (9/23/2014): Driving at 25mph in a straight line when there was a loud "clunk" sound and the engine shut down with several dashboard warning lights lit. Loss of power steering and power braking. Was able to pull vehicle to a side street and come to a complete stop. Upon placing the vehicle in park and turning the ignition to the off position, was able to restart the vehicle and resume trip. No dashboard warning lights remained lit, no other issues driving. Incident 2 (9/30/2014): Driving less than 5mph in a parking lot. Vehicle stalled without loud clunk with several dashboard warning lights lit. Loss of power and power braking. Was able to put vehicle in neutral and cycle the engine off and on to restart. Vehicle resumed normally with no dashboard warning lights lit. Purchased vehicle used on 9/18/2014, so unsure if this has been a recurring problem.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #8

Jun 112014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The ignition on my Jeep went out of it's normal operating position to acc position after the key was accidentally bumped. The car was in motion at the time. Steering locked up and the accelerator was disabled. And just a few days ago the same thing happened. This time my car rolled at a slow speed into another car due to lack of brakes. Luckily, no damage or injuries in that case either. I assume the recent recall for Jeep Grand Cherokee up to 2007 for the same reason will be extended to the 2008 models.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #7

Jun 152014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 63,782 miles
Driving on an onramp to the garden state parkway truck shut off and lost all power to motor.. had to cost to side of highway and try to restart vehicle.. this put me in danger of not only causing a major highway crash leading to injury and death but also had to figure out what is still wrong with this truck.. the only way to start this vehicle is to come to a complete stop.. put it into park... remove the key fob... re insert key fob and truck starts right back up... since 2008 I have filled reports of this exact problem happening.. and no fix has come from Jeep or a recall forcing action of these Jeep Grand Cherokee.. in researching this problem I have found this has been a common problem in the Jeep Grand Cherokee line going back to 2007 and still you or Chrysler corporation has not taken action. Please my life as well as others driving on the road could be saved be a recall to address this very serious issue... I ask you will it take me death or the death of others to get a response from some one. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Freeport , NY, USA

problem #6

Apr 102010

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,000 miles
Owner of 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee on a regular basis hear a click and the power shuts off. You find yourself with no power steering, no power brakes, and no lights. This also occurs sometimes when you go over a bump or if your knee touches the key ring. The ignition key and mechanisms was replaced in 2010, and this above problem has been occurring off and on since then. In the past two years the occurrence has increased. The technicians can find nothing wrong in the car. Chrysler will not admit that the ignition fob and housing is defective, or that their is any problem. This problem is potentially life threatening if it occurs when there is no place to pull over and if hit, air bags will not deploy when the engine is off.

- Moon Twp, PA, USA

problem #5

Feb 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Approximately 10 times, while driving my vehicle at various speeds (10, 30 and 70 mph) my vehicle has stalled. One time, while driving 70 miles, with my children in the car, my vehicle stalled while in the outside lane. I had to get across five lanes of traffic, with no power, including no power steering and I barely made it over. My vehicle has also stalled while pulling out of my development, which is on a road that is posted 45 mph and on a bend. So when I have stalled in the middle of the intersection, I have cars who round the bend at 45 mph and I, and my children, our sitting ducks unable to move. It is only a matter of time before someone gets killed. I brought it the dealership, they kept it for several days and several hundred dollars for them to tell me they do not know what is wrong. Two things to note: It always stalls after hitting a bump, and I carry approximately 30 keys and rings on the chain that holds my ignition key. I do not think that this is a coincidence and I take this very seriously. My children, other innocent people, or myself are going to be seriously hurt or killed and I want this investigated aggressively.

- Rensselaer, NY, USA

problem #4

May 162013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 106,815 miles
Wife traveling with son on fwy at legal speed of 70 mph w/cruise control on, car suddenly decelerated causing a violent maneuver forcing car into neighboring lane and almost crashing. She stated it was as if it suddenly downshifted into lowest gear and brakes applied forcefully. Regaining control she deactivated the cruise control and proceeded to destination at 50 mph. Took to dealership in davis where it was diagnosed as catastrophic failure of the transfer case which was then replaced at the cost of $2842.75. She retrieved car two days later and proceeded to drive back home (distance is @ 178 mi one way). Car repeated sudden deceleration upon entering the fwy and getting up to speed. Continued home due to medical appointments to keep. Kept cruise control off but called dealership to report that replacing the transfer case did not solve the problem. I pulled codes upon her arriving home and found only code 0430 (catalyst system efficiency below threshold [bank 2] indicating the converter not working to specs. Today she was returning to davis to visit with grandchildren and experienced the same situation. At 70 mph car suddenly decelerated rapidly (as if brakes were applied forcefully) and caused her to abruptly move into the lane to her left. She regained control and continued on at 50 mph. The dealership informed her no mechanics would be available until Monday but as she has a flight out of lax to catch early Monday a.M. she decided to continue on to L.a. without using the cruise control and proceeding at slower speed. The power steering pump was replaced on 4/15/2013 at dealerships recommendation due to a leak and the transmission was serviced in addition to having new valve cover and gasket put on. Spark plugs replaced, throttle body and combustion chambers cleaned and PCV valve replaced. Internet research indicates this is a repeated problem with the Jeep Grand Cherokee

- Westwood, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 232012

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 29,300 miles
When going over speed bumps my vehicle stalls. This is the third time this has happened in the last 2 months. I've brought it to the dealership multiple times. Each time I've been told there is no problem, or that I need spark plugs replaced, or the throttle body needs to be cleaned....nothing has helped!

- Wakefield, MA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?