Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,675 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Oct 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the key was able to be removed from the ignition while the transmission was still engaged. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V200000 (electrical system). The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the win (wireless ignition node) module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Northeast, MD, USA

problem #20

Sep 262015

Grand Cherokee

  • 100,500 miles
I was driving along on the highway about 65 mph and all of a sudden the engine light oil light and the 23. Electronic throttle control (etc) warning light all came on in that order and the engine just died.. no safe place to park and no power steering but was able to get it in a driveway off the road.. it would crank but not turn over.. had to have it towed home.. called Chrysler to see if it had any recalls and they said there were none..then had it scanned read P0340 camshaft sensor had that replaced still did not work.. the mechanic called two days later and said that it was the tipm module and had it towed over to the dealership.. he said he had to dig to find the recall and that my Jeep was manufactured in feburary 2010 and it falls into the recall.. this is not the first time I have had electrical issues such as the radio shutting down and restarting for no reason the remote having new batteries and not unlocking the vehicle..

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #19

Aug 032015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
S10 direct reply- letter to the secretary from constituent requesting assistance with ignition problems in a 2010 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. The consumer stated the key would not stay in the ignition. The consumer stated he was able to drive the vehicle, with the key in his pocket.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • 103,000 miles


During a snow storm on 11/26/2014 while 5 mo. Pregnant my car went off the highway into the middle median during the evening commute because the 4WD did not work.I changed from right lane to left lane at a speed of 30-35mph to allow space for oncoming merging traffic.when changing lanes I kept going left and could not stay on the traveled portion.I had to drive in reverse to get out over the plow bank and into the travel way.once home I could not make it up my 450ft long driveway and the rear end kept sliding out- the 4WD did not work. 5mo pregnant I could not shovel myself out and had to wait until thanksgiving morning for assistance, as a result the plow truck could not clean the driveway.went to the svc dept of my dealership.they informed me there was as software update correcting an issue with the N23 recall.I was about the 6-7 car with a similar issue. At first there was no software update, but it appears a software update was initiated in the fall of 2014 but no communication was made to those who had the N23 recall.I just received a recall notice for a "consumer safety notification" Chrysler published on May 2015.I was informed by Chrysler this evening it is not a "recall" because it is not a safety issue. I filed a complaint. When asked how the complaint process works he said it will be reviewed internally.I asked if someone would call me back or if it is just put in a record somewhere. I was informed it is maintained internally, no one would be calling me back, but it would be reviewed.this is most definitely a safety issue. I could have been hurt, I could have hurt someone, or worse case someone could have died.the car did not perform as expected in challenging conditions. It appears the issue was known about and hence a software update. It is disappointing the public was not notified until May 2015, and that it is not classified as as safety concern.

- Barrington, NH, USA

problem #17

Jul 192015

Grand Cherokee

  • 53,400 miles
After parking the vehicle the win module started to bind while turning vehicle off. Key fell out of ignition while car was still on. Ignition is now stuck between acc and on mode and key is removable while in motion. Vehicle is unable to be shut off via key ignition, to turn off vehicle battery cable must be removed.

- Staten Island , NY, USA

problem #16

Jun 232015

Grand Cherokee

  • 81,121 miles
Was driving my vehicle at approximately 25 miles per hour when my car shut off completely. My power steering and brakes stopped working as well and I almost rear ended another vehicle. I assumed it was the battery and replaced the vehicle battery at a cost of $225. The car worked intermitently for the next few days until today, when I had shut it off and then it wouldn't restart. I was finally able to get the vehicle restarted and got it to garden city Jeep where they told me it was indeed a win module. I have noticed that there is a recall for that exact part for approximately 7,000 other 2010 Grand Cherokee and wondering why others were not included. This is a dangerous and expensive situation and I would like to have it remedied as soon as possible. Thank you, anthony J. miller 58 catherine street valley stream, NY 11581

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #15

Feb 052015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles


I came out of store and care would not start. After trying for 10-15 minutes remote start and key start, it finally started. Last week Apr. 22, this happened again. I was told by friends the problem would only get worse.

- Folsom, PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the thermostat display increased. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. In addition, the contact stated that three months later, while driving at 35 mph, the battery warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The contact also noticed a burning plastic odor coming from the air vents. The vehicle was taken back to the independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the alternator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the initial failure. The failure mileage was 42,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #13

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the instrument panel lights would independently dim. The contact also stated that when idled, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was jump started in order to restart. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 12/19/14 the consumer stated when the vehicle stalled, he was unable to remove the key from the ignition. Updated 01/07/15

- Barryton , MI, USA

problem #12

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While operating the vehicle, a loud ticking noise emitted from the totally integrated power module located under the hood. The noise was intermittent, but the headlights would dim and the instrument cluster flashed off and on when the noise was present. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #11

Apr 082011

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 4,000 miles


Multiple electrical issues. Sunroof not closing, passenger window would go down but not up (from passenger switch only - driver's side would work the passenger window fine), radio would turn off at random, and the switches that can be programmed to work the garage door -have never worked. When these issues are taken to the dealer - they cannot replicate the problem so they will not fix or repair. On one occasion the dealer saw the window switch not working...but had to have the warranty people come and see for themselves (car was on an extended warranty) well, low and behold it worked when they were there. These issues were extremely frustrating and the dealer was not helpful. I explained the car clearly had electrical issues in general. The car only has 22,600 miles on it and I planned on keeping it for many years. However, if I am having this many problems now - there is now way I will keep it.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #10

Feb 042014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
I purchased the vehicle in early February 2014. Jeep would not start. This had happened 4 times before about 2 or 3 months apart then recently about 3 weeks apart, . this time I had to have it towed. Someone suggested it could be the infamous tipm that is discussed all over the internet. There are the same electrical wiring complaints all over the internet, how can Jeep not be responsible for stranding motorists all over for the same repeated problems.

- Peotone, IL, USA

problem #9

Apr 052014

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,157 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that all the warning gauges on the instrument panel illuminated. The contact mentioned that the turn signals and rear brake lights failed. The battery was disconnected from the terminal and the vehicle was restarted. The failure occurred on two different occasions. The manufacturer was contacted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 72,157 and the current mileage was 77,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 272014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Car would not start. This had happened 4 times before about 2 or 3 months apart. This time I had to have it towed. Next day it started. Someone suggested it could be the infamous tipm that is discussed all over the internet.

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 042013

Grand Cherokee

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the key suddenly slipped out of the ignition switch however, the engine did not power off. The contact took the vehicle to the local dealer and was informed that the win module was defective. No repairs were performed on the vehicle. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V175000 (electrical system, power train). The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #6

Oct 062013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
Unintentional shifting of the transfer case into the neutral position. The vehicle rolled back. This occurred in a parking lot and at a home driveway.

- Shenorock, NY, USA

problem #5

Oct 132013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
On three separate occasions, vehicle check engine light went on/off within a matter of seconds. The first time was approximately one week prior to the most current two occurrences which happened about 30mins-1 hour apart. Vehicle was taken to the dealership and they advised that the system had recorded no error codes and were unable to determine what if anything caused the check engine light to illuminate.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 282013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, the front wheels seized. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician performed the repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) however, the failure continued. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Berlin, NJ, USA

problem #3

Aug 092013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4X4. The contact stated received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) and stated that the remedy part remained unavailable beyond a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #2

May 222013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Vehicle shifted from neutral and accelerated striking the side of the garage. Parking brakes would not engage, causing significant damage to the vehicle and garage. Air bags did not deploy. I believe this accident was caused by a pending Jeep recall. NHTSA's # 13V175000.

- Southfield, MI, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?