Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,607 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #16

Jan 122016

Grand Cherokee

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger side headlamp does not come on in daytime. At dusk, when the sensor turns on brighter lamps; this passenger side headlamp works. At time, when raining or when I want to be seen, I will manually turn on both headlights. Now the passenger side light will not come on during the day; however it will come on with the automatic dusk feature. I see many "one-sided" daytime running headlamps in the newer model Jeep prior to the new led rope lighting headlamp feature implemented in 2014. The auto dealer will happily replace the ballast and assembly for $500. In my mind, this is a defect known to the maker which is why a new type of lighting was implemented. It worked fine until several months ago. Even thought it's just annoying; it doesn't seem right. It was suggested I check in with this website to see if there are other complaints.

- Princeton, MN, USA

problem #15

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that all exterior lights failed to illuminate. In addition, the contact stated that the rear hatch failed to latch. The contact had to fasten the rear hatch with a cord. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on numerous occasions where it was diagnosed that the remote and module for the latch and the lights needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. However, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 10/19/16 the consumer stated he replaced nine light bulbs in three years. The hatch back failed to lock on several occasions and it failed to open as it was designed. Updated 10/25/16.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V879000 (electrical system, interior lighting) and for two months, the manufacturer failed to provide the part for the recall remedy. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate when going up a hill or towing another vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #13

Jul 062014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, both daytime running lights became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions where it was diagnosed that the lights needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred five additional times. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 06/29/16

- North Adams, MA, USA

problem #12

Nov 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 45 mph, the front passenger side headlight failed to illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the headlamp needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired on two separate occasions, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Rome, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Sep 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 38,000 miles
I have only owned this vehicle for two months. Left front daytime running light went out. Have had intermittent problems with the right rear directional going out. Bulbs are good. Not sure of source of problem. We have taken the assembly out and directional works. After putting it back in, it does not work. Also happened after a car wash; not sure if that is really the problem though- we live in AZ and hardly ever get rain. Currently, I do not have use of the directional in the rear.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jan 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Jan 7, 2015, while I was driving towards the garage, my vehicle (Grand Cherokee 2013) suddenly (unexpectedly) accelerated and, although I pressed the brake pedal, it crashed against the wall. The vehicle activated airbags burning and bruising my body; I went to the er and received medical assistance. Some of the parts replaced for this crash included, bumper and hood assemblies, A/C ducts and evaporator, grille, radiator, headlight, computer, wiper wash canister, water pump, fan, seat belt and one fender, etc. In addition the crash toll caused structural damages to the property. The service shop completed the repairs on Feb 27, 2015. On March 2 and May 20, 2015 I took the vehicle to the authorized service center because of transmission shifting failures. They finally changed the whole transmission by May 29, 2015. On July 2 I took it back to the service center because there was a noisy riding and check engine was on; by July 16 they had replaced one shock absorber, the gas pump and tank, and one oxygen sensor (mileage at this point 22,594). On July 22, 2015 I went back again because of check engine and they kept the vehicle for replacing the catalyst. Because of the unexpected acceleration event, all abovementioned repairs, plus five executed recalls (one still open R909/NHTSA 14V-115) and an imminent sixth recall for start button (that does not shuts off); I donżżT trust this vehicleż's safety and quality. IżżM afraid of hurting me or someone else; I could not afford repairs at upcoming warranty expiry. Therefore, I hope you buy back this defective Grand Cherokee 2013.

- Las Piedras , PR, USA

problem #9

Oct 102014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I have replaced the tail lights (4X within 12months), fog light (after one exploded and melted the housing), lights in visor (safety recall), day time running lights (6X), a sensor has quit working on the engine module that tells the engine when it is up to temperature, and the leather dash suddenly warped. My vehicle has 60,000 miles on it and already I have replaced various lights on it (the day time running lights need a trained mechanic) costing me a ton of money. The warped dash was inspected by the manager of rice Chrysler Dodge in knoxville, tn informed me that the glue allowed the dash to lift and that I would have to pay for this manufacture defect, and I just received a letter in the mail that another safety recall is being issued for the engine stalling that could cause a deadly accident. I think that my vehicle should be registered as a lemon, I have always trusted Jeep, always had Jeep, but this one has been a costly mistake.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #8

Feb 042015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,981 miles
On October 15, 2014 I took my 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee to moore auto group 8590 West bell road peoria, AZ to address recall (P36 sun visor wiring). The recall states; the sun visor vanity lamp wiring on your vehicle may experience a high resistance short after a service repair to the sun visor, headliner or while gaining access above the headliner. This may result in an inoperative vanity lamp and increase risk of fire. On February 4, 2015 while parked, engine not running, locked and unoccupied, in a grocery store parking lot, the car erupted in flames. The source of ignition was a short in the wiring above the headliner at the passenger side sun visor. I believe that in the interest of safety, any and all owners of vehicles that had this recall maintenance performed at moore auto group be advised to return for reinspection.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #7

Feb 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • 59,000 miles
The water pump and radiator have gone bad, also the driving lights and the fog lights keep burning out. There seems to be a mechanical problem. This has cost me approx. $2000 in repair cost. I have noticed on the road other vehicles like mine that have there lights burned out. Also my repair shop informed me that he sees quit a few cracked radiators.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #6

Nov 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee, I have taken my car to the dealership twice now for the engine stalling as I climb a hill and for it kicking into gear when sitting still with my foot still on the brake. The car jerks extremely hard to the point where you think you have been hit by another car. It also does this when switching between the first 3 gears. The first time I took it in, the dealership told me they had to adjust the computer on the engine. This did not work as I am still experiencing the same issue. I also have noticed a decrease in my mileage per gallon. I was getting 14 and am now getting 9 miles per gallon. My outlet buttons are all sticking on my dashboard and are hard to the touch to turn on. When trying to turn on one button, all buttons light up. Ie..parking assistance, skid control, etc. My headlights also would not turn on when driving. The only lights that worked were the high beams. This has happened to me three times while driving. The dealership states that they can not replicate the issue.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #5

Oct 142014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000 (lighting, electrical). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #4

Sep 272014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • miles
I have gotten two safety recalls from Jeep. The first one is P14/NHTSA 14V-154 ( brake booster may prematurely corrode) and the second is P36/NHTSA 14V-391 ( sun visor vanity lamp may experience high resistance short). I have called several dealerships to try to get my car in for them to check and have either been told they don't have the part or are "too busy to service my car". I was even told at helfman Dodge Chrysler Jeep and Ram in houston (713)533-6100 that they couldn't service my car because they were too busy and under staffed and then the man said " I don't mean to be rude, but it's true". my service engine soon light also came on at one point and they said they couldn't take my car in. I am very frustrated with Jeep's costumer service. I also called the dealership I bought my car from (auto nation) Chrysler Jeep and Dodge in spring, Texas three times and never received a phone call back after leaving three messages with the service operator. I was told to file a compliant on this website if the recalls were not taken care of within a reasonable time. Thank you for your time.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #3

Mar 262014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 18,144 miles
My 2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee is unsafe to drive above approximately 50 mph due to the headlamps. I have been to the dealer twice to have them adjusted. The dealer made adjustments according to Jeep criteria; however, when driving in a dark area it is impossible to see more than approximately 30 feet in front of the vehicle. According to Chrysler this is acceptable. I disagree and feel that this makes driving at highway speeds unsafe.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 032013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Jeep has an issue with my 2013 Jeep Cherokee, wherein the electrical system fails, headlight(s) turn off and other systems (radio/nav) reboot. I on my fifth attempted fix for the same issue. Car is still in shop (I am in my third week of a rental). Obviously, headlights that go out on their own (and stay out) is a significant safety issue -- it's more than an annoyance. I have been warned by police already, but safety of myself and others is the larger issue.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #1

Sep 082012

Grand Cherokee

  • 80 miles
2013 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. The speedometer and tachometer needles are dark red against a dark slate/black background. Very difficult to see under nighttime conditions and when sun shines into car from the rear. This is added to the fact that the instruments are on the sides of the instrument cluster and that the steering wheel is small. Can't get a full look at these instruments with both eyes at the same time.... I. E. seriously impacted binocular vision means that it is even more important the needles be of a contrasting color to the background. Especially since many males are at least partially red-green color blind. The safety considerations include that it takes longer to read the speedometer under man Y different light conditions [even without color vision deficiencies], which means that the eyes are off the road longer and that speeding may be a more common and inadvertent result of it being harder to read the gauges.

- Portland, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?