Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #170

Jul 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There has been incident the forward collision warning went off and the brake was applied. It happened both high speed and low speed. The recent incident was captured my onboard dash cam. Https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=plqwa_9V6mhpjrx6J4thjgtnma1vf99O-4

- Coralville, IA, USA

problem #169

May 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
My car is equipped with a forward collision warning that will signal you when you are too close to a vehicle and automatically engages the brake if a collision is imminent. The car has 3 times now signaled and engaged the brakes when there were no vehicles near me. The first two times this happened I was driving on the freeway going approximately 65 mph with no cars in my visible sight and the signal alarmed and then the car braked on it's own. This again happened yesterday 6/29/15 while I was turning left through an intersection with a green arrow and the vehicle braked while I was accelerating. A car behind me had to hit their brakes and swerve to avoid rear ending me. Each time I bring the vehicle to the dealership they tell me that they can't fix a problem that they can't replicate.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #168

Jun 292015

Grand Cherokee

  • 52,000 miles
The front rotors and the rear rotors turned black while operating the vehicle under normal highway driving conditions. The front and rear brakes pads are not worn where they required replacement. The rotors appear to be defective. I saved the rotors for inspection if you so desire to inspect them. Having been a automotive technichian in the past and a mechanic on nyc taxi cabs I have never witnesses this kind of wear and tear on a rotor. Having had fleets of police vehicles I have never seen a rotor wear like this either. Even police vehicles having been in pursuits have not worn out like this.

- Wappingers Falls , NY, USA

problem #167

Dec 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 25 mph, the vehicle suddenly braked witout the brake pedal being depressed. The brake warning indicator flashed prior to the failure. The failure recurred several times. The dealer was unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN and failure mileage were unknown. Updated 8/21/15

- Prescott, AZ, USA

problem #166

Aug 092014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I was on the I-94 entrance/exit ramp between fullerton avenue and western avenue. Just before western ave: The left lane is intended for vehicles entering I-94 northbound, the right lane is intended for vehicles that are proceeding to western ave. When the even occurred, there was a line of vehicles stopped in the left lane due to traffic congestion on I-94. I was traveling in the right lane and had no cars directly in front of me. As I began to pass the long line of vehicles that were waiting to enter on to I-94 on my left, the automatic braking system began to chime and braking began for no reason. I quickly reached down, disabled the ABS function, glanced in my rear-view mirror and saw that I had come dangerously close to being rear-ended by another vehicle. After a few weeks, I re-enabled the feature thinking that the event was a fluke. I re-enabled it, but had a handful of instances where the brakes would be applied in seemingly inappropriate situations - mostly all of them in dense city driving. The vehicle now has 10K miles on it. I have yet to take it in for service on this or the multitude of factory recalls. Possibly related, there have been numerous occasions where the parking sensor chimes have gone off while the vehicle was moving -or- in gear, but stopped at a stoplight. I often leave the feature disabled until I get ready to park.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #165

Feb 182015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,916 miles
I was driving approximately 40 mph on w. maple rd in troy, mi in the middle of the afternoon on February 18, 2015. There was minimal traffic on the road and no one in front of me in my lane or the lane next to me. Suddenly, my dash lit up to brake and the car started braking on it's own. It happened so quickly that I wasn't even sure what it was. It happened again about a mile down the road. Again the system applied the brakes and the warning word brake flashed on my dashboard when there was nothing near me. It happened quickly and then the car went back to normal without me doing or changing anything in the car. I brought it to the Suburban Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram dealership in troy and they said they were not able to recreate. No codes were activated in the computer and there were no service bulletins about it so there was nothing they could do... I took the car home and the same thing happened again to me five days later driving at approximately the same speed. This time the dealership kept the car longer, drove it 119 miles, used the miller tool kit to align the camera and still found nothing wrong. The following week, it happened again and I returned to the dealership. This time they replaced the front sensor and bubble aligned. The only thing that the dealership found was that on one of the test drives they couldn't get the acc system to work at all and still no reports showed up on the computer. The next test drive all systems were working, again no report on the computer of the change. The dealership still could not duplicate the problem but they thought that they fixed it.. in may, it happened again. It occurred while I was merging onto the expressway traveling at 63mph. I returned the car to the same dealership and again it was returned to me without being able to diagnose or fix the problem...updated 07/21/15

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #164

May 142015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 60 mph, the warning indicators illuminated and the brakes engaged independently. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 7/29/15

- Chattanoogat, TN, USA

problem #163

Jun 152015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), 14V634000 (electrical system), and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts). The parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 09/03/15 updated 12/10/15

- Vansant, VA, USA

problem #162

Jun 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,500 miles
On the highway the "forward collision warning with stop" system needlessly engaged. The vehicle brakes automatically were applied by the car on its won causing it to decelerate rapidly fishtailing uncontrollably. It was raining. This is not the first time the situation occurred.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #161

May 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 7,861 miles
Vehicle has, on three occasions slammed on brakes when a vehicle slows in the right hand lane adjacent to the lane of travel. Brake warning appears with warning sounds.

- Eidgefield, WA, USA

problem #160

May 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was parking her 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee outside of a retail store. As she slowed and pulled into a parking space, the Jeep suddenly surged forward, jumping the curb, crossing a sidewalk, going through a small grass median, and into a different area of the parking lot. The police report, Oklahoma city police department report, case number 15-redacted, accurately records the "surge." The officer's conclusion was driver error. Through research I have found numerous similar complaints concerning 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I called the service manager for the Jeep dealership where we purchased the vehicle. I told him about the accident and that when the Jeep came in for repair, I wanted the accident data preserved. He told me the only data that he could obtain was Jeep's proprietary information, which I could not have. A representative form my insurance company is adamant that we, as the owners of the Jeep, have a right to any information captured by the Jeep's systems. However, the insurance company had no way to obtain that information when they appraised the damage to the Jeep. I need help in obtaining the data by someone outside of Jeep who can access it, or help to compel Jeep to provide me with the information, hence this online submission. The website which contains other complaints about 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee is www.carcomplaints.com/Jeep/grand_cherokee/2014/engine/vehicle_speed_control-2.shtml. 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicle speed control problems | page 2 the website concern Jeep Grand Cherokee or all years having trouble when the tires/brakes get wet is jumpin' Jeep are hard to tie down

- Nichols Hills, OK, USA

problem #159

May 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles
Car has automatic brake warning which applies the brakes automatically. On at least 4 occasions the warning light came on brakes were applied and there was no other cars in sight. Not only were there no cars in sight while driving on an expressway the brakes would come on. I to, D the dealership but the were unable to replicate.

- West Henrietta, NY, USA

problem #158

Feb 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I purchased a new 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee srt last year and have had many issues, this has to do with the automatic braking system. I was in the far left turn lane of a two lane left turn stoplight. Stoplight turns green for left turn lanes to proceed to highway entrance ramp, as I am turning left my car automatically slams into a full brake and stops in middle of turn lane. The car was out of my control as the brake peddle was fully pressed to the floor without me touching the brake. My vehicle does have the automatic brake system, which was activated this day. The car behind me slammed on their brakes since my vehicle came to a complete stop in the middle of making a left turn. We did not get rear ended thankfully. There was a car to the right of my vehicle also making a left turn, at no point did this vehicle come near my vehicle nor crossed lanes. My vehicle came to a complete stop for no reason and when I went to press on the gas pedal, it continued to stay in a full brake, it took about a minute to get my vehicle to start accelerating again. After this incident I turned off the automatic brake system. To be driving a vehicle and then out of nowhere the car takes control of itself is very scary and not safe.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #157

Apr 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,000 miles
Driving through the eisenhower tunnel the brake warning system activated. The brakes did not engage. I have had this Jeep for over a year and have driven through this tunnel over 80 times and now whenever driving through the tunnel this brake warning will flash. This has occurred approximately 16 times now. This warning is now going off on the open interstate and secondary roads. The adaptive cruise control stops workings after 15-20 minutes. This has been into two different dealers, only to tell me the lens was dirty. Within 20 minutes after leaving the dealer (who cleaned the sensor) the system stops working and says to clean the sensor. No snow or water was driven through prior to the message being displayed.

- Morrison, CO, USA

problem #156

Dec 112014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #155

May 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
After backing the car out of the garage I was going to get out to go back into the house.. I put the car (I thought) in park, my foot was still on the brake. I started to remove my foot from the brake and the car slightly started forward I realized the car wasn't in park but drive and when I went to depress the brakes further to change gears and stop the forward motion the car suddenly revved the engine, squealed its tires while pealing out and accelerating at a high rate of speed back into the garage smashing into a brick wall and my dining room. The damage to the car is over $15,000 and damage to the house is approx. $9000. I know my foot was on the brake!` my face hit the steering wheel cutting my lip. The airbag did not deploy. I have two years left on the lease and I am terrified to drive it. In all of my years of driving I have never had an accident and I have always parked in a garage without incident. I have driven everything from Yukon to Navigator and never have I had an issue like this. I see from all the posts that I am not alone. This issue needs to be addressed before people are killed.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #154

Apr 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000, 14V643000, 14V391000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), (air bags, seat belts), and (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Forsyth, IL, USA

problem #153

Oct 092014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V634000 (electrical system), 14V643000 (electrical system), and 14V391000 (electrical system); however, the parts needed to perform each repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Powell, TN, USA

problem #152

Jun 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), 14V391000 (electrical system), 14V634000 (electrical system) and 14V643000 (air bags, seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Commack, NY, USA

problem #151

Apr 092015

Grand Cherokee

  • 26,147 miles
Applying brake car did not stop.car stopped 15 feet after applying brake.this is the second time this happened.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?