Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,999 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 8 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Jul 092014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving approx 30mph on a surface street and attempted to brake as a moved into a left turn lane. The brakes did not respond to touch and my foot nearly went to the floor. The Jeep decelerated to almost a stop until I briefly reaccelerated to approx 5mph (because I was stunned and thought there was no way that the brakes had failed on a brand new vehicle) and attempted to brake again but my foot nearly went to the floor again without a brake response. The power brakes were definitely not working, and the braking power with my foot nearly to the floor was incredibly unresponsive. I coasted into a parking lot, hit the roadside assistance button in my Jeep, and the vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership for repair. Even the tow driver noted how unresponsive the brakes were as he loaded the vehicle on the truck. The service advisor at the dealership called a few hours later to tell me that this incident happened because the Jeep's "master cylinder failed" and that "the parts are on national backorder" and "the parts are being built." He said my Jeep is the first 2014 that this has happened to and advised that I would be in the loaner rental car for a minimum of one week while they await the parts to repair the Jeep.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #49

Jun 262014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 6,621 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while depressing the brake pedal, it traveled to the floorboard and there was an abnormal noise coming from the brakes. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,621. Updated 09/05/14 updated 09/15/2014

- Kenilworth, NJ, USA

problem #48

Apr 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that he had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and were unable to provide an estimated date for when the parts will be available for the repairs. The contact felt that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue.

- Terrytown, NY, USA

problem #47

Jul 072014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

May 30, 2014 I received "important safety recall" P14/NHTSA 14V-154 (brake booster) and immediately called two local dealerships, armory garage (albany NY) and lia motors (colonie NY) whom each placed me on a "waiting" list because neither had the required parts from the manufacturer. I received a follow-up call from "lia" for an apt on June 30 but service hours not conducive for my working schedule....so I phoned "armory" but the service dept states they have not received any parts from the manufacturer yet. How can one local dealership receive parts for a national recall and another doesn't "?" "armory" has better service hours so I don't have to lose work pay.

- Albany, NY, USA

problem #46

May 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact was concerned for his safety since the parts were still unavailable to repair the vehicle according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #45

Oct 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,393 miles
I was driving on the highway in rush hour traffic when the car suddenly accelerated and side swiped a school bus. The car went out of control and was unable to be stopped, crashing into a concrete media on the left side of the highway before spinning across three lanes of traffic and crashing into the concrete barrier on the right side of the highway and finally stopping. The car was totaled - the entire frame was twisted, all four tires were destroyed, the bumper was hanging off. There was severe damage to the entire car - not one corner or area of the car was not dented, dinged or scraped. None of the air bags deployed (despite the violent nature of the crash). I walked away from the accident but had a herniated disc in my back and an injury to the rotator cuff in my right arm and missed a significant amount of time from work while recovering.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #44

Jun 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes and service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer provided a time frame of 41 weeks for the part to become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mountan Home, AR, USA

problem #43

Jun 262014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The contact stated that dealer and manufacturer were contacted numerous times and they were unable to provide an estimated time frame of when the parts would become available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. Contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #42

Apr 102014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V154000 (service brake, service brakes, hydraulic) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer informed that one part per week was being mailed by the manufacturer. The contact was placed on a massive waiting list. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 212014

Grand Cherokee

  • 455 miles
Driver's side front outer cv joint boot slipped due to an improperly-installed boot clamp and the grease from the joint migrated to the brake splash guard, suspension components, and inside of the wheel on that side. No grease apparent on the brake rotor at this time, however the dealer, grapevine Dodge Chrysler Jeep, in grapevine, tx, has instructed me to drive the vehicle to them for service in a few days. Any grease on the brake rotor could cause a brake failure on that side (leading to loss of control) and would require some parts to be replaced. I understand that this is a common problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee manufactured in March and April of 2014, however the dealer's service advisor whom I spoke with appears to be unaware of the trend and largely ignorant of the danger that it presents.

- Justin, TX, USA

problem #40

Jun 032014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V154000 (service brakes, hydraulic), however, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/16/2015

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #39

Jun 172014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
There was not an accident (the form above made me fill in a date) I received a recall notice for my Jeep, I called my local Dodge/Jeep dealer and told them there was a recall and asked if I could bring it in. I was told there was a 26 week, not 26 days, but a 26 week wait for repair due to this particular recall (notification code: P14). I read in the recall notice that my brakes could be compromised and may cause a crash. So I have to wait 26 weeks before this can be fixed" I was told by my local dealer, I would be put on a waiting list. Why"

- Morrilton, AR, USA

problem #38

Jun 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). The dealer stated that they only received one part per week for repairs; therefore, the repair would not be performed for several weeks. The contact was placed on a waiting list. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gilbert , AZ, USA

problem #37

May 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Cherokee.the contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V15400 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Upper Brookville, NY, USA

problem #36

May 062014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee.the contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 14V15400 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic). However, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Upper Brookville , NY, USA

problem #35

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Local dealership has no remedy or parts from manufacturer on recall # P14/NHTSA 14V-154 was told on June 3, 2014 to check back in a month or so!

- Mandan , ND, USA

problem #34

Jun 092014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
Received safety recall for brake booster (P14/NHTSA 14V-154). Tried to schedule appointment with dealership for safety recall service and was told that next available appointment is not until September 2014. As per safety recall notice: "if your dealer fails or is unable to remedy this defect without charge and within a reasonable time, you may submit a written complaint...or go to www.safercar.gov..." is there any way possible to resolve this safety recall sooner? the dealership mentioned that they have to wait for the parts needed for the safety recall and it will take months.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #33

May 282014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
I purchased my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee limited 4X4 on June 2nd 2013. Since I have had this vehicle I have experienced multiple problems which are a concern to my safety and other Jeep drivers.. I have recently received the recall due to the brakes and was told by my Jeep dealer and another Jeep dealer that the parts are not available to fix this safety concern. I am forced to drive an unsafe vehicle at his time. This concerns me greatly. I have also been experiencing problems with the instrument panel which intermittently blacks out when driving. This prevents me from seeing the speed in which my vehicle travels and other indicator lights. This is also a concern to my safety and other drivers on the road. Last week, I experienced my airbag light coming on and remaining on. I made an appointment with the dealer and they have now advised me they are having a problem diagnosing the issue. They have had to remove the seat and still struggle to diagnose the issue. They did advise me that my vehicle is a major safety concern and not safe for driving on the road. I was advised today that they diagnosed the airbag situation but will not have the parts until June 13th. I have driven my vehicle 21,000 miles in one year and believe this vehicle is a safety issue. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle with all these electrical issues I am experiencing. I would like answers from Jeep as to why I amy experiencing these safety issues with such a new vehicle and why parts are not available for recalls.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 052014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Chrysler has been forced to issue a recall notice on the brake booster of our 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. This recall has been in the news for about six months. We finally get an official recall from Chrysler and call our dealer for repairs. The service department of our dealer tells us that there are no parts to repair or replace the brake booster, and they don't know when they will get the parts. Chrysler's recall notice states that our brakes may fail due to this issue. It is unreasonable that Chrysler' sends recall notices without having the parts available to fix the issues. Our car is approximately one year old, and we have had numerous recalls.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #31

Jun 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I received a recall notice on my 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee stating the brake booster on my car may prematurely corrode and instructed to me to report to my local dealership as soon as possible. I made the appointment the day after receiving the letter in the mail, however when I showed up to the appointment the dealership informed that they were instructed by Jeep to not inspect any cars until the parts came in. I asked when that would be and he was unsure, and said could be "more than a month" when I asked is this car safe to drive, he told me "just press harder down on the brakes". I was shocked to hear this when in the letter it says they are "sincerely concerned about your safety", yet something as crucial as the brakes could malfunction and cause a crash. As someone that commutes daily on busy I-95, this is extremely unsettling to me, and I am hesitant to continue driving, especially when the dealership informs me to call back in a month to find an update.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?