Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 (and 2015) Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

We are keeping an eye on things but the 2014 Grand Cherokee doesn't look like a good model year compared to past years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Feb 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,442 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle decelerated and jerked forward. The vehicle accelerated independently and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to dealer. The technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 17,442.

- Bend, OR, USA

problem #31

Feb 172015

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I was driving and stopped at the stop sign and when I accelerated after making the stop and took a left turn on G street located on kirtland air force base my car accelerated and I lost control and when I applied the brakes nothing happened and my car proceeded to hit a parked vehicle and still the brakes did not stop the car and the only reason the car stopped was because I hit some reinforced steel cables holding something up. Four other vehicles were damages as a result of my brakes failing.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #30

Feb 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While reversing the vehicle, it independently accelerated and crashed into a boulder. The contact had to shift the vehicle into park in order for it to stop. The contact did not disclose if a police report was filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #29

Dec 172014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee diesel. Check engine light came on... took to dealer. They flashed it. Check engine light came on again. This time the car gave me a warning that it would go into limp mode in 150 miles. Took to dealer. It is parked they say its the pre-catalytic converter and it needs to be replaced. No time line on getting part or vehicle back. This limp mode is a major danger. The service manager said there were 46 "parked" Jeep waiting for the part. I regularly take my Jeep into the outdoors I could be stranded if the Jeep went into limp mode putting me in a dangerous situation.

- Tualatin, OR, USA

problem #28

Jun 022014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 800 miles
This situation has happened 5 or 6 times between June-Dec 2014 on our Jeep Grand Cherokee summit 4X4 ecodiesel. After coming to a complete stop a service electronic throttle warning flashes on dash board. When the accelerator is pressed to continue forward there is no power and the vehicle will not accelerate forward. On some occasions the car had to be restarted several times before it operated normally again. On other occasions the car regains acceleration capability after a short 10 to 15 second delay. We have had the car in for service for this issue but the dealer found no error codes in the system when diagnostics were run. We are taking the car in for service again on 12/16/14. We have been lucky so far that we are not in the way of oncoming traffic when this has happened or that we have not been hit from behind when we are unable to accelerate after stopping at stop signs or traffic lights. We would certainly like to get this problem fixed before we are involved in a crash.

- Fort Thomas, KY, USA

problem #27

Jul 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,200 miles
The vehicle abruptly braked when there was clearly no threat. This almost caused a rear end accident from the vehicle traveling behind me.and it truly upset that driver. Not a great situation. This has occurred three or four times. I asked the dealer to check with Chrysler and they tell me they can not find anything wrong with the vehicle.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #26

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 5,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 17th, after about 30 seconds driving forward, the car shifted from 2nd gear back to first gear. The car practically skidded to shift back to first. I was thrown forward in the car. Luckily, I wear my seatbelt. It would not shift out of first after that. The engine light came on. I had it towed to the dealership where I bought it. They said something is wrong with the transmission. They said they could not fix the transmission, but would replace the entire transmission. They said with a car this new, they do not have the knowledge to fixing the transmissions. They replaced the transmission and drove it 200 miles. They said it is fixed. I picked it up on a Monday, November 24 and drove it home. The next day, I had the problem again. When turning on 4 lane road (2 in one direction and two in another), the vehicle started to go across the intersection. It appeared to try to shift to 2nd, but the car stopped moving (like it was in neutral). I had to start blowing the horn as oncoming cars were coming at a high rate of speed. I could have been killed. I immediately called the dealership. They picked the car up and drove it back to the dealership. They ran numerous tests on the car and could not duplicate the problem. They called and told me the car was ready. I have severe reservation about getting back in a vehicle that I could have been killed in and drive it away when I know, the dealership knows and Chrysler knows, they couldn"T duplicate the problem and they didn"T fix anything. So, basically, I will be driving a ticking time bomb that could blow up at any time. My wife, kids and grandkids could be in jeopardy and other drivers on the road. I paid over 50K for this vehicle, only to find myself stressed out over this fact. I cannot get back into this vehicle knowing nothing was fixed and I was almost killed.

- Jarrettsville, MD, USA

problem #25

Nov 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 9,700 miles
Intermittent problem: Acc/fcw not available. Says service required. Stability controls turns on and off by itself. Also driver's assist backup camera not showing lines. Next day same thing happened.

- Roland, AR, USA

problem #24

Oct 132014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep grand. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a stop, the vehicle accelerated with force causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,100.

- Douglasville, PA, USA

problem #23

Oct 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After depressing the brake pedal in order to start the vehicle with the push to start button, the vehicle took off independently and crashed into a brick wall. The contact did not sustain any injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and they were to perform an investigation. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000.

- Flanders, NJ, USA

problem #22

Dec 302013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When coming to a slow brake, the brakes stutter and push the car forward. Additionally, the vehicle sometimes when driving at higher speeds (specifically on the freeway at about 60-70mph) engine revs high without kicking over. Furthermore, when slowing it has a hard time kicking down to the next gear. Transmission light has come on several times as well. When taking the vehicle in for service, they are unable to recognize any problems at all and can not fix.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #21

Oct 042014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 16,300 miles
When I go to press the brakes and come to a stop, my vehicle jerks when it slows down as if its almost stuck in a gear while it downshifts which causes the vehicle to move forward while trying to slow down which can cause an accident.

- Millville, NJ, USA

problem #20

Oct 202013

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,876 miles
Vehicle accelerated suddenly, unintentionally, and disproportionately to throttle position, resulting in a head-on crash into a wooden fence. Vehicle and fence were both damaged.

- Canyon Lake, TX, USA

problem #19

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 850 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving up an incline at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated to about 77 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal numerous times, but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The code service electronic throttle was displayed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 850...updated 11/03/14 updated 7/9/2015

- Carlsbab, CA, USA

problem #18

Aug 232014

Grand Cherokee

  • 21,600 miles
I had driven approximately 520 miles enroute to my vacation home and was driving with the cruise control activated and seatbelts were in use by both myself and passenger. Suddenly and at the same time the seatbelt and airbag warning lights came on and within a few seconds the cruise control disengaged and the message "acc/fcw unavailable service required" popped up on the dashboard. For the duration of my vacation the vehicle was operational however I had no cruise control. Contacted two Jeep dealers in the area and they were too booked up to service my vehicle. Upon my return home I took it in to my Jeep dealer. Here is the exact quote from their service invoice as to what was discovered: "found many modules with loss of communications with the orc module (airbag module) with codes in them. Found orc to have an internal fault, replaced and set up orc module".

- Pleasant Hill, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 042014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V154000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic), NHTSA campaign number: 14V293000 (vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V391000. However, the parts were not available for each recall. The dealer was unaware when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was unable to provide an estimated time frame when the parts would be available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ventnor, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 132013

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 1,349 miles
1. when adaptive cruise control is set and vehicle has to adjust speed, there is a static noise coming from under the steering column. 2. when adaptive cruise control is set, vehicle will accelerate when approaching vehicles instead of slowing down. 3. vehicle brakes on it's own and displays "brake" in display when more than 3 car lengths away. This happened with and without vehicle adaptive cruise control set. As a side note, Chrysler/Jeep has not been responding to our dealer to rectify these problems.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #15

Aug 282014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 845 miles
At approximately 12:50pm, while driving in sport mode, going up a hill, I was accelerating normally at a reasonable pace after making a right-hand turn. The acceleration pedal around 30 mph disengaged from my foot and floored itself, and continued accelerating. Despite pushing on the break pedal repeatedly. I could not initially un-stick the accelerator pedal using my foot. The engine made some noise and a warning with a red light appeared on the instrument panel: "service electronic throttle". because the breaks were not working I engaged the gear shift to turn to the vehicle from S/sport mode back to D/drive mode. I pressed the break pedal again and again, still nothing. The Jeep reached above 72-77 mph+ on that street highway. I was well beyond concerned for my own safety but for the safety of the intersection in which I was about to approach. Finally, I wedged my shoe in between the floor and the accelerator pedal (which was difficult B/C it would not budge), the pedal finally released, but there was still no immediate reaction from the engine until 1-2 complete seconds later. I could have been seriously injured, seriously hurt others, or died.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,500 miles
Trying to set cruise control on 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, pushed the set + button to set cruise speed, but would not set. Also tried to just accelerate using the set + button and this would also not increase cruise speed. After numerous times of pushing set + the vehicle would speed up at a higher rate of speed than the one or two clicks. Had to eventually quit using cruise control and it is was unrealiable. Have used in past w/O incident. Had vehicle in for routine maintenance on 8/13/2014 and this was not an issue addressed in any recalls or program updates.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #13

Oct 162013

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,393 miles
I was driving on the highway in rush hour traffic when the car suddenly accelerated and side swiped a school bus. The car went out of control and was unable to be stopped, crashing into a concrete media on the left side of the highway before spinning across three lanes of traffic and crashing into the concrete barrier on the right side of the highway and finally stopping. The car was totaled - the entire frame was twisted, all four tires were destroyed, the bumper was hanging off. There was severe damage to the entire car - not one corner or area of the car was not dented, dinged or scraped. None of the air bags deployed (despite the violent nature of the crash). I walked away from the accident but had a herniated disc in my back and an injury to the rotator cuff in my right arm and missed a significant amount of time from work while recovering.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?