Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

The 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee also has the same transmission issues.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,111 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #18

Aug 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • 12,000 miles


Once I had completed parking the vehicle in a parking lot in front of a shopping center properly shifting the gear into the park position. My boyfriend began to exit the passenger side to help our two year old son from his car seat as I had began to release my foot from the break pedal. It was at that moment that the vehicle began to roll forward I quickly placed my foot back onto the break pedal stopping the vehicle which still indicated it was in park. With my foot remaining on the break pedal I shifted the gear into drive and into park, again. To ensure the vehicle was now parked. The vehicle did not move and I placed the emergency parking break on and have continued to do so since the incident. At no point in time during the incident did the vehicle alert me in any way that the vehicle was not in the proper gear position. It in fact read that it was in the correct gear position of park.

- Brookeville, MD, USA

problem #17

Jun 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I brought my vehicle to mark Dodge Jeep dealer at 3777 gerstner memorial blvd, lake charles, la 70607, (337) 474-2640, on 6/17/16 for the left front brake caliper recall. They checked the part and determined I needed a replacement. They told me they ordered it, however it has still not come in yet, and that was over 3 months ago. I have called them several times during this 3 month period. Each time they report a different story. Once they said it was on back order and they could only order one brake caliper per week. Another time they said I was next on the list to get one. They next time they said it was in, but they called back to say it was not in. They have told me a number of excuses that never add up. They cannot tell me when the part will arrive or what to expect. Please investigate this dealer and the process they are using to fix these recalls. I would like to get this issue repaired and dont feel that I should have to go through the expense and time to drive to another city to have this recall repaired.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #16

Jul 162016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I purchased my Jeep Grand Cherokee in Jan 2016 and it had recall for the electronic shifter and brake caliper. Fca issues the recall without having parts to fix and after a month of waiting I cannot get the dealership, dick huvaere in richmond, mi to get me in to finish the repair on the recall. The dealer was no clear if the vehicle is safe to drive and they did not offer a rental while the parts are on back order.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #15

Jul 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles


My 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee is equipped with sensors that can activate the braking if the car detects a collision. It seems as though these sensors are too sensitive and cause the car to slam on the brakes when there is no need for it. I have experienced my car slamming automatically slamming on my brakes in the middle of the road seemingly because I was making a lane change and the vehicle in front of me was not moving. Lucky there were no vehicles behind me otherwise it would have surely caused a severe accident! this was on a busy street in the middle of the day... very dangerous!

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 072016

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,500 miles
Vehicle was being parked in my garage moving slowly forward with no application of throttle and began to suddenly accelerate. Standing on the brake would not fully hold it and it went into rear wall.

- Loudon, TN, USA

problem #13

Aug 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
The autonomous braking system on my Jeep Grand Cherokee came on for no reason at 70 miles per hour with an empty road ahead of me. I was nearly hit from the rear, very scary.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #12

Aug 022016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V168000 (service brakes, hydraulic) and 16V240000 (power train); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #11

May 312016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (service brakes, electrical system). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/22/16

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #10

May 172016

Grand Cherokee

  • 35,000 miles
Vehicle randomly brakes unintentionally for 5 to 10 seconds - engine and steering fail all at the same time. A loud collision warning along with red alert braking indicators. I informed a local dealership several months after purchase (summer 2015). They reported no specific codes or recalls. The issue has occurred multiple times. In all occurrences the vehicle was in motion including highway and city streets. For incidents I directly recall they occurred while driving in a straight line (mostly).

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #9

Feb 082016

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
Jeep was parked in our driveway which has a slight incline. Looked out of the window a few minutes after it was parked and it was out in the street. Drove it back up the driveway 6 or 7 times and put it in park. Each time the wheels rolled and it rolled down the driveway into the street. Just before this happened, I had removed a wheelchair from the back. If this had occurred sooner, I would have been run over by the car. If this had happened when transferring from the car to the wheelchair, both of us would have been hit by the door, knocked over and then run over.

- Freeport, NY, USA

problem #8

Feb 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After switching to the park position and exiting with the engine running, the vehicle suddenly drove forward and struck a second vehicle. The contact sustained an injured right arm. Medical attention was not required. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. Also, while driving at various speeds, the collision avoidance system randomly activated and caused the braking system to abruptly stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Los Gatos, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 042016

Grand Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
My Jeep is rolling backwards when in park, wheels turned all the way to the right and emergency brake engaged. This has happened about 10 times since I purchased my Jeep in July 2015. On Jan 4th 2016 it rolled about 10 - 15 feet down a driveway and came to a rest in the gutter. It happened again on Jan 7, 2015. The Jeep was parked on a slight incline in driveways with about 1/4 inch on snow/slush. The tires are still locked in the right position both times when it came to a stop in the gutters. After the last incident I found a little driveway and parked on it. I again turned the tires all the way to the right and engaged the emergency brake and I sat and waited. 7 minutes later it started to slide down the driveway it sled about for about 5 - 8 feet before I applied the brake. This inclined driveways have been about 05 -10 feet inclines. I have had a 1996 and 2006 Jeep over the past 25 years and have never had a vehicle slide from a parked position or down a snow packed hill. I took it to the dealer and they told me to get new snow tires. This is very scary to me. If children are walking to school or joggers or a passing car someone could be seriously hurt or worse. This serious matter needs to be handled promptly.

- Hooper, UT, USA

problem #6

Oct 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,999 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving at 35 mph, the brakes engaged independently. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The contact sustained injuries to the neck and back due to the abrupt braking of the vehicle. The contact required medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 6,999. The VIN was not available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 182014

Grand Cherokee

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 65 mph, the front alarm braking sensor illuminated and the vehicle came to a complete stop. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Tiffin, OH, USA

problem #4

Jul 022015

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,000 miles
July 2 2015 -between 5:10 - 5:30 am southbound 25 just prior to exit 217B full moon no rain / no moisture / no road debris at time of accident no Jeep indicator lights / warning - no uconnect messages no rush hour / no traffic maintenance / no construction. Left lane with no shoulder but with a concrete construction wall. We were driving with light traffic (posted speed limit 65, and we drove with the same traffic in our lane was traveling at 67, and we were approx at least 2 car lengths behind the silver Mazda). Two cars ahead of us, I saw braking taillights, and I pressed on our brake to slow down due to seeing the braking lights on the second car that was in front us - not because of the car in front of us - Mazda had not engaged their brakes at that particular time).within seconds after I released the brake pedal, the Jeep continued forward at a slightly slower speed, and it was then the Mazda came to an abrupt and complete stop, that I slammed on the brakes but there was no response from the brakes (*meaning there was no substantial decrease in the forward motion I then added additional pressure on the brake pedal with no change no engagement of the braking system. I received this email the same morning after the accident happened. Alert: Your 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee has indicated there is an issue that requires your attention.his vehicle health alert has been sent to notify you that as of 07/02/2015 at 08:42am est, attention is required for one issue. Brakes & suspension antilock brake system (ABS) warning light your vehicle's ABS warning light recently indicated the antilock portion of the braking system is not functioning. If the ABS warning light remains on or turns on while driving, the conventional brake system will continue to operate normally unless the brake warning light is on. Have your vehicle serviced at your dealership immediately

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #3

Apr 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I own a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee overland. I was informed of the NHTSA research into the 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee and the problems individuals were having with the collision warning system and the automatic breaking. I have experienced the same problem two times. There was no vehicle or obstacle close to me and the collision avoidance system initiated the autmoatic breaking system while driving down an interstate highway. It did not cause an accident, thankfully. After the second incident, I disabled the forward collision warning system due to my fear that it would happen again and cause an accident. I was alerted to your investigation into the 2014 model but wanted to bring it to your attention regarding my 2015 model. Reference: The Office Of Defects Investigation (ODI) has received nine complaints alleging inappropriate activations of the autonomous braking system in model year (my) 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicles. All nine reports alleged unexpected braking incidents preceded by collision imminent brake warnings and resulting in sudden reduction in vehicle speed in traffic. Two complaints reported autonomous braking incidents with no objects on the road resulting in rapid increase in brake force and anti-lock braking system (ABS) activations. The complaints alleged experiencing multiple events at different locations and road conditions. A preliminary evaluation has been opened to assess the frequency, scope and consequences of the alleged defect. The following voq numbers are associated with the issues discussed in this resume: 10543837, 10713629, 10690650, 10663320, 10630362, 10596913, 10533622, 10533524, 10651269.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #2

Apr 152014

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,000 miles
On multiple occasions while using the adaptive cruise control the vehicle will suddenly and unexpectedly apply the brakes when the path is clear in front of the vehicle. It would appear large objects such as a jersey barrier (common in wa) the left and large slowing traffic (a potential danger) to the right will trigger the inappropriate action and results in a dangerous situation to vehicles behind! the situation that causes the problem is not easy to reproduce, hence its surprise!

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #1

Dec 182014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Third time of incident. While parallel parking, and shifting from reverse into drive, while foot is still on the brake the vehicle revs and lurches forward. 1st 2 times involved parking on snow/ice. Today, with a dry street and sneakers, vehicle began to rev. I attempted to shift into park to avoid lurching forward but failed to do so in time. When vehicle revs, I hold onto steering wheel and press brake with all my strength but unable to prevent the forward movement.

- Denver, CO, USA

Not what you are looking for?