Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee shows an early trend of transmission complaints. Most of the complaints are for rough shifting — things like jerking & hesitation when shifting gears.

The 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee also has the same transmission issues.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,352 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Jan 182016

Grand Cherokee

  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Jeep was purchased end of April 2015, here in the middle of January 2016 attempted to start the vehicle parked in my home garage and the vehicle would not start. After several failed attempts, I exited the vehicle and used the remote start feature, the vehicle finally started. No clear explanation for why the push button start did not work. After my initial stop about 20 minutes later, when I attempted the push button start, it then worked again. 16,000 miles on the vehicle. Serviced the selling dealership.

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #21

Jan 142016

Grand Cherokee

  • 25,550 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was parked in the garage without the key in the ignition, it was discovered that the vehicle had independently started. The contact entered the garage on two occasions without the key fob in his pocket and the vehicle was not running. The doors were locked. The contact depressed the door open button on the fob, unlocked the vehicle, and powered the vehicle off. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,550.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 052015

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
I bought a new Jeep Grand Cherokee and the transmission went out on the car going down a mountain! thank god for brakes as there was no control of the vehicle. The dealership replaced the car with one that is identical. It is brand new and I have had it for 3 weeks and it is doing the exact same thing as the other one. It gets stuck in gears. Engine stalls and revs up when changing gears! I fear for my life in this vehicle. Also, water pours from the base of the exhaust pipes. Not from the tips.. it unreal how much water pours out of the back of the vehicle!! this is a bad seriously grave situation! I called fletcher Dodge Jeep in sherwood Arkansas where I bought the car and they told me that I needed to drive it 2.5 hours to them so they can see if a shift relearn would work or if this car will be a lemon too!! they said the relearn only works on some of the vehicles!!! please halt Chrysler from the production of 8 speed automatic transmission as they do not know how to fix them and they are going to start killing people!

- Dumas, AR, USA

problem #19

Dec 082015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that the back-up camera in the vehicle failed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 14,000.

- Troy, AL, USA

problem #18

Dec 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled after the electronic throttle control warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle restarted; however, the failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body software needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 3,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 14,677 miles
The operator was attempting to enter the vehicle while it was running and in park. As the operator attempted to enter the vehicle he placed his left hand on the top of the driver's side door and his right hand on the steering wheel. The vehicle transmission engaged and the vehicle started to move in reverse. A witness stated that the vehicle "took off like a rocket". the witness estimated that the vehicle traveled approximately 15 feet in a second. The operator was struck by the vehicle and suffered serious injuries. The vehicle traversed several lanes of travel, struck a curb, which changed its direction of travel. The vehicle then traversed several more lanes of travel and struck another vehicle with sufficient force to cause it to "jump" the curb...updated 05/02/16

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #16

Nov 132015

Grand Cherokee

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Random "key fob has left the vehicle" message this happened three times today. All three were with the fob in my pocket as I sat in the driver's seat, with the second fob at home on my desk (miles away). First instance, my husband got out of the car and when the door closed I got an audible warning and the "key fob has left the vehicle" message with a picture of the fob shown in the evic. Before shouting to bring the key back I checked my pocket and the fob was there. The message disappeared when he returned to the vehicle, but we confirmed that he definitely did not have a key fob on him. Second instance, the same thing happened a few minutes later when we dropped my daughter off at school. As she exited the vehicle, the "key fob has left the vehicle" and chime began. We asked her to return to the vehicle although she definitely did not have a key fob, but the chime would not go off. I ended up turning off the vehicle and turning it back on and the message and chime disappeared. The third instance happened later in the morning when my husband left the car (again I was sitting in the drivers seat with the fob in my pocket). To summarize, the key has been in my right jacket pocket all three times and yet the vehicle believes it has left the car. In all three instances, the second fob (which is the only other fob) was at home in my kitchen.

- Short Hills, NJ, USA

problem #15

Oct 302015

Grand Cherokee

  • 850 miles
At 2:30 pm on October 30th 2015 I parked in a commercial lot. I left the vehicle to go into a store, when I came out of the store I realized the car was "running". I opened the door and reached around the steering wheel to turn the car off by pressing the start/stop button. I think proceeded to leave the vehicle to go to another store. When I came out of the 2nd store I saw my car had engaged into drive and moved over 50 feet across the parting lot and hit another vehicle. When I got to my car I found it running and in "drive". this all happened without anyone in the car. The car basically "ran away" without anyone in the vehicle.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #14

Sep 242015

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,200 miles
10 3/15 leased 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee from West herr Jeep orchard, park, NY. 2) 9/24/15 all radio modes, sound, all lower indiv. Buttons, heating buttons not working. 3) 10/5/15 apt. With West herr service updated software recall & found that the "integrated center stack" was malfunctioning.ordered part & should be replaced by 10/12/15, and then we need to see what happens....

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 222015

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,000 miles
I pulled into a parking lot, put the vehicle into park and left the engine running. I got out of the vehicle, when it started to roll backwards. I attempted to climb into the vehicle to stop it, when I fell to the ground and the left front tire of the vehicle ran over my pelvic area. I am positive that the car was in park at the time it started to roll away.

- Commerce Twp, MI, USA

problem #12

Sep 112015

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while reversing, the navigation system illuminated. The contact shifted into drive and the dashboard display screen went blank, which controlled all of the settings in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the failure was not replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.

- Brigham, UT, USA

problem #11

Dec 122014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200 miles
On December 5, 2014, I accepted delivery of a new 2015 model year Jeep Grand Cherokee overland 4X4, equipped with an 8-speed paddle-shift automatic transmission and "keyless enter ?N go.? on December 12, 2014, I was travelling with a friend. When we reached our destination, I pulled to the side of the paved street, placed the vehicle in ?park, ? pressed the ?on off? button to shutoff the engine, and exited the vehicle through the driver?S door. The passenger had exited the front passenger door, and was coming around the rear of the vehicle. (it should be noted that neither I nor my passenger had to ?unlock? our doors to exit the vehicle, confirming I had placed the vehicle in ?park.") as she approached the left rear of the vehicle, she remarked that I had not shut the vehicle off. As I replied, "yes, I did, ? I noticed exhaust coming from the vehicle?S tailpipe. I returned to the driver?S door, opened the door, reached in and pressed the ?on off? button 2-3 times; the vehicle would not shut off. As I was pressing the ?on off? button I believe I heard the engine ?rev? and the vehicle began travelling in reverse. I was caught between the open driver?S door and the vehicle and drug along. I reached in and grabbed the steering wheel in an attempt to pull myself in and gain control of the vehicle. I was unable, and finally let go of the wheel and dropped into the middle of an intersection. As the vehicle proceeded across the intersection it backed into a wooden fence where it came to rest, idling. A responding sheriff?S deputy arrived on the scene, and he told me he was unable to place the vehicle into ?park." I sustained soft tissue injuries to my leg(s).....updated 04/25/16

- Litchfield, MN, USA

problem #10

Aug 072015

Grand Cherokee

  • 56 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee. After parking the vehicle and returning to it, it was discovered that the vehicle had shifted independently into reverse and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 56.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 062015

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,000 miles
About 18 months ago the NHTSA had issued an advisory bulletin suggesting that automakers reduce or eliminate onboard info systems due to distracted drivers, in the meantime more complex systems have been installed by said and with the most recent hacking of the onboard ECM's as well as driving controls, I question will you possibly follow through with a mandate to cease these systems from being installed seeing that hackers through the bluetooth systems also onboard be eliminated to stop possible horrific accidents from happening. I understand that many are now issuing new software updates that are supposed to stop this from happening, however hackers have " backdoor methods " to still be able to access a cars system and with all the cyber crime taking place today, the elimination of these systems would be a sure fire way to stop it. A going back to a more simpler time when these issues didn't exist say pre 2003 standards. As a concerned consumer I am very worried that some very bad things are going to continue to happen and put my family ( as well as others ) at great risk. I would implore you to seriously consider stopping these systems from being installed in any newer cars that are planned for release, you timely decision would be greatly appreciated, thank you for your time

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 122015

Grand Cherokee

  • 35 miles
While driving my brand new 3day old 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee, the engine completely shut off. I lost all control of my brakes and steering. I was able to coast and get off of the road. I immediately called the dealer who sent a flat bed tow truck to haul the vehicle back to the dealer. Once at the dealer I was extremely upset and shaken and received a chilly reception from the sales manager and dealer director. My concern and vehicle malfunction was downplayed. The dealership was very condescending and acted as if I had made up the entire situation. They insisted they had never heard of a problem like this occurring with a Jeep. I told them I didn't want my car fixed, I instead wanted my trade in back and the deal voided. No questioned were asked...the dealer never offered to put me in another Jeep which I found odd, and instead I was told I was over reacting and they reversed my paper work. They dealer continued to ignore my concern that someone could have been hurt due to this problem and that it needed to be reported to the manufacturer. The paperwork to reverse my sale was executed quickly and I was escorted out of the dealership within 30 minutes. I did contact the dealership's owner to report my safety concern and the dealership's flippant attitude, but have not received a phone call back.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #7

Nov 172014

Grand Cherokee

  • 200 miles
I purchase this vehicle 11/8/2014. Since then here is an ongoing, high pitched noise upon acceleration from zero to any cruising speed. I have taken it to 3 different Jeep dealers for this complaint and others. The service departments say it is due to the 9 speed automatic transmission. One dealer tried to blame it on my plastic sunglasses in the overhead storage compartment. One dealer reported to me that the same noise was heard on 2 brand new vehicles just delivered to them. I also have ongoing electrical issues - steering wheel controls reverse sides left to right, right to left for audio controls, the radio randomly starts switching channels, automatic high beam sensors turns on to enable mode, but in this mode the high beams do not dim. This function worked initially, then it didn't and one dealer said it lost it's program so they reset it. Another dealer said the sensor is not working. I will have it looked at again at my next service appointment. The phone call/phone call cancel buttons also reverse function. The fuel take door randomly pops open. This has happened while driving, while the car is parked at my work or home. I have had this repaired once. It still continues to happen. The Jeep will randomly lurch forward while stopped, brakes engaged and vehicle is running - at a stop light or stop sign.

- Oakwood Hills, IL, USA

problem #6

Sep 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
Prior to receiving the safety recall letter in 2014 my Jeep started having headlight problems where I will be driving and my lights will go off. The dashboard will light up like the 4th of July and cycle through like I just started the vehicle. It is extremely dangerous not to mention frightening. So imagine driving without headlights; imagine driving behind or in front of my vehicle and wondering what the hell is going on! I received a safety recall letter for the ignition switch on September 3rd 2014 and the part is still unavailable!!! this is totally unacceptable and I want to know why these parts are not being built and replaced. Why build new vehicles if the company cannot build replacement parts; take care of your current loyal Jeep customers first!

- Avon, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 16,680 miles
Started the vehicle and noticed that parksense and forward collision warning were not working and every few minutes, the instrument panel, would beep and often display an error message. The messages it displayed were, "service shifter" (displayed most often), "park sense off" (it would automatically turn on and off) and "acc/fcw not working service required" (displayed a few times). Also, the screen (instrument panel) would flicker a few times and beep.the forward collision warning sensor did not work, regular cruise control did not work, adaptive cruise control did not work and parking sensors did not work. I brought it to the dealership and it appears that the acc ball (radar/camera/the thing that looks like the eye ball on the front bumper) had corrosion and all wires were shot. They ordered a new piece with harness and will replace it. However, it is my concern that this is a major electrical issue. The water can easily get into the harness (rain/snow/car wash). It should be still under warranty but what is the solution after the warranty is over? it looks like it needs to be replaced every 16,000 miles (approx.)

- Watchung, NJ, USA

problem #4

Nov 202014

Grand Cherokee

  • 100 miles
I purchased a brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee summit in Nov of 2014 and randomly its radio will state that is has an "ip address conflict" when this occurs whatever setting the radio was on cannot be changed. This issue causes the heater to become unresponsive, if the heated seats are turned on they cannot be turned off, and general unresponsiveness of all systems controlled by the radio. If you turn the car off and back on the problem remains for about 30 minutes until the radio decides to reset itself. This issue could be life threatening in colder climates when the heater is a necessity but cannot be operated, also the discomfort from the heated seats when they cant be turned off makes it difficult to continue driving. I have notified Chrysler of the issue and have taken it to the dealership where I was informed that I am not the only person with this complaint but there is nothing they can do about it until Jeep decides to put out a fix for the issue. The issue has been happening intermittently for about 6 months now and no fix from Jeep is in sight. I have videod the issue with my cell phone and tried to send the video to Chrysler. To which their response is that they have no way to receive the video from me therefore I am left with the same issue of, if they cant verify the problem then it doesn't exist even though I offered video proof.

- Eielson Afb, AK, USA

problem #3

Mar 112015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
I was driving down the road, with my foot steady on the gas, and the transmission shifted hard (8 speed automatic) and lunged my car forward without any pressure on the gas pedal. Then it continued to shift hard and lunge until I reached and maintained 40 mph ( in which my Jeep put the transmission into 8th gear at a steady 1000 RPM). This has happened multiple times since, and sometimes when I remote start the Jeep, it will give off a very loud high pitched whining sound for about a minute, then stops.

- Belmar, NJ, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?