Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 20 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

Jan 282013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My friend and I were driving to the movie theater in her 2002 Jeep Liberty, when we were stopped at a stop light. Her car made a beeping noise, which was very unusual because it has never ever done that in the 5 years she has driven it, and then the word "air bag" popped up on her car's dashboard. We both looked at each other with very confused expressions and then without any warning the driver side front airbag exploded in both our faces. We were extremely lucky that we were stopped at a stop light and neither of our faces were close enough to the steering wheel to get seriously injured, but this was extremely alarming and shocking for both of us. My friend, the driver, has red marks from impact on her left thigh and upper chest. I am completely outraged by this! I have done my research in this particular defect happening in other 2001-2004 Jeep Liberty vehicles, and apparently this same exact problem has the possibility of affecting as many as 386,873 people. So the real question is: Why have they not been recalled"!?!?!?!? what if my friend and I had been driving at 70+ mph on the highway?!?!? what if we had been on a crowded, busy street when this happened?!"! people could have been seriously injured - or even worse, they could have been killed!! this is not okay for a car to do this!!!!

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #77

Jan 152013

Liberty

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the air bag warning lamp illuminated. Within seconds, the air bag inadvertently deployed. The contact was knocked unconscious with his foot remaining on the accelerator pedal. As a result, the vehicle continued to travel at a speed of 60 mph, causing him to crash into a tree. The contact was thrown from the windshield and sustained multiple lacerations and bruising. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and verified that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module). The vehicle was under investigation by the manufacturer. The vehicle was destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 160,000.

- Catawba, SC, USA

problem #76

Nov 142012

Liberty

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign I.D. number: 12V527000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor/control module), the contact called the dealer to schedule an appointment for recall repairs. The dealer informed the contact that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the availability of the parts and was advised that the parts possibly would not become available until March 2013. The contact stated the air bag light was illuminated for two months prior to receiving the recall notification. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Mechanicsville, VA, USA

problem #75

Jul 012012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 45 mph, the driver swerved to avoid crashing into a dog and lost control of the vehicle. The driver then crashed into a tree. Both the driver and passenger frontal air bags failed to deploy. The driver sustained injuries to the back, ankle and rib cage. The vehicle was destroyed. After the crash, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags: Frontal: Sensor control module). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileage was 100,000. Updated 3/20/13

- Cambridge Springs , PA, USA

problem #74

Jan 152013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) and was unable to have the recall repairs performed. The contact stated that the remedy repairs had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the recall remedy could possibly have been available by March 2013. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 80,000.

- Sewickley , PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #73

Apr 012011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic and was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 03/12/13 updated 03/13/13

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #72

Sep 152012

Liberty

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light constantly illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to check the failure. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there was a recall for the failure under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V527000 (air bags) but the contact's VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Oak Park , IL, USA

problem #71

Oct 302012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at approximately at 65 mph the contact stated the air bag warning light illuminated. The contact stated the air bag warning light illuminates intermediately. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage and the current failure mileage was 126,000. Updated 12/14/12 the consumer stated Chrysler has been contacted and the vehicle is awaiting recall (2013). Updated 12/19/2012

- Rhino, NE, USA

problem #70

May 042012

Liberty

  • 140,000 miles
Airbag light comes on after 2nd start up of the day.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #69

Nov 092012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Air bag light went on and stays on. Called Jeep main corporate offices and they stated that there is not a recall issued yet till January 2013.they said I should wait till January for recall. They say if I choose to take it to dealer before January I would have to outlay the money and that they would reimburse us later if it was deemed a recall. Called local dealer today 11/12 and they said my daughters car is not part of the vehicles being considered. I am getting conflicting data from corporate versus the local dealers. Could you please help ?............[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wading River, NY, USA

problem #68

Oct 292012

Liberty

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, a deer crashed into the vehicle causing the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle spun around and crashed into a ditch. As the driver's side air bag deployed, it lit the contact's right arm on fire. The contact's arm was severely burned and he was transported to the hospital by emergency medical technicians. The police were notified and a report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified who advised the contact that the legal department would contact him within two days. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Sanford, ME, USA

problem #67

Oct 312012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 93,640 miles
On October 31, 2012 at approximately 5:00 pm (local eastern time), the 2002 Jeep Liberty, supplementary restraint system airbag on the passenger's side unexpectedly deployed while waiting on a traffic light intersection. The vehicle was not in movement, and was not involved in any type of collision at the time of the incident. There were no bodily injuries reported during the time of the incident. The supplementary restraint system airbag on the driver's side did not deploy during the time of the incident. Airbag warning light had been intermittently illuminated prior to the airbag deployment. Airbag warning light remains illuminated after the 2002 Jeep Liberty, supplementary restraint system airbag on the passenger's side unexpectedly deployed.

- Toa Alta, PR, USA

problem #66

Nov 012012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 123,822 miles
Leaving a parking place, turning right and the air bag light came on and will not go off. No reason for the light to come on.

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #65

Oct 222012

Liberty

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 135,000.

- Gibsonton, FL, USA

problem #64

Oct 182012

Liberty

  • 55,061 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while reversing from a residential driveway, the driver's side front air bag erroneously deployed. The contact sustained major lacerations to the face and right hand. The vehicle remained parked at the contact's residence and was not taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the issue. The failure and current mileages were 55,061.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #63

Sep 132011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 102,678 miles
Air bag light has come on for no reason. I've read that there have been problems with air bags in 2002 Jeep liberties deploying prematurely and that the air bag light has been on in some cases.

- Lakeway, TX, USA

problem #62

Sep 302012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 63,850 miles
Airbag light turns and does not disappear unless I turn the engine off, wait a minute, and turn back on then airbag light disappears.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #61

Sep 242012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 164,000 miles
Just purchased vehicle, told by local dealer in early July that there was a recall on lower ball joints, with a national back order on parts, after completing repair 9/24, they stated it needs new steering knuckles at $1094. On Tuesday 9/25 said it was ready to pick up, I asked if they solved the "air bag" light being on, they said it would be a few more days. They called this morning (9/28) and said they can not give me the vehicle back because the ball joints are now falling out. I asked "since I drove it in, why after you recall repair is it not drive able? they said safety reasons. So now I have a Jeep being held hostage, with still no answer for the "air bag" light to be on. Something is wrong with these models.

- Dolan Springs, AZ, USA

problem #60

Sep 182012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 165,207 miles
Air bag light came on and off twice within two minutes.

- Sugar Notch, PA, USA

problem #59

Sep 012012

Liberty

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty renegade. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph the air bags deploy without any warnings. The contact mentioned that there was no accidents and the vehicle did not impact any other object. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who stated that they would send out an investigator to inspect the vehicle. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Pemberton, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?