Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
51 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
69 / 2
Average Mileage:
54,564 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 23 of 23)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Nov 262005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,435 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact called regarding recall letter 06V288000 that he received on 09/27/06. The contact stated that last year on 11/26/05 he had a crash while driving the vehicle in the evening. It was on a clear night and the road conditions were good. He stated that he lost control of vehicle, the steering became very stiff, and the vehicle started shaking and vibrating while driving at 45 mph. The contact stated that he couldn't get control of the vehicle and hit a traffic light. The air bag didn't deploy, but the seat belt did restrain him. The contact said that in both the police report and the insurance report stated that the ball joints failed. The contact was admitted for internal bleeding. The vehicle sustained a great deal of damage, and the contact was obliged to pay the state of Maryland for the replacement of the traffic light $1,075.26. The contact was interested in some type of reimbursement. The contact stated that he wrote to Chrysler last year informing them of the vehicle's malfuction, but still had no response from them.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #17

Sep 192006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles
My son was driving a 2002 Jeep Liberty when the steering wheel jammed on him approaching a curve he slammed the brakes but the vehicle kept skidding until it invaded the other side of the road hit a tree(if not for the tree he would have fallen off the mountain side!!). in no moment did the air bags activate. About 3 or 4 days later I received a safety recall notice F23 - lower ball joints that indicated the ball joints could corrode & separate resulting in a loss of the steering control. I got in contact with the company where they ask for pictures of the accident (which I E-mailed to them) but cannot repair the vehicle (or will forfeit any claims they say)therefore leaving me with no transportation and still having to pay the bank the car loan. I asked the daimler Chrysler rep if there was some kind of car assistance program in a couple of occasions and have received no reply plus I have been informed that an appraisal will be done in about 2 weeks from now. Is there anyway this process can be sped up or aren't they suppose to lend me a vehicle until this is resolved?

- Guayama, PR, USA

problem #16

Mar 292006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
Went around a curve and hit a tree with the Jeep. It cost the insurance company and me $9,000. Is that the cast of the ball joints?

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #15

Jul 102005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was involved in a head on car wreck on July 10, 2005, and the air bags on my 2002 Jeep Liberty limited fail to go off, nothing was done to correct this problem as the vehicle was totaled as a result of the crash.

- Cherry Valley, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 252005

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
While driving 55 mph steering wheel locked up causing a vehicle collision. Upon impact driver's side air bag did not deploy. Vehicle was towed. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Sep 092003

(reported on)

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While traveling at 30 mph vehicle was involved in a frontal collision and air bags did not deploy.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 252003

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Accident on March 25th, 2002. The other driver ran a stop sign going 10-15 mph. I was going 45 mph. His Toyota Camry struck my Jeep Liberty on the front passenger side. The impact tore the front tire off and ripped out the right front suspension. There was no air bag deployment. I slammed into the dash and had severe bruises on my knees.

- Hanceville, AL, USA

problem #11

Mar 022003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
NHTSA campaign id#01V311000 id#01V373000 have not been notified by Chrysler of these. Had 2002 Jeep Liberty since Dec 2001 VIN#[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Red Bud, IL, USA

problem #10

Jan 082003

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
A head on collision involving a 2002 Jeep Liberty (vehicle in question) and a late model Honda civic, both vehicles moving at approx. 20 mph. Collision resulted in front end damage of both vehicles. Jeep Liberty front driver and passenger airbags did not deploy.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 012003

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I lost control of the vehicle two days after purchase in the rain while trying to make a right hand turn. The vehicle went straight through the intersection, up and over the curb and into someones front yard. Reported to the dealership. Two months later I had my second experience that also happened in the rain. I was trying to come to a stop at a stop sign and could not stop the car. At this time I took the car back to the dealership and they said there was nothing found. The service director at the time referred to it as operator error and thought that I would get used to the vehicle. Then seven months later on January 1, 2003, I lost control of the vehicle on the beltway trying to avoid something in the road. It was raining. I was going the speed limit (55 mph) and my car started to spin and ended up going southbound in the northbound lanes and finally crashed into a concrete dividing wall. The air bags did not deploy. I feel very fortunate to be alive and that no one else was hurt. The car was taken to the dealership and it is currently under investigation for possible defects. I feel that I am unable to drive this unsafe vehicle. I have also noticed that the vehicle has a tendency to pull to the right.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #8

Dec 192002

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,830 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver side airbag did not deploy during frontal off-set collision, only pass. Side did. Faults were found in driver side seatbelt tensioner and open circuit faults also found. Chrysler is not cooperating with our safety failure and is maintaining that only 1 airbag was supposed to deploy, this was stated in a letter which also denied the faults that had been already found. Chrysler will not return our phone calls at this time and the letter sounds like a cover-up. The only assistance we are receiving about this major safety defect has been from our dealership who is also trying to contact the Chrysler rep for us.

- Waverly, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 162003

Liberty

  • miles
The consumer was traveling about 35mph on the highway and another vehicle hit him from behind. The dual airbag didn't deploy at all. Please fill in additional information dealer is aware of the problem.

- Grovespring, MO, USA

problem #6

Dec 192002

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles
Driver side airbag failed to deploy however the passengerside did. Collision occured on the front driver side causing about $9500 in damage. Scan test completed and the investigator for Chrysler found 3 faults in the squib 1 and squib 2 modules, also said that the seatbelt tensioner sensor created a fault which to the computer not to deploy the bag. The belt was fastened at time of crash.

- Waverly Oh, OH, USA

problem #5

Dec 242002

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Consumer stated that when they was hit at 40mph in the front center of the vehicle the air bag did not deploy causing minor injuries to the consumer.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #4

Jun 132002

Liberty

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.

- Lee's Summit, MO, USA

problem #3

Feb 192002

(reported on)

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Chrysler has issued a recall on improper deployment of air bags. There no information in the dealers computer informing them thay the parts are not available and they will not formally issue a recall. Dealership service department is aware of the problem but have no info in computers, therefore cannot do repairs.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 202002

(reported on)

Liberty

  • miles
Recall 01V373000/ manufacturer's recall A07; got recall about 3 or 4 weeks ago. When called for an appointment dealer indicated had no parts. Called manufacturer, and which manufacturer called dealer. Dealer stated to manufacturer had parts, but when consumer called back dealer did not have parts.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #1

Nov 282001

Liberty

  • miles
A bolt with a built on washer dropped from dash between windshield and steering column. It was a large bolt, and didn't know what it was for. Contacted dealer, and dealer stated to bring in vehicle. &

- Pineville, KY, USA

Not what you are looking for?