Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 14 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Oct 142004

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving. The lower ball joint completely failed. The consumer took the vehicle to be repaired. However, this is the second time the ball joint has been replaced within 1800 miles. The first time it was done through a recall. The consumer bought the vehicle used.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #38

Oct 172004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,790 miles
Driving 25 mph, the front lower ball joints failed causing the front end to drop onto the front wheels. The vehicle was towed. The passenger's side lower ball joint failed causing the front end to drop onto the passenenger's side front wheel. The seat belt did not retract.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #37

Jan 012004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Lower all joint recall in Jan.04. Sept 04 I have it in the shop again for ball joint problem.also had the A/C tensioner fixed twice.this is an 02 Jeep Liberty sport.

- Fresh Meadows, NY, USA

problem #36

Jul 022004

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Structural failure on 2002 Jeep Liberty. The consumer was able to avoid a collision. The lower ball joint had come apart dropping to the roadway and dropping the vehicles body of the front wheel. The vehicle careened of control across both lanes twice before coming to a halt on the berm. The consumer had previously complained about stiff steering, there were also noises in the front end. The service dealer suggested that nothing was wrong with the vehicle.

- Hunlock Creek, PA, USA

problem #35

Jun 012004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving at 30 mph the steering suddenly pulled to the right which resulted in a crash. After the replacement of the damaged right wheel, the driver hardly managed to drive the vehicle home. SC the consumer believed the accident resulted in the failure of the lower ball joints in which currently there is a recall on. Recall# 03V460000.

- Webster, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

Jun 012004

Liberty

  • miles
Recall for lower ball joints on 2002 Jeep Liberty. When the consumer arrived at the dealership, she was told the parts were not available.

- Williamsburg, MI, USA

problem #33

Apr 042004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I ordered my Jeep Liberty 7/01 and picked it up 9/01. The morning of 4/4/04 I was driving home and started crashing into trees. The car was spinning, back and forth across the road - hit 3 trees, mailboxes and a telephone pole (hard enough that even though it was the last thing that I hit, it moved enough that it tore the cables out of someone's house). About 50 feet before the 1st tree, was my front passenger tire and about 2 feet of the axle (or whatever holds the rim and tire on the truck). The front of the truck from the right front quarter panel to 1/3 across the front of the truck is up inside the dashboard, the back driver's tire is blown out, the spare tire on the back is smashed, the 2 passenger side doors are smashed and the entire truck is off the frame. I told the tow driver and police about the recall that I'd just gotten that stated that the "a ball joint that has separated from the knuckle could result in loss of vehicle directional control and could result in a crash." I had an appointment to get it fixed 4/6/04...the accident was 4/4/04. My injuries: Airbags didn't go off but I was wearing my seatbelt. I broke my arm (8 weeks in cast, 6 weeks in a brace and I'm still in physical therapy. Standard seatbelt bruise that lasted more than 3 weeks, and the associated pain. My insurance is covering my medical and the replacement of the car (with financing, it paid exactly what I owed). So, even though Jeep knew about the need for a recall in October 2003, I wasn't notified until March 2004. It was a clear dry night. I was awake and coherent, not speeding or drinking, and paying attention when I suddenly lost control. In fact, it's damn lucky that I was only going 35-40. Jeep claims they're not responsible. All I want is for them to admit that they were at fault. If they'd sent the recall notice in a timely manner, back in 10-11/03, it would have been fixed prior to another winter of snow and sleet and crap getting into that joint to corrode it!

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #32

Jul 082004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On May 2004 consumer received a recall letter regarding the lower ball joint. Dealership still does not have the parts available to conduct the recall. Dealership asked to the consumer to check every other week to see if they have the parts.

- Mount Ayr, IN, USA

problem #31

Jun 302004

Liberty

  • miles
After making an appointment to have the lower ball joint recall 03V460000 repairs performed consumer was informed that the parts weren't available, and they were on back order. The repair date has not been rescheduled.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #30

Jun 262004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The ball joint axle broke as the consumer exited the vehicle. As a result the left front tire came off of the truck. The vehicle was towed to a local shop who advised the consumer that there was a recall. This occurred while the consumer was pulling into a parking stall.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #29

May 072004

Liberty

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complaint regarding recall on lower ball joints. The right front wheel of the vehicle had come off of the axle when the vehicle was backed out of a parking spot. Also, the container busted when the ball joints broke which could be in reference to the warning signal that the windshield wiper fluid was low. Recall #03V460000. Phone interview update (Oct 5, 05): The complainant's husband said that they did not recevie a recall notice.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #28

Jun 012004

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty upper ball joints were found to be defective. The consumer experienced a loss of steering control which caused the vehicle to spin around on the highway barely avoiding a collision. The front and rear tire had both deflated and detached completely from the rims. The mechanic informed the consumer that the ball joints were defective. The consumer received a recall notice regarding the defective lower ball joints.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #27

Feb 012004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
When turning the wheel sharply to the right, and in both reverse and forward, there is a loud popping sound. Dealer corrected situation under the recall for the ball joints. However, less than 2 months later it was occuring again with more frequency.

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #26

Mar 302004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,393 miles
After the dealership replaced the driver side lower ball joints for recall 03V460000 the vehicle's alignment was off, and the front end shook and pulled to the right when speed reached and exceeded 50 mph. Also, front tires needs to be replaced because they were cropping. Prior to repair, vehicle was operating fine. Dealer refused realignment of the vehicle, per request of the consumer, because it was not covered under the scope of the recall. Also, all four tries were replaced at 8,000 miles on vehicle.

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #25

May 142004

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
Lower ball joint failure or suspension defect. I rolled in a Jeep Liberty 2002 2 wheel drive, towing according to specs. On the model. Driving the 25 miles below the speed limit, slight swerve to avoid an obstacle in the road, had no control of the steering and flipped the Jeep 2 times.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #24

May 082004

Liberty 4WD

  • miles
While driving approximately 15 mph, the driver lost power steering. The driver was able to maintain control the vehicle and pulled over. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection. The mechanic informed the driver that both upper and lower ball joints needed to be replaced.

- Spring Grove, IL, USA

problem #23

Feb 052004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After being schedule for 2 appointments with the dealership to have the lower ball joint recall 03V460000 performed, the consumer was informed that the parts were not available. The consumer felt that the dealership was performing the recall on the vehicles of the consumer's who bought the vehicle from them first.

- Byfield, MA, USA

problem #22

Mar 252004

(reported on)

Liberty

  • 40,500 miles
Vehicle was having a problem with a noise in the front end. The owner had taken the vehicle to the dealer on 6 occasions. Later, the vehicle was recalled for ball joint problems due to poor workmanship. The front driver side wheel separated from the vehicle. Provide further details.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #21

Mar 192004

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On January 14, 2004 consumer received a recall letter regarding the ball joints. Dealership did not have the parts available to conduct recall repair.

- Holyoke, CO, USA

problem #20

Feb 042004

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Jeep Liberty lost control & smashed to the ground, the ball joint snapped and the axle fell out/tire fell off on 2/4/04. I had no warning or any idea what was happening" I was unaware of the recall because I never received a recall about it from chrylser. However, I have a long story to follow this in regards to how they have handled this, poorly. My Jeep is still sitting in a service station parking lot & I'm still driving a rental car because the company took it's time in contacting me appropriately to handle this, and then when they have contacted me, they are trying to get away with doing the absolute minimum to help me out of this problem and it is costing me a lot of money in rental fees & storage fees, as well as the tow for the Jeep. This matter is still unresolved after repeated attempts asking to please help me out. I finally received a recall notice on 2/18/04! if this was discovered back in 2003, why did I just receive a notice!?of course the notice got sent to me 3 months after it was discovered originally and now I'm stuck with all this trouble related to it?" after they put myself & my family in harms way, this was negligence! Chrysler doesn't care about its customers, they just want to get out of the situation doing as little as they can. I'm still trying to get them to help me as of today. I haven't heard from them and I most recently faxed them on 3/11 & 3/15, asking them to please settle this for me and it goes by each day for me with more fees and they don't care!

- Marshfield, MA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?