Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 7 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #179

Nov 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. The contact had tried to schedule an appointment, but the dealer refused to schedule a date until the replacement parts were available, and recommended the contact to call every day to check for updates on the parts. The contact expressed concern that it was a major inconvenience for a person who had a daily job, to contact the dealer everyday for updates.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #178

Oct 162006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter # F23 for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint was received on 10/16/2006. The service dealer informed the contact; the dealers were receiving the replacement kits at 3 per week and could not estimate the repair date, for the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. Updated 02/12/07.

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #177

Jun 062006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. Updated 01/19/07.

- Toa Baja, PR, USA

problem #176

Oct 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter #F23 was received regarding the front lower ball joints. The dealer was contacted who expressed that they only receive 3 repair kits a week to perform the recall remedy repair. The contact was currently #41 on the waiting list. The contact had been on the list for 2 months.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #175

Nov 042006

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,500 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. The contact had tried to schedule an appointment on three occasions, but the dealer refused to schedule a date until the replacement parts were available, and recommended the contact to call every day to check for updates on the parts. The contact expressed concern that it was a major inconvenience for a person who had a daily job, to contact the dealer everyday for updates.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #174

Dec 022006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 10 mph, the front left lower ball joint fractured. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Spruce Pine, NC, USA

problem #173

Oct 012006

Liberty 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer took his 2002 Liberty to have recall work done and was told by the mechanic that they did not have the parts available the recall was for the lower ball joints. As of 11/13/2006 the parts still weren't available.

- Milford, NY, USA

problem #172

Dec 032006

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 20 mph, a noise was heard from the front of the vehicle. The dealer had not inspected the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #171

Dec 012006

Liberty

  • miles
I received a safety recall F23 from daimler Chrysler stating that there was a problem with the lower ball joints on my 2002 Jeep Liberty. My wife called and had the part ordered from a local dealer. It was ordered on 11-16-6 at 430pm. I was driving to work on 12-1-06, in my 2002 Jeep Liberty, and lost control of the Jeep while heading southbound on hwy 43 (in Wisconsin). As I lost control of the vehicle, I attempted to correct the wheel direction, but had no success. The Jeep was out of control. The Jeep went perpendicular with the lanes and ended up flipping over. I was the restrained driver while the Jeep flipped one complete roll and came to a stop in the ditch. I was alert enough to call 911, and was picked up by paramedics and taken to saint nicholas hospital in sheboygan, wi. After being discharged from the emergency room, I called the garage at which my Jeep was towed. They informed me that my Jeep "has been totaled". I would like this complaint to go on file and would like to know how this problem will be rectified. I am still awaiting a call from the dealership to inform me that my part has come in, but I no longer am able to drive this vehicle. Please advise me as to my next step. I am expecting a call from my state farm agent on Monday and will update them to this matter. My injuries were minor, but I am now short a vehicle. I would like to know how Jeep will be handling this situation and how I should be handling this. Please call or email me with information. Thanks, larry thomas.

- Two Rviers, WI, USA

problem #170

Dec 012006

Liberty

  • miles
I received the safety recall F23 09/27/06. I scheduled an appointment to have the lower ball joint replace the first week in October. When I arrived at the dealer I was told that the parts were back ordered and I would have to come back. I was told on 11/10/06 it would be another week to 10 days and called again on 12/01/06 and was told that DaimlerChrysler was only releasing 3 parts at a time to them. I have an infant and can not believe that DaimlerChrysler issued a recall saying we could lose steering control with no warning and they are not supplying the parts to fix it quickly.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #169

Dec 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have received a safety recall notice (F23) for the lower ball joints on my 2002 Jeep Liberty. I have contacted the russellville, Arkansas (I am attending school and working there) location several times. Each time I have called they have told me parts are on backorder and to call back. I am concerned because this was a backorder and the problem should be able to be fixed in a timely manner.

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #168

Dec 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, there was a popping noise coming from the front suspension. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer, who determined the front lower ball joints needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, # 06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joints. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer was alerted, and confirmed the parts were not available.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #167

Nov 012006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Received recall 11/01/06 F23 lower ball joints daimler Chrysler. I called my dealer when I received it they said they were booked without parts until January to call back. I called the 1-888 # and they said they would send me something in the mail. I have never heard back and am having a lot of steering noise in the front end of my Jeep.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #166

Nov 302006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,664 miles
: the contact stated a NHTSA recall letter was received 6 weeks ago. The contact attempted to schedule an appointment for the replacement, but was told there was a long wait, due to the back ordered parts. Also, while driving 5 mph, the contact turned to avoid traffic because the front left wheel fell away and twisted into the fender well. The service dealer was notified and the contact was informed it would be about two months for parts and the manufacturer confirmed the parts were on back order. Updated 12/15/2006 -

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #165

Nov 292006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
: the contact stated when NHTSA recall letter # F23 was received for the suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint, the service dealer was called to set an appointment. The service dealer informed the contact, it would be 5-6 months before the vehicle could be repaired, due to parts on back order. The manufacturer was not alerted.

- Glen Ellyn, IL, USA

problem #164

Nov 272006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. Updated 1/10/2007 -

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #163

Nov 202006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds the vehicle pulled to the right. There was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available. Updated 12/28/2006 - the faulty lower ball joint causes the vehicle to pull to the right while driving. The consumer stated that this causes the driver of the vehicle to become tired after 20 mins of driving.

- Newton, NC, USA

problem #162

Sep 272006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
: the contact stated there were no problems with the vehicle however there was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts are not available. Updated 12/18/06.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #161

Nov 282006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated although there were no ongoing problems with the front suspension, there was a NHTSA recall, #06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the lower ball joints. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer was alerted, and confirmed the parts were not available.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #160

Nov 222006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles
: the contact stated while traveling various speeds on normal road conditions, the vehicle drove rough. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who determined that the front lower ball joints needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall # 06V288000 on the vehicle regarding the front lower ball joint. The parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available at the local dealership. The manufacturer confirmed the parts were not available.

- Albany, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?