Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 15)

problem #299

Oct 012013


  • 95,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at 40 mph, the lower ball joints fractured and the vehicle came to a complete stop. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence, where the lower ball joints were replaced by an independent mechanic. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering knockers needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #298

Apr 032015


  • 198,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the front driver side tire detached from the vehicle causing the driver to lose control. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the lower ball joint failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 198,000.

- Port Barre, LA, USA

problem #297

Jul 182010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty limited. The contact stated while driving at an unknown speed, the passengers side lower control arm fractured and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The contact was unable to maneuver the vehicle as it crashed into a guardrail. The contact sustained moderate injuries. A police report was available. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. Although the contact was able to locate two recalls pertaining to the failure (NHTSA campaign id numbers: 06V288000 & 03V460000: Suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint), the contacts VIN was not included in either recall. The current and failure mileage was approximately 140,000. Updated 11/11/10 the consumer stated all of the complaint information was accurate. Updated 11/17/10 updated 11/19/10. Updated 12/02/10

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #296

Jun 242010

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles


2002 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to safety recall J17 front suspension upper control arm ball joints. Consumer expresses he has made 3 appointments with dealer and they have canceled all three

- Burton, WV, USA

problem #295

Apr 072010


  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 06V288000 (suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint) in April 2010. The contact secured an appointment with the dealer for April 20, 2010. The vehicle was taken to the dealer early the morning of April 20th and when he returned to take possession of the vehicle, the dealer informed him that the parts needed for the recall repair were not available. The manufacturer confirmed this information and advised the contact that he would be notified when the parts became available. Most recently, the contact still was not notified and when contacting the manufacturer a second time, they would not provide any assistance. The failure and current mileage were approximately 43,000.

- Williamson , WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #294

Sep 272009


  • 100,324 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While the contact was making a left hand turn at a low speed she noticed that the front driver side tire suddenly broke away from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the control arm ball joint needed to be replaced. Prior to the failure, the contact heard a knocking noise in the front end of the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 100324.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #293

Oct 202009


  • 106,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 25 mph the vehicle began to shimmy. After driving the vehicle to the side of the road the front passenger side ball joint had fractured, and then the tire separated from the vehicle. Two years prior an identical failure occurred on the driver-side. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 106000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #292

Sep 102008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact's vehicle was repaired in 2007 according to NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). One year later, while attempting to make left turns, he heard a loud popping noise coming from the rear driver's side tire. He has not had the vehicle inspected to determine the cause of the failure. The upper part of the radiator also produced a hairline crack, causing radiator fluid to leak from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who found the source of the leak at the radiator tube. The failure mileage was 60,000 and current mileage was 81,000. Updated 10/14/08. The lower ball joint failed. Updated 10/15/08

- Espanola, NM, USA

problem #291

Apr 132008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle exhibits poor steering and the steering wheel will not return to its normal position. The driver struck a parked vehicle because the wheel would not turn in order for her to pull into a parking space properly. The vehicle was serviced for two NHTSA campaign id numbers (03V460000, 06V288000) regarding both front lower ball joints. The vehicle was diagnosed with front lower ball joint failure again at 18,000 miles. A police report was filed. The current mileage was 107,000 and failure mileage was 105,000. The consumer stated that Chrysler would repair the vehicle at no cost to the owner due to the fact that 2 recalls were already performed. The consumer further stated had to pay out of pocked for the repairs. Updated 06/02/08

- Bruceville, IN, USA

problem #290

Jan 172006


  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty with ball joint failure. Consumer states that the driver side lower ball joint separated causing the entire wheel assembly to fall off. Mechanic replaced the defective ball joints with more defective ball joints. The consumer stated it will be the third time the lower ball joints have been replaced for the same problem under the recall.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #289

Apr 042008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


I received a recall notice on the lower ball joints of my 2002 Jeep Liberty on 9/26/06. When I went to North point Jeep in winston-salem to ask to have the repairs done, they told me that the supply of the necessary parts was limited and that they would put me on a list and would call when they had a part for me. A year and a half later, no call! I have asked repeatedly to confirm that my name is on the list and they have repeatedly told me that it is. This is the only convenient dealership for me to go to for repairs or else I would take my vehicle elsewhere!

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #288

Mar 072008

Liberty 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
I purchased my 2002 Jeep Liberty, in July of 2007. It had been running wonderfully. Two and a half weeks ago (03/07/08)while driving on the expressway, my drivers side wheel came completely off of my car. I had my Jeep towed to kwik kar auto repair. Kwik kar informed me that my ball joint had come loose. I had them to repair it and paid out of pocket for both the repair and the tow. On Wednesday, March 26, 2008, while driving, again the wheel on my Jeep came off, this time on the passenger side. Once again, I had my Jeep towed to kwik kar. This time the ball joint on the front passenger side had come loose and caused significant damage to the wheel, ABS system, etc. The bill for the repair this time was way more than I could afford, so my mechanic checked with Chrysler to see if any of the parts were covered. He found that the Jeep Liberty was under recall notice for this exact same defect. I contacted Chrysler and was told that since I did not take my Jeep to a Chrysler dealership that I would have to pay for the repairs. I was also informed that the nearest Chrysler dealer that would honor this recall and fix my car was in arlington, tx which is nearly 20 miles from my home. I was told by the Chrysler representative that recall notices were sent out in September of 2006. Since I bought my Jeep Liberty 10 months after the recall notices were sent out, from drivetime auto sales, I never received a notice of recall. I was told to contact the previous owner of my car to get the recall information. So I contacted drivetime auto sales. I was told by drivetime that they are not responsible for checking recall notices on the cars that they sell and that it is Chrysler's responsibility to fix my Jeep. I again called Chrysler customer service and spoke to a supervisor. I was informed that Chrysler would not pay for the repairs and if I pay for the repairs, there is no guarantee that I would be reimbursed. Lower ball joints*smch

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #287

Feb 102008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
This complaint regards safety recall F23 for our 2002 Jeep Liberty. When we received notification of the recall, we contacted our local Jeep dealership in houston, tx. They informed us that the part was on back-order and would contact us when it arrived. That was over a year ago and our car has never been fixed, nor has anyone contacted us about the part. We followed up with the dealership several times; each time we were informed the part was not available. We have not yet had an incident or crash, but consider this unacceptable.

- Mission, KS, USA

problem #286

Feb 032007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty recall for the lower ball joints. Consumer states that he lost control of the vehicle and crashed. After the vehicle was totaled the consumer then received the recall. Consumer would like compensation for losses.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #285

Nov 302007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle has always pulled to the right regardless of new tires, front end alignment, etc. About one year ago started to hear screeching and clunking noises from front end. Particularly on cold days and even over small bumps. Service shop couldn't diagnose a problem. Recent trip to shop revealed a split boot on the right upper control arm and losing grease. If not replaced, it will fail. Vehicle has been serviced for previous two recalls on the lower control arm ball joints. Dealer will not cover the replacement cost of ball joint and/or upper control arm assembly.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #284

Nov 292006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On 11/29/06 I had repair on my 2002 Jeep Liberty V6 sport 3.7L for ball joint R&R front suspension lower ball joint both sides. I then received a recall letter in the mail in 7/07 regarding front suspension lower ball joints. The letter stated that daimlercrysler will repair vehicle free of charge. The repairs were already done 11/06 and I told them this (sent receipts as well to reimbursement department in tn). This was sent X 2 (8/07 & 10/07) and I still have not heard from anyone. It's been almost 4 months!

- Chisago City, MN, USA

problem #283

Apr 212006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,260 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. On April 21, 2006, while driving uphill at 5 mph, the vehicle surged and rear ended the preceding vehicle. The contact was charged with failure to yield. The mechanic stated that the brakes and the brake rotors failed. Prior to the crash, she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm: Lower ball joint) in October of 2006. She made four attempts to have the recall repair performed; however, each time she was informed that the part was unavailable and the dealer would call her when it arrived. The contact never received a call and gave up. A couple of months after the crash, she received a second recall notice. The contact believes that the crash occurred because the repair was not made earlier. The vehicle sustained damages to the bumper, fog lights, front bumper cover, grill, front lamp, head lamp, passenger side head lamp assembly, hood panel, hood assembly, front passenger side wiring harness, passenger side outside fender, passenger side fender bracket, front passenger side door glass running channel, hazardous waste disposal, paint job, and fender brackets. The cost to repair the damages would be $3,759. The current mileage was 89,682 and failure mileage was 61,260. Updated 01/07/08. Updated 12/31/07

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #282

Nov 102007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving between 5-10 mph, the front passenger side of the vehicle dropped. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The fender well was damaged. The vehicle was previously repaired for NHTSA campaign id number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) at approximately 20,000 miles. The current and failure mileages were 65,000.

- Rockville , SC, USA

problem #281

Oct 012007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty recall for lower ball joints. Consumer would like to know why the dealer denied his claim for the repair. The consumer had to pay for the repair on his vehicle even though it was under recall.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #280

Sep 262004

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Ltr re recalls on her daimler Chrysler purchased back in August 13, 2001. The consumer stated the vehicle has been recalled more than 3 times and supposedly fixed over 6 times regarding the ball joints. The consumer had an accident. The ball joint broke while the consumer was attempting to park. The radiator was leaking at the seam. The right front hub bearing was noisy. The cd changer would skip after a few songs. The dealer found an internal fault. There was a heavy crunchy noise when driving, stopping and making turns. The front stabilizer/sway bar was replaced. The rack and pinion was leaking.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?