Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #279

Aug 292007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The lower ball joints were replaced due to NHTSA campaign number 06V288000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint). While performing the replacement, the dealer noticed that the upper ball joints also needed to be replaced, however, they were not under a recall. The dealer repaired the upper ball joints. The current and failure mileages were 39,300.

- Silsbee, TX, USA

problem #278

May 312007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles
In November of 2006, I had a recall fixed for the "front:control arm:lower ball joint" when the parts became available. I brought the car back 3 days later having issues with the steering and hearing a noise. The dealership took the car for a few days and did a complete inspection and assured me the new parts were sufficient. Every now and then (not constant, but scarcely) when I would turn the wheel just a little, the car would turn as if I had turned my wheel all the way. It scared me a few times, but it didn't happen often at all, so I didn't think much of it. On May 31, 2007, I was merging onto I-91 in Connecticut driving only 22 miles per hour, and my car did that very thing. I went up and over the curb, up the embankment and crashed into a steel Connecticut state sign. If it wasn't for the sign, I would have continued to lose control and possibly been killed. Hitting the sign swung my back end around, where I rolled down the embankment and to a complete stop on the side of the highway. My car sustained over $7,000 worth of damage and has damaged my perfect driving record. No other car was involved and no one was hurt, including myself. I was very fortunate, but I feel there needs to be further investigation into the previous recall and possibly a new recall should be posted to eliminate this problem. The problem still exists despite the recall from last year.

- Granby, CT, USA

problem #277

Aug 102007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty that was totaled when the power steering went out customer states that she is now without transportation due to faulty parts and wants some kind of solution* the consumer received 2 recall letters in the mail after her accident. Both notices stated that the vehicle needed to have the ball joints repaired. The consumer contacted the manufacturer and informed them of the accident Chrysler stated they were sending a representative out to investigate the vehicle. The consumer stated the representative assessed there was nothing wrong with the lower ball joint, airbags, or steering to cause the accident. The consumer further stated she spoke with the garage where the vehicle was located and stated no one ever came to check the vehicle over.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #276

Aug 202007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Saturday August 18th 2007 I received a recall notice from daimler Chrysler regarding the lower ball joints on 2002-2006 Jeep liberties. The recall said water could get into the front suspention causing the ball joint to corrode and separate which could lead to loss of steering and a possible accident. While driving home from work on Monday the 20th (2 days later) my front left wheel fell off without warning, causing loss of control and nearly causing an accident (coincidence?). the dealer said that my upper ball joint had corroded and separated and the recent recall would not cover my repair. Daimler Chrysler said there's nothing they can do and I would be responsible for repairs. I went online and was shocked to find (in only about 20 minutes- so there must be many more) that hundreds of people has the exact same failure with their 02' -06' Liberty. Although I would like daimler Chrysler to take responsibility for the repair, the more important issue is that there seems to be a serious problem with these cars (specifically the ball joints). The recall should definitely include upper ball joints as well. Luckily I was only going about 15-20mph (my car was still completely fish-tailed) if I had been doing anything over 40mph I'm certain I would have rolled it. I'm sure there has to be people out there who had family or friends killed in accidents caused by this exact issue...they probably don't even know how widespread the problem is.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #275

Aug 152007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints. He called the dealer and was informed that they could not service his vehicle for another six months. The recall number was unknown. There had been no failure to date. The current mileage was 61,000.

- Grans Junction, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #274

Feb 102004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,081 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 60 mph, the steering wheel began to shake. The contact stated that the wheels began shaking very roughly and eventually detached from the vehicle. However, the vehicle continued to drive forward. Approximately 3-4 years ago, the dealer replaced the lower ball joints. The current mileage was 59,000 and failure mileage was 44,081.

- Petersburg, VA, USA

problem #273

Nov 012006

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been waiting to hear from bergeron Chrysler Jeep to address a safety recall notice I received for my Jeep Liberty. The last time they contacted me was November 10, 2006 to let me know they would be in touch. As of today, I still have not heard from them.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #272

Jul 232007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,701 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 20 mph, the contact heard a grinding noise coming from the vehicle. He stated that the lower ball joints separated. The service station repaired the driver side front axle and upper tie rod. The current mileage was 107,536 and failure mileage was 107,701.

- Middle Village, NY, USA

problem #271

Dec 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the front lower ball joints (NHTSA campaign #06V288000). She attempted to make an appointment with the dealer however; they stated that the part was unavailable. They did not know when they would receive the part. As of August 6, 2007, the dealer has not repaired the vehicle and the wait time has been approximately seven months. There had been fo failure to date. The current mileage was 111,000.

- Cacherie, LA, USA

problem #270

Jul 202007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 60 mph the right side of the vehicle dropped and there was a blow out on the tire. The contact felt that the front lower ball joint caused the failure. There is a recall for the front lower ball joint (NHTSA campaign id #06V288000). The contact stated that the manufacturer wanted to charge to repair the tire and the wheel. He felt the front lower ball joint caused the damage. The current and failure mileages were 90,000.

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #269

Sep 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received safety recall C36 notice one year ago, but dealership still has not scheduled me for an appointment. I have made two appointments with them but the dealership has cancelled both, they claim that they do not have the parts from the manufacturer. Now I have received safety recall notice F23. I want these taken care of as soon as reasonably possible, but the dealership is unresponsive.

- Souderton, PA, USA

problem #268

Jun 102007

Liberty

  • miles
TL. the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The current mileage was 53,536 miles. The contact heard a grinding noise and observed an oil-based odor. The vehicle was included in recall campaign no's 03V460000 and 06V288000. During a scheduled appointment, the dealer stated that the ball joints were not available. The call was disconnected before getting VIN and other vehicle-basic information. The failure mileage was 50,000 miles.

- Pinebrook, AR, USA

problem #267

May 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 55-60 mph, the vehicle pulled to the right and the steering wheel vibrated. The contact also heard a humming noise coming from the front tires. The dealer has not inspected the vehicle. The contact felt that the humming noise was due to excessive wear caused by the lower ball joints. The contact received recall notice number 03V460000 (suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint) on August 2, 2007. He feels that the tires should be replaced as part of the recall. As of August 3, 2007, the ball joints have not been replaced. The current mileage was 62,000 and failure mileage was 60,000. The consumer stated the lower ball joint has been repaired and the cupped tires were then rotated to the rear of the vehicle and the consumer stated there is still a loose feeling in the rear of the vehicle. Updated 08/22/07

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #266

Aug 022007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
Jeep Liberty 2002 model subject to recall for lower ball joint failure, recall #F23. Lower ball joints replaced by dealer, found upper ball joints also worn out. This problem is similar to the cause of the lower ball joint failure - seal failure with attendant lubrication failure and corrosion.

- Burnsville, NC, USA

problem #265

Jul 072007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. While driving 15 mph, the driver side front tire blew out. The contact then heard a noise and the vehicle dropped down. The vehicle was towed to a Chrysler dealer and diagnosed as needing the lower ball joints replaced. The contact stated that the lower ball joints were replaced in 2003. The vehicle has been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 82,000.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #264

Sep 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice in September of 2006 in regards to the lower ball joints. Since that time, she has called multiple dealers in her area in an attempt to schedule a recall repair. As of July 5, 2007, none of the dealers have the part needed for the repair. The current and failure mileages were 50,000.

- Alagon, GA, USA

problem #263

Jun 112007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 68,933 miles
2002 Jeep Liberty safety recall F23- lower ball joints customer states that the they had to have the work done and want to be reimbursed for the service* the consumer provided a copy of the repair invoice. The dealer stated that upper ball joint was also bad.

- Concord, NH, USA

problem #262

Jun 012007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,003 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated. When the dealer took the vehicle for a test drive, traveling at 25 mph, the left front tire came off the vehicle. The contact never received the ball joint recall notice. Chrysler stated that they did not get all the notices out on time, due to the large quantity, and are not responsible. The vehicle is currently at the shop and will require other parts to be replaced, which will cost over $1,000. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 100,003.

- Millsborough, DE, USA

problem #261

Sep 062006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall 03V46000; parts are still not available to repair Jeep Liberty. It has been eight (8) months.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #260

Sep 102004

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,642 miles
Customer is inquiring on the possibility of getting reimbursed for expense of replacing a recalled lower left ball joint on a 2002 Jeep Liberty* the consumer experienced a failure of the lower ball joints after having it replaced under recall.

- Prescott, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?