Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
28 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,989 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 15)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #259

Dec 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,479 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the vehicle's lower ball joints were repaired on January 27, 2006. She later discovered online that there was a safety recall on the lower ball joints and her VIN was included. She filed a reimbursement claim with daimler Chrysler on December 15, 2006 and sent all of the requested forms and information. The contact has not been reimbursed. The current mileage is 139,000 and failure mileage was 99,479.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #258

Oct 012006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. In October 2006 the contact received recall 03V46000 regarding suspension:front:control arm:lower ball joint. He contacted the dealer and his name was added to the waiting list. In January 2007, the dealer stated that his name was still on the list. The manufacturer stated that they would speak with the dealer and call the contact back. As of April 26, 2007 the manufacturer has failed to call him back, and he felt the wait for the recall repair was too long. There have been no failures to date. The current mileage is 48,000, and the failure mileage is unknown. The consumer stated contacted dealer on 3/13/07 and notified daimler Chrysler and stated they would talk to the dealer and call the consumer back. Update 05/15/07

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #257

May 082005

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2002 Jeep Liberty in mid-April of 2005. I told a number of people that the Jeep frightened me when driving because it felt like the steering was loose and like the Jeep was skating on the road. After driving the Jeep over 2 1/2 weeks I had a tragic accident lost of steering control.

- Ellijay, GA, USA

problem #256

Sep 152006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the lower ball joints in September 2006. The dealer informed the contact they were backlogged, and for her to call back. She called back in January 2007, and was able to have her name put on the waiting list. The dealer stated there were approximately 60 vehicles ahead of her. The vehicle had not been repaired as of 4/12/07. The contact felt that the waiting time for the repair was too long. The vehicle currently had 80,000 miles. There had been no failures to date. Updated 05/21/07

- Alderson, WV, USA

problem #255

Dec 062006

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My complaint is not in regard to any type of incident, crash or injury. It is in regard to a safety recall I received by mail for Jeep Liberty on 12/06/06, over 4 months ago. It was safety recall F23 concerning lower ball joints from daimler Chrysler, stating the front lower ball joints could corrode & separate due to water, causing the vehicle to lose control of steering, and could cause a crash without prior warning. Well anyway, they were to replace it, and I called the same day I got the notice and was put on a waiting list to get this fixed due to backorder of parts. I still have not heard anything, and I believe this was my 4th time contacting someone about this issue. I have submitted 2 complaints already to the administrator of national highway traffic safety, and now this is what I was E-mailed back and told to do. My biggest concern was the safety of my children and my family. We drive this vehicle on a daily basis, and I not only think it was unfair to us to be endangering our lives, but also the lives of many other drivers if my vehicle was to lose control. I feel that I should be supplied with a rental car via their expense until they can fix this problem. I think 4 months has been very adequate time, and they should have had it resolved by now. Recently, we took a road trip and had to rent a car because we were too scared to drive this far through mountains, etc. Have to worry about a ball joint blowing out! this is ridiculous & needs to be given priority attention!! aren't you guys supposed to want to keep our roads safe? please get back to me as soon as possible. Thanks.

- St. Cloud, MN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #254

Jan 012007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles
Daimler Chrysler safety recall on 2002-2003 lower ball joint. The dealer has not yet call me or my wife in to have the vehicle checked out. It has been over 3 months!!

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #253

Mar 072007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,985 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice for the lower ball joints. On March 7, 2007 the dealer was contacted to perform the recall repairs. The dealer stated that work could begin in approximately four to five weeks. On April 5, 2007 the dealer stated that the parts still had not arrived. The current and failure mileage were 68,985.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #252

Apr 032007

(reported on)

Liberty

  • miles
Customer states that he has been unable to get car fix due to parts not being available* lower ball joint recall.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #251

Mar 282007

(reported on)

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Customer states that they have tried several times to get car into service for the recall and have been told they don't have the parts*

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #250

Sep 132006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty sport on 9/13/06 customer son was in a accident customer son stated that the wheel locked up and he couldn't steer. One month later, customer received a recall regarding the lower ball joints. ** the consumer believed the ball joints was the cause of the accident.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #249

Feb 242006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact received recall 06V288000 on the 2002 Jeep Liberty with 70000 current mileage on November. 24, 2006, and the vehicle still has not been repaired. Chrysler had not been contacted. There had been no failures to date. The consumer stated vehicle was repaired by dealer late March 2007. Update/23/07

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #248

Mar 192007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact called regarding recall campaign # 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. The contact has been on a waiting list for repairs since November. An appointment was scheduled for March 19, 2007, but dealer stated the part was unavailable. There was no inormation as to when the part will become available for repair to begin. The current and failure mileage were 90000. The dealer called the consumer back and said they found the part. Updated 04/09/07.

- Waianae, HI, USA

problem #247

Sep 172006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
I have a 2002 Jeep Liberty limited ed. Which I had an accident in last year2006. This accident was due to a recall of the ball joint. I didn't recieve the recall letter until 2 weeks after my accident that made me tottaly unaware of any problems. I turned the accident over to my ins. Co. to fight while my car sat at the dealership where I bought the vehicle. Accident details: At aprox. 45 mph the wheels locked up due to the ball joint rod rubbing a hole on the inside of the wheel housing bringing the car wheels to lock up. ( any faster the car probably would have flipped. It took 3.5 months of my ins. Co. arguing with Chrysler over the issue before they accepted responsiblity even though it was obvious fault. My concern now is I went to trade in the car this week and the damage over $2500 majorily reduced the value of my vehicle. (which I did express after the accident) I was offered only$5000 with normal trade in would go for $8000-$9000. ( the low trade in value I was told by the sales manager due to the accident) I feel Chrysler delay of fault and non-compensation of vehicle value loss is very poor business, especially them being a large financially stable automotive manufacture dishonest with a middle class Chrysler driver/worker. I would like for Chrysler to fully handle a failure on there part to compensate for all financial details of my accident. I would like to express one more issue! I feel they did not take any hurry to inform drivers of the serious vehicle issue that could have very easily caused a fatality. Date is not exact I need to get it from ins co>

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #246

Dec 152006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty sport. The dealer received recall 03V460000 regarding lower ball joints. The dealer informed the contact that it would take three to four weeks to repair the lower ball joints. The dealer stated that the contact is number 171 on the list. The dealer was willing to inspect the vehicl. However, it will take 40 weeks to receive the parts to repair it. The current and failure mileage were 63,000.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #245

Mar 012007

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact has a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 concerning lower ball joint. The contact called the dealership in his area, and they stated that it could take 4 months or more in order for them to perform the recall service. The contact stated that there was a waiting list of over 100 people. There have been no failures to date. The current mileage was 59700. Updated 03/19/07.

- Clay, NY, USA

problem #244

Feb 252007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I own a 2002 Jeep Liberty. In November of 2006 I had the ball joint recall performed on the Jeep. Yesterday I was driving down the road when the passenger side ball joint failed causing my wheel to fall down underneath the Jeep tearing the upper ball joint out. The rim and tire were damaged due to this incident as well as other components of the front suspension. It is currently at a Jeep dealership being diagnosed for further damage.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #243

Nov 022006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles
- the contact called regarding the 2002 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall 06V288000 concerning the lower ball joint. She was put on a waiting list in November. The vehicle has 35,000 miles. The contact has not experienced any problems with the vehicle at this time. Update 03/19/07.

- Suquamish, WA, USA

problem #242

Jan 312006

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Jeep Liberty sport with concerns about recall F23 -lower ball joints customer wants to be compensated for damage* the consumer only received reimbursement for the two defective ball joints. The consumer wants to be compensated for the damage to the vehicle. The axle assembly, A-arms and sway bars were damaged as a result of the faulty ball joints.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #241

Jan 312007

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2002 Jeep Liberty with concerns about recall on front suspension lower ball joints* the consumer stated the right ball joint fell off the vehicle on the right side and caused damage to the vehicle prior to the recall. The consumer then received a recall regarding the ball joints, when he went to the dealer to have other work done, he inquired about the recall and was told he would be placed on a list. The consumer stated while driving, there was a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle and suspected there might be a problem with the ball joints again. The consumer was informed the ball joints on both sides had failed and additional damage was done to the knuckle. The vehicle was repaired.

- Kings Park, NY, USA

problem #240

Oct 042006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice on October 4, 2006. The contact traveled 90 miles one way, and he told the dealer that the vehicle wasn't driving normally. The contact replaced 2 sets of tires, and had several alignments, which had been unsuccessful in correcting the steering failure. The contact was placed on a waiting list. The contact called the dealer on several occasions to follow up and schedule an appointment. However, he was advised that there was no waiting list, and after several attempts, including calling the manufacturer an appointment was scheduled. The contact received a call from the dealer stating the appointment was cancelled, and the parts were on back order when speaking with a different mechanic. He was told the parts were at the dealer and to bring the vehicle in for repair on the following day. The contact received a voice mail the day before his scheduled appointment stating that the parts were on back order. The vehicle wasn't steering properly, and hadn't driven normally for quite some time. The contact stated the speed wasn't a factor, after driving 5 miles or more the vehicle did not steer properly. The current and failure mileage were both 58000.

- North Palm Beach , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?