Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,003 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jan 062014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem of the vehicle is : the fuel tank on the vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain type of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in underbody fire. Chrysler sent safety recall to me in January 2014 and they said they intends to inspect my vehicle and install an original equipment manufacture trailer hitch where appropriate at no cost and I been waiting till mid May 2014 and finally made a call to Chrysler group because I never hear anything back from them since the 1st recall notice. And I just found out that they didn't make a part yet. I don't know how long they want me to wait ? I don't think they really concern about customer safety.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #20

Jul 092013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The fuel tank on your vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. Fuel leakage in the presence of an ignition source can result in an underbody fire. It has been almost a year that I have receive a safety recall. I have called the dealer and they told me I have to wait for Chrysler to send another notice. Are they waiting for my nine year old grandchild to get killed before they send me another notice that the parts are in.

- Hooksett, NH, USA

problem #19

Feb 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Still no contact about safety recall installation of trailer hitch.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #18

Jun 012013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252 no parts yet to fix recall, creating a very dangerous problem. Now over 9 months since recall how can this be resolved, the company says no parts are available.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #17

Jan 082014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer referred the contact to the manufacturer who stated that the part was not available. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall. Updated 06/27/14

- Vista, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Dec 192013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the part needed was currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 07/01/14

- Red Lion, PA, USA

problem #15

Dec 262013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for the NHTSA campaign id number 13V25200 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the part needed to perform the repair was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. Updated 07/01/14

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #14

Mar 312014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Updated 05/19/14

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #13

Sep 022013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts were not available. The contact had been waiting longer than a year for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/19/14 MA updated 06/3/2014

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #12

Mar 202014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
The dealers never have the parts for the N46 recall which was announced in June 2013. The recall is a scam...Chrysler is avoiding the repairs and you need to get after them!

- Long Valley, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jun 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It has been almost a year since a recall was issued due to the fuel tank having a chance of experiencing a fuel leak during a rear end collision. Chrysler sent a recall letter stating that a trailer hitch would be installed to better manage crash forces in impacts. They said the parts required were currently not available. I have had no further information from them. Today I call a local Jeep dealer and requested the cost of a trailer hitch and was given a price. When I told them my Jeep was part of the recall and there should be no cost I was told that the recall trailer hitch is different and Chrysler has not released them. I think they are just stalling - a trailer hitch is a trailer hitch, I am concerned for my safety and believe that they should be required to make the fix now.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #10

Feb 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received NHTSA recall campaign notice id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Iron Mountain , MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 222013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V527000 (air bags) and 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure). The contact stated that the parts were not available for either repair. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the vehicle would have the recall repairs performed. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #8

Feb 282014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure..updated 04-23-14

- Newburyport, MA, USA

problem #7

Feb 272014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a second safety recall, N46 / NHTSA 13V-252 on the above vehicle. I contacted roanoke motors, roanoke, il this morning. They do not have the part and cannot install it. I am very concerned about a fuel leak during a rear end collision. Please contact me on how to get remedy for this recall.

- Sparland, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 012003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
I've not yet been contacted by any Jeep dealer to address important safety recall N46 / NHTSA 13V-252 please advise accordingly. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #5

Jun 142013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 2/11/14

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
The metal straps holding the gas tank to the frame of the car broke. I don't know how long this has been the case. In all the years I've driven cars (~50) I've never had this happen. There is a 2013 recall already on this gas tank issue, but my car was not listed as one to be looked at.

- Dimondale, MI, USA

problem #3

Apr 262008

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that when the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that the fuel pump fell inside of the fuel tank. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the fuel rod would break inside the fuel tank whenever the fuel level was at a quarter tank. The contact was instructed to keep the fuel level above a quarter tank of gasoline. The dealer replaced the fuel tank but the failure continued to occur. The vehicle warranty was no longer valid and the contact was responsible for all repair expenses. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. The current mileage was approximately 82,000.

- Petoskey, MI, USA

problem #2

Oct 202003

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that his vehicle smelled like gasoline and the check engine light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle has been taken to a dealer approximately three times. The dealer stated that the vehicle had a system leak and they replaced the pump seal and lock. The current mileage was 73,695 and failure mileage was 95. Updated 11/07/08 updated 11/07/08.

- Newport, VT, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?