Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,557 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Dec 242013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to be available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay in the part availability. There were no failures at this time.

- Vale, OR, USA

problem #113

Oct 152013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a NHTSA recall campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed to service the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. There are no failures at this time.

- Weston, MA, USA

problem #112

Nov 132013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced any failures at this time.

- Camillus, NY, USA

problem #111

Dec 312013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL * the contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The dealer stated that the part for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #110

Jan 272014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
When you go to fill the gas tank, it overflows constantly, you cannot just stick the nozzle in and let it fill normally, you have to let it go very slowly and even then it will try to overflow. I believe this is a safety hazard. I always have gas spilled out on the pavement and on me most of the time. After researching and reading online forums, I have noticed this is a common problem and that there is a lot of frustration in trying to get someone to listen to our complaints and actually having a solution to this problem. I have also written to Chrysler and haven't had any response. Took it Jeep to the dealership from which we purchased it, they said it wasn't under warranty and said to research online to fix the problem. Had I known of this problem when we purchased the car, I would not have purchased it.

- Cecilia, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #109

Dec 122013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer stated that they have not figured out how to properly install the tow hitch. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no failures experienced in the vehicle. Updated 07/16/14

- Penn Run, PA, USA

problem #108

May 082014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Upadated 06/30/14 MA updated 07/1/2014

- Burnsville, NC, USA

problem #107

Nov 132013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/27/14

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #106

Apr 112013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and the part needed to perform the repair was currently unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 06/10/14

- Amsterdam, NY, USA

problem #105

Dec 152012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the notice over a year ago and was still waiting for the part to become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/26/14 updated 07/08/2014

- Smith River, CA, USA

problem #104

Jun 192013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) five months ago. The vehicle was not repaired because the parts were not available. The manufacturer stated the parts have not been released for repair. The approximate mileage was 100,000...updated 05-09-14

- Haverstraw , NY, USA

problem #103

Apr 052014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
A year ago, my fuel tank started to intermittently overflow a huge puddle of gas at the filling station when I filled up. Now it happens every time I fuel up. I took to the dealer Saturday and they said its a common problem among Cherokee, but not Liberty and there is no recall for either vehicle. The problem is a valve clog in the fuel tank. The fix is an $1800 new fuel tank. That's not going to happen! this seems to be a dangerous problem given all the fires at gas stations recently. Every time I fill up I leave a large puddle of gas on the ground, all over my car and have to ride with the windows rolled down for first half hour after filling. Only affordable fix is to not fill, but that's next to impossible to gauge. Seems like you should look into this Jeep-wide (and I think Chrysler-wide) problem.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #102

Apr 082014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
According to NHTSA, this vehicle is subject to a voluntary recall (N46/NHTSA 13V-252) that was to commence in July 2013. I received a letter confirming this from the manufacturer over two months ago that said I would be notified when the part to correct the problem was available. I have contacted Chrysler twice and no one can say when the part will be available. Since the part to correct the problem was a factory and/or dealer installed option when this car was built, and since there are many manufacturers with similar parts, I can only conclude that the unreasonable delay appears to be intentional. The longer Chrysler waits, the fewer Jeep will need to be repaired. Of course, each day without repair presents a safety risk that also decreases the value of my vehicle.

- Empire, MI, USA

problem #101

Dec 182013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. Neither the manufacturer nor the dealer have been made aware of the repair delay. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall.

- Bellaire, OH, USA

problem #100

Apr 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 79,500 miles
I would like to know if Chrysler/Jeep will be complying with the settlement of installing trailer hitches to protect the gas tanks on Jeep Liberty vehicles" how long do we have to wait and how many more injuries or deaths have to occur before this issue is resolved"

- Fort Dodge, IA, USA

problem #99

Jan 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall notice NHTSA campaign id number 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the contact stated that the part needed was not currently available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time. Updated 07/01/14 va the consumer stated, nothing has been done about the problem, and it has been over a year. Updated 07/01/14

- Newell, SD, USA

problem #98

Jan 162013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had surpassed a reasonable about of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #97

Oct 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Every time I fill up the Jeep when it clicks off, it spills about a liter of gas all over my Jeep. It happened at different gas stations with different pumps.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #96

Mar 242014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in June of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced the failure however stated that she was involved in a crash where her vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. A police report was filed and the contact was taken to the hospital for treatment of back, head, and neck injuries. The contact was concerned that the fuel tank could possibly catch on a fire if involved in another rear-end crash. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 5/13/14

- West Paris , ME, USA

problem #95

Jul 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
Contacted dealer about N46/NHTSA.13V-252 gas tank recall on 3/10/14 and dealer said they have no information on when parts are coming or how to handle recall. When will this take place. No action by Chrysler. I received the recall notice around the end of last year. It should not be taking this long. Are we waiting for more injuries for court cases or for Chrysler to hope most of the vehicles to be out of service? I can't believe I am the only one in this town of 55000 people with a Jeep.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?