Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,557 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #174

Mar 012014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to dealership has not addressed the fuel tank problems recall notice. The consumer stated he was first informed in March 2014, the parts were not available. As of August 2015, the parts were still not available.

- Greenacres, FL, USA

problem #173

Mar 182015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/16/15

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #172

Oct 022014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 70,195 miles
I was sent a recall notice for my 2005 Jeep Liberty (N46 recall). After a long wait being told there were no parts available I finally got it into a dealer who told me they were unable to install the trailer hitch because of rust and that Chrysler states that it is a level 5 corrosion so they were unable to fix the problem. I find this very disturbing since there have been so many accidents with the gas tank exploding and burning the whole car on impacts, rollovers, etc. I feel very unsafe to drive this vehicle at this point and still feel that the dealer should be able to do something to fix this problem......updated08/20/15

- Albany , NY, USA

problem #171

Sep 042014

Liberty 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter notifying me that there was a recall on my vehicle in late August of 2014. I have called the Jeep recall center 4 times since then and I still have not had my Jeep repaired. The last time I called on January 29th, 2015 the customer service representative put me in contact with kendall Dodge in miami. I spoke to [xxx] from the car dealership and she advised me that I was fourth on the waiting list for this repair. It is now February 12th, 2015 and I have not heard anything from kendall Dodge or the Jeep recall center. How much longer do I have to wait for such a simple repair of my Jeep?...updated 05/14/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/28./15 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #170

Feb 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer states its been 13 months and the dealer keeps telling him no parts are available. Would like to get problem fixed. The consumer referenced recall # 13V252000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #169

Jan 122015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252 received recall notice called dealer, was told parts were backordered and would be called later. Never called. Received another recall notice, called dealer for appt. And was told still did not have parts. Made appt. For repair when parts come in put on list. Never called then received another recall notice stating we never replied to recall notice ? this is a lie and will be contacting Chrysler to complain about treatment from dealer.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #168

Aug 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While fueling up at the pump, the gas stations pumps automatic shut off is triggered various times while filling, resulting in gasoline overflowing on the side of the vehicle and resulting in a puddle on the floor. This is a big concern as there might be a risk of fire/explosion.

- East Hampton , NY, USA

problem #167

Jul 142014

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty sport. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the vehicle shuddered and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel filter bracket needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to the part not being available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Carelton, MI, USA

problem #166

Dec 102014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
For about the last 2 years, every time I fill the gas tank to full I get fuel spray. I thought it might be stations pump handle but it happens at any station all the time. I also received a safety recall for the hitch receiver. I took it into the dealer and they said no problem. I was under the impression from the notice that the aftermarket unit would be replaced with a factory unit. I purchased this vehicle used when it was 3 years old.

- Gillette, WY, USA

problem #165

Aug 252014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) and stated that the part was not available for the repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available and informed the contact that the vehicle was number twenty-nine on the waiting list. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/09/15 updated 01/13/15 updated 1/21/15 updated 01/26/15

- York, PA, USA

problem #164

Dec 012014

Liberty 4WD

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Jeep Liberty. Care has had few recalls which includes the most recent recall regarding the gas tank. Customer very unhappy with her car. The consumer stated the radiator, water, rocker arms, spark plugs all had to be replaced. Also, the engine light illuminated after the repairs were done. The dealer informed the consumer the head gaskets and cylinder heads needed to be replaced.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #163

Aug 252014

Liberty

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer was told the recall could not be performed on the vehicle due to corrosion. Recall # 13V252000.

- Upper Arlington, OH, USA

problem #162

Nov 032014

Liberty

  • miles
Consumer writing in regards to 2005 Jeep Liberty. States that the could rupture in a rear end collision. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Glen Carbon, IL, USA

problem #161

Sep 302014

Liberty

  • miles
2005 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to NHTSA recall number 13V252000.* ld the consumer was under the impression, (oem) parts were being used. However, he learned the trailer hitch the dealer installed was not a usable trailer hitch for hooking up a boat, or trailer, etc. It would in fact cause considerable damage to the under structure of the vehicle. Updated 11/20/14

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #160

Oct 312014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12/11/14/

- Romney, WV, USA

problem #159

Oct 282014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to advise when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #158

Dec 312013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer stated the parts were available and referred the contact back to dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #157

Jun 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part needed was not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Indinapolis , IN, USA

problem #156

Jun 102014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to service the vehicle under the recall repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #155

Dec 132013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Under safety recall N46/NHTSA 13V-252, we forwarded to Chrysler a letter with request for reimbursement for a trailer hitch we replaced in 2011, we were told since the trailer hitch was not oem, that Chrysler was still determining whether a possible reimbursement was available for those with aftermarket trailer hitch, we were told we would get an explanation in writing, this was last December 2013, we are still awaiting a written response, we had sent all proper documentation on our cost to install the trailer hitch in 2011 and still have a copy of the receipt, we had to send the original to Chrysler

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?