Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 4
Average Mileage:
52,332 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

May 032013

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the rear window would open independently. The contact also stated that while driving and attempting to make a turn, the vehicle would make an abnormal noise from the undercarriage. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Greensburg, LA, USA

problem #23

Jul 132015

Liberty

  • miles
My air bag light has come on and will not turn off. I have not been in any accidents where this should occur. I noticed they are fixing other years for this problem but it seems my year should be included.

- Ofallon , MO, USA

problem #22

Jun 052015

Liberty

  • 120,000 miles
On 6/5/2015, while on the freeway, the dashboard went crazy. Engine and airbag lights flashed, fuel, temperature, and speed gauges went dead (zero), air conditioning stopped. I drove straight to the elk grove dealership's service department. They were unable to find what was wrong. Unable to duplicate the problem and the computer memory did not showed them anything. They performed the 120K service instead. On 6/18/2015, while driving at 15mph it happened again. This time, I pulled to the side of the road and took a video of the dashboard, and again drove to the elk grove dealership. As of today, they have been unable to diagnose/find what is wrong. They know is a control module, but do not know which one. Since other Jeep models experiencing similar problems have been subject to recall, I want to know why not for the 2005 model. I fear for my safety and the safety of drivers around me should this control module kills the engine while I am on the freeway. I have been without transportation while the car is held hostage for observation. This module has a factory or design defect that needs to be corrected by Jeep!

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #21

Jan 212015

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and 12V527000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to do the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 272014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Two vehicles traveling North bound on a highway with a speed limit posting of 50mph. We were hit on the pass. Side front fender, sending us head-on into a concrete barrier, sending us air born and spun around, coming downward, landing nose first back onto the highway, striking the other vehicle upon landing, and slid another 100 yards into the right side emergency lane of the highway. Pass. Was cut out of the vehicle by ems. Both occupants taken to hosp. One of the several injuries was a laceration to the neck of the pass. From the seatbelt, leaving a permanent scar. None of the airbags deployed! pass. Also received cervical and lumbar injuries and bruised left knee. Driver received right & left shoulder, right upper & lower quadrant, and neck trauma. Both occupants are having continuous headaches to date. Both occupants have been fire & rescue for over 35 years each, the airbags should have gone off!

- Glen Gardner, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Dec 212014

Liberty

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning light sporadically illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #18

Aug 222014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A car got hit by a semi and spun around on the interstate and heading straight toward me, I stopped but still got hit in the front end on the drivers side (airbag did not deploy) then I was hit by a semi on the back passenger side. Had sit belt on but still got jerked around and injured my neck & back, my right arm hit the steering wheel and sustained an injury as well (still going to doctor for arm and chiropractor for neck and back). My Jeep was totaled.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #17

Aug 172014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 90,300 miles
I need to report that [xxx] was in an accident today in the 05 Jeep Liberty. Location was East bound service road at greatsouth West hwy and interstate 20 grand prairie Texas, on August 17, 2014, at approximately 2:00pm. She was attempting to enter onto I-20 and due to the rain lost control and causing her to travel off the road and strike into a covert drain( due to hydro plaining.and the air bags did not deploy). Location was East bound service road at great South West hwy and interstate 20 grand prairie Texas, she was take by ambulance (grand prairie fire and rescue) to medical center hospital at 3301 medlock arlington, Texas. She received X-rays, cat scan, and sutures in the facial area discharged. The vehicle had to be towed from the scene. Ing she was take by ambulance (grand prairie fire and rescue) to medical center hospital at 3301 medlock arlington, Texas. She received X-rays, cat scan, and sutures in the facial area discharged. The vehicle had to be towed from the scene. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Waxahachie, TX, USA

problem #16

Mar 032014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
Driving about 40 miles an hour car stopped in front.I applied brake might have caught some ice not sure car speed up instead.seeing I wasn't going to stop in time veered off to right to miss car hit a pole and landed in a ditch but my airbags on driver and passenger side did not deploy.

- Circleville, OH, USA

problem #15

Aug 212013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Vehicle was involved in a crash with a light pole and small tree. Driver was forced to the right side of the road to avoid a head on crash with another vehicle. Two of the front bumper sensors were hit, but the air bags failed to deploy. The drive hit the steering column that had broken off with her sternum, and the passenger hit the windshield. There was a question involving the seat belts not holding either of the individuals in place. The 2005 Jeep had several recalls, and many shop bulletins of part failures on file though this one was checked by the dealer and certified as ok...updated 09-18-13 updated

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #14

Jul 172013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 81,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light and seat belt light will not go off even though the seatbelts are fastened. All fuses ok.

- White Bear Lake, MN, USA

problem #13

Oct 312012

Liberty

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving 35 mph when she attempted to merge into the interstate and crashed into a vehicle that was stopped. Both vehicles were destroyed. The air bags failed to deploy. As a result, the contact's face was thrown into the steering wheel, then the windshield, knocking out three of her front teeth. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer but the dealer was unable to determine why the air bag failed to deploy. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure and current mileage was 104,000.

- Kenna, WV, USA

problem #12

Jun 012005

Liberty

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag failed to deploy. The contact was involved in three crashes and the front driver's air bag failed to deploy. The contact suffered injuries to the head, mouth, and clavicle. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to start and the check engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic test performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure and current mileages were 20,000.

- Halethorpe, MD, USA

problem #11

Jan 242012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle started to jerk violently causing the driver to loose control of the vehicle. As a result, the vehicle rolled over several times. The contact mentioned that none of the air bags deployed and no warning lights were illuminated. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileages were unknown.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #10

Apr 292011

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl

  • 91,599 miles
The passenger side airbag light is on (meaning the airbag is off) when there is no weight on the seat. This is concerning because when an adult seats in the seat, the light will turn off but will the airbag be turned on? the seat is supposed to detect a child and turn off the airbag. However, it is just turning off.

- Spring Hill, TN, USA

problem #9

Nov 072010

Liberty

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she was involved in a crash and collided with a telephone pole while driving 35 mph. The air bags did not deploy. The contact was injured as a result. The contact could not remember if a police report was filed. The manufacturer had not been notified. The VIN was unavailable when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 80,000.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #8

Jun 172005

Liberty

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling-letter to the secretary from re acceleration problems. The consumer stated while driving, the vehicle suddenly accelerated on its own. The consumer stated he attempted to apply the brakes, but it felt as though they locked up. Eventually, the vehicle slowed down to normal speed. The consumer stated he was involved in an accident and none of the air bag deployed.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #7

Jun 162009

Liberty

  • 66,209 miles
2005 Jeep Liberty defective airbag: 3/28/08: Airbag light on. Dealer diagnosed and replaced module ("ABS squib 2 circuit open"). dealer refused to cover as a safety defect. I contacted Chrysler and they agreed to reimburse me. (ref Chrysler file #17357511) 6/16/09: Airbag light on again. Dealer found "broken wire behind dash area." They refused to cover this as a safety issue." I called and then wrote to chrsyler again as wires under the dash don't just break all by themselves and this was the second defect with this airbag. Their response was "things like this just sometimes happen" and they refused to reimburse me for $276 (plus nys tax) for this repair. Their verbal and written responses were the same. (ref their file #18718373) [the dealer also left the wires hanging out at the back of the center console when we picked the vehicle up from the June 2009 repair; further evidence of shoddy workmanship. We had to take it back again for them to fix that (no charge)]. I have all the correspondence from the 2008 and 2009 repairs. I feel Chrysler is negligent in accepting their responsibility for the continued defective airbag system in this vehicle. I feel they should reimburse me for the June 2009 repair. There had been no accidents or repairs to cause these problems. The vehicle is well cared for and well maintained. All correspondence is available for mailing or faxing to you.

- N. Syracuse , NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 192008

Liberty

  • 38,500 miles
I rearended a guy going 45mph and my airbags did not deploy. It was wet and my breaks lock up on me I had no control.

- Tucker, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 182008

Liberty

  • 60 miles
My stepdaughter had a accident. Another driver clip her from the back causing her to roll over. But her air bags didn't come out.

- Conyers, GA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?