Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,130 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #20

Jan 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle front end alignment and brake problems. The consumer stated the vehicle pulled to the left at times, with or without the cruise control on. Also, the cruise control would not disengage, when he tapped the brake.

- North Tazewell, VA, USA

problem #19

Mar 062012

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that vehicle would surge forward when shifting into any gear and the vehicle would also loose power abnormally. The egr (exhaust gas recirculation) valve melted, causing a burning smell to release into the vehicle. In addition, the gear shifter would shift out of park independently, causing the vehicle to roll away. The contact also stated that the rear passenger side door handle became defective, making it impossible to open the vehicle door from the interior of the vehicle and the ABS, esp and traction control lights were illuminated on the instrument panel. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failures. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 101,000.....updated 06/18/12 the consumer also stated there was a problem with the control arm on the vehicle and because of the widespread problem a recall as issued. The consumer was then informed the recall was old, and her VIN was not included. The vehicle would loose power suddenly after driving forward, the windows would make a dragging noise, even though the dealer replace, the wheel speed sensor was replaced, the interior door handle on the passenger side was inoperative. The check engine light illuminated several times. Updated 06/22/12 updated 6/25/12 updated 06/29/12

- Canon City, CO, USA

problem #18

Apr 172010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated she took the vehicle in for a routine maintenance regarding the brakes. The mechanic noticed rust and corrosion underneath the carriage and on the brakes. The mechanic replaced the rotors and brake pads at the owners expense for $600. The vehicle was taken back to the mechanic for another routine maintenance within 14 months. The mechanic informed her that the left rear axle was covered with rust and corrosion. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the rust and stated there were no recalls for the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage 6,200. Updated 03/14/12 the consumer stated while driving the anti-lock brake light illuminated and the brakes started vibrating. The dealer found all four rotors were corroded and all four pads were worn. Updated 03/30/12

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 062011

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The esp bas, traction control, and ABS lights come one randomly...could be driving, in park, going 20 mph...has been going on now since April...dealership says they cant do anything unless the lights are on/active...this morning my brakes tried to give out on me and it really scared me...I am a mother and need to trust that I paid for a reliable vehicle...after reading about 30 different forums I am not the only one that is having this problem...this needs to get fixed immediately please.

- Sour Lake, TX, USA

problem #16

Sep 162009

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
In response to all the complaints of ABS light and brakes feeling like they won't work. I had this problem and was at the dealership a lot over the last 2 years. It turned out to be a burnt wire! I have not had any problems in the last 3 months (which is a long time for this car)!. please tell your mechanic to check the brake sensor (ABS sensor) wires!!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 012006

Liberty

  • 100,344 miles
Dashboard lights for ABS, electronic stability control, and traction control came on and stayed lit and I was able to reset after turning the motor off.

- Union Pier, MI, USA

problem #14

Jul 162010

Liberty

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife drove into driveway I noted left rear wheel, smoking, when approached, could feel heat, because of relation two gas tank, sprayed wheel with water hose, with steam coming from wheel, took vehicle two Dodge /Jeep dealership, paris, Texas next day they kept vehicle three days, after ordering parts out of dallas, took vehicle home next week same problem, same time in shop, following week same problem, this time I requested Chrysler be notified as I was afraid of a fire, a week later and after over$ $800 in cost, no more problems, vehicle 2006 Jeep Liberty don, T know what repairs was made " what parts was replaced" I do not think they knew what the problem was as they ask permission to drive vehicle home at night, to assist with diagnosis of problem, never explained to me what was wrong.

- Paris, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 302010

Liberty

  • 67,000 miles
ABS/esp electronic stability control problem. Vehicles started braking causing uncontrollable swerving on highway, which my newborn twins in the back seat. This seems to be a big issue with Jeep. Vehicle will brake hard on a tire while traveling at highway speeds thinking that there is tire traction slippage.

- Cuddebackville, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 102010

Liberty

  • 60,000 miles
Replaced 3 windows that would not stay closed (common problem). Went to dealer for an oil change found out that all 5 (or 6) break hoses were about to burst and car was unsafe to drive. No fault of my own but Jeep has "no idea" how it happened! kept my car for 4 weeks! now the key gets stuck in the ignition every time I turn off the car! car's a lemon!!!

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Mar 252009

Liberty

  • 55,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Jeep Liberty sport and I have been having a problem lately with the brakes as if they will not stop, it has a toggling feel under your foot when you press the brakes to come to a complete stop as if it will give way and not stop, I've been told before I got on line that it may be the ABS, or the anti brakes, but I called the Jeep dealer ship and he said that they do not have a recall on my vehicle going by the last eight digits of my serial number, I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and I would like for them to do something about it or at least check it. Before they will check it, I will have to pay them. I read the recall information and I am having the same problem with my 2006 Jeep Liberty sport and he can say that my Jeep is not on recall what's up with that. Do I have to be killed in this vehicle for them to even check it. Or injure someone else because they don't want to do their job. I will be taking my Jeep to E-Ford in florence SC to be checked at my expense which I feel is not right. But I care more about my life than they do I guess.

- Darlington, SC, USA

problem #10

Aug 032009

Liberty

  • 43,420 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent problem with ABS/electronic stability system setting warning lights on dash and disabling ABS/esp. Warning lights illuminate, and turn off randomly. Malfunction has now lead to failure of ABS, causing loss of vehicle control while braking. ABS cycled without need, and improperly, causing uneven braking and violent, uncontrolled swerving of vehicle. Required removal of ABS pump fuse to make vehicle drivable again. This occurred under normal braking from ~45mph to a red light. Had this occurred at freeway speeds, or under an emergency stop, there would have almost certainly been an accident. Owner forums report this as a common problem.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 202009

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
The consumer was driving when the vehicle suddenly accelerated to 65 mph. No amount of pushing on the brakes made the car stop. She was going down a mountain, whizzed past a stop sign, and went around another curve until she came to a major state road with lots of speeding cars. She had to make a decision either to try to merge onto the road or plow into the mountain. She plowed into the mountain and came to a stop where she hit a stop sign at the end of the road inches from the ongoing traffic. Both of her feet were on the brakes the entire time. The vehicle flipped on its side and the engine was still roaring.

- Riner, VA, USA

problem #8

Dec 112008

Liberty

  • 48,870 miles
When changing brake pads, I noticed a bubble on the side of the brake line. All 4 brake lines were involved. The bubble was on the rubber portion of the line close to the caliper. I made an appointment with the local dealership to have the lines replaced. Their inspection identified a fifth line with a rupture also. All were replaced. Since this is a safety component I asked if Jeep was replacing the parts and was informed it was not covered by them or my extended warranty. This vehicle is a 2006 Jeep Liberty and had 48,870 miles at the time.

- Annandale, MN, USA

problem #7

Oct 172008

Liberty

  • 25,000 miles
This is my third complaint for the same on -going problem. The ABS/bas, esp lamp will come on when going 45-50 mph or medium acceleration. At various time the engine will lose power. Jeep Liberty has been taken back three times to dealer. They said they are unable to dupilcate problem as the problem must ne active. The codes are present, but not active. I've written Chrysler/Jeep with not help or assistance. Vehicle is still under factory warranty.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 092008

Liberty

  • 24,888 miles
This is my second time in the last two weeks for the same problem. My last complaint was the ABS/bas, esp lamp coming on. My 2006 Jeep Liberty was at the dealership for 1-1/2 weeks. The dealer says the codes are stored, but they must be active to locate the problem. The day after picking up my Jeep Liberty, I was driving on the vehicle on the highway at 45-50 mph, the same lamps came on. Now I afraid to drive the vehicle for fear of the brake system. My vehicle only has 24,888. I recently wrote to Chrysler to complain.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #5

Jun 022008

Liberty

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact took his vehicle to the dealer for general maintenance and was informed that all four brakes needed to be replaced. It would cost $493 to repair the brakes. NHTSA campaign id number 06V493000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module) was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 15,000. Updated 06/25/08 the consumer stated the ABS, traction control, osp, bsp warning lights had illuminted on the dashboard. The tire pressure warning light illuminatd. It was discovered the right front tire had low tire pressure. Updated

- East Barre, VT, USA

problem #4

Apr 252006

Liberty 4-cyl

  • 12,571 miles
I had to replace rear brakes after just 12,000 miles on my brand new 06 Jeep Liberty. Those brakes should last at least 80,000 miles. The service manager told me that they did not find anything wrong with my brakes, so they installed back the old calipers and the old rotors. They have replaced just the brake pads, but not under warranty. They consider that "a normal wear". there is a mechanical problem that wears the rear brakes that fast and the dealer does not want to fix it. Thank you!

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #3

May 012007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4. The contact stated that the brake pedal went directly to the floor when he depressed the pedal. When he depressed the brake pedal while the vehicle was in drive, the brake pedal went to the floor as well. The dealer stated that this is a common issue with a diesel motored vehicle and he was issued reference number 16527339. The current mileage is 23,470 and failure mileage was 22,000.

- Eagle River, WI, USA

problem #2

Mar 152007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,500 miles
TL *- the contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Jeep Liberty 4X4. The vehicle was making a loud noise when the brakes were engaged. The check engine light would turn on as well. The failure mileage was 6500. The dealer/mechanic could not find anything wrong with the vehicle. The current mileage was 9400.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 142007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2006 Chrysler Jeep Liberty. The contact received recall O6V288000 for the lower ball joints. The current mileage was 20,000. The dealer/mechanic replaced the steering sensor, as well as the front lower ball joints. Within a half mile after leaving the dealership the vehicle would not turn left, and she heard a grinding noise. The traction control sensor came on. The vehicle was returned to the dealer\manufacturer and the steering sensor was changed again along with the rear brake sensor. The vehicle continued to have steering problems. The contact had taken the vehicle back to the dealer/manufacturer.

- Jeffersonville, VT, USA

Not what you are looking for?