Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,201 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments

problem #17

May 072014

Liberty

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the low coolant warning indicator illuminated. The contact replenished the coolant reservoir but it automatically evaporated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Alachua , FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 222011

Liberty

  • 72,625 miles
Ac compressor had to be replaced I did not know there was a recall on it.. also the computer went on it and that was repaired on 10/11/13... I was told the spark plugs were wrong. I have never had a tune up or my spark plugs changed! unless the wrong ones were in there when I bought this brand new in September of 2006. Or possibly the Chrysler dealership did it to get a repair. Safford in springfield va. I will not stop perusing this until I have answers. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #15

Jul 172013

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles
Car will not blow out cold air but works for a moment then just hot air. Thought it needed freon but I am being told new compressor is required $700. I spoke to another mechanic who thought the clutch part is the real issue. The car is garage kept and well maintained. Replacing clutch first. I have seen several similar complaints online too. Windows 3 of 4 have dropped.

- Bolingbrook, IL, USA

problem #14

Apr 092012

Liberty

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The rear left window fell. I never received any recall letter stating there was a problem with the windows. April 2013 I came out of work to find my diver side window down. Called the dealership and they informed me that there was only two months before the recall was over. Last year I started having problems with my check engine light coming on. I was told that it could be 1 of 2 things plugs or O2 sensors. I had the plugs and the upper and lower bank O2 sensors done 9 months ago. My check engine light has gone on and off over the last 7 months. I can't afford to do the sensors every time the light goes on. I have had fuel spill problems that started about a month ago. When filling my gas tank the pump doesn't shut off fast enough and there is an overflow of gasoline. Not only is this a fire hazard but with the price of gas its a lot money wasted. Also two weeks ago my Jeep has been losing power while driving.

- Dudley, MA, USA

problem #13

Aug 252011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
This is my second complaint. Getting ready to return my 2006 Jeep Liberty (4X4) to a Jeep dealership for the 8th time. Engine hesitates, loses power and check engine light constantly comes and stays on. They have already done the following: Replaced O2 sensors, plugs (three times), run numerous diagnostics, replaced left side values, replaced left side cylinder block, replaced right side cylinder block and also replaced the left side cylinder block they replaced the time before, replaced timing housing gasket, and who knows what else. Chrysler and mechanics can't solve the problem. All my research says this engine is faulty and needs to be recalled. I have found numerous complaints about this engine and vehicle. Something needs to be done. After thousands of dollars spent, nothing has been resolved. After over two months with 5 different Chrysler case managers, they only want to give me $350 for this problem. No consumer should have to go through this, especially when the taxpayers have bailed out this company.

- Mcconnellsburg, PA, USA

problem #12

Aug 252011

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
Engine light would flash for 5-10 seconds and engine would hesitate. After this occurred 2 or 3 times the engine light would stay on. Mechanic replaced O2 sensor per engine code. Problem continued. Went to Chrysler dealership. They replaced plugs and did diagnostic. Problem continued. Went back to dealership two more times and they now said that a nhtsb said Liberty was having value problems. They replaced left side values. Two days later same problem continued. Took back to dealership, they called Chrysler and were told to replace cylinder block. Replaced block. One day later, same problem. Vehicle back to dealerhip for the 6th time and no solution. Contacted Chrysler, have had 5 different case managers and no satisfaction, just the run around.

- Mcconnellsburg, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 222010

Liberty 4WD

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2006 Jeep Liberty 3.7 liter with 34,000 miles. My wife was driving the vehicle home from work when the Jeep began to stall and the vehicle speeds up on its own. The check engine light came on and is still on and I can know longer drive it because I am afraid of it stalling in an intersection or on the highway. I took it to the local shop and they said they did a compression test and that is had bad valve springs and valves and maybe needs new heads. I am not the only person with this issue many people have had this problem and Jeep has done nothing. This seems like a major design flaw and a major safety problem I hope it doesn't take someone getting hurt for a recall to be issued. Thanks

- Boonville, IN, USA

problem #10

Jul 182010

Liberty

  • 88,000 miles
Every once in a while vehicle's engine dies at stop sign/ red light or when making a turn. May go for several days without the problem, and then it happens several times in one day. Seems to happen more on hot days, in the afternoon. Considering replacing crank shaft and camshaft position sensors. Have found several reports online with the same problem.

- Kitty Hawk, NC, USA

problem #9

Jan 032009

Liberty

  • 11,800 miles
Hello, I bought a 2006 Jeep Cherokee sport in romania kj / LE85 (the Liberty 4X4 Jeep for europe), from casa auto romania: / 7 February 2007. My technical problems with this car, still in warranty (2 years warranty in romania) are: -the esp/bas warning lamp comes on continuously with engine running, the light remains on at speeds greater than 30mps. First, this problem was randomly appearing, but now it appears each time I am driving on highway with speeds greater than 30 miles/H. -2 times my engine lost power for no reason; -the fuel consumption urban: Ca 17 L / 100 km; -the fuel consumption extra urban: Ca 12 / /100 km. My car is for the second time in the service in the last 6 weeks for the same problem " electronic stability control, the primary safety system of this vehicle. First time, after 3 weeks they said they fixed the problem. I brought it back next day with the same problem. My car is still in service. My great problem is that my authorized dealer is unable or don't want to fix these problems, waiting to expire the warranty of my car ? in few days. They don?T want to offer warranty for the pieces they replaced, they say the warranty of this pieces replaced expires with the warranty of the car. I'm afraid this problem is unsolvable for Chrysler llc, and my car is an unsafe car. Also, I want you to help me with the serial number of the components of my car: Wind screen, battery, pistons, ?. I found this links on internet with 2006 Liberty Jeep owners with the same unsolvable problem. jeephorizons.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?T=6836&sid=9F0A35885eee4cb496bf50E84284D105 jeephorizons.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?T=10382 jeephorizons.com/phpbb/"F=8.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 172008

Liberty

  • 25,000 miles
This is my third complaint for the same on -going problem. The ABS/bas, esp lamp will come on when going 45-50 mph or medium acceleration. At various time the engine will lose power. Jeep Liberty has been taken back three times to dealer. They said they are unable to dupilcate problem as the problem must ne active. The codes are present, but not active. I've written Chrysler/Jeep with not help or assistance. Vehicle is still under factory warranty.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #7

Jul 102008

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 44,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle stalled. While driving at any speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle inspected. The current and failure mileages were 44,500. Updated 07/29/08. Updated 08/06/08

- Spring , TX, USA

problem #6

Mar 202008

Liberty 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine stopped, coasted to curb, vehicle burst in to flames. Total loss.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 042007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the engine failed without warning on three different occasions. The failure occurred while driving 20 mph and almost caused him to crash. The vehicle was inspected by a Jeep dealer twice and stated that the sensor for the boost was the cause of failure. The dealer stated that they cleaned the sensor. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current mileage was 28,000 and failure mileage was 25,000.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jun 052007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,100 miles
The contact leases a 2006 Jeep Liberty. While driving 55 mph, the steering wheel began to lock and the temperature gauge increased. The contact was able to pull off the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the tension belt was failing. The weather was hot and humid with a temperature of approximately 60-70 degrees. The current mileage is 13,200 and failure mileage was 13,100. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08

- Bridgewater, CT, USA

problem #3

May 242006

Liberty 4WD Diesel

  • miles
My client, pablo E. coelho, bought a Jeep Liberty sport 4X4 in argentina for the sum of usd 40,000 and had several problems. Finally the seller change it for a new Jeep last year. With the new Jeep we are experiencing more problems than with the first one and there are more than three recalls incomplete and the seller is not giving us any notice of them neither any solutions to all these problems. The last recall is described as a safety recall and it is stating that the blower motor may overheat and cause an interior fire. This Jeep is not safe to drive and I do not want to have my client nor any third party injured. I will really appreciate if you can help me to have this solved asap.

- Road Town, Bvi, 00, USA

problem #2

Jan 112007

Liberty 4WD 4-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,800 miles
Description : the vehicle is a 2006 Jeep Liberty 4X4 equipped with the 2.8L crd (diesel engine). From an intersection at a complete stop, I proceeded to turn left into another street. I accelerated to approximately 15 mph when the vehicle suddenly lost. All power and would not accelerate. The engine began to hesitate and the vehicle could not go faster than 5 mph. It could only limp along at this speed while I attempted to get off the road. This created a serious condition for other drivers to attempting to avoid my vehicle until I could reach a section a that allowed me to pull-off the road. The vehicle then stalled when I came to a complete stop. I attempted to restart the vehicle after a few minutes, and it ran in a normal manner. I subsequently continued my trip without any other incidents. This is a very disconcerting defect because it exhibits no signs that allow the operator to take preventative actions to avoid possible accident during road use.

- Bourbon, MO, USA

problem #1

Aug 032006

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,600 miles
2006 Jeep Liberty was leased in February 2006. In may, the car lost power steering, power brakes and completely cut off the engine while driving on the road, unable to restart. The dealership could not figure out what was wrong with the car. Sent the car home with us after keeping it for 5 days and assured us that the car was fine. August 3, 2006 same exact problem happened while driving the car, no power steering, power brakes and car completely cut off the engine, car would not start again. Car is in dealership. They are still trying to figure out what is wrong with it.

- Mamaroneck, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?