Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #171

Sep 292014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to parts not available to repair rear structure reinforcement recall notice. According to the invoice, the recall could not be performed, due to the severity of the corrosion and Chrysler would resolve the issue in a different way. When the consumer contacted the dealer again, after not hearing anything, she was informed the repair was completed. The consumer stated no repairs were not done. Recall # 13V252000.

- Norwood, NY, USA

problem #170

Oct 012015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to dealerships failure to respond in a timely manner to rear structure reinforcement recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Westbrook, ME, USA

problem #169

Sep 012015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to no replacement parts to complete fuel tank recall notice.

- Frostburg, MD, USA

problem #168

Sep 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On September 2, 2015 I brought my 2006 Jeep Liberty in to a dealership, benson Chrysler, in greer SC for a rear structure reinforcement recall repair. After being left at the dealership for 4.5 hours, I was informed that the recall repair could not be completed due to a large amount of rust on the bolts. I was told by the manager, brad that more than one technician look at the car and determined it could not be repaired. I left the dealership in despair with major concern because the recall involves a chance of the Jeep fuel tank leaking during a rear end collision which could result in a fire. Now as a mother and wife I cannot imagine continuing to drive the vehicle knowing the at any given time I could lose my car and possibly the life of me and my family. Please help me by addressing the issue of how Chrysler plan to handle this recall. I strongly feel it should not be ignored by suggesting me to continue driving a vehicle that pose such a great danger. Your attention is greatly appreciated. Updated 11/02/15.

- Lyman, SC, USA

problem #167

Sep 012015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to gas tank recall issues. The consumer stated he has been getting the run-A-around from Chrysler with trying to get the recall performed. The consumer had an after market tow hitch installed on the vehicle. However, he was informed it was unfit/unsafe. Updated 10/27/15.

- Fresno, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #166

Jun 192013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. MA 10/26/2015

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #165

Dec 132013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/25/15 updated 06/30/15

- South Lake Tahoe, CA, USA

problem #164

Dec 202014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/13/15

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #163

Apr 012015

Liberty

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to the rear structure reinforcement recall repairs issues. The consumer stated the recall worked was done rather quickly, despite being informed the work would take fours to complete.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #162

Jan 052015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kenner, LA, USA

problem #161

Jul 282014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to dealership failure to remedy the rear structure reinforcement recall notice defect due to lack of parts.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #160

Feb 022015

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall notice. The consumer stated each time he went to the dealer, he was informed the parts were not available.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #159

Jan 072015

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Shelby Township , MI, USA

problem #158

Sep 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 05/14/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on March 4, 2015. Updated 05/28/15

- Moscow, OH, USA

problem #157

Jan 012013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
When filling up my gas tank, the fuel will spit back out. This happens at the beginning, middle, or end of when I'm fueling up. It's more like a geyser of fuel spilling back at me that gets all over me, the car, and most dangerously, all over the ground of the gas station. It happens nearly every time I fill up. It doesn't matter what gas station I am at, or how I'm positioning the hose. This has been happening for over a year, but has gotten increasingly worse recently. Very dangerous, frightening, and bad for the environment.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #156

Dec 082014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
When filling the vehicle, fuel comes splashing out of the filler neck all over the side of the vehicle and possibly anyone standing too close. I feel this is a huge safety issue as the amount of fuel and vapors splashed out is a big fire risk. Does someone need to be badly burnt or killed before this gets fixed?

- Columbus, NE, USA

problem #155

Oct 202014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the delay and could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #154

Sep 242014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Jeep Liberty consumer says it took two years to get the parts

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #153

Oct 122013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #152

Nov 122014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to specify when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 12/19/14 the recall was completed on December 8, 2014. Updated 01/08/15

- Pottstown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?