Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Jeep Liberty suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Aug 152013

Liberty

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The vehicle was parked when the contact moved the steering wheel and heard a noise from the front of the vehicle. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the ball joints were split. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #20

Aug 232013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 121,835 miles
Lower ball joint failure caused loss of control of the vehicle, wheel separation, tire damage, and lower control arm damage.

- Marshall, VA, USA

problem #19

May 092013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The ball joints are going bad. I was told by the dealership that my VIN number isn't included in the recall. However, it's the same exact problem that is covered by the recall. This is ridiculous. Jeep refuses to do anything about this problem when contacted. How did they get away with such a narrow recall?

- Mount Berry, GA, USA

problem #18

Apr 112013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Jeep Liberty crd. Upper ball joint failure: Turning into parking spot, steering got real soft, and a lack of steering control occurred. Left front spindle and tire assembly fell away from vehicle ripping front brake line open. Never mind that front brakes account for 70% of braking force. Pivoting from lower ball joint. Rim/tire/spindle ended up at a 45 degree angle or more from vertical. Gouged rim and inner tire. Displaced wheel weights. 2006 Jeep Liberty crd. Upper ball joint failure on outer part of a arm assembly, collection of rust and degraded grease consistency of moist dirt. Rubber boot (on ball joint) intact and undamaged. Note: This is a non greaseable ball joint assembly.

- Bend , OR, USA

problem #17

May 012013

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Had lower ball joints replaced due to recall notice. The upper ball joints are deteriorating just like the lower ball joints. The same exact problem that the lower ball joints were experiencing, the upper ball joints are also doing. This is a safety issue. The Jeep Liberty has serious suspension problems. When I spoke to the Jeep/Chrysler cooperation, they were unwilling to assist in fixing the problem. When completing research, this seems to be a common problem with 2006 Jeep liberties. Jeep fails to recognize that the upper balls joints are subject to the same corrosion problems as the lower ball joints. I am very disappointed in the Jeep company for the lack of attention and assistance for such a major safety issue.

- Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Mar 232013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I made an appointment on 23 March 2013 with the local williamsburg, va Chrysler to have the rear suspension lower control arms replaced on 5 April 2013. I dropped the Jeep Liberty off on 4 April 2013. I received a call at 0815 from the dealership stating that they did not have the part in and that they would have to order it and it could be in on Monday 8 April 2013. I had already taken a day off from work to get this done. I went in to pick up the Jeep and spoke to [xxx] at the williamsburg, va Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge/Kia dealership and wanted to know why it they did not have the part in. He stated that they do not have that part in stock and that he would not order the part until the vehicle was inspected to see if it needed to be replaced. Well duh! if I received a recall notice from Chrysler stating that the part needs to be replaced then the part should be ordered and waiting for me. The dealership already has a bad reputation with local mechanics. Definitely calling coprate to report the poor service. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #15

Nov 152012

Liberty

  • 79,143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that after receiving repairs under NHTSA campaign number: 12V085000 (suspension), the vehicle started to emit a loud abnormal noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the upper control arms, springs and rear shocks were defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 79,143 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #14

Dec 102012

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that she attempted to schedule repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V085000 (suspension:rear) but was informed by the dealer that the parts were on back order due to complications with the overseas factory. The dealer also informed the contact that the part would not be available for one to two months and she would be notified when it arrived. The recall started March 5, 2012 and the contact stated that the remedy should have been readily available. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #13

Oct 292012

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
A loud "bang" was heard. Front driver end tilted and down on tire. Lower ball joint failed and detached and cut tire. There is a recall for this year but Chrysler said not this VIN # but it is the exact thing that happened that is described in the recall.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 112011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The ball joint on the front left side broke, causing multiple damage. It occurred again February 2011 on the left side. Luckily, we were not driving at the time it occurred. Most recently, the front ball joint broke again causing $900 in damages. The Chrysler group has refused to take ownership of the recurring default.

- Rosedale, IN, USA

problem #11

Feb 012011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took car in for rear steering arm recall. Was having a recurrent shimmy on front drivers side and a squeaking noise. Had U joint bolts previously replaced and brakes and rotors replaced in late October 2011. Rotors again replaced in Feb.2012 due to warping and again replaced due to warping in Sept.2012. When I took the car in for rear steering control arm recall they found the same issue with the front passenger side control arm. Has anyone else had this problem" the front control arms have not been recalled. Less than a month has gone by and I am starting to feel a shimmy again. Do not feel safe in this car anymore. Car is garage kept and up to date with scheduled maintenance. Also part-time light on dash randomly flashes on and off. How long until the drivers side control arm needs to be replaced"

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #10

Aug 082012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice that my vehicles rear suspension lower control arms could break without warning and cause a crash. However, the dealerships are out of the part to replace this part and they are on back order with no time frame of when they will get the product in. This is my family vehicle and I have no alternative vehicle to drive in the meantime.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 152012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 53,647 miles
I got a notice for a recall for the rear suspension two weeks a go, last week I made an appt with my dealership for Monday the 16th, but Sunday I was driving to work which is a mile aways going ten mph, I was getting ready to park, but then my front end started to rattle, then my steering wheel was shaken, then I heard a snap lost control of my vehicle, and struck a light pole in the parking lot of my work, I got out and me, the cop, my husband, my boss, my dad, the tow truck company was looking underneath my vehicle and the suspension control arm was snapped in half, a clean straight snap, and my lower ball joint was busted, it also caused damaged to my front end, knocked my front alignment out, it bent my rim up smashed my left lights, busted my struts, and the knuckle, my air bagged didn't deploy to low mile crash, my chest where the seat belt was is bruised, and I have a gauge missing on top of my hand where my hand got wrapped a round the steering wheel, there was a recall back in 2006 for this issue of the suspension control arm and lower ball joint which caused my crashed and the previous owner had it taken care of back in March of 2007, they think that it was another defected suspension control arm and ball joint put on, I also was telling the police and others I was planning on going on the highway when I got of work, if I drove on the highway when this happen I would of been dead, or what happens if my kids were in the vehicle or someone was crossing the street, I take these things very serious, and I'm not happy I got hurt because of someone putting another defect part on, and I told Chrysler, the dealership, and my insurance company I'm not paying for any of the damaged and for someone's neglect, someone really needs to get all these recalls and parts check, it seems to be alot of issues with Jeep Liberty, I love my Jeep but not the problems it's having.

- Lakewood, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 012012

Liberty

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the upper passenger and driver side control arms failed. While driving 30 mph there was a loud noise coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who inspected the noise and discovered that the upper passenger and driver side control arms needed to be replaced. The dealer informed her of a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 06V288000 (suspension: Front: Control arm: Lower ball joint) but her VIN was not included in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was notified who stated they only issued the recalls to salt states and offered no other assistance. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Perkinston, MS, USA

problem #7

May 112012

Liberty

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact was driving approximately 25-30 mph when the rear passenger side of the vehicle began to sway abnormally. The contact was able to coast the vehicle off the roadway and discovered that the rear axle control arm was corroded and had fractured in half. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 72,000.

- Irvine , KY, USA

problem #6

Feb 202012

Liberty

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated the driver was driving 5 mph when the rear end of the vehicle swayed back and forth. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who confirmed the lower control arm needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 65,000.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #5

Jan 042010

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have purchased 2 sets of tires. The first set was at about 65,000 when I noticed that the front tires were being worn on the inside. I've rotated my tires when required. The dealer suggested I get a front end alignment. I did that and had another set of tires put on the front end and those on the front rotated to the rear. Now, the new tires are showing wear on the inner part of the tires just like the others. The tire dealer suggested it may be the suspension. I notice there was a recall on 2006 Jeep for suspension. Why wasn't mine included?

- Martinsburg, WV, USA

problem #4

Apr 172010

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated she took the vehicle in for a routine maintenance regarding the brakes. The mechanic noticed rust and corrosion underneath the carriage and on the brakes. The mechanic replaced the rotors and brake pads at the owners expense for $600. The vehicle was taken back to the mechanic for another routine maintenance within 14 months. The mechanic informed her that the left rear axle was covered with rust and corrosion. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the rust and stated there were no recalls for the failure. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage 6,200. Updated 03/14/12 the consumer stated while driving the anti-lock brake light illuminated and the brakes started vibrating. The dealer found all four rotors were corroded and all four pads were worn. Updated 03/30/12

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #3

Oct 212011

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
The front ball joint has completely broken, and the other three are in bad shape as well. There was a recall for almost 900,000 Jeep Liberty's manufactured between 2002-2006, but mine was not on the list for some reason unbeknownst to me. The car has only 40,000 miles on it, and there is absolutely no reason my car would not be included in recall id #57136.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #2

Jan 212009

Liberty

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Jeep Liberty. Whenever the vehicle would warm up, the vehicle made a clinging sound that appeared to originate from the blower. Within three days, the sound worsened and the steering became stiff. The vehicle would veer to the left or right and was severely out of alignment. She took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that both of the wheel bearings needed to be replaced and that it was very uncommon for both wheel bearings to become defective. It was assumed that the wheel bearings were originally defective. The wheel bearings were replaced by the dealer, but she believes that a recall should be issued. The current and failure mileages were 70,000.

- Wayland, NY, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?