Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,982 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Liberty fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #106

Nov 032015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,034 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. While the vehicle was being fueled, fuel splashed out of the fuel neck without warning. The fuel cap was placed onto the fuel neck and fuel leaked out of the vehicle. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vent tube and filler tube failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was approximately 111,034. Updated 02/18/16 updated 02/22/16.

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #105

Oct 082014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. While driving approximately 55 mph, the contact heard an abnormal grinding sound coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle made a vibrating motion. The failure recurred several times intermittently. The contact also stated that there was a knocking sound from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. The consumer was informed there was a knocking noise coming from the engine. The windows regulators were replaced several times, gas over flows, when pumping gas. Updated 07/20/15.

- Waycroff, GA, USA

problem #104

Oct 242014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/8/15 the consumer stated the recall was completed on May 22, 2015. Updated 06/11/15

- Haysi, VA, USA

problem #103

Jul 122013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on May 18, 2015. Updated 07/09/15

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #102

Nov 032014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system) in November of 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/19/15

- St. Louis, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #101

Mar 022015

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Liberty. Consumer writes in regards to rear structure reinforcement recall notice. The consumer stated the dealer refused to address the matter in a reasonable time. The consumer was informed the part was not available.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #100

Sep 152014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a safety recall notice # N46/NHTSA 13V-252 last year stating the fuel tank on my vehicle has a chance of experiencing a fuel leak and requires inspection and installation of an oem trailer hitch, free of charge to better manage crash forces in low-speed impacts. Over the course of several months, I have made several attempts to resolve this matter with the following dealer with no success. I am repeatedly told the "parts are still not in", so they cannot help me. It has now been over 6 months with no resolution. Tuttle-click 40 auto center drive irvine, ca 949-472-7400

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #99

Apr 302007

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Jeep Liberty safety recall-trailer hitch reimbursement. The consumer stated Chrysler denied his request for reimbursement for the trailer hitch he had installed.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #98

Jan 152013

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 02-03-15 the consumer stated the recall repair was completed. Updated 02/18/15...updated 05/14/15

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #97

Jun 192013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #96

Dec 112014

Liberty

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ennice, NC, USA

problem #95

Dec 012014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
Chrysler Jeep safety recall notification the fuel tank on your vehicle has a small chance of experiencing a fuel leak during certain types of rear end collisions. The consumer stated it has been over a year since she received the recall, and the parts were still nt available. Recall# 13V252000.

- Eagan, MN, USA

problem #94

Dec 262012

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
My gas tank overflows wont shut off at the pump been recalled 2 times I took it in set there for about 2 hours they said they would get in touch with me been months again twin city Dodge in lafayette suppose to put a hitch behind tank.

- Frankfort, IN, USA

problem #93

Dec 102013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #92

Nov 072014

Liberty

  • 81,000 miles
13V252000 as per this recall I received a letter 7 months ago that Jeep, Chrysler would contact me when the hitch was available. Last month I received a letter to contact the dealer.I did this, then I find out this part is backordered. After contacting the dealer and Chrysler I have no answer. Now I am filing a complaint with you. In a press release Chrysler said few people are coming in and the part is available. Something is wrong here and my I feel unsafe in this product and do not trust this company !.

- Evans City, PA, USA

problem #91

Oct 102014

Liberty 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I'm still waiting to have recall repair done, waiting on list since,10/10/2014, not getting any closer on list, still 75 people on list before me, per dealer, (B&B Dodge, honesdale, pa) doing maybe 1 a week, they have to work them in with regular work, that's 1.4 years, driving in a potential tragedy! to me this means taking paying customers, before people in danger!!! at this rate my daughter, and my new grand daughter will be riding in a dangerous vehicle for months, maybe a year. My grand daughter will be riding in her [child safety seat], inside her [unsafe car] !!!

- Honesdale, PA, USA

problem #90

Nov 182014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer stated that the parts were available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chester, MD, USA

problem #89

Nov 182013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the contact was on a waiting list and the part was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Jeddo, MI, USA

problem #88

Aug 012014

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline, structure). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- North Salem , NY, USA

problem #87

Sep 022013

Liberty

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Liberty. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V252000 (fuel system, gasoline and structure). However, the part needed was not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Girard, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?