Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,578 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Kia Sorento lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Kia Sorento Owner Comments

problem #9

Nov 242015

Sorento

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while going through inspection, the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. In addition, the rear brake light failed to operate. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The contact stated that the brake lights were repaired; however, the air bag was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Coldpepper, VA, USA

problem #8

Oct 152015

Sorento

  • miles
I was driving to a family members house at night. When we got there he tells me I have no lights in the back. The next day I went to the auto store and bought new lights to put in. That did not working so I went back. He hooked it up to the computer and found out it was a brake light switch. I got that replaced. I start looking up on line for another issue I am having and found out that alot of other Kia have had the same issue.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #7

Feb 072015

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • 109,000 miles
Driving down the road and all of a sudden I have no power and can not go over 25 mph. How safe is that on the highway, especially as I am driving with my kids!!!?? this has happened twice. The 1st time, it self corrected when I went to take it to the dealer to look at. This time, it has not. The lights constantly go off and on at any moments notice (real safe while driving at night)- and remain off for great lengths of time. I have had to replace the fuse that controls the fan in the engine twice already. I would shut the car off and the fan would not turn off unless I popped the hood and pulled the fuse myself and pocketed it until it was time to drive again. Not to mention major rust issues on the body of the vehicle. The cosmetic I can deal with, the losing power while on the highway I cannot. It is just a matter of time until someone is very seriously injured, or killed. The smell of exhaust comes thorugh the vents, even with normal scheduled maintenance. This car is full of dangers and I am shocked there are not recalls of these issues. In particular, the losing power while driving, and the lights turning on and off for no reason. Try googling any of this and you will be amazed how many people are dealing with the same issues. Unbelievable that these complaints have not been taken into serious consideration.

- Ypsilanti , MI, USA

problem #6

Mar 102012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Summary: Update to below problem I bought my Sorento in 2004, new. I replaced the coolant reservoir at 61000 miles due to overheating, replaced the low beam headlight bulbs on 4 occasions, tail lights on 2 occasions. My vehicle, 5 speed manual transmission, started to have a roaring noise approx. 6 months ago and the U-joints were replaced. It still roars. It quit running on 2-16-12 while I was driving, but restarted. It finally quit again and would not restart on 2-17-12. Check engine light indicate a fuel pressure sensor problem, but mechanic says this should not cause the problem I presently have. It has been in the shop since 2-18-12. The mechanic said it started for him. I insisted he let it run for a while and see what happens. Sure enough, it quit. Kia mechanic told me it may be a crank or cam sensor issue. Other problems--front dome light off and on at will, rear one works, clock on and off at will, vehicle hums loudly when driving for a while. It has been a reliable vehicle for the most part, but when there is an issue, it is hard to detect. Above work was completed at a cost of 1126,00. But now crankshaft bolt broke while driving costing damage to engine heads. Vehicle went back into shop and is still waiting repairs. Kia owes it customers better service and must pay repair cost and take responsibility for the faulty crankshaft bolts they provide to the mechanics.

- Fort Walton Bch, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 162012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 120,200 miles
I bought my sarento in 2004, new. I replaced the coolant reservor at 61000 miles due to overheating, replaced the low beam headlight bulbs on 4 ocasions, tail lights on 2 ocasions. My vehicle, 5 speed manual transmission, started to have a roaring noise approx. 6 months ago and the U-joints were replaced. It still roars. It quit running on 2-16-12 while I was driving, but restarted. It finally quit again and would not restart on 2-17-12. Check engine light indicate a fuel pressure sensor problem, but mechanic says this should not cause the problem I presently have. It has been in the shop since 2-18-12. The mechanic said it started for him. I insisted he let it run for a while and see what happens. Sure enough, it quit. Kia mechanic told me it may be a crank or cam sensor issue. Other problems--front dome light off and on at will, rear one works, clock on and off at will, vehicle hums loudly when driving for a while. It has been a reliable vehicle for the most part, but when there is an issue, it is hard to detect.

- Fort Walton Beach , FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #4

Jun 042011

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
2004 Kia Sorento. The rear tail lights and front fog lights burn out frequently. This leaves me unknowingly driving at night without proper lighting. I usually find out when other drivers tell me my lights are out. There is either an electrical or fuzebox problem with the Kia Sorento from 2003-06. So far, Kia has refused to acknowledge the problem. I found many similar complaints online such as townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F14D197/.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Apr 152008

Sorento

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Headlights, taillights blow often and fake chrome plating on door inside handle peeling away and cutting fingers.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #2

Oct 212008

Sorento

  • 57,000 miles
I have a 2004 Kia sorrento with 57,000 miles. I have owned it for 2 years. The headlights and brake lights continuously go out. I have replaced each headlight 4 times in the past year and the brake lights have been replaced 5 times in the past year. This is a safety hazard as I never know when my brake lights are out unless someone stops and tells me.

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #1

Jul 062008

Sorento

  • miles
My sister purchased this vehicle new and has had nothing but problems with it and problems with dealership/Kia honoring their 10 year/100,000 mile warranty. She purchased this vehicle believing she would be driving a quality vehicle (advertising 10 year/100,000 mile warranty she assumed it must be of high quality because who would offer that kind of warranty if it was junk....wrong!) she has had nothing but stress, financial expense, lost work time, and a battle of her life trying to seek consumer justice...dealership, Kia motors, lemon law requires a part to fail four times, attorney generals office, conciliation court, writing to ruukivina, oberstar, and most recently amy klobuchar...all failed. No one has said that they will investigate Kia and protect the consumers from this fraudulent automobile manufacturer. Why? the problems she has had with her vehicle consist of rust on the tailgate and rear doors just a few months after purchasing, all kinds of electrical problems from headlights and tail lights burning out numerous times, the digital dash for radio and heater going black, the heater not work, a relay switch for fan failed, foam between windshield and frame coming out tapping on the window, a problem with the coolant reservoir, the rear driveshaft failed, the transmission had to be replaced and most recently the transfer case. Safety issues and concerns would be with tail lights and headlights burning out prematurely and frequently and the crankshaft bolt broke causing to loose all ability to steer the vehicle. There are probably other problems she has had with the vehicle but I do not recall at this time.

- Eveleth, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?