If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
94,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jul 232015

Sorento

  • 119,248 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in rural eastern Colorado when the battery and brake warning lights came on. Drove on to the next town with a repair shop (brush, co) and checked under the hood. Belts were loose and the bottom pulley was lying in the bottom of the engine compartment. Had to have it towed 70 miles to the Kia dealership in windsor, co ($375). They did the repair and charged $1303.85. Had to rent a car while the repair was completed ($343.57). Harmonic balancer had failed and caused damage to timing belt, tensioner, crank sprocket, etc.

- Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #36

May 082013

Sorento

  • 135,680 miles
Crank shaft bolt broke three separate times (2nd time Jan. 21, 2015; 3rd time July 3, 2015) after repairs made. The last time, the car was considered irreparable due to the inevitability of failure due to faulty design of the factory made crank shaft bolt. Whole new engine needed for complete repair.

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #35

Jun 052015

Sorento

  • 106,000 miles
I was driving though a parking lot on late Friday afternoon and heard a rattling noise coming from under the hood so after I parked I popped the hood and also started to here a squeaking noise (belts rubbing), so I drove home and parked it until Monday when I took it to a local shop and they said it sounded like a pulley for the timing belt, they got it in on Wednesday and called to have me come take a look at what was causing the noises when I got there they explained that it was the crankshaft bolt that held the fly wheel on and there where two options (1)I could drive it until the bolt snapped or (2) they could try and break the bolt loose and replace it, so we went with option number 2 and after about 5 hours I got a call telling me that the bolt had snapped and they had tried welding a new bolt on to try and break the rest of it loose, and they had tried to drill out the bolt but with no luck, they then gave me an estimate to replace the engine with a re-manufactured engine the estimate was $6,900 before tax, so I called Kia corporate and they took a week to come back and tell me due to the age, the millage, and not the original owner they would not pay to replace the engine so now I'm going to join the class action law suit. Very bad engineering design to think 1 seer pin could hold that bolt plus it sounds like they are using a deep thread skinny shaft bolt witch means the threads are holding a 15-20lbs fly wheel when that seer pin snaps, very disappointed in Kia, will never buy there cars again

- Indianola , IA, USA

problem #34

Jun 182015

Sorento

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that when the key was turned to the off position and removed, the vehicle failed to shut off. The contact removed the battery from the vehicle, but the vehicle continued to run. The contact then removed an air mask valve that caused the engine to shut off. The vehicle was unable to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000. The VIN was not provided.

- St Charles, MA, USA

problem #33

Aug 212014

Sorento

  • 58,000 miles
I have a 2005 Kia Sorento and last August I was coming to a stop at a very busy intersection and my car made a very loud clanking bang sound. My car died, my battery, brake and engine light came on. I turned the key and it started and I was able to get it off the road but my power steering was gone. I had it towed to a garage that said they would not fix it because it was to intense (cost $150), so I had it towed to another. An ase certified Chevrolet dealership and they told me it should be covered under my warranty because it was part of the power train and I had less than 60,000 miles on my vehicle- my crankshaft bolt was sheared completely off (no charge). They and I contacted Kia, Kia had me tow it to them (which is 50 minutes away). They then told me it was not covered, and the part was $10.97, however the work involved to fix it was a lot more extensive and gave me an estimate of $650-$750! it cost me $650 plus all my towing costs ($240). I could have saved the towing cost and had the Chevrolet dealership fix it since I had to pay for it! now, not even a year later, I bring my Sorento to the Chevrolet dealer for an oil change and the mechanic asked me to come look at my driver side trailing arm bracket. It is completely rusted and no longer attached and the other side isn't in good shape either. They tell me it will cost hundreds of dollars to fix it and I really should contact Kia because this should not have happened. I decided to research this and it appears that both of these issues are common and unsafe. I am waiting to hear back from Kia now on how to get this taken care of.

- Center Conway, NH, USA

problem #32

Apr 232015

Sorento

  • 87,000 miles
At a stop light, I heard and felt a shudder throughout the vehicle. The brake and battery light came on immediately after the shudder. The engine continued to run normally. Proceeding through the intersection, I experienced the loss of power steering making the car very difficult to control. Managed to get the vehicle to a nearby parking lot where I called for a tow to the Kia dealer. Dealer confirmed a sheared crank shaft bolt. Incident occurred on a busy state highway during rush hour. Speed limit is 45 mph on this stretch of road and very busy at rush hour. Had the vehicle been in motion at the time of the part failure there would have been an accident.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #31

Mar 152014

Sorento

  • 106,510 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During my trip home from a local outing I noticed my battery light flashing intermittently. As I got closer to home the light became more steady steering became more difficult. I had a good guess what the problem was due to the fact that I've had this same issue twice in the last eight months. I made it home safely and had my vehicle towed a few days later to a repair shop. I was not at all surprised when the mechanic told me I had a crank shaft problem. This is something Kia has known about for years and should have scheduled a recall to repair this issue. I might not be here today if I was traveling on the highway at a faster speed.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #30

Mar 232015

Sorento

  • 55,606 miles
Vehicle died while driving, then would not crank over. Had towed to dealer. Vehicle was no longer covered by warranty. Dealer replaced cam and crank sensors, timing belt, crank bolt and badly fraying accessory drive belt.

- Altoona, IA, USA

problem #29

Mar 062015

Sorento

  • 120,000 miles
Driving apporox 55mph, my lights seemed to dim then my battery and brake light came on. I immediately turned my heater, radio, dashboeard lights and lights to low. I continued driving for nothing else seemed to be wrong and was going to pulll over when I noticed my power steering also was not working. I was able to get myself to a safe place to stop and put the car in park, it began making an odd sound (thinking a possible belt) it then made a popping sound thinking I broke a serpentine belt, I then turned the engine off and had my mechanic look at it. He said the crankshaft bolt had broken off and was an estimated $3000+ repair. I have also had issues with crankshaft sensor which caused my car to not turn over without a jump. After that was repaired I had to buy a new battery that prior to the winter season tested out to be good. Ihave also been told I need to replace a spark plug which could cost hundreds to replace because of the location. I have to replace headlights/taillights more than normal.I have seem to have issues with allignment and have put 2 sets of tires on after noticing abnormal wear on the insides, ive had it alligned twice. I still owe $6100 on a car that I would have to put $3000 into and now have nothing to drive!

- Williamsfield, OH, USA

problem #28

Jan 052015

Sorento

  • 149,000 miles
On July 13th 2013 I started financing a 2005 Kia sorrento LX from a dealership in pinellas park, Florida called E-Z car credit. During the first month of financing the car had to be serviced for many different reasons. Over the last year and a half of financing the problems have gotten worse an more expensive. Problems include but not limited to: Overheating, bad sensors, front end alignment, new water hoses, new water reservoir, thermostat, power steering, electrical. An then we come to the most recent problem. The one 1,000S upon 1,000S of customers have been having "catastrophic engine failure" broken push rods, cams destroyed, valves, pistons. Estimated cost $4000. An now that I have $7,000 invested and owe another $5,000 on my loan I am joining the class action lawsuit against Kia motors.

- Madeira Beach , FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 042014

Sorento

  • 118,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stopped waiting to turn into a fast food place when I let off the brakes to turn in, the SUV took off from 0 to 60 in a split second.when I tried to mash the brakes it would'nt go down and I couldn't stop.I ended up hitting a tree, the air bags did come out.the SUV was totaled.I contacted Kia's office and they had the SUV towed to a lot for investigation.as of this date I havent heard form Kia as to what they found out.this was the second time the Kia took off on it's own with me.I would like this accedent off my record and info as to what went wrong with the Kia.

- Silver Creek, MS, USA

problem #26

Nov 102014

Sorento

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from under the hood and the power steering seized. The contact discovered that none of the belts in the vehicle were moving. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the crank shaft damper, harmonic balancer and the gear needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Aldi, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 232014

Sorento

  • 110,000 miles
First incident-on August 16, 2014 while on vacation and driving from Virginia to Chicago ill, the vehicle start making a rattling noise coming from the front of the vehicle and warning lights came on the dash (battery, brake) and the power steering went out making the vehicle very hard to maneuver, I immediately pulled over into a fast food parking lot to check the noise and found that the harmonic balancer was loose and belts were not turning, I had the vehicle towed to a mechanic after inspection I was informed that the crank shaft gear pin had broke off to the harmonic balancer. I purchase the parts (harmonic balancer, bolt and crank shaft gear) and had the mechanic repair the vehicle and drove back to Virginia. Second incident-October 2014 while my wife was driving the vehicle, she encountered the same problems the warning lights, rattling in the front of vehicle, power steering locked unable to turn vehicle, I inspected the vehicle and saw that the harmonic balancer was loose and belts were not turning, the pin in the crank shaft gear has broken again, I had the vehicle towed to the Kia dealership in richmond, and they stated that I needed a new motor. After investigating complaints about this vehicle on line I found out that this problem is well documented with this make and year vehicle. If I or my wife had been on the highway at the time of this fault it could have been catastrophic. I also found that their is a class action suit against Kia motors addressing the exact same fault.(civil action no. 13-006 United States district court, district of New Jersey) essentially, plaintiffs claimed their vehicles were designed with a "defective crankshaft pulley bold and balancer, " which could result in "breaking off the spring guide pin, " causing "catastrophic engine failure." This vehicle is unsafe, a recall is warranted and Kia motors needs to correct the defect

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #24

Oct 142014

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,586 miles
While leaving our home to run errands, I lost power steering and several dashboard lights came on. We purchased the Kia Sorento in 2005 new and have had very few problems with it until now. It has less than 70K miles and has been serviced by the dealer every 3K miles. I had the vehicle towed to the dealer, who rather quickly diagnosed the problem as a broken crank bolt and estimated repairs would cost about $1300. The dealer checked with Kia on whether our 100K warranty would cover the repairs. Kia said this problem was not covered. At the time I didn't realize this is a fairly common problem with the Kia Sorento's. checking the comments from other Sorento owners, I have concluded this certainly appears to be a design defect. Our concern is that this could have happened in traffic at 70 mph and the loss of the ability to steer could certainly become a very serious problem, with potential fatal consequences. I am especially concerned about the number of situations that the bolt failed a second and sometimes a third time after the initial repair was made. Request serious consideration of Kia issuing a recall to remedy this design defect. Updated 01/14/15

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #23

Aug 232014

Sorento

  • 104,900 miles
On 8/23/2014 my family a I were in Chicago we traveled there on Friday 8/22/2014 from Virginia in the 2005 Kia Sorento that I just purchased in July 2014 from pearson Hyundai. While driving to my family reunion in the forest reserves the vehicle brake light and other warning lights came on, and a rattle could be heard coming from the engine, the vehicle became hard to steer and the noise from the engine became louder. I stopped the vehicle and had it towed to my families mechanic, after checking the vehicle it was found to have the pin on the crank gear broken off, and the crank bolt came loose, replaced the sprocket (crank gear), the harmonic balancer, and the bolt. I drove the vehicle back to Virginia with no problem, then on October 3, 2014 while my wife was driving in richmond, va the exact same thing happened again, (warning lights, no power steering and rattling from the harmonic balancer, I had the car towed to the Kia dealership on Friday, they finally got back with me wed, October 8, 2014 and told me that I needed a motor cause the crank shaft is blown, prior to having it towed, I saw that the harmonic balancer was doing the exact same thing it had did in Chicago and turning it I can tell that the same pin has came off the sprocket. The Kia dealership wants to sell me a used engine, same as the one that is in the Kia I have, I am reluctant to pay $5000 to replace the engine to have the same problem, that I and after further investigation a lot of Kia Sorento owners have suffered.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #22

Oct 192013

Sorento

  • 101,427 miles
The crankshaft sprocket key (pin) got loose and the sprocket displaced which chewed the timing belt and short-circuited the crankshaft sensor and fuel pump, causing $1946.03 of repair, $213.67 car rental during repair, loss of working time and stress to me with health damage. The total loss is estimated to be $3,000 at least.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #21

Jan 032014

Sorento

  • 94,000 miles
Kia Sorento 2005, similar crank bolt main pulley assembly break that many, many of the others have all been complaining about and unfortunately been experiencing. This is the third time I had this very same issue repaired for substantial dollars and now my mechanic stated there is not enough thread left into the crankshaft to fix and it needs a completely rebuild or engine replacement - which in all likelihood be less expensive. There should definitely be a recall for this - as so many have the same issue. Thank god my incidents were all at slow speed because this would easily cause a crash because you loose all power steering and control.

- Mundelien, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 222013

Sorento

  • 101,000 miles
Driving approximately 55mph 22 Nov 2013, heard a thump from engine compartment, and lost all power to vehicle, ending up in a ditch. Engine stopped, no steering, no brakes. Dash lights illuminated. Vehicle would not re-start. Crank pulley bolt broke off. Over 5 hours to extract remainder of bolt to repair engine. $1359 in repairs. Now, 22 Sept 2014, 10 months later, had same happen on highway at 70mph in heavy traffic. Thankful I was in a lane at the edge of the roadway. Current mileage slightly under 114,000. Yeah. 10 months and 13000 miles and another huge repair bill. No recall, Kia claims no liability. Other issue: Interior lighting turns itself off and on at whim. Headlights burn out every 45-90 days.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 302014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
In September 2012, traveling at 35mph my Kia came to a stop. At first glance it was determined the drive belts had unfastened and the cam shaft bolt was laying on the engine pan. After inspection at Kia service shop the specialist identified that the cam shaft bolt had sheered off due to the defective part: Cam shaft sprocket-C, part # 23120-35701 cost $60. The final suggestion was to replace the bolt set, sprocket, crank angle sensor, damper pulley, auto tensioner and all drive belts a total of $2,000 repair cost. In 2014, the cost repair is now 4,000 to replace the engine because of the same exact issue but traveling over 40mpg causing more damage. The main cause of this defect derives from the small pin attached to the sprocket that turns the harmonic balancer and grinds the steel with the force of the engine into nothing. The result of this defect causes the harmonic balancer to come lose, shearing off the crank bolt first, then if traveling at low speed will follow with the repair above, however if at high speed will result in engine damage in the valves making it necessary to replace the engine at a cost of $4,000. You may refer to the following resources for more information: The Kia Sorento engine defect class action lawsuit case is robinson el al V. Kia motors America Inc. Case no. 13-CV00006 us district court of New Jersey. For a video visual of the exact defect you may refer to youtube: www.youtube.com/watch?V=qhll55fv2Z0.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #18

Nov 142012

Sorento

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering failed without warning and the vehicle became increasingly difficult to control. The dealer stated that the camshaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Fountain, CO, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?