If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Nov 102014

Sorento

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, an abnormal noise emitted from under the hood and the power steering seized. The contact discovered that none of the belts in the vehicle were moving. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the crank shaft damper, harmonic balancer and the gear needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Aldi, VA, USA

problem #25

Aug 232014

Sorento

  • 110,000 miles
First incident-on August 16, 2014 while on vacation and driving from Virginia to Chicago ill, the vehicle start making a rattling noise coming from the front of the vehicle and warning lights came on the dash (battery, brake) and the power steering went out making the vehicle very hard to maneuver, I immediately pulled over into a fast food parking lot to check the noise and found that the harmonic balancer was loose and belts were not turning, I had the vehicle towed to a mechanic after inspection I was informed that the crank shaft gear pin had broke off to the harmonic balancer. I purchase the parts (harmonic balancer, bolt and crank shaft gear) and had the mechanic repair the vehicle and drove back to Virginia. Second incident-October 2014 while my wife was driving the vehicle, she encountered the same problems the warning lights, rattling in the front of vehicle, power steering locked unable to turn vehicle, I inspected the vehicle and saw that the harmonic balancer was loose and belts were not turning, the pin in the crank shaft gear has broken again, I had the vehicle towed to the Kia dealership in richmond, and they stated that I needed a new motor. After investigating complaints about this vehicle on line I found out that this problem is well documented with this make and year vehicle. If I or my wife had been on the highway at the time of this fault it could have been catastrophic. I also found that their is a class action suit against Kia motors addressing the exact same fault.(civil action no. 13-006 United States district court, district of New Jersey) essentially, plaintiffs claimed their vehicles were designed with a "defective crankshaft pulley bold and balancer, " which could result in "breaking off the spring guide pin, " causing "catastrophic engine failure." This vehicle is unsafe, a recall is warranted and Kia motors needs to correct the defect

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #24

Oct 142014

Sorento

  • 69,586 miles
While leaving our home to run errands, I lost power steering and several dashboard lights came on. We purchased the Kia Sorento in 2005 new and have had very few problems with it until now. It has less than 70K miles and has been serviced by the dealer every 3K miles. I had the vehicle towed to the dealer, who rather quickly diagnosed the problem as a broken crank bolt and estimated repairs would cost about $1300. The dealer checked with Kia on whether our 100K warranty would cover the repairs. Kia said this problem was not covered. At the time I didn't realize this is a fairly common problem with the Kia sorrentos. Checking the comments from other sorrento owners, I have concluded this certainly appears to be a design defect. Our concern is that this could have happened in traffic at 70 mph and the loss of the ability to steer could certainly become a very serious problem, with potential fatal consequences. I am especially concerned about the number of situations that the bolt failed a second and sometimes a third time after the initial repair was made. Request serious consideration of Kia issuing a recall to remedy this design defect.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #23

Aug 232014

Sorento

  • 104,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 8/23/2014 my family a I were in Chicago we traveled there on Friday 8/22/2014 from Virginia in the 2005 Kia Sorento that I just purchased in July 2014 from pearson Hyundai. While driving to my family reunion in the forest reserves the vehicle brake light and other warning lights came on, and a rattle could be heard coming from the engine, the vehicle became hard to steer and the noise from the engine became louder. I stopped the vehicle and had it towed to my families mechanic, after checking the vehicle it was found to have the pin on the crank gear broken off, and the crank bolt came loose, replaced the sprocket (crank gear), the harmonic balancer, and the bolt. I drove the vehicle back to Virginia with no problem, then on October 3, 2014 while my wife was driving in richmond, va the exact same thing happened again, (warning lights, no power steering and rattling from the harmonic balancer, I had the car towed to the Kia dealership on Friday, they finally got back with me wed, October 8, 2014 and told me that I needed a motor cause the crank shaft is blown, prior to having it towed, I saw that the harmonic balancer was doing the exact same thing it had did in Chicago and turning it I can tell that the same pin has came off the sprocket. The Kia dealership wants to sell me a used engine, same as the one that is in the Kia I have, I am reluctant to pay $5000 to replace the engine to have the same problem, that I and after further investigation a lot of Kia Sorento owners have suffered.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #22

Oct 192013

Sorento

  • 101,427 miles
The crankshaft sprocket key (pin) got loose and the sprocket displaced which chewed the timing belt and short-circuited the crankshaft sensor and fuel pump, causing $1946.03 of repair, $213.67 car rental during repair, loss of working time and stress to me with health damage. The total loss is estimated to be $3,000 at least.

- North Attleboro, MA, USA

problem #21

Jan 032014

Sorento

  • 94,000 miles
Kia Sorento 2005, similar crank bolt main pulley assembly break that many, many of the others have all been complaining about and unfortunately been experiencing. This is the third time I had this very same issue repaired for substantial dollars and now my mechanic stated there is not enough thread left into the crankshaft to fix and it needs a completely rebuild or engine replacement - which in all likelihood be less expensive. There should definitely be a recall for this - as so many have the same issue. Thank god my incidents were all at slow speed because this would easily cause a crash because you loose all power steering and control.

- Mundelien, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 222013

Sorento

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving approximately 55mph 22 Nov 2013, heard a thump from engine compartment, and lost all power to vehicle, ending up in a ditch. Engine stopped, no steering, no brakes. Dash lights illuminated. Vehicle would not re-start. Crank pulley bolt broke off. Over 5 hours to extract remainder of bolt to repair engine. $1359 in repairs. Now, 22 Sept 2014, 10 months later, had same happen on highway at 70mph in heavy traffic. Thankful I was in a lane at the edge of the roadway. Current mileage slightly under 114,000. Yeah. 10 months and 13000 miles and another huge repair bill. No recall, Kia claims no liability. Other issue: Interior lighting turns itself off and on at whim. Headlights burn out every 45-90 days.

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #19

Jul 302014

Sorento

  • 140,000 miles
In September 2012, traveling at 35mph my Kia came to a stop. At first glance it was determined the drive belts had unfastened and the cam shaft bolt was laying on the engine pan. After inspection at Kia service shop the specialist identified that the cam shaft bolt had sheered off due to the defective part: Cam shaft sprocket-C, part # 23120-35701 cost $60. The final suggestion was to replace the bolt set, sprocket, crank angle sensor, damper pulley, auto tensioner and all drive belts a total of $2,000 repair cost. In 2014, the cost repair is now 4,000 to replace the engine because of the same exact issue but traveling over 40mpg causing more damage. The main cause of this defect derives from the small pin attached to the sprocket that turns the harmonic balancer and grinds the steel with the force of the engine into nothing. The result of this defect causes the harmonic balancer to come lose, sheering off the crank bolt first, then if traveling at low speed will follow with the repair above, however if at high speed will result in engine damage in the valves making it necessary to replace the engine at a cost of $4,000. You may refer to the following resources for more information: The Kia Sorento engine defect class action lawsuit case is robinson el al V. Kia motors America Inc. Case no. 13-CV00006 us district court of New Jersey. For a video visual of the exact defect you may refer to youtube: www.youtube.com/watch?V=qhll55fv2Z0

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #18

Nov 142012

Sorento

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 30 mph, the power steering failed without warning and the vehicle became increasingly difficult to control. The dealer stated that the camshaft needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 117,000.

- Fountain, CO, USA

problem #17

Jul 122014

Sorento

  • miles
Daughter had cranked vechile after coming into grandmother's after her wedding getting food. She said the sterring was working properly and the motor seemed to be having alot of problems so I told her to park it and not to drive it again that I would have it towed to be looked at.my nephew looked at it said it seemed to be the bolt coming out of harmonic balancer. I bought it used but it was purchased at Kia in huntersville, N.C. from the person I purchased it from. After taking it back there to be looked at they did unauthorized work breaking the bolt off then telling me I had to be the one to replace the motor. I even went to Kia in gastonia, N.C. they didn't seemed to be concerned at all and said they would not even take it as a trade in so I started doing research as to any problems with this particular vechile.

- Dallas, NC, USA

problem #16

Jul 132009

Sorento

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From the time I got the car head lights have repeatedly burned out after a month or two, also dash lights go off randomly and flicker and then come back on when ever they decide, my power steering went out, brake light came on and A/C went out all at once. Started to overheat, so it was determined the serpentinre belt had broke, replaced belt and vibration under hood was noticeable but could not determine the source., but somewhere under the hood. Still replacing headlights every couple months, then power steering fluid started to be consumed and constantlyt required adding fluid, then had a mechanic check for leak and he replaced some hoses and clamps but vibratiion continued and eventually power steering began loud noise when car started and only when reved up would noise stop, and when A/C was on sometimes would effect the power steering noise. Replaced the powersteering pump, still the noise continued and recently the belt came off while I was driving and brake light came on, I was able to get safely off the road and didnt cause an acciedent, but very close call, belt had come off but after minor adjustment it was put back on, vibration noise has become worse, I am affraid to drive it, mechanic looked at it and said harmonic balance seems to be off and root of problem is crank shaft bolt most likely, common problem, however during the time in Kia dealership for other recall issues, crank bolt was never brought to my attention as being a problem in my year or model car, non it turns out it is a major problem and legal action has been taken by class action suit dealing with same issue

- Shandon , CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 182014

Sorento

  • 122,000 miles
The engine developed a very loud tick/knock in the motor.

- Knoxville, MD, USA

problem #14

Jun 032014

Sorento

  • 117,000 miles
I recently had to have the crank shaft sensor replaced on my 2005 Kia Sorento. This morning, driving my young son to school, I lost the steering on my vehicle. Additionally, the engine light and brake light came on. As I understand it, this is an ongoing defective issue with Kia's. this is a dangerous problem for the public as well as consumers.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #13

May 032011

Sorento

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated while driving 10 mph, the vehicle started shaking violently and making a loud noise without any warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the harmonic balancer was not properly attached to the crank shaft causing the bolt to brake. As a result, the harmonic balancer and bolt needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred twice. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 52,000 and the current mileage was 87,000.

- Midland Park, NJ, USA

problem #12

Mar 012014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 142,000 miles
I was driving on the way to work and the car lost power and shut off.... lost all ability to steer, luckily no other cars were close by. Or else there would have been a crash between us. Had it towed to a local shop. Before looking at the vehicle they immediately told me it sounded like the infamous crank shaft pulley bolt. I was at a loss for word as it sounded like its been an on going issue that needs to be address. Too many peoples lives are and can be in trouble because of it. After the local shop looked at it and confirmed it was the crank shaft pulley bolt. I was advised to talk to the local dealership because there has been a recall of the bolt. When I spoke to the parts rep a Kia, I was told there is no recalls on the bolt or anything else 2003-2006 Kia serento. They could get me a new/used motor for $4K.... seems that Kia is only in the business of putting money in their pockets while other peoples lives are at stake. For a part/piece they know is faulty. After further investigation there is a countless amount of people with the same issue. Even people covered under the 100,000 mile warranty was told its not apart of the drive drain so its not covered. I would not recommend a Kia to anyone...

- St Joseph, MO, USA

problem #11

Mar 142014

Sorento

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, there was a sudden loss of steering power and the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was diagnosed that the crankshaft pulley needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- Laurel , NY, USA

problem #10

Oct 252013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was leaving a patient's home when I got around the corner from their home, my car just shut off on me. All the lights were on in the vehicle but it would not move. After waiting for about two hours for someone to come help me in my situation. I had to have my car towed all the way from West haven to amity, where I had the car checked out by the mechanic that fixed the crankshaft bolt and other things costing me a total of $1100. The car was still under the warranty for being fixed again when the mechanic told me after having my car their for a couple of weeks that the bolt broke again and it messed up the whole bottom half of my engine. I am still making monthly payments on this car and I am completely lost as in what to do with it. Kia doesn't want anything but money and the other mechanic is calling this a recurring defect and doesn't see the point in fixing it when the car needs a new engine. I'm ready to scream my head off because I don't have money to keep throwing away on something I cant even use.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #9

Jun 102013

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 98,900 miles
As I was driving my 2005 Kia Sorento at 40mph it started bucking and when you go to accelerate you can hold the pedal to the floor and it does not pick up speed. Took it to my mechanic and his software shows a recall for this and Kia is saying there is no recall on my vehicle. His software says recalls campaign-SC073 icv replacement.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #8

Mar 252012

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 82,007 miles
My whole family was in the car driving home going approximately 40-45mph when without warning all the dash lights started coming on and all power was lost on the vehicle. We were able to move out of traffic and restart the vehicle and make it home. Vehicle was towed to dealer where we were eventually advised the crank shaft bolt shredded into our engine, and that along with some other components would have to be replaced to the tune of over $5000 dollars. We were told that because this was an outside component of the engine that this was not covered under the power train 10 year/100,000 mile warranty. I called their consumer assistance line and was very disappointed with them. This same bolt I was advised was an issue in the 2004 models, but they assured me ours was manufactured outside the faulty bolt dates (tell that to my failed bolt). I was incredibly disappointed with the lack of responsibility they are willing to take to ensure that no one is injured or worse by simply fixing a bolt. We ended up trading in the vehicle and losing a tremendous amount of money in the process.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #7

May 302013

Sorento

  • 123,000 miles
My 2005 Sorento started stalling & shutting down while driving down the hwy at 65 mph (happens at any speed). Code comes up for bad crank shaft sensor, this will be the 3rd time in 4 years I will have replaced it. This has caused some "close calls" while on the hwy, avoiding other vehicles & nearly being rear ended several times.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?