Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,299 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Kia Sorento engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Kia Sorento Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Sep 222015

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 100,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle failed to restart and was towed to the dealer. The vehicle remained at the dealer for three consecutive months to locate the failure. The cam sensor, crank sensor, and timing belt were replaced. In addition, the ECM computer was replaced. One month later, after the repair was performed, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,300...updated 02/23/16....updated 03/16/16

- Alpine, TX, USA

problem #23

Apr 082015

Sorento

  • 160,000 miles
I purchased a 2005 Kia Sorento from a dealership on Nov. 18, 2014. In January 2015 the crankshaft sensor broke. It was repaired by the dealership under warranty. On April 8th I started hearing a knocking sound so I stopped driving the vehicle and did some research to find out what the problem was. I found out that the car I had was part of a recall and there was a lawsuit for the same issue I was having with my vehicle. I purchased the parts and had the car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic has attempted to repair the car without success. I have had to rent a car and also pay daily for rides to and from work. I contacted Kia today and they stated that I would have to pay Kia to do a diagnostic test before anything can be done. I was never notified about a recall. Even though it was a few years ago, this is information that should be given to every purchaser whether new or used.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #22

Nov 302010

Sorento

  • 103,208 miles
Front drive shaft broke. Other issues and incidents include but not limited to: Induction control system broke. Harmonic balancer broke. Crank shaft timing belt sprocket, crankshaft bolt broke and throttle position sensor.

- Hagerstown, MD, USA

problem #21

Jun 292014

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crankshaft pulley came loose bolt broke Kia has a problem with this.

- Nebraska City, NE, USA

problem #20

May 202013

Sorento

  • 52,000 miles
3/2/13 had timing belt replaced @50,031 miles on my 2005 Kia Sorento to manual specs.drove from phx to nashville.5/2013 I heard a terrible squeaking sound under my hood, first thought loose belt. Went on to get it check out&as I was trying to make a right turn a few blocks from the house, my steering wheel was almost impossible to turn. Thought my power steering pump had gone out. I almost ran over 2 people crossing the street&almost hit another car. I was turning my steering wheel to the right w/all my might! everyone was honking at me & thought I was probably drunk! I was so upset. Had it towed to Kia. My power train still under warranty, am original owner&denied coverage 3X.they tried to sell me a used engine for $5K.stated they knew they could not get the broken piece of bolt out.I did some research on-line&there is many complaints w/ this problem, some have had it happen 2,3,4 X.mgr. Told me my model had the new re-designed bolt, &it was brakes plus fault when they put on the timing belt. Mgr. Said that they should have never used the old bolt&that they put on a new bolt when replacing timing belt.I heard a tsb went out regarding the bolts to all service shops to use the new re-design bolt on 03&04 models, but not 05.if I had gotten a copy of that notice, I would have made sure that whoever replaced timing belt, used new bolt. A Kia tech wrote:8/10/12 its not the bolt, it is the crank sprocket&balancer, the design of the balancer sticks out to far&weighs to much breaking off the spring guide pin.when there is a repair, we replace them everytime we do a timing belt on one.you take the crack sprocket&balancer&U add 2 more spring pins as well as drill&tap the crank&install a timesert (heavier helicoil) have not had one of these come back, if anyone is doing a timing belt I highly recommend doing this at the same time, but it will not break the bolt or sheer the guide pin.

- Brentwood, TN, USA

problem #19

Feb 072012

Sorento

  • 106,164 miles
I bought my 2005 Kia Sorento October 2011. The cost of the vehicle was $8664 and financed for $13,399.48 or 36 months. This vehicle was purchased at brick city motors, 316 broadway ave, newark, NJ 07104. A warranty for 6 months or 7500 miles was issued with it. The warranty did not cover the defect in the engine. On February 7 2012, I was driving on interstate 280 in the 3rd lane going West when the vehicle shut off. The power steering went out and I was unable to turn the hazard lights on. Thank god people were not flying or there would have been a tragic accident. I had the vehicle towed to a Kia dealership in nutley NJ. I did that because I figured it was a Kia product let their dealership repair it. The result for the problem was replaced timing belt/crankshaft gear/tensioner/pulley/idler/balancer-note: Cr damaged- jeweled key way to crank slot limited warranty on rep. The labor cost was $826 with no guarantee on parts or labor. Brick city paid for the parts and I paid for the labor. On July 15th 2012 my Kia Sorento had to be towed to Kia in nutley NJ. The rep advisor told me that I need to get rid of the vehicle while I can. I paid 50 some dollars for an oil cap to be replaced. The vehicle had shut off again like it did in Feb 2012. The rep also told me that I need a transmission. On July 26 the vehicle would not start up and a friend of mine took me to her brothers mechanic shop. The end result was that they found the crankshaft needs replacing and was bent again. On July 26, 2012, I, then went back to Kia in nutley NJ and the manager told me the work they did was not warranted and that brick city motors screwed me. I called Kia motors in woodbridge NJ and they told me the worst case scenario is that I have to pay maybe $2000 for a replacement. I am a disabled veteran permanently and totally disabled. I have to have a SUV due to daily chronic pain.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #18

Nov 212011

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,522 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that all of the instrument panel light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the crankshaft position sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The failure and the current mileage was 110,522. Updated 1/29/13 updated 2/6/2013

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #17

Aug 092011

Sorento 6-cyl

  • miles
Stripped crank shaft.

- Wylie, TX, USA

problem #16

Apr 162009

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Crankshaft position sensor has to be replaced every 2 years with no explanation and headlights being replaced every 3-4 months and dome light just quit and no explanation from Kia or dlr.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #15

Jun 152011

Sorento

  • 120,000 miles
The main crank shaft pully bolt stripped out and caused the crank shaft to start to work its way out of the motor block I talked to Kia customer service center and they said that it was not covered as a recall even though it was a main failure in the previous two years of 2003 and 2004 they said that they had fixed the problem by installing a different bolt in the 2005 model but in my opinion that is a false statement do to the fact it has failed in my 2005 Sorento telling me the problem has not been solved.

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #14

Jun 032011

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 43,560 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was backing up out of a parking spot when the power steering stopped working, I couldn't react fast enough and ended up hitting a cement pole. When I had the car towed to my mechanic I was informed that the bolt for the crankshaft had broken. ( the car has only 43,500 miles on it) when talking with Kia dealer and doing some online research I learned that this is a pretty common failure. I was told that Kia was well aware of the problem but left the dealers to fend for themselves. I don┐T understand why there hasn't been a recall, do they need someone to be killed in an accident before they consider it a problem? the NHTSA has the power to intervene and I urge you step up and address this ongoing problem.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #13

Mar 252011

Sorento

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact was driving approximately 60 -65 mph when the battery and parking brake warning lights illuminated momentarily. The contact stated that the power steering failed suddenly and caused extreme difficulty in steering capabilities. The vehicle was then inspected by an independent mechanic and they advised that the failure was the harmonic balancer bolt and that the entire engine would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Altoona, IA, USA

problem #12

Apr 032011

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
Bolt for the crankshaft pulley has sheared off twice since I bought the vehicle 5 months ago.

- Edmonton, 00, USA

problem #11

Mar 282011

Sorento

  • 77,000 miles
2005 Kia Sorento +/- 77,000 miles...while driving at a low speed the brake and battery light flashed on, lost power steering, after researching online it appears it's the dreaded crank shaft pulley/bolt defect luckily I was able to safely get off the road......1yr to payoff vehicle. Not to mention the numerous front and taillight bulb replacements. I will never buy a Kia again!!! Kia is aware of this issue and has done little to nothing about it. Are they waiting for a death to occur?

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #10

Mar 302011

Sorento

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the driver was driving approximately 50 mph in the rain, when she heard a loud clunking noise the steering wheel became very stiff and difficult to turn. During the failure, the battery light as well as various other warning lights began illuminating on the instrument panel. The vehicle was parked. The contact examined the vehicle and noticed all the engine belts were detached and a bolt was separated from the motor. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileages were 66,000.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #9

Dec 102010

Sorento

  • 64,000 miles
December 18, 2010 Kia motors America, Inc. Dear Kia this letter is to complain about an internet posted and known defect in your 2005 Kia Sorento. I recently broke down because ┐the crankshaft bolt broke off inside the engine┐. it cost me $85 to get it towed and now will run an additional $1,200+/- to repair it. From what I┐M reading on the internet when the problem is fixed there is no way of guaranteeing it won┐T happen repeatedly. Through no fault of Sorento owners as told by your service mechanic (scott) of Kia of dutchess county (NY). ┐just a bad part┐. apparently, this bolt shears off and falls inside the engine causing additional damage. Your fix supposedly, is to torque the bolt properly, well that bolt is factory torqued! I have no complaints with scott as he is courteous and trying to fix it. The issue is that this very costly factory defect in either the bolt or the engineering of the bolt specifications is and should be the responsibility of Kia motors.┐ as an owner, I am disappointed that you have turned away from your responsibility to address the factory problems as they are noted through use of your vehicles. Additionally, when the bolt breaks, and I have firsthand knowledge, the brake and battery lights appear on the dashboard and loss of power steering occurs. The sudden loss of power steering almost caused me to veer into a curb on the side of the road but could have been a lot worse. I have added (below) some of the many internet posted complaints of people with the same nightmare. And even after it's fixed there is no guarantee it won┐T continue to happen. How about some good old fashioned owning up to the responsibility of providing safe and reliable cars for people who pay thousands of dollars to purchase one of the most expensive things we will ever own!!! needless to say, I am quite frustrated and when I pick up the car totally out of money.

- Lagrangeville, NY, USA

problem #8

Nov 082010

Sorento

  • 52,000 miles
Car power steering began to fail. Power steering fluid was checked but adding fluid did not solve the problem. Vehicle failed to start, needed to be towed to mechanic. After inspection by mechanic, it was determined that the crank shaft bolt broke off from the car. Consequently this broke the timing belt and may have bent the valve rods (mechanic is in the process of taking the vehicle apart and assessing any other subsequent damage caused by the broken crank shaft bolt). The vehicle needs thousands of dollars of repairs (still being determined as to the entire scope). The bolt, timing belt and most likely valve rods will need to be replaced, along with numerous hours of labor due to the fact the engine needs to be taken apart and put back together. The old crank shaft bolt is available.

- Maple Glen, PA, USA

problem #7

May 222010

Sorento

  • 81,000 miles
Timing belt service performed by Kia dealer on 3/1/2010 @ 77105 miles. On 5/22/2010, noticed brake warning and battery warning lights on while on highway. Pulled onto next off-ramp, and noticed no power steering. I then pulled into a gas station, opened the hood, and noticed that the alternator, A/C, and main drive belt appeared to have come off of the pulleys. I was able to drive the vehicle home, and checked the next morning to see if I was able to replace the belts. I found the crankshaft pulley lying at the bottom of the engine bay. Upon further inspection, I found that the crankshaft pulley bolt had sheared off at the threads inside the crankshaft sprocket.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #6

May 092010

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Kia Sorento. While driving at 15 mph, the contact noticed that the power steering suddenly stopped functioning. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the crank shaft pulley bolt needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 72,000. Updated 07/29/10 the consumer also stated the vehicle lost steering. Updated 08/09/10

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 152010

Sorento 6-cyl

  • 78,360 miles
Earlier recall defective!!! 2005 Kia Sorento V6, had a recall of breakage of crankshaft accessory pulley bolt. New bolt from the recall has also failed. My crankshaft pulley and bolt fell out on the highway while in operation. Kia service refuses to cover the new bolt on warranty. Had bolt tightened at local shop and it failed again in 3 days!!! Kia is failing to fix this problem in which will result in fatality accidents.

- California, MO, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?