Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,547 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Kia Sorento seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Kia Sorento:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Kia Sorento Owner Comments

problem #14

Jul 072014

Sorento

  • 74,688 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag light on my 2007 Kia Sorento remains illuminated while driving the car. Upon further investigation I found there was a recall from Kia motors sc076A and also from NHTSA #11V473000 to replace the sensor. I took the vehicle to hart Kia in salem Virginia to have this recall and another recall for brake lights repaired. The dealership repaired the brake issue but told me that my car was not recalled for the passenger air bag sensor and a new seat would cost $1,300. I called Kia motors and filed a claim because my vehicle was manufactured between June 15, 2006 and November 27, 2007. Kia motors and the dealership said they would pay for the seat itself but I would have to pay for the labor. When I asked why I should have to pay for a recall item I was told by both parties that it was not their fault.I did not manufacture the car, I purchased their product. Kia motors should be responsible for the part and the labor, since they installed faulty parts when the car was manufactured. They paid for the part and labor on the brake recall, they can not be selective when repairing recalls. They manufactured the car so they should pay 100% of the repair bill it makes me wonder how many people actually had to pay $1,300 for a recall..

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #13

Mar 272008

Sorento 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,600 miles
Air bag sensor light on passenger side of 07 Kia rio was on after repairs from an accident. Took to Kia of conyers for diagnosis. Almost a month later, my car is still at the dealership. It was determined that it was a warranty issue which I am reporting in case more people have this same problem. Safety is my main concern.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #12

Feb 272008

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Sorento. While driving 30 mph, the air bag light would not dim. The contact switched places with the person in the passenger seat, but the light still would not dim. The dealer stated that he had to wait for a technician who specialized in air bags. The contact went back to the dealer and was informed that the repair was still not completed. When the repair was finished, the contact test drove the vehicle and the failure still continued. The technician then stated that it could not be repaired and the contact was provided a rental vehicle. The sales dealer informed the contact to return the rental because they could not repair his vehicle, and would no longer pay for the rental. He called Kia and they issued case number 1421419. The representative stated that he would investigate the situation and then notify the contact. The Kia representative called back and stated that they could not repair the vehicle because they did not have the proper tools. The case was escalated to the supervisor. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 7,500 and failure mileage was approximately 7,400. Updated 03-19-08 updated 03/19/08

- Brandywine, MD, USA

problem #11

Nov 172007

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,568 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On November 17, 2007 I purchased a Kia Sorento SUV. Since that date, the passenger seat airbag is disabled all of the time when my wife is sitting in the passenger seat. Other adults who weigh more will allow the light to go out, but never for my wife. I returned the car to the dealer for service who informed me that there is nothing that they can do. I contacted Kia customer service and they indicated that a regional warranty rep will look at in January, but if he sits in the seat and the light goes out, there is nothing that they will do. My wife is an average adult who weighs enough that the airbag disabling feature should turn off when she sits in the seat.

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #10

Nov 012007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a new 2007 Kia Sorento on 11-1-07 from banner Kia in mandeville, la. With my wife in the passenger seat (125 lbs.) the air bag light remains illuminated indicating that the air bag in inoperable. The vehicle was returned to the dealer and the technicians supposedly fixed the problem. Enroute home the light came on again. The dealer then supposedly recalibrated a sensor and the light stayed out. Now my daughter who weighs 117 lbs will not put the light out to put the air bag in service. Have you had similar complaints on Kia vehicles" I am beginning to think that the dealership technicians are not capable in making my vehicle safe. Any suggestions"

- Cut Off, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Nov 152007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
Passenger side airbag off light illuminates even when a grown adult is sitting in the seat. The owners manual states, and the service dept at the dealership agree that if a 150 lb adult is in the passenger seat and the off light is illuminated, the airbags will not deploy. The adult can be sitting straight up in the seat with feet in the floor in front of them and the off light is on. The service manager said they cannot fix this, it is a problem. The Corp. Office should issue a recall because obviously the sensors are not properly located. What good is the airbag if it won't deploy when needed?

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #8

Feb 132007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Kia Sorento. The passenger side air bag light illuminated intermittently when an occupant was in the seat. The dealer stated that the OCS "occupancy classification system" malfunctioned. The dealer replaced the seats and sensors; however, the failure still occurred. The failure mileage was 20 and current mileage was 5,600.

- Seabring , FL, USA

problem #7

Sep 242007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the air bag light was illuminated on the front passenger side, which indicated the air bag was off. He took the vehicle to the dealer and they replaced the sensory module and the entire passenger seat. Ten days later, the air bag light illuminated again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they were unable to determine the cause of the failure. They stated that ten percent of their vehicles were having the same failures. The manufacturer was unable to provide any assistance. The current and failure mileages were 117.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 272007

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The airbag actuation system is design defective, at least from my point of view, in that it does not always become active, when a passenger is sitting in it. I have had passengers from 105# to 315#, and sometimes the system is active and sometimes not. I have been advised by Kia service that the 8" bladder in the seat, which activates the system for deployment in the event of an accident, is sensitive to where and how the passenger sits in the seat. If they don't sit in jus a certain manner, the system does not activate. This is a major safety item and has an immediate urgency to have Kia remedy this. In the event of an accident and the bag does not deploy for the passenger due to this problem, I most definitely will be in court with Kia.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #5

Apr 052007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
I have a 2007 Kia sorrento that was purchased partly because of the 5 star safety rating. However, in my particular vehicle the passenger side airbag deactivation sensor designed to deactivate the passenger side airbag when the seat is occupied by a child also deactivates the airbag more than 50% of the time when an adult occupies the seat. I have reported this issue to my dealer 3 times and the service manager tells me that there is nothing they can do because there is no "fix" from the factory. He also told me that he is not aware of anyone else having this problem ( I doubt that) and that Kia was not particularly concerned about this problem because the passenger side airbag was a "secondary protection device" which was not really necessary to protect the occupant if the occupant was wearing his/her seat belt. I called Kia customer service and they basically "blew me off" saying that Kia would fix the problem in "due time". how can Kia advertise a 5 star safety rating when in fact they are aware of this sensor issue and are not willing or able to fix it? appears to me that there is some false advertising going on and really we have about a 2 star safety rating!

- Manson, WA, USA

problem #4

Mar 302007

Sorento

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a new 2007 Kia sorrento on 3/30/07. Left the dealership with the passenger side airback disconnect light on with an adult sitting in the seat. Have taken the car into two different dealer service departments and they have refused to address this safety issue. Reported problem to Kia usa Consumer Affairs and no action has been taken other than refer us to another dealer for service. A service manager I spoke with said this was a "known problem" with the 06 and 07 sorrento but that the company could not "reproduce a hard error". the service manager went on to tell me that there are sensors in the seat cushion and seat back and that a passenger has to sit in the seat in a particular way in order for contact to be made properly. The manager went on to say that he had seen a lot of 06 and 07 sorrento's with this problem and was waiting on Kia to take action. Other than pursue the lemon law process, what other recourse does a consumer have with a clear engineering defect of a key safety feature?

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Sorento. The contact stated that the air bag sensor for the front passenger seat works intermittently. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The current mileage is 900 and failure mileage was 50.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #2

Apr 262007

Sorento 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Kia Sorento. The failure mileage was 18 and the current mileage was 1000. The passenger airbag light will stay off when there is an adult in passenger seat. The dealer is unable to diagnose the problem.

- Washington Court House, OH, USA

problem #1

Apr 212007

Sorento 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I bought a 2007 Kia Sorento a month ago. It has a passenger sensor in the seat that activates the air bag on the front passenger side. If a child or passenger who doesn't meet the weight requirement sits in the seat it will deactivate the air bag. Problem is that the sensor isn't working for passengers who meet the weight requirement. The air bag is deactivated and therefore the safety feature that is the air bag is no longer there to protect the front passenger and there is no way to override that feature. I asked the service guy at the Kia dealership and he said there's nothing they could do. The front passenger air bag hasn't been working since I bought it.

- Naples, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?